The simple import of that ruling is that no man is a king before the law, and that the law is no respecter of persons including those who describe themselves as anointed men of God, and who on that account use religion to commit atrocities.
But the most bizarre development since that ruling last Friday has been the intervention of a group called the Ndigbo Cultural Society of Nigeria (NCSN). The group says Nigeria has nothing to gain by shedding Rev. King’s blood and that President Muhammadu Buhari should grant the convicted murderer state pardon because “he is still a spiritual leader to many Nigerians.” The Ndigbo Society is indirectly saying that Rev King’s life should be spared because he is Igbo, and a religious leader. This is nothing but arrant nonsense. It makes us wonder what happens to people’s heads once they are in the grips of the disease of ethnicism. Has anyone told the Ndigbo Cultural Society that Rev. King’s victim, Ann Uzoh, was also Igbo? Or is Emeka Ezeugo’s Igbo life more important than that of Ann Uzoh? Or the lives of the others: Jessica Nwene, Kosiso Ezenwankwo, Chiejina Olisa, Chizoba Onuora, Vivian and Uche?
We keep encountering this kind of absurdity. Crime is excused on the grounds of ethnic affiliation. My-brother-can-do-no-wrong-once-we-are-from-the-same-village: and it is this that has created a web of conspiracy whenever and wherever the ethnic game is at play, and that conspiracy is against the state and decent values of national togetherness. But we thank God for the courts of law, which in this case have brought the Rev. King saga to a closure. And please note that if the victim in this case had been of non-Igbo extraction, perhaps the Ndigbo Cultural Society would have been more strident with their appeal. They’d do well to keep quiet and not further insult the memory of the dead.
They are right on one score though: that Rev King is still a religious leader to many Nigerians. It is one of those funny things about the scope and spread of superstition and religious fanaticism in Nigeria that there are indeed persons who worship their fellow human beings and turn them into their gods. It is precisely this same form of delusion that led to the crime that is taking Rev. King to the gallows in the first place.
It is why he still has followers who believe that the Supreme Court ruling is a joke and that “Rev. King is superhuman, he can’t be killed by mere mortals”. Members of the Christian Praying Assembly are still reportedly awaiting the return of the man they call “His Holiness”. One Sunny, acting as their spokesman, says:“His Holiness cannot be killed. He is more than a mere human being and cannot be killed by any mortal…He will come back home at the appointed time and by then, the people behind this whole thing will bury their heads in shame…” These characters imagine that the people who will bury their heads in shame include the Justices of the Supreme Court?
Apart from ethnicity, religion is another major source of crisis in Nigeria. It turns people’s heads, turns them into zombies and forces them, in many cases to worship man instead of God. Across the country, every day, there are millions who have turned religious leaders including herbalists into “Little gods”. Among Christians and Muslims, widespread confusion over the interpretation of the doctrine has created such complexity that continues to lead people astray.
Poverty and the scarcity of opportunities continue to drive people to places of imagined salvation. The pastors promise miracles: they not only preach the gospel, they claim all kinds of powers including the power to make the blind see, to make the lame walk, and to help the unmarried find husbands and wives. Some of the pastors add a touch of the melodramatic to it: they give out clothes, cars, houses, and free food.
But it is the people’s money being recycled and given back as token. The lifestyle of many of the religious leaders would make the Pope cringe. They preach salvation and divine protection, for example, but they live as if they are afraid of their own shadows. The poor members of the congregation relate with the anointed man of God from a distance because they are not rich enough to get close to him, but from the pittance that they manage to make, they contribute tithes unfailingly, to make the man of God and his family live it up and boast that their “Lord is Good!”
The more stylish a religious leader is, the more popular. And some have even gone from being stylish to being practically unusual. There are churches where the Pastors slap, beat, and kick members. In some other places of worship, the Pastors are reportedly romantically involved with female members of the congregation, including married women. There is freedom of religion and freedom of worship and association and so, anyone can call himself a Reverend, a Prophet, a Spiritualist or God’s Deputy, erect a tent and turn himself into some people’s God. Rev King actually lived like that, like a mini-God. He built a large cult-like followership and exercised near-absolute powers over his besotted followers. Ann Uzoh was one of his victims. Sometime, in 2006, he had set her and six other members of the church ablaze for allegedly committing fornication, witchcraft and other offences. He sat in judgment in his own court and issued a death sentence. Ann and other ladies in church were Rev. King’s sex slaves, and according to one account it was the rivalry between Ann and another sex slave that led to the dousing of Ann and others with petrol, their being set ablaze, and Ann’s death.
Ann Uzoh is better remembered as one of those promising young Nigerians whose life was derailed by religious hypnotism. Young ladies who are still today selling themselves to churches and pastors should be reminded of her story and there is no better person to offer a reminder than the father of Ann Uzoh, Mr. Raphael Uzoh. In 2006, the Nigerian Tribune (August 9, 2006) interviewed him and reported, in part, as follows:
“The decision of Miss Uzoh, a Higher National Diploma graduate in Accountancy from the Institute of Management and Technology, Enugu State, to pack out of her parents’ house at the period without telling anybody, was said to have shocked everyone. According to the father of the deceased, during a chat with Mid-week Tribune, when he could no longer withstand the pressure being mounted on him by his daughters suitors who had sought her hands in marriage, shortly before she eloped with Rev King, he began the search for her until he was informed by some concerned family members that she had been sighted at the Christian Prayer Assembly belonging to the suspect.
“To my surprise, when I got there, based on the instruction of Rev. King to my daughter, I was told by some insiders that my daughter had changed her name to Ann King. And she told me that I was not her father, that she had started bearing Ann King, said Mr. Raphael Uzoh. He stated that despite this strange behaviour by his daughter and her unusual and sudden rudeness to him, he did not relent in trying to re-assure her that she was still welcome at home if she could still change her mind and come to her senses. Rather, he expressed regrets that his late daughter who was his first child remained adamant and unrepentant.
“However, the bereaved father, in tears, noted that sometime on Saturday, July 22, 2006 at the church’s premises, the accused person was said to have called the deceased and some other five members of the church into his residence and leveled some accusations against the worshippers who saw him as a little god. Mr Uzoh, now left with two children, said he learnt that once anyone was summoned by the pastor, that person, out of fear, must kneel down before the pastor, no matter how old he or she might be. There and then, the suspect was said to have passed death sentence on the girls for perceived fornication and witchcraft. He ordered for fuel and it was brought to him by one Kelechi because the first gallon of fuel brought by the accused person to sprinkle on the unfortunate worshippers was not enough, he recalled.”
That is not the end of the story. Mr. Raphael Uzoh, while trying to rescue his daughter, was ordered to join Rev. King’s church. He did and was given the assignment of lacing Rev. King’s shoes (!). Rev. King definitely lived like a king, and here are some of his followers still insisting that the hangman cannot kill him, even after the Supreme Court had spoken. It won’t be long before they start claiming that he will resurrect! But what on earth could have turned a graduate of Accountancy into a willing sex slave in a church? Unemployment? We need to worry seriously and do something about the growing hordes of young men and women who have turned themselves into slaves of churches, other religious groups, pastors and clerics. Nigeria is losing too much talent and national productivity time to places of religious worship. It is sad that political leaders also patronize these haunts and their managers. Nigeria has become one big theatre of religious ritual. The name of God is the most abused name in Nigeria today. The resultant tragedy and hypocrisy are astonishing.
For now, we can only hope, that all the religious leaders who use religion as a vehicle of abuse will learn the appropriate lessons from the saga of Rev. Chukwuemeka Kingsley Ezeugo a.k.a. Rev. King. And I am not in any way saying all clerics are bad; but that the likes of Rev. King bring the calling to disrepute and sadly, their population seems to be increasing. Rev King has had his day in court. The law has taken its course. Now, let justice be done according to the existing law, even if the heavens fall, quake or wail.
112 comments:
Nice write up.
PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^
So this one is just realising DAT 85% Igbos are senseless....
Reuben please make your article's short, this is the mobile age, everyone is busy and on the go,no time to read such lengthy articles..abeg ehn
Too long for me to read
Pls who Read should Summaries it for me, Too long to read on a Blessed Sunday Morning like this, getting Ready for the service. See u Soon.
go to church
pls ndigbo, take a back seat.....Let Dem hang him.... Cut off his head and bury it separately from his body.... Den make we see how him go take come back.... If he does, I trust Nigerians to address d issue...#nextnewspls#
I want those group to be prosecuted for obstruction of justice
Dr Reuben Abati....nice writeup. aand message!
They should just hang him already
PEPSI ADDICT
I can't believe some people are still fighting for this man. Someone that burnt people alive. Those people have definitely been hypnotized.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
Wow really enjoyed this article well said. Let those that have ear hear
They for first drill this guy,skin d bastard.king my foot!!
Can't read
Well written and correct. I wish justice against the down trodden will continue to take this form, no matter the delay. And the followers of the so called Rev. Kings, my earnest prayer is that God should deliver you all from the clutches of satan.
That's what happens when you don't 'follow the ladder'
Nicely written...
His holiness on earth wen will. Nigerians have sense abeg let the law the it cause. Jare
Mr Ruben abati,please we don't know who the ndigbo's are that you are referring to,maybe some paid sort of guys,but definitely not the Igbo's I know,I am Igbo and we the Igbo's respect law and orders,biko bihari has hate us enough and you should not fuel it the more in a bid for him to love and dash you money pls,we support and respect the rulings of the court,we don't know what group that is saying release kings, definitely not the Main ndigbo,pls also put up a write up and beg the supreme court not to be realizing bokoharam killers,cos they have shed more blood than mr kings, they should be killing them.let's their be equity, I cannot support a murderer,long live Nigeria,may those who love you prosper, peace be within ur wall and prosperity within your palaces.amen
Abeg he must die, no body is above d law. D stupid ndigbo cultural society should go n hug transformer. And dey should stop disgracing our tribe. Linda observe!
It seem the ndigbo are not normal,am sure they r the association of evil doers,ethier they like it or not that man must die.
Hmmmmmmmmm na wa ooo...end time pastors sef.
Am igbo. A nwafor/Sonofthesoil. And I say he deserves Death by burning Alive just like he did to the lady and not even hanging. Again the leader of the stupid group shoul be convicted for even Atemptin this act of saving him. Some idiot people & sensless people thou...I boiled with anger while reading this .
Reuben, I beg go siddon! Now you can come out an write chei? Why did you not advice GEJ when he was going after the so called religious leaders asking for prayers to win the Presidential elections and plunging our resources in the process? Do not come out not to act like a Saint. I can never trust or like you ever again and I am sure feelings are echoed by millions of your former followers/readers.
What a long epistle#yawn... So this King man never die?😳😁😁😁. What are they still waiting for?.. If they need the rope to tie round his neck, I can provide one.. They're wasting my time..
Nice write up
"We need to worry seriously and do something about the growing hordes of young men and women who have turned themselves into slaves of churches, other religious groups, pastors and clerics. Nigeria is losing too much talent and national productivity time to places of religious worship".
And I have just one question for you dear writer, what did you and your former Boss do to salvage the situation ? How many jobs did you create and articles you wrote to help the common man. Rev King deserves to be punished but I hate it most times when you sound all-knowing and supreme. You and your boss had your time. you failed and did nothing with. Oya go to church. Ike nshi.
Well written. I always look forward to reading his articles.
Well written. I always look forward to reading his articles. Always interesting.
They should just kill this man already....
Beautiful piece. No one could have said it better! Let justice be done.
"Religion is the Opium of the masses"... Karl Marx(1843)
Church 'Business' is a lucratic one, especially if you're good in public speaking and can perform 'Miracles'
#PeterObiForPresident2019
the so called igbo group r not speaking4 d igbos pls. Rev King deserve to die and rot in hell
Suffer not an evil man to live...that's my philosophy.
Am so happy the judgement was upheld. It is just soo heartbreaking when i see young adults, graduate even the old following all this so called people calling themselves pastor prophet etc. This life is full of all sort of problems. What this pastor's do is to manipulate people, it is just soo terrible, I pray they learn. I live in Abuja and l see and hear all sort of useless thing, but above all I know that it is because there r real ones that is why we have plenty fake ones too.
This issue should have been history by now oh how I wish our youths would wake up to reality that no man can take the place of God and stop being deceived by demonic agents who claim to be of God
Hmmmmmm........dnt have much to say than to say I am so happy that justice will be done eventually. Heaven will not fall biko, instead heaven will be happy dt d wicked man is finally brought to justice. Even Jesus Christ sef no kill dt adulterous woman in d bible, He rather forgave her, who da hell now is rev king abi wetin dem dey call am. Tufiakwa, hanging sef too simple, nah firing squad for do dt job.
don't know what the supporters want again, guess they don't know what supreme Court means.
Beautifully said
Nice write up.
If u r looking for cheap affordable and superneat braid wig add me on 5bf9a23f
Well spoken. Tanks
This Reuben, he always have sometin to say and write on pple's misfortune..
Smh!
This is d first time I'll read dis man article from beginning to d end, am just fed up wit my People igbo bro's and sis's stupid mentality. Very disgraceful. Always support evil, crime,corruption,thief. I hate d language of he/she is our bro and sis. So if finally we have our fake biafra is dis how we ll continue supporting evil and claim to b above d law. Wat a useless thinking.
Aunty Linda 5 yrs haba pity me
It was very easy to kill but hard to die
Justice I speak, Linda Asim gini?
Well said.that king man is evil.
Gbam!!!.U said it all
This is shocking!!! He killed her cos she fuckd someone else!! Lawd ve mercy!
This z insane Pls d ruling of the court shld be up held to
Na gullible people dem go dey use. Linda take note!
Rip to him
He should be hanged, period. No one is above the law, how can Ndigbo be clamoring for his release? Please justice should prevail.
Why do Igbos keep embarrassing themselves in this country? why? he should be pardoned? you can't find a Yoruba group that will clamour for a criminal to be pardoned from facing the wrath of the law...its just embarrassing.
Let them hang him.they beat my pregnant sister cus she was sitting while others were standing .she could not stand cus of tiredness that was 2004
People that are supporting this king of a man;if not take time will die a painful death
Now let justice be done! I've always said it will continue to. Abati is always a witty read anytime anyday. Sir please I would like to be tutored in the arts by you some more (chumacent@yahoo.co.uk) I wish there's a way I could reach this great mind.
Sure,he must face the law and dance to the tune of it. Wicked man!
Reuben Abati... Hits the nail on the head all the time. He has brilliantly captured what the religious bodies have turned to and the fact that educated people due to unemployment have been brainwashed by this so called "mini gods" . i know that Nigeria can never move forward if ethnic groups are standing and protecting their own. If the supreme court has passed its judgment, who are we to say otherwise. Pls Nigerians wake up and talk to God directly. You have the power to make it happen. Dont be deceived by some fakes, infact there are more fakes out there than the people God has chosen to do His work.
So being igbo and a spiritual leader automatically makes him worthy of a pardon.
Reuben please take a bottle of whatever you take, bill is on me. This cultural group should take several useless and dirty seats abeg. As far as am concerned this King of a guy is far from a man of God because no man walking with Christ can commit such an act. Even the bible spoke of forgiveness and repentence and Christ never for once punished evil doers rather He said he came so that the sinners might be saved. Besides, he who lives by the sword shall die by the sword and he should face death afterall he took someone's life and more would have died too if not for God's intervention. #IAmIgboAndAmMakingCommonSense#
Good write up. He must DIE!!!
#LibBadBoy
I can't even call him a reverend,this evil man king is dead already and I am more shocked he is still alive and some people are still even hoping on him...I find it hard to differentiate between this man and clifford orji
linda some of dis were facts and some are not anna uzoh was not a sex slave no they were under a spell and she was working in tura company trade fair as an accountant before rev king promise to double her salary if she come work for him of which she was under his influence which left her exactly the day she was burnt
ohanaeze ndi igbo my fooot
That Ndigbo cultural whatever group is FAKE. No sane group or individual will support Rev. Kings action because human life is sacred
Noted
The law have taken that's all. Let the justice be done.
I love Abati!!!
Wonderful piece
U are stupid.. As simple As that... Kpom...
....... We aim to please.....
Politics political arrant nonsense. No ibo group supported king. The ibo culture I knw doesn't support evil. Justice is supreme.
Reuben Abati. How many times I call u?
An eye for an eye.....
One igbo man wey be pastor kill pesin for 2006,close to exactly 10 years later dem wan kill am bak,but the truth be say una pipul say e no good say na bcuz na igbo man dat is y dem wan kill am,but the truth be say pocket lawyer join body say him must die,heaven no fit fall...
This one sef to long for u to read?
@saphire Muna, you are the stupid and foolish one. She has a right to her opinion and she is right. Anuofia!!!
People who want to intervene in the matter just name them selves igbo what ever just to gain attention. Or that they want to release him and say it's a favour they have done for igbo people.
Thank you pinky, your head correct like Reuben Abati own. Indigbo my foot!
That's a brilliant piece, Mr Reuben Abati. I wish all this zombies followers who worship their pastors will hear.
Let justice be done
Pls visit my blog bettykrislav.com
Anywhere I see a Reuben Abati writeup..i read and reread.Abati you are the best.
She's stupid for airing her opinion. God help u. You need urgent help.
Nice write up, Kings or whatever he calls himself should face the wrath of the law, he's evil! And there're still many beasts like who are still under cover...
The people saying this article is too long confirms what they said about black man. If you want to hide anything from a black man put it in a book because he won't read it. It is a shame! Nice write up Dr. Abati.
Okay naaaaah!
I will help you summarice it. Olodo! If you like don't learn.
Mr. Abati, You are simply fooling yourself. I am 100% sure that you cannot fool all Nigerians. There are still Good sensible Nigerians who know for sure that Dr.Rev.King did not commit the crime he was accused of. Ann Wrote clearly Two Good statements from the Hospital where she was in Ajao before his Death. The IPO, The DPP Woman Mrs. Idowu and even the Oyewole in Lagos State high court know for sure that Dr.Rev. King is Innocent and the Both confess right in Kirikiri Prison that they were acting based on the order which is above them. I am very sure that you Mr. Ababti and those that paid you for this evil mission against Dr. Rev. King will surely be put to shame in this same Nigeria. I also want to make it clear here that 95% of those sending their comments here do not in anyway know Dr. Rev.King and it is a shame that they allow them self to be deceived by people like this Evil Mr. Abati.
RIP Rev King
This is called Fabricated Fallacy!! there is no Real Igbo man that can say "spear the man" who killed, but I know that those his church members can rise up and answer Igbo whatever inorder to Protect their king.Let him have the same thirst of wine, it will be lesson for one and lesson for all.
Too long biko
You are a day fool for even making such a comment
Lol. ..please tell him
First time i will read Reuben write up and enjoy every part... Some pple with low sense tho, rev.king will die n rot in hell
Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog
Means nobody is above the law and some senseless igbo want buhari to grant him state pardon
Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog
Kill that evil man that cal himself Mr holiness
I believe the Law will definitely take its course but Reuben, I am surprised that you didn't make a distinction between the genuine and fake prophets. DOES THIS MEAN ALL PASTORS ARE EVIL. I am sure you would have read in the bible that FALSE PROPHETS WILL ARISE... This doesn't in any way mean that every pastor is false. Rightly so noted earlier, your caution seems to have erupted after the exit of your master who patronized the Pastors for their Prayers...... Na wahoo.
Hahaha @ South South pikin u funny oh.
#Somebody must to love me tonyt!
Hahahahahahahahahaha ur summary is so hilarious
Choi.. So lengthy
I read it all. U just nailed it here. Ppl drop their brain in d house n go to church. After church they wear their brain.
As in enh
Long turenchi
#spritual
So who now set them ablaze?
' Nigeria has become one big theatre of religious ritual. The name of God is the most abused name in Nigeria today.'
Ode like you....
aunty linda so u min u sitdown write all this things and u expect me to read it all deiris God oooo
How can this be tribalistic when the victim is also Igbo..is this man alright? Though I am not supporting the group. From what he wrote they are advocating for mercy citing his relevance as a spiritual leader to many. This man is probably the tribalistic one cos he is quick to sense it.
The case for which Rev. King was sentenced to death was a sheer frame up. If the trials were not an arrangie-trial, tell me how the contradicting accounts of the incident by prosecution witnesses would have passed undisturbed through both the Appeal and Supreme Courts. The deceased; Ann Uzuh was NOT a maid to Rev. King as was widely reported. First, Ann and her father-unil the fire incident that took her life, were members of Rev. King’s church who had no words to thank Rev. King for what he was doing in their lives and their family. Ann Uzuh was one of the thousands who were studying under Rev. Kings scholarship. An announcement was made by the church at a certain time publicizing a job opportunity for men and women who are interested in working at the church quarters where King lived. Scores of members of the church applied including Ann and luckily, she succeeded as one of those who were employed. These employees of the church lived at a section quite different from where Rev. King lived. They lived at the boys quarters while king lived ALONE at the main building.
On that fateful Saturday evening, 25th Day of July, 2006, King returned home from work and there was no light in the neighborhood due to power outage from the then NEPA. He immediately alighted from his car and moved up the stairs waiting for the workers to put on the generating set so he can move into his room. He had barely undressed before there came a loud cry and shout down stairs and he quickly rushed down the stairs again to find out what was going on only to see Ann covered in flames. At this time, her co-workers were all standing a distance away from her just watching without doing anything to help her. Rev. King himself rushed towards Ann, dared the fire on her, stretched his hand and caught Ann by her clothes, dragged her down on a tap right on the wall beside him and turned on the tap which helped put of the fire. At this time, Ann had already stopped breathing.
First, the deceased’s statement, which should have shapped the opinion of the High Court Judge; Oyewole, was not admitted for no explainable reason. This alone caused a severe miscarriage of justice and I can assure you this is what happened here. A particular plastic container were brought to court, alleging that it was used by King to pour petrol on the prosecution witnesses. During croswhen s examination, Rev. King maintained that he had never seen that container for the first time. The most reasonable thing to do would have been to run a biometric analysis on the container in order to ascertain whether or not King had touched that container before. That was also waved aside in a case of murder where the life of the accused person was at stake.
Submitting here, I still maintain that King is a great, Holy Man of God and does not in any way deserve this. However, the supreme court have given it’s verdict but as a Christian, I have read about Jesus Christ of Nazareth our Lord, also about Daniel in the book of Daniel in the Old Testament of the Bible. I also know the story of Elijah and the prophets of Baal etc. In all these, we saw that God manifested with his power when the agents of satan thought they have defeated God and his anointed. I therefore know for sure that God Almighty will NEVER abandon Rev. King