Baba Suwe Allegedly Caught With Cocaine At MMIA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 October 2011

Baba Suwe Allegedly Caught With Cocaine At MMIA

Veteran comic actor, Babatunde Omidina, aka Baba Suwe, was last night Oct 12 arrested by the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency at the Muritala Mohammed International Airport for being in possession of Cocaine.

The comic actor was scheduled to board a 10pm scheduled Air France flight to Paris before he was caught. The drugs were allegedly discovered in the 53-year-old actor‘s stomach as he passed through the scanning machine at the airport and he was immediately arrested and detained.

Inside sources have revealed that the comedian has refused to go to the toilet. He is still in custody.

Is anyone surprised by this news?

91 comments:

No surprise there.
that is how MOST male Nigerian artistes make it.they just use there craft to camouflage.
The female ones spend more there time openning legs for drug barons,419ers and politicians.
Don't be deceived by all these endorsements you here all over the place.These are the true sources of their wealth and flamboyance.
There are exceptions but it does not take a genius to know the exceptions.

adaure ekechukwu said...

i heard the same thing too but i cant believe it myself. OMG what a total disgrace to the entertainment industry. i even read he claimed he was going to Paris for an event as the master of ceremony, only for him to caught. well this is a lesson to other stars who think their fame and wealth puts them above the law.

U fall my hand sir.Enjoy d consequences.

wow.....am not surprised!

D said...

Wow, really? I am surprised! I'm just glad they caught him in Nigeria instead of him going to disgrace the country and himself in France.

i don't know how truthful is this subject, but one thing i disagreed is that ;he refused to go to the toilet ,if the NDELA gave him the required dose of charcoal missed groundnuts peanuts or red oil within few minutes he will definitely go to toilets, Linda I hope u give us the real gist.

Sam Meera said...

If French people refuse to give me a visa (maybe when I apply in the near future), I will blame people like him!
If he likes let him not s**t it out, it will burst in his stomach then he will see. Na mi beg am to carry cocaine?
Shameless old man!

where is your source? i m sure its one of those rumors again

This is embarrassing. Sir am disappointed.

Wow! This is just ..bad.
http://bodyandmindforallwomen.blogspot.com/

Gbenga Daniel no wan eat, Babasuwe no wan sh**. I laugh in yoruba hahaha

Dis is serious anyway dre is no new thing under d sun they jt use the film industry to cover up d cocaine is dre real source of income

NaijaPundit said...

It is because he forgot the tortoise at home...

May God forgive me but could he have battered his wife for failing to carry the stuff before she died? God dey!

A publisher claimed that he saw her battered body. She hypertensive and they had a fight. She was planning to travel out of Nigeria. Moladun RIP!

People began to suspect him a long time ago. Maybe he forgot that JUJU cannot cover 3D scanners. What a greedy fool?

I only pity his kids. He must have done it several times and should have stopped when the body scanners came in. Ode!

Byby said...

Baba suwe why now???Choi dis guy don fall my hand.i find dis story hard to bliv ooooo!

LMHO @ this comment: "U fall my hand sir.Enjoy d consequences."

Na devil hand work be this o---Gbenga

Yinka said...

All that in one stomach? Greedy. Was he high, though? I used to laugh at his jokes. I hope his enemies are not laughing at him as a joke. I'm totally surprised by this news. It's no laughing matter. Untill further notice, I guess his cellmates will now be the only ones that will enjoy his jokes. He should at least go and shit before he wound himself with constipation. Some should please beg him. He should be on hunger strike, not shit strike. I guess he's exercising his fundamental Human Rights not to shit. Naija man stuborn no be small. Na wah ooh. Nigerians, where you guys dey? Over to you, please.

Iyaeto said...

This is what greed and lack of contentment (oju kokoro ati aini telorun) causes. This guy has a number of houses at ikorodu o .I just hope NDLEA doesn't tell us int he morningthat what they found were lumps of eba or he was rehearsing for a role in a movie titled OJU KOKORO. They should have allowed him to get to France as i feel he'll get off lightly very soon ..

AYO OREKOYA said...

Na wa o!, Everybody Desperate to Make this Cheddar by Force. .lol

So he has not sh****ed for 2 days. Haba.

Since Feb 1 2007, there was rumours that Babatunde Omidina (Baba Suwe) was dealing in hard drugs. National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) acted on a tip-off. Even his ex-wife, comedian/actress, Monsurat Omidina (a.k.a. Omoladun Kenkelewu) that dies on September 01, 2009, knew.

http://www.osundefender.org/?tag=babatunde-omidina

*ajalahtravel* said...

thank God say im no wan shit im cocaine. that one go save their time. arrest, judgement and execution all at once without stress.

so Baba Suwe, thank you eh for serving as a drug disposal system. God go reward you greatly.

*ajalahtravel*

I would believe the story if it was paris authorities that caught him but NDLEA catching baba suwe? abeg abeg

kiki said...

its such a disgrace! SMH! dis is wat most of our celebs r duin nowadays den dey will cover it up sayin its dier hardwork paying off. May GOD hav MERCY!

kiki said...

its such a disgrace! SMH! dis is wat most of our celebs r duin nowadays den dey will cover it up sayin its dier hardwork paying off. May GOD hav MERCY!

Hot Gists! Hot News!! said...

good for him!
http://hotgistshotnews.blogspot.com

i heard it on national T.V yesternite as a breaking news, not surprised tho fnk he was 1ce caught in dat act.

Son of Babylon said...

No surprise here because if one listens carefully to his jokes, He is constantly making reference to some big time Drug Barons like "Ile Eru" and "Sati Ramani" and co. He has so much respect for these guys that I can easily see how they could have lured him into the trade. The Yoruba area boys (Baba Suwe included) are always fascinated with these local drug lords like dem be scarface or something. The same Ile Eru is currently locked up for drugs.

he should count his blessings he was caught in nigeria, he would have been sentenced to death in france, as they have zero tolerance for drug trafficers

ONYEDIKING said...

This is embarrassing. Sir am
disappointed.

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

ONYEDIKING said...

This is embarrassing. Sir am
disappointed.

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

I tot they said this happened to him like some years back! abi is there another 9ja baba suwe? me i dnt bliv the story sha.

kkdlegend said...

am not suprise atol, coz dats wat diz celebs do to make dough

Maya A said...

well i heard about baba suwe into stuff like this long time ago. of cuz he denied it. i guess now the he has just confirmed it... buh its sad tho!

yes said...

when will most of our actor's stop embarrassing this our beloved country.

I am surprised because most of them are doing it. Breeze don blow, fowl yansh don openoooooooo.

This is a big shame 4 a man sum youths tag as their role model...at least we nw knw dat this is wat most actors do,usin actin as a decipher...AGN should withdraw his license...shikena

A big shame

Okanlomo Goke-Olateju said...

Oh well from what I know this is not the first time and it cannot be a surprise to me. Drugs and the movie industry are close pals as the actors and actresses wat to live up to the life they display on-set. I pray the law take its course.

unique said...

@anon at 10.31 I dey follow you laff o jare hehehehe

Linda I am nt asking u to post dis but u can be sure if it was an artiste of Igbo extaction caught with dis drugs he and d Igbo's wud've gotten d bashing of their lives,wud've been called unprintable names.Let's all learn to live and let live've respect for each other and we wud live happy and productive lives.God bless.

@ sam meera banks.....girl u have a shrek-like mouth. seems ur new to dis blog. been reading ur comments and i fink u fink ur pretty.park well ooo...*flips my noble+kanekalon hair*.......linda abeg post my comment. i dey beef de girl wella cos she dey abroad de comment anyhow. come comment 4 naija with dat ur pic if someone wont disfigure dat ur annoying face. mtchewwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!

bloglord said...

just trying to keep up with the celebrity lifestyle. ds is hs second time of being caught. shame!

BABA SUWE: AN ICON EVAPORATES

His art may be limited to his Yoruba slice of Nollywood, but Baba Suwe has been a humungous Nollywood icon, whose image and influence transcend tribal lines. Funny as funny can be, and hilarious as Richard Pryor ever was, this singular concentration of theatre and laughter has been a national treasure comparable to any before and during him. He has mesmerized audiences with his bizarre but sufficiently entertaining style - perhaps, unique to him.

Baba Sala, one of Baba Suwe's artistic forebears - perhaps, even his role model - used bizarrely over-sized paraphenalia of art to captivate audiences, and that was his identity. But Suwe's emblematic use of pitch black body paint to mask his skin pigmentation - rumored to be nearly half-caste light - is his captivating theatrical identity. For those familiar with his art, Baba Suwe is comedy's delight, never boring, never annoying. Comedy is a tolerable combination of art and self-ridicule, verging on foolishness. So a curious, and regrettable, convergence of both in Suwe's art - or, more appropriately in this case, his reality - compels the astounded mind.

Baba Suwe may be an icon, but his iconic image - smeared shockingly by an image-trumping misadventure - has just evaporated. Allegations of drug trafficking have blasted all of it to smithereens and raised large questions we could never have even contemplated. The image of him being led off in handcuffs, with bags of narcotics buried in his stomach, sickens with its horror. How did Baba Suwe come to this? Perhaps, the only conceivable answer is that hedious trait creative art celebrity shares with political celebrity - greed. It is a common denominator that has the force of a strangulating python grip on Nigeria's public figures. The singular cause of it is the hedious implantation of its corrupting seed into the social DNA by the rampaging political class. In our psychotic pursuit of self-fulfilment, depravity triumphs over morality. With neither thought nor reason, we masticate our reasoning with the tempting lure of limitless wealth. So, we joyously lay our dignity on the moral gallows, as long as our monetary motivations would be realized. Just contemplating the hediousness pollutes the mind.

The assumption is always that people in entertainment are stupendously rich and, therefore, content with their estate. Previously, the idea that an Olu Jacob or a Pete Edochie - who are Suwe's artistic siblings - would be tainted by drugs was entirely inconceivable. Baba Suwe has exploded that combination of myth and mystique. So, why would otherwise respectable Nollywood icons descend into a moral abyss, such as the potentially damaging indignity of, ironically, acting as drug mules? But the irony does go even much further, when you contemplate the significance of Baba Suwe's theatrical skin disguise. And a question, inevitably, emerges: does the black body paint actually expose the darkness deep within? That is a matter open to argumentative chatter and conjecture. But a fact is evident: Baba Suwe has lost his respectability because he has lost the moral high ground. As if Nollywood hasn't suffered enough this year, with its alarming turn-over of bereavements, now this. Is there any further justification for flocking to our television screens for a diet of Baba Suwe? Some might think so, some might think not. But that is debate we might be interested in.

sakara said...

just heard d man has excreted 16 pelets and there's stl a large quantity that has refused to come out, now they said he's crying like a baby.

but ho can he disgrace himself like this now?

kai baba 'suwele'....u fall ma hand fa

Transformational Counselling said...

Nobody is surprised. My concern now is the impact, it will have on the accessibility of Visa to others in the entertainment industry. A few of them are sincerely hardworking, but most of them are either drug pushers, fraudsters or prostitutes.
Too bad for the industry, i hope they will be able to do some damage control befor the thing become extensive.
Topsie

so sad.........too much money aint enough money .......shoulda play safe.....No time to check time...am off

wanda said...

he beta start shaiting if he doesnt want to die for nothing.he probably thot he culd get away with it wearing that stupid look on his face.

@Anno 4,re u a nigerian?shut up and get lost if u dont ve anythin to say,must linda give the gist for u to know wat is happening.

atos said...

That is d trend of most of this actors/actressess! Yeye people! otan!

shio kelebe

shio kelebe

Ilevbare Michael said...

suprise ke...thats an extra curricular activity for most of the artist....he's still gonna bail himself out, cos this aint the first time...

14me said...

Am not surprise jare na dem sabi

I'm not surprised at all. these artists are like that.

Linda I am nt asking u to post dis but u can be sure if it was an artiste of Igbo extaction caught with dis drugs he and d Igbo's wud've gotten d bashing of their lives,wud've been called unprintable names.Let's all learn to live and let live've respect for each other and we wud live happy and productive lives.God bless.

WR1 said...

Baba Suwe mistakenly swallowed prop cocaine, according to his Lawyer:
http://www.wazobiareport.com/reports/Baba-Suwe-mistakenly-swallowed-prop-cocaine,-says-lawyer

B! said...

He's Lucky he was caught in Nigeria & not in France,U used to be funny and now I guess the joke is now on you.

Kemiismyrealname said...

OMG!

i totally agree with ANON 9:56PM OCT 13TH. all these local celebs, females and males with or without flashy endorsements have done or are doing nasty things on the side. you name them, they are dodgy, eg, how do u think the precious genevieve got her house in VGC before she even got all this exposure she has now? and did people really think her thing with dbanj is for real? they were screwing in each other and dressed it up well to benefit from the exposure as well so it covers the real nastiness they were up to. what of stella and the beloved RMD, THEY HAVE BEEN SCREWING FOR MANY MANY YEARS, believe it or not, chaetingon each others spouses the works, what of omotola and her various liasons with men she likes to pick up, chop and clean mouth.... the list is plenty, so this is not shocking at all.

Kay

Buzzer! said...

As work no dey for am again, young upcoming no gree baba see anything comic do again, so u no go too blame am if im say make im try im luck elsewhere! chei, bushmeat don enetr trap, so sad

Teflon don sued

BUH I HEARD AS AT YESTERNITE HE NEVER SHIT ANYTHING

mamabussy said...

yoruba actors and actresses are synonymous with peddling hard drugs... No bad blodd cos i'm a full blooded yoruba lady

Sam Meera said...

@ Anon 8:53
I live in Nigeria btw

Manchy said...

Cocaine Ke? Pada lasan lo gbe mi o!!! lolll

Haba haba,baba suwe why u are a big disgrace to dis country,oh could you do much a tin,now i see how u guys make una money saying na our hand work na ogun go kill most of una,you must be jail for dis goin to b a lession for d rest who r stil planning dis big fuck!!

Boko Haram is better than drugs. Yoruba nd Ibo people hear this. You keep disgracing Nigeria...Musa

Yoruba peeps are nat dong well at all.Even da Yoruba actresses now trade in this illicit business disgracing Nigerians in Dubai and Saudi Arabia and now Baba Suwe.Baba u 4 use ya wife 4 ritual like ya colleagues than this public disgrace.Eheh Gbenga Daniels that ya Sister wey 'em sentence to 10years imprisonment 4 Dubai,u dey hear 4rm am so?

Unlock your modem free said...

Too bad for him.

Lagos state University admission list said...

This is strange, maybe he is using his popularity to fk.up

Futuoke Release 2011/2012 Admission List said...

Bye my hero!

dammy said...

hi sweet linda. i just heard dat baba suwe has just excreted 16 wraps of cocaine.his silly lawyer claims he ingested it by mistake.pls publish d full gist for ur bloggers.

not a new thing for these actors and artiste...especially the yoruba ones (n by the way Im yoruba so no tribalistic crap)...truth is, NDLEA always looks the other way so he obviously didnt settle the ppl he was supposed to settle...and he'll get out of it with a fine...n prolly a few months in jail...its no biggie for them...this is Naija...smh

Mena UkodoisReady said...

Its sad so many do it. How do I know? Little Obinna of yesterday went 'overseas' and now is rocking a bentley. No visible means of income.Several people espe men since they have the guts (no pun intended) to do it however in this case, this public figure got caaught, no matter how he denies it whether by swearing oh, he will need to poo poo very soon and its all over. I wish him a lenient sentence as a first time offender.

Which brings me to this thought: There exists within every human being a growing need for material comfort. Some satiate that need by working harder neglecting their own health and spititual needs/needs of their dependents, others by prostituting themselves and others carrying illegal substances.

Sometimes its necessary to know when to put a FULL STOP to all unneccessary hustle and thank God for what we have and lookaround us, notice ppl who are worse off and sew into their lives

Like the lady in this blog did ---> http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/10/you-are-well-fed-why-cant-you-look-me.html

Mena

follow me at http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/ and GUARANTEED I will follow your blog right back.

When ignorant people talk, u see why the bible says it is better for a fool to keep quiet and be thought wise . @ kiky, there is no death penalty in France. As a member of the EU you cannot incorporate the death penalty in your constitution and that is one of the things amnesty international has against Nigeria and some states in the US.

mama somtee said...

i hear NDLEA spokesman saying that sometimes their sacnners can malfunction so a guessing that baba swe and them are still brainstorming on who much to pay and wld hve an ineffective scanner and they wld shamlessly apologise to baba suwe ,awon baba alayilojuti , awon baba ole , alapamasise , igbe cocaine loma ja ku .

Ade_Cool said...

So after Rapes..Kidnappings and removal of oil subsidies then this!!...Baba Suwe..you a frigging disgrace!!!..you so revered and popular some could have chipped in if you had difficulties..we know 9jas have pride but c'mon now!!..swallowing drugs..that's the lowest of the low!!..that's what mules do..the really really desperate ones do..but u a Celeb of some sort..SHAME on you..hope those mosquitoes show you pepper!!..anyways he learnt from the very best..those with Diplomatic immunity and Pilots..

finally baba suwe don shit oo.he excretes 16 pellets of cocaine,cries like a baby pleading for forgiveness,imagine! o ga

@NaijaPundit, no tortoise can pass through 3D scanners unless the immigration officer is asleep or accepted bribe. It is beyond juju.

Wild Boy said...

And to think our reputation internationally's nothing to write home about...
We blame people that discriminate against us...
We are 'sharp people' Naija people
It pains me that innocent kids we bring into this world have to suffer for their ancestors' sins and refusal to arrest certain issues..
It pains me that they will eventually become tainted by the menace of our choices today
It pains me we cannot stand for something...like a country that will not tolerate fraud, sloppiness, rape, lies and the likes.
Just like all their predecessors, the perpetrators of blown up cases in Nigeria roam the streets free...flaunting their conquests in our faces..
Baba Suwe has done something inexcusable for someone of his status and influence in the society. An idea of how many people see him as a role model is staggering..
But your guess is as good as mine, he will be left off the hook..just like every other person

No surprise at all

i tink dat if we dont partronise video clubs, or pirate films, am sure dat, wot dey earn with deir talent from d entertainment industry wud be enuf for dem.
Am not supporting him o, pls dnt get me wrong.

Wot u sow, u will reap. baba suwe married two wives, both wives said he maltreated them. So maybe the law of karma is now playing its role in baba suwe life. GOD forgive me, if am judging o.

i tink dat if we dont partronise video clubs, or pirate films, am sure dat, wot dey earn with deir talent from d entertainment industry wud be enuf for dem.
Am not supporting him o, pls dnt get me wrong.

Wot u sow, u will reap. baba suwe married two wives, both wives said he maltreated them. So maybe the law of karma is now playing its role in baba suwe life. GOD forgive me, if am judging o.

Useless fool! Shame on you!

Free browsing on blackberry phone said...

He is still under surveliance

Adamawa State University 1st Batch 2011/2012 Admission List Out said...

Most nigeria are going to condem this man. But then he is only a struggler.

He is innocent! court order NDLEA to pay babasuwe sum amount for damages since last year or two which i belief they've not paid him, how come he is still in custody and can't shit since last two years?