Vanguard Allure Cover: Gorgeous at Every Age | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 October 2011

Vanguard Allure Cover: Gorgeous at Every Age

From left: Musician Yinka Davies, Photographer Toni Tones, Stylist Tayo Shonekan, and Actress Joke Silva

31 comments:

OLD MAMA

Were they all naked in the same room? LOL. The picture doesnt do anyone of them justice except for Joke Silva.
The others look much better on a regular day without the extreme airbrushing, bronzing and gbogbo e.

Eme Achanga said...

yinka davies looks older than her age..not feeling the cover.yes they are trying to show us women can age gracefully,but did they have to add 1o years on their ages via poor photography and digital effects?
na wah

sakara said...

somebory shd pls enlighten me about make-ups these days, maybe am bushy or so....dont know make up artists transform people to d point that they dont look themselves anymore, obviously this is not d intention of the inventors of make-up.
#1 - Yinka Davies - i almost didnt recognise her, in fact i did not, her name made me know who she is...she looked like one old woman from a movie taking blood oath calabash to the shrine - haba what a make-up
#2 - Anty Joke uhmnn how could u allow someone do this to u, u just celebrated 50 and some people r of d opinion that u r over 50 and this wicked make-up artist just confirmed it
#3 - i dont know who these 2 other ladies are, but in my opinion the make-up artist shd be fired......

yinmu

ugly cover

laila said...

this picture looks kinda weird! yinka is better looking than she appears on this cover. dont like the pixs jor,the makeup self looks somehow.

doll (retired blogger) said...

joke silva on point

Ebun said...

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
This is the worst make up I have seen in recent times-Yinka and Joke remind me of 'Ayamatanga' from Agbara nla.
Tayo-wrong makeup and lighting effect on her face.Something else seems wrong that I cannot point out now.
Toni Tones look manageable but i think the wrong shade of powder was used for her.
Hmmmm,'deep breathe' both the make up artist and whoever recommendded the background colour should be fired.

Oliver Twist said...

Makeup artist, MAKA WHY???

Bee said...

Make up is awful.....They look alien like...Makeup should be to enhance beauty. Clearly failed in this pic as they all look worse with the makeup on than they would without it

see as yinka davies look like wolverine

Formerly stealth reader said...

how did they manage to make these women look older and uglier than their original versions is beyond me.

*ajalahtravel* said...

Every other woman except Joke should beat the shit out of the magazine, make-down artist and photographer.

*ajalahtravel*

LMAO!!! Toni Tones, abeg who do u like this? They made u look like u are in ur 40's! Her makeup is soooooo off! the makeup artist needs to be beat up.

See as Yinka worwor pass ma grand Mama 'Tufiakwa'.Poor photoshoot,bad make-up & posture.

These ladies look like 4 witches caught in broad day light, the makeup artist need therapy, Mrs joke Silva don't let this people spoil your image oooo

This is just terrible. Everything about this pic is just bad. Make up artist na wa for you sha. You just pretty much made beautiful women look older and not so beautiful.

Joke Silva looks beautiful.

Na wa oh, even as Aunty Joke Silva senior these babes, none of them come close to looking as fab.....Young girls, make una slow down oh, too much *cough* no good oh, especially from young age, Olu Jacobs is a lucky man sha

*ajalahtravel* again?

stephanie said...

they all look scary... if na so make up dey be den make i carry my face like dat...;yinka davies looks horrible... even joke silva dats always on point looks......(no words to describe) eeeewwwww!! smh

this make up artist should be flogged

The make up was awful! Even the hair styles looked like "everything that can go wrong on a bad hair day". I remember seeing the actual center spread and I felt it added at least 10 years to each of them. Abeg, make up business and hair styling no be for everybody.

devour said...

OMG!nuf said

see as them be like zombie, copying western pattern.yet, the make up makes them appear like they applied Formalin for embalment.

I think Joke took the worst hit! She looks DREADFUL!

never commented before buh this is just too much to hold in. the make up artist shuld b fired. omg!!! how could he/she do this to them. where did they pick him/her from.

ugliest pairing ever! well except joke silva that it. they should have gone for a natural look to show the age not make up the age! toni tones *sigh* girl clam d fuck down rome wasnt built in a day! always ranting on twitter! abeg this cover aint werking for me at all!

this "painter" sorry "makeup artist" need to go for counseling, am sure he/she had some pa-ra-ga(yoruba word) before painting/applying the makeup. This is makeup artist should give all his/her tool the charity lol

this pic is scandalous.
I would have liked to see Ms. Arunma Oteh in that pic. That woman is sexy for days.

Oshi o ni slippers, o fE ya KOR shoe. ....mshew..yinmu.

WHO OS THE STUPID MAKE UP ARTIST...