2.5 million Lagosians have mental disoder? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 October 2011

2.5 million Lagosians have mental disoder?

According to the Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Jide Idris, 2.5 million Lagosians have mental disorder.

He said this at a news conference to kick start the World Mental Health Day on Tuesday Oct 11. According to him, recent studies conducted by the ministry in Lagos shows that an average of 14.1% of the total population of the state suffer from one form of mental illness or another.

He explained that the illnesses might not necessarily be psychosis but untreated minor mental sickness, which affect the quality of life.

So what he is basically saying is that for every 5 Lagosian, one person is mentally unbalanced? If you live in Lagos, do you agree?

60 comments:

Bella said...

He doesn't mean they are demented or retarded. Other issues that affect mental health like depression, anxiety disorders and all affect most people at some point in their lifetime but it's usually not addressed in this part of the world so they keep living with it and acting irrational and stuff

This accounts for the traffic lawlessness experienced in Lagos, mainly caused by Danfo drivers and Okada riders. Animals sometimes behave better than these people

ONYEDIKING said...

yes @linda i do believe him

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

yes i agree

ONYEDIKING said...

yes @linda i do believe him

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

I totally believe it will be insane to have every being sane.. where will the excitement be.. abeg!

Is it only lagosians? Most Nigerians seem to have mild to acute mental illness. I mean how else is one to explain why Nigerians are so obsessed with what others choose to do with their personal lives?

Allegra said...

It is possible. What with the craziness (pardon the pun)of daily grind in that city. Mental disorder can manifest in various formats and affects the way people think, feel or behave.

Even some Governors that steal Billions, Senate presidents that buy N14,000,000 range rover per round of sex with nolly wood actresses, Even former Bank -Ole all have mental disorder too. Finally not forgetting even some people wey dey comment for this blog.

FlexWox said...

2.5 Million Lagosian have mental disorder is a rather un verified and incorrectly researched survey for the fact that their are no substantial evidence to back their findings.

It is rather pathetic that all we hear are figures that can not be defended or proved to be true !

I don't care what any research firm says or figures they church out. As long as i never filled any survey or witnesses the sampling process to gather facts. It will forever be unverified figures that we shall be reading about in the press

VJ said...

I agree with u Bella that he didnt mean it that way. Is he among the 2.5million? just wanna know, no beaf only fish!

SOLA said...

what would he say if he were a health commissioner in America? lol

naijababe said...

Yes, I believe. Emotional inbalance is so common.It doesn't mean you are psycho crazy. We were just all talking about this in my family not too long ago. We were trying to analyze one of my aunts that lives in Nigeria. We concluded, she's emotionally unbalance based on her random outburst of emotions.

My mom is a doctor, she said many people who she works with, doctors, lawyers, teachers, etc are on some type of medication to help them balance their emotions better. So, it's no big deal. Not to overdrug yourself but there are times that it is very necessary.

Linda, you sound so unaware, and too naive that it can be disturbing at times. I understand, you don't want to travel out but I will advice/encourage you to leave your comfort zone and travel. Maybe, it will help to see Nigeria from a different eye.

Looking at Nigeria/Nigerians, I will say there is definitely an emotional inbalance with majority of Nigerians whether they realize it or don't want to accept it.

i agree 200% he's right! i also believe so because abnormal things seem so normal to us and so many other things. He's right on point. we all need to under-go some check-ups. but not by Lagos doctors oo, cuz dey too are in this. lolz. And im very serious about this linda.

Thank God he's a lagosian

Exactly Bella. Mental disorder does not necessarily mean they are retarded or 'crazy'. Depression, anxiety, etc are part of it

as myself said...

lol

Mental disorders are many. Ranges from the simple personality disorders to overt schizophrenia. So the commissioner is wrong in that much more people suffer from one form of mental disorder or others than the figure he quoted

only 2.5million?...i don't agree.
a lot more!

Is he one of them?

Bella you are spot on. Please educate Linda. Sometimes I wonder if she actually went to a university

Mide said...

Lagos State Commissioner for health says 2.5 million Lagosians have mental disorder i.e. of every 5 lagosians, 1 dey kolo. In order words out of every 5 members of Lagos State EXCO, 1 dey kolo too. E fiit be le Gouvernor ou bien la Commissiare liu-meme!

If you ask me, that figure is very conservative and generous. Y'all are mighty crazy in Lagos and everywhere in Nigeria. Have you seen people anywhere act the way folks act out here. Everybody is in a hurry, know it all, very wicked and selfish, no respect for the rule of law, always right and extremely argumentative even on issues that they are plainly ignorant on. Clinically I wont be at all surpised if the figure is way higher than presented. And why not when the governed are being subjected to extreme hardship and total lack of concern by the governors whom themselves are totally sick and have no conscience. so when you are up and about in lagos or in the entire nation, be fore warned that the next guy beside you is a WACO.

Sam Meera said...

I agree with Bella. Mental disorders are not just confined to people running around naked screaming nonsensical words (which is schizophrenia btw) but there is also the calm and reserved people who have problems with depression and anxiety.
I think that people who have mental illnesses see it as a shame and never see doctors or anyone at all, that is why these numbers could be even higher than that.
Infact, most mental disorders that people attribute to "juju" is not even true.

Anyway, Intermittent Explosive Disorders should be the most rampant in Lagos (my theory, lol) because of the number of fights I have seen in the past which are started over the littlest things.

ABSOLUTELY!!!

SIR, YOU JUST TOO EXACT, I WONDER SOMETIMES WHAT IS WRONG WITH LAGOSIANS ,ESPECIALLY THOSE IN GOVERNMENT. AND THOSE IN SMALLER CADRE HAVE TO ACT ACCORDING TO THEIR MENTORS WHAT DO YOU THINK?

This explains a lot

amebo said...

oh.....boy... I ova agree.... Infact its more dan dat.... E fit reach 4.5million sef...jst go oshodi... U go c character...even me i de suspct am sef sef.... Gbam!

amebo said...

linda,u sef,d kin tins wey u de post 4diz ur blog sef... I de suspct say u dey among....LFKM.. Na joke o....LOLS

amebo said...

i agree oo....coz me 2de suspct ma sef....gbam!

it cant be compared to that of rivers state meeeeeeen were much in that place i swear

Why not, if not ?

Modupsy said...

All u need to do is drive on the streets of Lagos to get confirmation of just how mentally challenged some Lagosians are.

Ken said...

If you have 4 friends that you think are normal, you are likely one of his statistics. :)

Adebola said...

I agree with Bella and the Psychiatrist. Mental health disorder is not simply Psychotic. Depression is a common type, and believe it or not over 10 million Nigerians suffer from it. It is only a repressed form, which is more dangerous.

tunmi said...

Thank you Bella for clarifying that. And y'know what? It makes sense.

He's the number one mad person in Lag, he has the face of a full craze person, see him eyes.

Buzzer! said...

Majorly affected are most danfo drivers, almost all okada riders, almost all keke marwa riders etc hehehehe

bella speaks well.

also, with the number of rape cases (esp father to daughter cases)coming to public knowledge, one cannot dismiss this comment on a whim

Water and electricity scarce like petrol, no job for youths, no business for adults, armed robbers at night terrorising Lagos State, armed robbers in the day at Aso Rock Abuja terrorising the whole country and now dem all crazy for Lagos. Na wah for Nigeria. The United Nations should send the Ghananians, Cameronians and the Togolese to liberate Nigeria.

he actually wants to say 41% not 14%.

is it not obvious from all the rot around you: danfo, okada, keke marwa, agbero, peeing on even 3rd mainland bridge, stealing cover of wc at eateries, trading on street, police, ole in high places, youth for GEJ....endless list

and ur asking if he's right? men, we're all kolo big time.

Ada said...

Ah ah Lily, why u de ask, dont u see it on d streets of lagos everyday.... depression n all sorts as d first person said...e full ground!

Seriously, I bet the stats is more like 8 million Lagosians.

Let us be realistic. Do you know what - constant lack of electricity, employment abuse, okadas, lack of employment, being a broke polygamist, constant malaria, no adequate health care, no salary payment, no clean water, flooding, hearing about instant billionaires with only one head (a la our politicians) etc, etc -does to a human psychic?

I say 3 to 4 out of every 5 Lagosian is mentally ill.

mama somtee said...

@ 5.20pm na true oooh i totally agree with you na him dey craze with all of them wey dey steal money , they are the cause of the madness , depression , when they are not governing us aright , they do not provide essntial services for the common man be it ACN , PDP yet this drug addict has the guts to say people are going mental , if the roads are good , there is constant eletricity , i can go to a good hospital , everyone abides by the rules will i fight the danfo driver , or abuse the okada driver or look for money to fuel my gen gbogbo family eeeh ni ware aro ati yaba ni won ma kusi ole jatijati

Okay now that we know the statistics. What are the actions taken?

TO MY FELLOW NIGERIANS;

I admire and respect the drive to want to be a doctor, lawyer, engineer but we need more psychologists, psychiatrists, therapists, and counselors.
Since psychology is not common in Naija, I will advice, encourage more Nigerians abroad to consider the field. It's long time overdue. We desperately need it.

Linda, u gon sef, u dey act like u be one of the 2.5 millions lagosians sometimes.
All the leaders are automatically enrolled, all these wicked seniors wey dey punish u for school, all the idiots wey dey rape girls, all the men wey dey beat their wives, all the juju/voodoo doctors and some of the so called men of God, etc. GOD HELP NIGERIA!!!

14.1% ia about 1 in 7, n he may not mean dey all have severe disorder, but to an extent they do without even realising it.
n either way i believe him naija life is too stressful. dunno how u guys do it but guess i'll have to learn some day

*ajalahtravel* said...

starting with him and his cohorts or dem never tell am say kleptomania na mental disorder?

*ajalahtravel*

Adams said...

including him afterall he lives. Why?
All looters are sick, stealing money you can't spend.....
Then why?
Let him tell that to his boss & co.

How can anyone be normal living in a place like Lagos, even Nigeria as a whole? Na now them know? I think the figure is way more than that sha, atleast 7million people in Lagos alone. are you telling me for instance that "hon" Patrick is normal? You have a mental problem if you agree that guy is sane, we laugh at his excesses but is he a comedian or a serious government official. some things we do in Nigeria and we think the world does not see, we forget youtube and facebook....go figure

oscar said...

That figure is far below the realistic figure. The commissioner himself may be among those who are mental cos by the the time he is leaving office now you will be surprised to here that he has looted five billion.

Even in this blog kwakwaa some of us here are mental which is evident from the kind comments we churn out..... We only focus on the area boys and bus drivers . What about our so called elites, their own worst. Gwenga Daniel, Tinubu, Baba Suwe, Ibori, Cicilia Ibru of Oceanic bank , just to mention but a few cos you all know them needs to spend like six months in Yaba mental home. I mean it takes insanity to do what they have all done.

yup can believe that, with the way we drive especially in lagos and all the "you are a mad man/woman" insults being screamed at eachother ...sounds like a logical conclusion!! Lets add another zero to that 2.5million shall we.....?

fine gurl said...

it is true and you can see it from the way those lame AGBOROS jump about from one lane of the motorway to another just to collect money from suffering drivers.

some other mentally ill people will choose to blast music like deaf people...

in fact 75% of the entire lagosians need urgent psychiatric help cos the mental illness is now chronic.

Kemiismyrealname said...

I concur. Just read the news headlines.

yes, I thought as much. The behaviour of some people makes you wonder if they are really normal, ok! so it's mental problem! I cant doubt the figure because we encounter many decent mad people everymoment, everywhere in Lagos especially and they want to run you mad as well.

Ade_Cool said...

lie!!..he should have made it 50%= 7 Million...
Have any of you noticed how those from abroad start going mental after 2-3 weeks..shouting..screaming..please the place is mad and serves as a catalyst for environmentally induced madness

Fully agree with @Bella..

doodla said...

i agree

I completely agree with him.In Lagos when you'r doing the right thing there is this bizzare look you get, which means that not doing things right is the traditonal way or norm for them.

i hope you guys know bola tinubu is too... to the left , to the left..loool

True talk but I will say it applies to all Nigerians. You can feel dat mental attitude in the majority across the board. Shameful though

Yes, many naijas are KOLOMENTAL. I just hope we can have ways to deal with our anger, depression, anxiety, emotional instability. It's no big deal, because many people suffer from it here but they are on medication. So, I hope we can find solutions not just point out the problem with no solution.