Looking to set up a branch of your business in the UK? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 March 2016

Looking to set up a branch of your business in the UK?

The UK Government has continually pledged its willingness to open its doors to genuine international entrepreneurs and businesses who are willing to set up a branch/subsidiary in the UK. The British government understands the impact international businesses have on the economy, especially in terms of generating employment opportunities for British citizens and other macro-economic factors.It has therefore taken bold steps in ensuring that the UK remains an attractive hub for international entrepreneurs and businesses.

Nigeria, been a commonwealth nation has stood a major beneficiary over the years as prospering Nigerian entrepreneurs all over the world have sought to establish a base in the UK using one of the business immigration options available to them. You may choose to either set up a branch of your business in the UK or send a representative (this may be you or any other representative) to represent your company in the UK.
Unfortunately a few number of businesses have failed in making these applications as a result of inadequate knowledge and improper planning. There are certain financial and non-financial requirements that need to be met prior to making an application. The good news is that we believe that any genuine business and/or businessman may be able to meet those requirements if approached the right way.

Different options available to migrate to the UK
For Nigerians living in Nigeria, the following options are currently available: -
Visa route: Dependent Visas
Category: - Individual Immigration
Brief Description: This visa category may be useful for individuals who already have a family member in the UK (either as a student, worker or as a settled person) and are looking to apply to join them as a dependant. Note that some dependant categories are given rights to work full time in the UK. Visit www.reissedwards.com for more information.

Visa route: Student Visas
Category: Individual Immigration
Brief Description: This is largely the most common visa route to the UK. The Tier 4 General (Student visa) is a point based visa route. You meet the required points and you get the visa; this is not the same with other discretionary visa applications where the case worker would have to access each application on a subjective basis.

Visa route: EEA Family Permit
Category: - Individual Immigration
Brief Description: This route is appropriate for a family member of a national of an EU member state. A family member may be a wife, husband, civil or unmarried partner, child, grandchild, parent or grandparent of a non-UK EEA national; or a dependent extended family member, for example brother, sister or cousin, the main carer of a British citizen; a financially self-sufficient child who is an EEA national; or a child of someone who was a worker in the UK and an EEA national. This visa is usually valid for 6 months.

Visa route: Spouse/Unmarried partner Visa
Category: Individual Immigration
Brief Description: This route may be the best option for married and/or unmarried partners looking to bring their spouse or unmarried partners to the UK. Unmarried partners would have to demonstrate that they have been living together continuously for the last two consecutive years.

Category: Business Immigration
Visa route: Prospective entrepreneur
Brief Description: The visa category may be recommended for entrepreneurs who are coming to the UK to secure funding to set up a UK business. Entrepreneurs need to demonstrate that they have either been considered for funding or have set up meetings with potential sponsors in the UK with recognized UK financial institution, entrepreneurial seed funding competition or Government department

Visa route: Tier 1 Entrepreneur (Initial Application)
Brief Description: To apply for this visa you would need to demonstrate that you have access to not less than £200,000 of your own money in a regulated financial institution, and which is disposable in the UK. This length of this visa is usually 3 years 4 months and can be extended for another 2 years after expiration. You may be able to apply for settlement after the 5 years period.

Visa route: Tier 1 Investor
Brief Description: This visa category would be recommended for High net worth Individuals looking to invest in the UK. You will have to show that you have access to at least £2 million under your control in a regulated financial institution, which is disposable in the UK.

Category: Individual and Business Immigration
Visa category: Sole rep of an overseas business
Brief Description: This visa category may be recommended for Individuals who have been posted to the United Kingdom for the purpose of establishing a branch or subsidiary or on a long term assignment in the UK. In this visa category, the business must already by in existence in the Home country (Nigeria).

21 comments:

How many times have I warned you about this trash you advertise here?

Noticed.

Nice one! Linda take note!

Nope, elsewhere

NO PLEASE don't disturb

OMG!! See What This Secondary School Students Were Caught Doing In Class

Stern Oya receive sense in jesus name. Amen.

Noted...

GHOSTFACE said...

Lool

Nice one...As Booohari don dey do anyhow now, na to call them na...

Can small and medium scale businesses migrate as well or its just for the high and mighty

Chimaeze500 said...

I hear

And the slavery continues......

My view not urs!!!!

Linda mkn money snc 2000

Odiegwu. How many of them have branches here.

Too much money Linda chopping life ikejiikeji!

chyyy said...

We need u people most in Nigeria our youths are suffering bcos of unemployment. Come to nigeria to invest we will even dash una lands.

Noted, thanks for the information, nigeria is better, patronize make Niger, say baba