British-Nigerian woman wins six-figure payout against her employer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 July 2015

British-Nigerian woman wins six-figure payout against her employer

48 year old British-Nigerian woman, Ibukun Adebayo, who is a  director at one of Princess Diana's favourite charities, Turning Point has been awarded a six-figure payout after her boss nicknamed her 'Looney Tunes' and sent an obscene email.

According to UK Daily Mail, Mrs Adebayo won her religious and racial bias claim against Turning Point, a drugs, alcohol and mental health charity at East London Tribunal Service. She claimed she was unfairly sacked from her £84,000 position as IT director at the charity by its chief executive Lord Victor Adebowale.

The hearing was told that her boss David Hoare referred to her a 'Looney Tunes' in one email to Lord Adebowale and sent another work email about a sex act. He was given a warning by Lord Adebowale, but Mrs Adebayo a mother-of-five from Bexley was dismissed from her job after she complained about Mr Hoare's gross misconduct.

Now she is seeking £466,815 in compensation for lost earnings and hurt feelings but says that most of all she would like her job back. Turning Point adopted Princess Diana as patron in 1985. She worked for the charity until her death and was proud of the way it helped vulnerable people deal with drug and alcohol misuse.
Mrs Adebayo joined the charity in June 2004 and managed over 20 IT workers and a £1million-a-year budget at its central London office.

In 2011, Mr Hoare sent director of strategic projects Beverley Priest an email about Mrs Adebayo and also wrote about a sex act.

In October 2012, Mr Adebowale emailed Mr Hoare about Mrs Adebayo asking 'What have we unleashed...?!' Mr Hoare replied: 'Looney tunes...'
Later that year, he sent emails poking fun at Mrs Adebayo's Christian beliefs behind her back, saying she was praying 'in the wilderness'.

And he said a request for an interview with Mrs Adebayo should be 'killed' as they no longer wanted her as the face of the charity.

Mrs Adebayo was devastated to discover all these emails in April 2013 and complained about Mr Hoare. Mr Hoare received only a formal warning for his gross misconduct.

But Lord Adebowale, 52, sacked Mrs Adebayo in August 2013 for 'hacking into staff emails'.

The tribunal ruled that any reasonable employer would have 'given genuine and serious consideration' to firing Mr Hoare for gross misconduct.

UK Daily Mail

72 comments:

Alhamdullilah.

Congrats buh she wowofugly shaa...shuu???

Latest Nigerian News said...

She really get mouth that's why she see the money

Ok, 8th july my bday... You guys should wish me happy bday... So thankful

Long story. Linda sleep.u need rest
Anyii.canada

CokeAddict? said...

Wat's dat?

Am glad for her victory! Useless men!

Wow..that's good

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Yes oooooo - I love a woman who isn't afraid to speak up. I'm so glad justice prevailed because I hate injustice with every fibre of my being - go girlllllll

Her nose though

fgtf said...

This is Justice

HBD darling

Congratulations lady

The presentation of cheque to fire victims by LASG. The various media outlet are reporting that 243 victims were given cheques. The deputy governor only presented cheques to 10 people before she left. After that, the rest were told that the money will be paid into their various account. Pls we call on all authorities involved to look into this so that the matter will not be swept under the rug!!!

Congratulations lady

Funny girl

Strong woman. Good 4 her. I hope other naija chicks go emulate her.

Don't mind them. They can't handle it when a woman is doing well career wise. Let this be a lesson to other punks in the workplace!

Good news for her.

NeeNeeHenshaw said...

#WomenPower! Good for her!! No woman deserves such!

Blazincruz said...

Nigerian women upholding the dignity of womanhood since the days of Adam and eve.. wish her luck

Vivian Louis, why the reference to her nose? She's African, isn't she? Anyways, she's in won enough money now to get a nose job just like you did. But we don't know that she wants to do that. She might just like her nose the way it is.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Good. Congrats to her

Tnx vivian

Yes it's been a hard and traumatic journey for this professional. Part of the problem is having one of your own stabbing you in the back. A loss of good reputation for Turning point in the first instance and another feather of betrayal on Victor's hat as one of those contaminated individuals who put cost before value. He has a history with me whilst he was a director at centre point. I have encountered him more than once over 2 decades but he has left a lasting impression. The Tribunal's determination is the ultimate and nothing will change it. The agony and grieve.inflicted on this woman has no quantification or qualification. Adebowale should settle for House of Lords where he can play his shenanigans and not to toy with human emotion and vulnerability.

@Vivian Louis, if you look this good at 48, just go and do thanksgiving.

Amycool cyril said...

congrats to her, dis is real justice

Thank God.

Brian Duru said...

Nigerians are making money share

life changing pictures

Good for her, and I wish her well.

Mas Helmi Blog said...

Linda Ikeji blog is a my inspiration

Happy birthday love

Strong woman.

youngest Winch said...

Make we see your face an.

meggy said...

Go girl...........funny babe

She should have been awarded more sef

I no even unda stand

health talk with jossy said...

Happy for her.

Like to read about sex??
Visit wwwjazzblog.blogspot.com for some mind blowing stories.

Let us see ur own face miss williwilli minna!

Happy birthday sweetheart....u bear same name with my only sister

Wow. Nice! Here u receive all sorts of insults and still answer yes sir/ma.
Employer:- "You r just a mistake to this company, don't know what i was thinking while i hired you. (Looks well and sees u did it perfectly) Oh, okay erm, i made d mistake not u! Now geg out of my office!

Employee:- Yes sir! (Hurries out like a rat)
Chai! God help this country.

Steve said...

An online entertainment site is looking for a passionate celebrity/gist writer. If you are the one, write to steveanodo@yahoo.com and earn some remuneration

ty said...

Happy birthday cynthia

Congratulation to ha.... Linda go 2bed huh u like moni 2much##

IbukunA said...

Good day all, I have not won a penny from Turning Point and the remedy hearing isn't until September when I'd be able to comment further on the case.

Furthermore, I have continued to ask for my job back as a priority rather than a whole load of money (I won't be getting a nose job as this one has has served me well for 48 years and I thank God I have a nose as some people don't have one - to the beautiful lady who commented about my features that is).

Please in all of this, don't try to defend me or to insult Lord Victor Adebowale either - there's too much of that on the Internet, i.e. Nigerians descending into insults when we should be showing the world some class! All I need is prayers, if anything at all from each of you and, Linda, thanks for the mention but the Daily Mail has got it wrong in that the remedy hasn't been settled yet. Thanks once again, and GBU.

Regards,

Ibukun

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Happy birthday Cynthia

My namesake. ibukun adebayo

Mere looking at her face, you'll know she's a No-nonsense woman.. Her type can single-handedly beat up her own husband.. Her boss is just a small fry...😀

Racist scheww, so annoying.

Happy Bithday Princess...Lumiwaves.

Very gud madam

HOL

Congrats my dear. Those are the kind of women I hold in high esteem. Linda take note!

@Cynthia, HBD to you. May all your good wishes come to light for you. And July 9th is my birthday so wish me too. Linda take note!

Free money

prettiyz said...

Happy birthday Cynthia,am very happy for the woman

Jennixy said...

Epic reply. You shall come out victorious because God never fails.

VIVIAN LOUIS and NNENNE GEORGE,U LOOK LIKE A BUNCH OF FOOL.U RE A NONETITY STUPIFIED BY NATURE
SHOWING THEIR FOOLISHNESS IN A DECORIUM PUBLIC.(IST VIVIAN ASK UR FADA WHILE HE WAS SO A COWARD DAT HE HAS TO NAME U AFTER HIS SLAVE MASTER.)WE AFRICAN RE OUR GREATEST ENEMY,LATER WE B SAYIN WHITE ARE RACIST,PLS CLICK HER IBUKUN NAME ON D COMMENT SHE MAKE ON DIS TOPIC AND C RE PROFILE,(GOD,I WAS FORCED TO IDOLISED HER,SEE PROFILE,AWARD ND EXPERIENCE,HAVE U 4GOTTEN,SHE IS D HEAD IT DIRECTOR OF POPULAR TURNING POINT AIRED WORLDWIDE.)SHE REPRESENT NIGERIA IN D GLOBE.SHE MADE HEADLINE NEWS 4 POSITIVE TINS ND YET D REAL FOOL RE ABUSING HER.AM SURE NNENNE ND LOUIS INTENTIONALLY MK JEST OF HER JST BCOS SHE IS NT THEIR TRIBE.(PLS PERMIT ME TO SAY LOUIS ND NNENNE ESPECIALLY RE GLORIFIED FOOL.NNENNE, A FOOL AT FORTY IS A FOOL 4 EVER.(VICTOR OF TURNING POINT,U RE ALSO A NIGERIA TURNING UR BACK AT A NIGERIA SISTER.)AFRICANS ARE DEIR GREATEST EMNEMIES

Glad she won the case!!!

Lady with A Lions heart. Love her not those Shycats

Vivian Louis, your nose and your face aren't anything to rejoice about either. I'll leave that stupid and unintelligent comment you made down to your ignorance, lack of maturity and empathy.

Rather than commenting on the facts of the case you feel the need to talk about her appearance. Is this because you can barely make an intelligent sentence or have anything of any value to contribute? Grow up darling.

Very sad that a lot of black people feel the need to be derogatory towards our own kind instead of lifting us up. Very immature .... SMH.....

Classy response babes. Inspiration for those of us coming up to stand our ground in the face of indignity in the work environment. Praying the Lord gives you a favorable outcome and you are reinstated to our job. Cheers.

Ok. I'm back. Just went to look at your resume! Absolutely impressive, especially in such a male dominated profession. Hopefully you can visit Nigeria someday and encourage our girls who are in or want to get into STEM professions. Kudos once again!

You're anonymous and that's what you'll always be. Smellos!

Dats right Vivian u can neva look this good at 38 talk less of 48

Wilhelmina u always come here to exhibit ignignorance.U are a very unintelligent bitch.showing off fake arse and tits with no brain

Simul Media said...

Congrats :D
Thank You God :)