BBC reporter claims single women are not allowed to lodge in most hotels in Kano state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 April 2016

BBC reporter claims single women are not allowed to lodge in most hotels in Kano state

According to BBC reporter, Isa Sanusi who visited Kano recently, hotels in Kano state give out this slip to their guests to sign. Here is what he wrote

"I was in Kano earlier this week to collect material for a feature I'm working on and checked into hotel where I was asked to sign this slip. Every guest at most hotels here are required to sign such statements because of random raids by the Hisbah - the city's Islamic police forceThe Sharia officers search the hotels looking for single women, who they always assume are prostitutes". 

41 comments:

Haba Linda so you didn't know....it's not only in Kano, in most northern states.

Chaii ppl mentality tho.

I think is harsh

SenatorHajiyaLawyer said...

Not surprised

That's their tradition and he should learn to get along wit it

you won't believe how much this Man Offers to Pay Up-Coming Model for Her Used Pant

Investigative journalism. All wat these bloggers and newspapers do in Nigeria is reporting. It shldnt be someone from BBC telling us this

afolabi said...

This ain't a Muslim country now haba!!

Hian! First, it was house, now hotel

Demmy said...

Dnt know what to say to d story

Hypocrisy in religion!

Lol, Thaz nice. * it's well*

Yes, we don't dirty and corrupt society.

jiddah said...

Kano Hisbah are so backward. I am single and I travel alone most of the time (official assignments) and I lodge in Hotels and that doesn't make me an unscrupulous woman. Shame on them.

flexfelix said...

I have seen such in Abuja a guest house been run by a church,you can't logde in with a woman expet she is your wife and no alcohol..

Irrational_paul said...

That's marginalisation na, Buh it's good

Make them shut up there trash jooor, na them f**k prostitute pass oooh,

I am a Christian but I like this law,Muslims sin but cover the sin unlike we Christians that boast with our sin and deceive ourselves with judge not,pls bring this law to Lagos,immorality is too much.

Nd they are frustrating state police in other states. Islamization

Feyikunmi said...

There is an hotel at new Oluyole extention Ibadan , Dat does same.

But it's OK to marry 11yr old girls!such stupid irony

Pearlie said...

Na wa oo

Some will go in with their customers under the umbrella of "spouse"

Hian!! Na wa oooo

Bosslady said...

So a single woman cannot go to Kano for business again? Nonsense!!

Na waoo

Too bad.

In dis our obodo naija??? I think say such things happens only in Indian movies??? Linda take note!

Is very much true.not in Kano but most northern states courtesy of sharia.even the swimming pool is also sharia

Hmmmmm, but what happens to a lady that has work/bussiness to do in kano with no place to stay. How she is she suppose to cope since she can't even Lodge alone...

This is nonsense... Mtchewww

#reeshahr

How possible? Maybe marriage certificate or wedding pictures will be presented at the reception.Who cares?We gonna use affidavit if they don't trust us.

$I NEED OBAMA's DNA$

Madness!!!!! Religion has blinded some people teh teh....

Thank God am a Christian and thank God am from the southern part of this country.

Freedom of life to stupor.

#Dakinzz

All na wash....things still de happen

Ele Blessing said...

Notingbutgrace. said...

That is absolutely correct. Had same experience last year. That state is purely a Muslim state forget freedom of worship.

Lol😆😂😂😂😂

Lilytop said...

Nawao! This is implementation of Sharia Law o.God Save your children. #Lilytop.com

Sharia is alive and well in Nigeria

ONE COUNTRY 2 DIFFERENT LAW WHO DOES THAT?NIGERIA SHUD DIVIDE JAAAHEEE HAUSA/FULANI BELIEVE JUST TOO MUCH...THEY ARE MUSLIMS IN YORUBA BUT U NO GO SEE EXTREMISM THERE...

This is serious.

There are only only four countries plus france who just got it signed inro LAW a couple of days ago. Naija is just an #eyeServicePractice...where u don't practice what u preach.

even in Lagos too Single ladies are regarded as ashawo. The mentality of most Nigerian.