Photo: Young unmarried couple publicly caned for spending time alone | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 March 2016

Photo: Young unmarried couple publicly caned for spending time alone

18 people were publicly caned today Tuesday, March 1 for breaking Islamic law in Indonesia's Aceh province. Among them was a young unmarried couple who were caught spending time alone together. The punishment was meted out by a hooded man with a rattan cane on a stage next to the mosque in Banda Aceh, before a large, enthusiastic cheering crowd.

According to AP, the young couple aged 19 and 21 were given eight strokes each after they were found spending time alone together, which is against the law for unmarried Muslim couples in the province.

While authorities did not disclose the offenses committed by the others, six young men were also caned 40 times each after they were caught drinking alcohol, which violates Islamic law, at a birthday party in a hotel room.

Public caning happens on a regular basis in Aceh, the only province in the world's most populous Muslim-majority country to implement Islamic syariah law, but is less common for women.

Aceh began implementing shariah law after being granted special autonomy in 2001, an effort by the central government in Jakarta to quell a long-running separatist insurgency.

74 comments:

Like seriously?

Hian! Does it stop all the atrocities they're committing there? Rubbish!

Hahaha!! It's their religious law.. Not my business..

Na wa

ISLAMIC AND THEIR BARBARIC RELIGION. If i am born in the next world and I'm a Muslim, I go run back inside my mama belle I swear. This religion depicts Killings, torture and blood shedding.

Sylvia said...

Lol.... Make Dem enter naija... Dia hand go pain dem

Billy said...

Thank God am in 9ja

Na dem sabi

Virgin of steel said...

Islam ehh, let me not talk

Come Nigeria come try that rubbish

http://dollarcell.com/?ref=147546... visit the site above and Become a millionaire within months... pls dey shuld implement the law in Benin city... immorality z 2 mch here... linda u havent replied me yet, u re ma woman crush

Lol ..canning unmarried couple who spent time together really got me laughing ..it is very good though. But imagine if unmarried couple who spent time together are to be flogged in Nigeria ...It will be a national thing ...who will the hooded person be self? ...cos we love togetherness in Nigeria! One love my people.

***Nice says so*** via Nokia Convertible

wetin person no hear.

Hahahahahaah this people are funny

That's some bs....

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

All these Islamic countries are just maltreating people any how,all in d name of religion,too bad.

Hmmmmmm

Engee said...

Can you imagine? Well is their belief,they should deal with it.

Sipping my hennessy

O ga ooo, den go beat people tire for naija...

Odikwa egwu seriously. Linda take note!

Nkemy said...

Hian! These Islamists sef

Pearlie said...

I don't see anything wrong in spending time alone, it's not like they were caught in a compromised situation

PURITY GOODNEWS said...

Let him who have not sinned first cast the stone.

PURITY GOODNEWS said...

Let him who have not sinned first cast the stone.

chyyy said...

Indonesia Aceh Stop living in bondage

Big Ass said...

This one is very strong!

sanrock said...

For Spending time alone? Not even caught in the act....ok oo
Sanrsoul@yahoo.com

Real madness.

is better if only we have something like that in nigeria the level of unwanted pregnancy will have reduce

General said...

So backward!!! Mtchewww!!!

LIB PIKIN said...

What rubbish!! Nonsense religion!

Nenyechi said...

Which kind tin be dat kwa....mtchew

Na wa o. If n naija dis kin law dey,na imm b say dem go tire to flog.

Cane is better to killing

Their cup of tea....didn't sign the islamic act with them

Ken's Random Thoughts said...

Sorry oooooo

THERE BUSINESS. JUST OBSERVING

Dis people sef.

Vela said...

Wonders shall never end

i wonder why muslims take laws into their own hands? then they say they are fighting for mohammed? How dumb can that be! the world would be a better place if it was rid of muslims and islam and all related to it! most backward religion even known! and they claim to preach peace.....peace my ass! bunch of retards..................mtchewwwwwww

#Billionaires' wife...........

i wonder why muslims take laws into their own hands? then they say they are fighting for mohammed? How dumb can that be! the world would be a better place if it was rid of muslims and islam and all related to it! most backward religion even known! and they claim to preach peace.....peace my ass! bunch of retards..................mtchewwwwwww

#Billionaires' wife...........

Thank God for making me land in naija, how i wan take survive fir that kind country.... Nawa o

Are we still in 1777 ?

Evil Religion..
Tnk gudness am not a muslim..
Backward set of piple

All I see is hypocrite people

seye said...

Dis kind of people r proclaiming self-righteousness knowing dat dey r worse Dan d devil himself. D next we will c is dem be heading dem self for same reason. my take is if dis is discipline it makes all d point. but I know dis is an act of barbarism because I know dey can as well kill for same act.

I keep thanking God that am not a Muslim. More Instagram followers for you

PomPom said...

This people and their leaders are all living in bondage. I pity the hooded man not even those being canned.

Luciana Chinda said...

Wait ooooo! Like seriously!
This one no fit happen for our Nigga

Really?
Mouth open

#spritual

tollyjems said...

Stupid law

...So how come the beer na? Was it smuggled into the party? Because we know that 'PT MULTI BINTANG' is Indonesian. Brew but don't drink. Oshima oshima ndi alu!!!

Chai.

part of the reason why i dislike islam,i just can not understand why they are soo brutal..

TUFIA muslim extremists everywhere

emeka4rl said...

RELIGION.....haba

You are a fool

Diamond Princess said...

That's what they meant by spending time alone

We don't even want you.

Hmmm odikwa Egwu ..

You fit go de suck dick as you want. Islam says no way to misbehavior. Don't funicate or commit adultery.

God bless you

starshine said...

Na wa o. Thank God I am a Nigerian o

The way Islam is associated with BAD news Is like the new born puppy is associated with its mothers breast. Haba!! Can we for one day hear good news from Islam???? Any news headlines that have Islam or Muslim must associate with one bad news or the other.

#Dakinzz

While I thank God am a muslim

Hiaaaa,wahala

As if i wanted to join..

Joseph said...

wtf, how could people be treated like this in his modern world? I think Islam is something else

lioness said...

One luv...

Sunshine Interiors said...

I usually dont respond to posts, butthis gotme laughing!

JAO said...

Islamic rule ehn.....God knows best.

Y