The mastermind of a $55 million computer hacking scheme that plagued ATM machines all over the world pleaded guilty in a Brooklyn Federal Court on Tuesday.
Turkish national Ercan Findikoglu who only has a high school certificate, was able to attack hack the computer networks of at least three payment processors for Visa and MasterCard credit and prepaid debit cards.
Findikoglu told Federal Judge Kiyo Matsumoto.
"I intended to defraud the financial institutions by manipulating the account balances,"
Findikoglu told the judge he was able to falsely inflate the balances on various accounts, after which he forwarded the account information to "cash crews" standing by in 26 cities from July 2010 to February 2013. Then when the crew members received the green light, they began making large withdrawals from ATM accounts after the limits on balances had been lifted, according to court papers.
Thirteen co-conspirators had previously pleaded guilty.
Findikoglu faces up to 14 years in prison when he is sentenced on July 12 and has to repay $55 million in restitution to the financial institutions that were ripped off, a $250,000 fine, and will be deported to Turkey after finishing his jail term.
NY Daily news
58 comments:
Hmmmmm
See money
Of course he's guilty
$55m are you kidding me?
Hmmm…noted.Linda I dey here o
Good news! Every day is for the the if and one day for the owner.
Na was oh people get heart oooo they should release the guy because Nigeria terrorism pedophiles party do more than this.
By d time dey fuck ur yansh die for America prison,u no go commit crime dre again.
Good for him.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Chai....
hustling gone wrong....
Seriously? He must be a genius but would have put his brain to legal and better use
Na wah
Hmm! 55 million dollars? The guy try. That's some Ocean's 11 sh#t. What of his accomplices? Were they also captured and charged to court?
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
It is well o
Thats a whole lotta money
D guy has brain but he use d brain negatively
I trust my naija dudes,Opolo po ju ,dem no fit get them.guy go learn.
Choi..... Legendary
Dis one na serious crook! Linda take note!
Chai.
Oboi see money
55 what? Oh! Thank God he is from Turkey this time.
Wow!
Some people get talent sha.
Instead of u to put ur talent to good use u are using it to steal
When shit hits the fan
Good
Nawa o
Nawa o
Instead of u to put ur talent to good use u are using it to steal
ohh wow
Baddest guy ever liveth
OKORO UPGRADED
The guy is very brilliant but he should use it for development and not to steal
Ok seen...ProudlyDeltan
He or she must be really good.
Good,99days for d thief!
Chai
Thief
Mehn this guy is brutal.
Smart boi, please come n teach me how to hack, am very interested mehn. Tired of being a gud girl
Waooo, dis guy is something else
Noted
Lolz
The guy get brain pass most of our computer engineer #lindaseemee
See brains!!! Pray to God to help you so that you can channel it into positive things. More Instagram followers for you
Scammer of highest order
Serves him right
Brain work, put it to berra use abeg
I would love him to teach me. Talent should be appreciated
Okay.
They shld jail him.
I would love him to teach me. His one of a kind talent should be appreciated
Nawa ooh. This is what I call real theft
Thanks be to God for his truthfulness ,only Jesus Christ can save a sinner
hmm!