Nigeria rated the 101st best country to do business in the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 10 October 2011

Nigeria rated the 101st best country to do business in the world

Nigeria dropped from the 87th position it occupied last year. Ahead of Nigeria from the African continent were South Africa, which ranked 40th, followed by Zambia (56th), Namibia (71th), Ghana (72th), Mozambique (77th), Morocco (83rd), Malawi (86th), Egypt (92nd), Senegal (96th), and Madagascar (98th).

Thoughts?

19 comments:

Thats what happens when we are a country known for 419. We cant blame nobody but ourselves.

kkdlegend said...

With the BOKO HARAM,MEND AND FRAUDSTERS+KIDNAPPING PROBLEMS i think we deserve it

mama somtee said...

Just how many countries are in the world that we are coming first from the rear--- with all the talk of developing na olodo we bi shhhior , our leaders should be flogged na so so mouth we get .

Linda, are you talking about the world bank index? and are you talking about the 2011 ranking? because it is even worse, Naija ranked 137 (down from 125). smh.

http://www.doingbusiness.org/rankings

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ease_of_Doing_Business_Index

*ajalahtravel* said...

Not surprised that's for sure.

*ajalahtravel*

E Aboyeji said...

And this is why right here :

https://bookneto.com/snapshots/8985

Can you see the compare and contrast?

This is so sad !

BADLUCK JONATHAN

EBEKUO said...

www.icheoku.com says what a thumbing of the rudderless government, without any road-map on how to get to their destination, which presently saddles Nigeria. which investor wants to risk throwing his hard earned capital in such a Boko Haram infested country? It is akin to throwing same into an inferno and with Nigeria, a burning cesspit of unabashed corruption and unmitigated power interruptions both of which are very inimical to business? The havoc Boko Haram is wrecking on Nigeria's image is grave and recovering therefrom will be an uphill climb. Needless to say that MEND did worst by introducing terrorism into Nigeria's lexicography, which unfortunately, became the springboard for Boko Haram insurgency, admitted both may have their peculiar grievances? It is indeed very unfortunate; a situation made worst because the leadership and people of Nigeria seem oblivious of how deep a shit they are really mired in.

Son of Babylon said...

Makes perfect sense because unless you "Soji" you can't deal with Nigerians period. Every move we make is calculated and the rest of the world don't operate like that. You can't pay for goods in Nigeria in advance because you will get duped, You can't be straight forward in 9ja because folks will take advantage of you. What a Shame!

ONYEDIKING said...

1 day naija go be number one i believe

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

Thoughts? Hmmm.. Let's see.. Nigeria is filled with narcissistic scammers.. We call them our political rulers..

Omalicha said...

even madagascar that is very dangerous is better than us..what a travesty

This is not true jor, the rating is biased. Why do they keep flocking into Nigeria?

Yet the MTNs of this world are making trillions of profit from Naija and are not ready to leave. Yes Boko haram, MEND and other issues are messing us up, but believe me Naija is an investor's dream. Naija4life

Na wa oh,which way naija?

deekay gburu gburu said...

Naija is a hard place to do business, but guess what? Your Return on Investment na one of the best in the world. Please make una no do business for Naija, those of us in the game will keep smiling to the Bank. Joor o!!!

NaijaBizCom said...

Linda,
Thanks for this post.There is one thing I know whether the world bank or any other international financial body rate Nigeria high or low. My believe is that Nigerians at home and abroad should take the bull by the horn when it comes to investing in Nigeria.MTN and other telecoms companies came and invested in Nigeria even when the international community tagged Nigeria a country not safe for investment but today just ask MTN to leave Nigeria and see the reaction.Any way I rest my case here God bless Nigeria.Ojo@ www.Naijabizcom.com ...small scale businesses and income opportunities in Nigeria

It is just about time to start shooting some rogues in government who, by omission or commission, have created the scenario that has placed Nigeria where it is now. Who will bell the cat?