8 killed in Southern California salon shooting | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 October 2011

8 killed in Southern California salon shooting

A gunman opened fire yesterday Wednesday Oct 12, in a busy hair salon, killing eight people and critically wounding another while leaving bodies scattered throughout the business in a normally sedate Southern California beach community.

The gunman got into a truck and drove away from Salon Meritage after opening fire. A suspect was stopped by officers about a half-mile away and surrendered without incident while saying he had multiple weapons with him, police Sgt. Steve Bowles said.

Some of these oyibo people sef...so you can go to a salon to make your hair and somebody you don't even know will just come there and kill you? SMH! Please continue...

Authorities did not immediately release his name or those of the victims. In all, one man and five women died at the salon, one man and one woman died after being transported to a nearby hospital, and one woman remained in critical condition late Wednesday.
Friends of the salon owner said the gunman was the ex-husband of a stylist who worked there. Bowles would only say, "There may be something to the motive as to a relationship with somebody in the salon, that is our assumption." He declined to elaborate later.

Kimberly Criswell, who owns a salon just two doors down from the scene of the shootings, said she and her customers and employees heard gunshots, and her receptionist saw a man through a window as he was shot in a parking lot.

"There was like a pop, pop and my receptionist screamed, 'he just shot that man' and we all ran into the bathroom and locked the door,'" Criswell said.

Glenn Zachman, who owns a video news-gathering service, said he arrived at the scene of the arrest shortly after police and saw they had placed plastic bags over the man's hands to preserve possible gunshot residue.

He also saw a bulletproof vest on the back of a patrol car but didn't know if the man, dressed in a button-down shirt and pants, had been wearing it.

The man, in handcuffs, was placed in a patrol car and taken away about two-and-a-half hours after the shooting. A new white pickup truck that was believed to be his was parked on the modest residential street with its doors open.

Read the rest at the source

17 comments:

Na so Linda.

Americans are a miserable set of people. All it takes is a little problem in their personal lives and boom! They buy a gun which is so easily accessible here anyway and begin to shoot. Alot of Americans are also very emotionally and psycologically unstable so one must be careful when dealing with them.

devour said...

so sad

Nollywood Forever Movie Reviews said...

Wow he probably had some sort of mental illness to go to the extent of going to shoot her in her workplace. Obsession is not cool or sexy... As soon as you smell hints of it do not be flattered ladies. RUN FOR THE HILLS!!!

I'm very sure he will never be refered to as a 'terrorist'..even though he killed with no just cause!!The issue is not islamic this time!pshewwww(hiss)

Bee said...

at least in naija you fit look person and talk say this one na mad man. For yankee mad man no resemble mad man at all.....just a couple of prescription pills and they can act normal.

God help us

naijalog said...

He doesn't have any mental problem jare. Its obsession. N dis American people are just wicked.
Devil too dey inside dem

Futuoke Release 2011/2012 Admission List said...

If out of 1 out of every 5 persons in lagos has mental disorder, in America 5 of 5 person are mentally unstable. Lol

This is very very strange! Imagine those people some few hours back were hail and alive?
This life sef.

Ben Adams said...

Wetin dey worry ds yankees sef.why them dey like use human life do their hollywood movies experiment...dat guy is a mad man and a devilish one at dat..non-sense!!

are we better.?

u go UN building go greet your friend and ..GBOSA....bomb explode!

its because we don't have citizen access to gun, when we do you go see mass killing 9ja style too.

@ Bee,

Right on.

mama somtee said...

make unna see life oooh --- who bi the real craze man out of this one and the example wey DR idris dey give , hmmmm omase ooh ( pity ) in the states almost everything works no bi like here yet they are not satifed --- mean say eeeh don chop belle full dats why eeh get time kill people , i sugguest they send him to gusau prison in zamfara state so he'd know how life is in the other side .

grace said...

all of you that say naija is not safe, i hope you see that no where in this world is safe? Our safety should always & only be in God.

*ajalahtravel* said...

and tomorrow people go say nigeria no dey safe. the day dem born us na the same day dem print out our expiry date and we no know where, when or how. so when the day come, you go kpai. even if you lock yourself up for inside house.

*ajalahtravel*

Nkiru said...

Another reason why I would NEVER raise my children in America!

grace thank you oh. tell them oh. |This one is just the reported one oh. it happens daily in different parts of the USA and those ones living abroad will open their yeye mouth to say nigeria is not safe...

robert said...

Hi
Awesome ! i really found very informative article here and bookmarked this blog. Thank you.