Belgian Choreographer Calls Beyonce a 'Thief' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 October 2011

Belgian Choreographer Calls Beyonce a 'Thief'

The Belgian choreographer Beyonce used as 'inspiration' for her Countdown video calls Beyonce's use of her piece plagiarism. In an interview with Belgian radio station, Studio Brussel, choreographer Anne Teresa Keersmaeker was asked how she felt about Beyonce copying her work and she replied,
“I didn’t know anything about this. I’m not mad, but this is plagiarism. This is stealing. They took pieces from Achterland and Rosas danst Rosas. Including the dresses and a remake of the school of Van de Velde. It’s a bit rude, I must say. What’s rude about it is that they don’t even bother about hiding it. They seem to think they could do it because it’s a famous work.”

“Am I honoured? Look, I’ve seen local school kids doing this. That’s a lot more beautiful.”

28 comments:

Valushi said...

Beyonce keeps stealing other people's intellectual property. It is that bad now,just look at how much she racked in with wakawaka at SA"s world cup last year.

One idea could come to different people in one thousand different locations of the world at a time. I don't believe anybody originates any concept; it's only the persons who got it into limelight first that get all the glory.
But that doesn't say we should go ahead stealing other people's concepts sha, live out your own style.

Sam Meera said...

I have never liked Beyonce from the start of her career. She oppressed Kelly and Michelle when she was in Destiny's Child, broke the group down and with the help of her father decided to make a name for herself so she went solo. Right from Crazy in Love to Countdown, she has not been quite original with her dance moves. But she has gotten worse with time and Countdown is just a disaster.

There is borrowing and then there is just full fledged plagiarism. Not only did Beyonce copy the dance moves and the 'behind the bars' setting, she also copied the dressing style for her and the back up dancers and down to the frikkin hairstyle!

*tsk tsk tsk*

Bee said...

Ok it's rude that she did not even have the decency to give her a heads up that she'll be doing a remake

On a side note: Where's Alicia???

MIAOW!!!!

meeee said...

i agree with the woman... all these manufactured entertainers e.g. beyonce will do anything for more money and fame and so- called fans will never fail to kiss their asses

*ajalahtravel* said...

I guess the shit has hit the fan

*ajalahtravel*

@sam Meera Banks
how did she oppress kelly and Michelle. Sit your dark and ugly self all the way down.

Dike said...

Not that I'm much of a Beyonce fan. But plagiarism or lack of originality aside, Beyonce is in a class of her own in the entertainment world today. The lady is talented. Anybody who denies this is not being sincere to him/herself. Her live concerts are breathtaking. However, I accept that everyone is entitled to their own views on any issue.

Amazing comments:

@ Valushi, I think it was Shakira who performed Waka Waka at the last world cup and not Beyoncé. Please check and get your facts right.

@Sam Meera Banks, did she really oppress Kelly and Michelle? Well I haven't heard them complain. The last time I checked, Kelly referred to Beyoncé as her sister @ http://www.mtv.ca/news/article.jhtml?id=35816 and @ http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2046272/Kelly-Rowland-talks-tough-upbringing-strips-sexy-shoot.html Now that doesn't sound like the whining of someone who was or is being intimidated.

I also saw both Kelly and Michelle at Beyoncé's Tribute & Performance @ Billboard Music Awards 2011 @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9l2ZLnU_xSI&feature=rellist&playnext=1&list=PL69189916EB0A4E8D and they both looked excited after Beyoncé’s performance. That didn't look like Michelle has any complaints either.

Beyoncé’s case is not the first time an artist went solo after starting out with a group. Michael Jackson's case is a clear example. Would you now say MJ oppressed his brothers on that account? Beyoncé was not the first to leave Destiny's Child. She said that much while paying tribute to the members of the now disbanded group in the video above.

On the issue of the accusation that she copied dance moves, dress and all that for her latest music video; I need to ask this question. Did Beyoncé claim she created the dance steps? You guys have forgotten that she has choreographers, dance trainers and directors who suggest dance steps (possibly from other videos or something). The director of the video in question ‘Countdown’, Adria Petty admitted that much @ http://www.6theory.com/forum/index.php/topic/54357-choreographer-calls-out-beyonces-countdown-for-plagiarism/

For all I know, Beyoncé is a consummate performer and perfectionist. I recall she stumbled on a dance video on YouTube and decided she'll use the dance steps in the video on YouTube for her upcoming video which turned out to be 'Run the world (girls)', and in the course of making the video she had to fly the group she saw in the video from Mozambique to the US, to teach her and her group the dance steps, and subsequently got them featured in the video – see 07:20 @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vXXiku0580

When it has to do with dress and dance steps, I believe everyone is a culprit with regards to copying. And for the Belgian choreographer; that Beyoncé failed to acknowledge her in the video may have been an oversight. If she feels her works were stolen by Beyoncé, she should sue her for plagiarism - that's if she's the original creator.

This issue doesn't take anything away from Beyoncé, and doesn't change the fact that she is a multi-talented performer, like her or hate her.

Word to B - If you plagiarize, you at least reference and give acknowledgement to the originial source you got the idea from.. Better yet, get approval from the original source.. Stupid Bitch thinks she can do whatever she likes just cus she's famous and rich..

sakara said...

@Valushi Beyonce dd not do wakawaka, Shakira dd.....hips dont lie, get ur facts right...not a fan of Beyonce though...she shd apologise

doll (retired blogger) said...

one idea can come to multiple people.

she should go and sit down

anon 2:11am, you need to stop licking ass.
I am sure your parents would be ashamed at this your lousy effort at defending Beyonce.
How can you type such a long epistle and make such a poor defence?
she copied.
she should be shamed.
QED
Nobody is doubting her talent.That is not the issue being discussed.

@ anon 11:10am
i found your commment towards SAM MEERA BANKS uncalled for.

how disrespectful to call a human being, a fellow african woman for that matter ugly and dark because you dont see her point? you are DISGUSTING. Imbecile lomo...u wan show off u can blow gramma anyhow abi? are those the only words you know, hiding behind a screen and yarning nonsense. eeeediat. pathetic ignorant no good negative backward dragging females such u should be the one to sit allllll the way down.

Dani

anon 2:11 pls go and siddon for gutter! so because kelly and michelle seemed happy, you conclude that they never had any issue with beyonce? Beyonce multi talented my arse abeg jo! when there are the likes of jennifer hudson, brandy and co. Beyonce is a glorified attention whore! period!

grace said...

All of you supporting beyonce now ride on oo, i hope you guys would also be able to support ruggedman when the woman that accused him of stealing her designs sues his ass? yeye dey smell mscheww! ass lickers!

take a look at it, theres coping and theres copying! this one na copy copy o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3HaWxhbhH4c

Beyonce is no different from most rich people in the world. They normally get to the top by nook or crook.

Beyonce is not as talented as we assume she is. From cultism to plagiarism. O ga o! Abeg... drag her to court.

@Amazing comments, are you Beyonce's publicist or what? @Sam Meera Banks was correct because Beyonce did oppress Kelly and Michelle.

Of course, Kelly would be diplomatic and call her 'sister' since she gained a lot from Beyonce's family as a child. Moreover, would you argue with a powerful cultist?

ONYEDIKING said...

I don't believe you

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

bobo said...

All i can say is that the stupid bastard belgian choreographer calling beyonce is jst looking for cheap publicity. Beyonce hav choregraphers, dancers n trainers that come out wit different concept for her videos and for all i knw ther is noway one would be 100 percent creativ. so all u negativ bastards to shut up or u go n hug transformer.

ChiCL said...

It is sad that Beyonce seems to have no respect for other artists, I wonder if she ever asks herself how she would feel if someone jacked one of her songs down to the tiniest detail without asking for her permission or without acknowledging her? People who are used to being in the spot light from childhood or who are used to having much given to them from an early age have an over inflated sense of self and entitlement, I think Beyonce might be suffering from this syndrome.

She cannot tell me that she doesn't have a team who could have reached out to the owner of the intellectual property rights once she found the video on youtube and liked it enough to explore possibly using it for herself. She should have asked for the right to use it and she owes this woman not only an apology but monetary compensation as well.

People let's not get caught in all that glitters and fail to identify injustice, Beyonce might be the greatest thing since sliced bread, the brightest star in all of God's universe but abeg, let's not defend stealing which is what plagiarism is in no two ways.

I don't care for her or her music but I acknowledge that she is a hard working, producing entity. She should allow other people to enjoy some success of their own too without usurping it for herself. Wouldn't it have been great if she had called up the woman and said, let's colloborate on this together instead of being self absorbed? It would have been awesome but maybe she thought this woman wouldn't challenge her...or better yet, nobody knows this woman and so maybe people would think it's her original idea...not in today's world o, not in today's world.

@anony 11:10, you do not need to be insultive to make your point, shows how cultured you are.
I like beyonce but yes! she did opres the other group members during their days as destiny's child. Just like Nicole sherzinger and the pussy cat dolls, diana ross and the supremes, justin timberlake and Nsync.. this usuall happens in groups. Now go ahead and insult just to make a point.

@ bobo 3:27, u r d biggest fool walking this planet. n a fool @ ur age is a fool for life.

Sam Meera said...

@anon 11:10
I did not know that personal attack was the best way to undermine any comments that I made. When I was writing my comment, I did not refer to myself as fair and beautiful? You could have asked nicely. Anyway, you are commenting anonymously, while I show my name and picture? seriously? Please at least have some guts to put your name while writing your comment.

Beyonce opressed Kelly and Michelle while they were in Destiny's Child. She was the one the most exposure and vocals. And also her dad made stuff hard for the rest of the group too by only considering what was best for only Beyonce than the group as a whole. Hope I have answered you guys concerns.

@ ANONYMOUS October 10, 2011 11:10 PM -
YOU MUST BE A NASTY PERSON ON THE INSIDE...for youto call someone "dark and ugly" YOU NEED JESUS..I have no words to even quantify how disrespectful your comment was to the whole AFRICAN RACE...May God forgive you for undermining his beautiful work and show you the error of your ways.

Ade_Cool said...

@Sam Meera Banks
Best way to handle this..with DIGNITY!!..the only ugliness I noticed was the write up by that ANONYMOUS!!