Photos: MTN surprises UNILAG professor with brand new car | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 February 2015

Photos: MTN surprises UNILAG professor with brand new car

Surprises seem to be the name of the game, as MTN, in continuation of its Season of Surprises campaign, yesterday surprised the former Dean of Student Affairs, University of Lagos, Professor Harrison Oloruntade Dele Longe with a brand new KIA Car.

The MTN Season of Surprises team, on arrival at the University of Lagos, had beckoned on Professor Longe to come and present gifts of iPhone 6, to some lucky students. However, Professor Longe never knew he was in for the surprise of a life time, as his name was later announced as the beneficiary of the star surprise of the day, a brand new, Year 2014 KIA car.

An excited Professor Longe seems to be saying, as he embraces, MTN’s Richard Iweanoge after receiving his surprise car gift from MTN.
An obviously elated Professor longe, could not hide his excitement, as he said “This is the best gift I have ever received in my life. How will I explain this to my wife? How? They just told me that I have to come and present a gift to some of my students, and it turned out that I am now a proud owner of a brand new 2014 KIA car. Now I know, that one should continue to do whatever he knows how to do best. I was just doing my own thing, not knowing that some people will come and appreciate me with this unexpected largesse”. What MTN has done today, shows that gone are the days when people say that teacher’s rewards are in heaven; our rewards are now here with us. The Professor, who could not hide his joy, instantly ordered his driver to take him round the school premises with the MTN branded car.

MTN as part of its Season of Surprises campaign had earlier called on students in Nigerian tertiary institutions to nominate some of their teachers whom they feel deserves a pleasant surprise from the company. Professor Alonge was therefore, nominated for the award by the students of the University of Lagos. Some of the students who nominated him were also not left out in the surprise package, as AmudaTosin, ShadareOluwaseun  andAdeyemi, Monsurat  were among the lucky students who received gifts of an iphone 6 from MTN. 

Professor Longe(third left) opens his mouth in shock, as Richard Iweanoge, GM, Consumer Marketing, MTN,(left) announced his name as the beneficiary of the star surprise of the day
          Former Dean, Student Affairs, University of Lagos, Prof. Harrison Oloruntade Longe(left), congratulating Shadare Oluwaseun, one of the recipients of iphone 6; while the current Dean of Student Affairs, University of Lagos, Professor Tunde Babalakin and General Manager, Consumer Marketing, MTN, Richard Iweanoge look on, during the presentation ceremony.
An excited  Prof. Longe, congratulating  a 200 level computer science student of Unilag, Adeyemi Monsura, another recipient of an iphone 6, while the Dean of Student Affairs, University of Lagos, Professor Tunde Babalakin, another student and MTN Season of Surprises beneficiary, Shadare Oluwaseun,  and the General Manager, Consumer Marketing, MTN, Richard Iweanoge look on during the presentation ceremony.

88 comments:

Lucky boy

congrts to the prof.

22 motivational photos up on the blog.
www.udokajane.blogspot.com

OMG!WOMAN said...

Lol lib now taking political advert.

Eeeeeyah, wot a way to appreciate d Papa. Congrats to you papa. Linda take note!

I'm not supporting PDP. I just see Jonathan as the way forward so I'm voting for him.

I believe I have a right to make a choice without explaining myself to anyone.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Congrats to him, #happyfriday

Waooooo congrat .

Something like....... surprise of a lifetime

OMG!WOMAN said...

I see APC's vote for change. I'm not sure about the kind of change they are bringing yet. For now I will stick to the Transformation agenda. Transportion continues.

That's nice!

Wow wow wow...am so happy for him, congratulations to him am sure it was well deserved.

Eeeeyah,lucky him

Awwwwwww. Linda observe

Dats good...Congrat to him nd d others

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers......Av a blessed weekend

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Good one the lord is faithful

Congrats to him

Linda good morning been a while

that was such a nice gesture. the man looks really excited indeed. God bless his students & MTN.

Liflblog.WordPress.com

Chai! God plz I nid dis kind of car surprise plzzz. Amen

Nice one from MTN and also congratulations to the beneficiaries

CHERRY said...

Tnk God for him!

felicious said...

Wow! I'm next in line for a beautiful surprise from the Throne of Grace

SWILL MARTIN said...

Eeeeeeyaaah he must have really deserved it o.

Are you sure you attended secondary school?I hope you are not another buhari.What were you thinking when you wrote"An excited Prof Longe seems to be saying,as he embraces MTN's Richard..........He seems to be saying what?You should thank me now.Please,post my comment oooooo

Wao. Lucky prof

Good one but i still think their promo n a wayoo

This is good of them.

Olusoji said...

Pro will forever be grateful for this surprised kind gesture

Mesky Da ImoFirstSon said...

Wow,dats cute..Congratulations to him

Awwww. Congratulations to them. Lucky. Professors.

Yes. The man really deserves it. He is soo humble nd nyc

Ike Ani said...

He will be so happy. www.ikeani.blogspot.com

Kongratulobia Prof...
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

This MTN people thoe .... shebi na only unilag students dey this whole Nigeria ..... congratulations jare Prof..

Is it only lagos una no?

When will they surprise me nah?!

elo tasha said...

I love this kinda surprise..MTN una try! I key into this surprise,someday I shall be remembered IJN

Congratulations sir

Big congrats to them all...mtn everywhere u go

Damilola said...

Mtn i'v been loyal since 2011....even when the holy spirit told me to port due to ur 419,ways I still stood firm. Please I nid a new car even if na Toyota corolla 2008

Congrats professor Alonge,Well deserved .i remember when he was the dean of student affairs wen i was in unilag ,very kool man .

Zamani said...

nothing better than promoting education. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

ENNY said...

Congratulations!

AMIJEZ said...

Congrats to him,he must be an exception in d mixt of plenty. Mtn giving out a brand new car is better than that aeroplane saga.

UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE said...

WHAT A GOOD SURPRISE.CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF THEM IN JESUS NAME.AMEN.

Oguike Emmanuel said...

Congrat to him

Oguike Emmanuel said...

Congrat to him

austine joe said...

congrats prof..... inyanya looking dope #xavier9jaforLib

Moi said...

Congrats to our beloved ex-dean. You deserve it Sir. Am happy for you.

MTN with their jewish approach to commerce. Giving with left hand and taking back with the right. I dunno how they are going to swing this one. Good corporate responsibility service anyway.

Wow,datz realli nice...

Why not the 2015 model? Being 2014 makes the car sound used.

Congrats man

Wooow! Ds is nyc.he shud worth d car i thnk.tomjerryswit

i am so glad to hear this good news from my mentor prof. Longe may this good thing continue to happen in your life and i pray that God Almighty will grant you more life to use this honorable price.

Femi George: from NSITF project

Congrat to him, I like these type of surprises hehehe!!!

Well uncle Dele good thing Mtn remembered you but how many people in your family and extended have you managed to help with admission or job , not talking about money now cause you are always pretending to be broke . As dean people came for you to help with jobs but na to dey post dem up and down .
Hope you'd enjoy driving the car and don't let your kids drive it ooo , make eh no cause wahala amongst them them shey you get .
Stingy uncle of mine .

Stingy mtn.... For me dis ain't any surprise. Glo is beta

Mehn lucky him o
MTN surprise me now!!

Gentletee said...

Quite a huge surprise!

Kayode Abdul said...

WoW! This a big opportunity for all in oil and gas industry

http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=mYyJUeYOoTI

Congrats to him

••••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

Waw!!

Waw!!

ximena said...

that car is mine *sobs*

Wow, that is awesome. MTN, weldone

Aww so sweet

Good for all of them.

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.
Congratulations to them

^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

I can truly testify that Professor Longe deserves the surprise. I graduated from UNILAG in 2007 and everybody knows how difficult it is to get bed space due to the inadequacy of accomodation on campus. When I needed accomodation, I simply walked into Professor Longe's office as DSA to explain my plight to him and without knowing me, he directed that I be given accomodation on campus. God bless this great man.

MTN is really trying...buh i knw they get their moni bak within seconds...people go rush go buy MTN sim nw!

ShoutOut to MTN.. Companies should start involving academicians and more ordinary people in their corporate affairs and publicity programs. Enough of these trend with celebrating nollywood stars and musicians.

Hmmm. MTN even in their shortcomings, is out-performing our oga Jona the president

He is father to all.He deserves more than that.Thank u Mtn

HE DESERVES IT, HE IS SUCH A GOOD MAN.

Moonshine said...

Yes daddy deserved the award, he's a great man! He didn't make me suffer for bed space in my year 3&4. May God continue to bless and strengthen him.

Any graduate of UNILAG knows that Prof deserves that car. infact he deserves three cars sef. he was an amazing man. He was the only Prof, that students could walk easily into his office and seek help. A great man i tell ya....

As a graduate of Unilag, I am in total support. Professor Alonge is a very good man, and the best DSA ever.

Big congrats to him.

OKORO UPGRADED **

commendable
#iamGuru...

see!! these are the people that deserve such gifts!!!!!! congrats to him

CONGRATULATIONS!

He sure deserves much more..... He was a very very good man to all, I still haven't forgotten how kind he was to me when I was in unilag over 14 years ago

rilla64 said...

Prof Longe was my project supervisor in 2014 and thanks to him I passed with flying colors. The award from my company is well deserved...

Congrats prof. I'm sure he must have touched the lives of his students positively.

Congrats professor!