'Pornography really messed up my life and marriage'- actor Terry Crews | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 26 February 2016

'Pornography really messed up my life and marriage'- actor Terry Crews

Terry Crews known for his role in TV Series 'Everybody Hates Chris' has revealed how his addiction to porn nearly destroyed his marriage, saying he would have been divorced now if not for rehab.

The "Brooklyn Nine-Nine" actor and former NFL Player posted three videos on Facebook titled 'dirty little secrets' and revealed how his battle with porn addiction nearly ended his marriage.

"Pornography, it really, really messed up my life in a lot of ways," Crews said in his first video, adding that day turned into night while he watched. ''Some people say, 'Hey, man ... you can't really be addicted to pornography.' But I'm gonna tell you something: If day turns into night and you are still watching, you probably have got a problem. And that was me," he said. "It changes the way you think about people. People become objects. People become body parts; they become things to be used rather than people to be loved." "My wife was literally like, 'I don't know you anymore. I'm out of here.' And that changed me."

He said he went to therapy seven years ago, and used the second Facebook video to answer fan's questions about how he overcame the habit.
"I went to therapy, big time. When I went into therapy I didn't know what was going on, how to beat it, I couldn't do it alone," "I had to realize when I was depressed. I had to realize when I was sad about something or when I was feeling lonely. Because those were the times I was more likely to use pornography."
Crews also said that he had to overcome shame and a big sense of entitlement during rehab. "I felt the world owed me something. I felt like my wife owed me sex," "I felt that everybody owed me. And when you have a sense of entitlement, it's extremely dangerous." Crews said he and his wife had to engage in a sex ban for 90 days that made them more in love than ever.

"Ninety days -- no sex, all relationship, all talk, all cuddle," the actor said. "I found that at the end of that 90 days ... I knew who she was, and it wasn't about 'Let's go out because I know I'm gonna get some sex later.' It was like, 'Let's go because I want to talk to you. I want to know you.'" “I have been getting a lot, a lot of messages and well wishes from people out there,” "Women, you need to be fearless. You need to confront your man about this problem," he said in the second clip, recorded while he drove around Los Angeles in a convertible. "You cannot accept any pornography in your life." In the third video, posted Tuesday, Crews described porn as "an intimacy killer." "Every time I watched it, I was walled off. It was like another brick that came between me and my wife. And the truth is, everything you need for intimacy is in your (partner)."

60 comments:

Lol... good u are now realizing that.

Sorry bruh

Hope others learn from your mistake,Porn ruins ones life, right judgment,and everything people! Thanks for speaking the truth,x

Yea it makes everyone looks like objects of sex, especially women.Thank God you've been saved

Thank goodness.

He is correct. Addiction is very bad

True talk

"And when you have a sense of entitlement, it's extremely dangerous." This quote is everything!!!

All porno watchers, you've all heard

LINDA MY LINDA

Thank God for his life

Terry crews my guy, carry on nutin do you.

I agree...

Just like that.Abi linda!

Noted

Good a thing, he was able to overcome the addiction. Linda take note!

Nawa ooo

obietrezy said...

Nwokem you for continue to dey watch am. Jor oh

Cynthus said...

Who would have thought. I hate watching porn, I rather watch u life n direct #winks

Hiss! Medicine after death.

Thank God for saving you Go and Sin no more

Thank God for redemption...

I hope my hubby n his first wife is reading this,they can't be together without watching porn first,the yoruba woman wan kill my hubby for me ooo

Thank God for his life

YORUBAS ARE ILLETRATES AND NEED TO STEP UP AND LEARN ENGLISH FROM ME - KEMI OLULOYO - SEE TWEETS

Nawa ooo

Not is fault,thats what put him in the mood....

Half of the people that read this article watch porn. 50% addicted to it, 35%masturbate after it. Everybody is addicted to something, everybody got a grip on something.

Thank God u re over it

Mybliss said...

Julius in everybody hates Chris, thank GOd you were saved and more especially your marriage was was saved.

PomPom said...

Thanks man. This will go along way to helping others who are addicted and wants to come out.

As if you understand what that means....

Need 2 kill me some habit ASAP.

Good for him#Lindangwanu#

DamDam said...

Learn English from you? Seriously????? See how you spelt your ILLETRATES!

You need to learn to talk maturely and stop generalizing.

DamDam said...

Learn English from you? Seriously????? See how you spelt your ILLETRATES!
You need to learn to talk maturely and stop generalising in your comments.

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

You see,God used his wife as a turning point at that very moment in his life.Very Nice.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Good for him.

Gbam!!!! But they prefer to judge

Food for thought and a lesson for others to learn
small business ideas and resources for entrepreneur

hrm paul ojeih said...

Chai all the men folks in this bog are fucking. Hypocrite and liars see una dey yarn opats like say una no dey watch porn.una no dey watch sex tape on line wat is dat is dat not porn. Each time maheeda dispays her dry nyansh una no dey view am some sef dey mastubate, y una com dey lie bitch ass niggas.Even d ladies too dey waych.He who is blameless throw the first stone. Me Hrh paul ojeih I dey watch porn pure and simple and I ain't addicted ya all should come out of d closet even linda sef dey watch blue film wen rain fall weather cold. Ladies with vibrator wetin una call dat thunder fire una hypos

hrm paul ojeih said...

Chai all the men folks in this bog are fucking. Hypocrite and liars see una dey yarn opats like say una no dey watch porn.una no dey watch sex tape on line wat is dat is dat not porn. Each time maheeda dispays her dry nyansh una no dey view am some sef dey mastubate, y una com dey lie bitch ass niggas.Even d ladies too dey waych.He who is blameless throw the first stone. Me Hrh paul ojeih I dey watch porn pure and simple and I ain't addicted ya all should come out of d closet even linda sef dey watch blue film wen rain fall weather cold. Ladies with vibrator wetin una call dat thunder fire una hypos

hrm paul ojeih said...

Chai all the men folks in this blog are fucking Hypocrite and liars see una dey yarn opats like say una no dey watch porn.una no dey watch sex tape on line wat is dat is dat not porn. Each time maheeda dispays her dry nyansh una no dey view am some sef dey mastubate, y una com dey lie bitch ass niggas.Even d ladies too dey watch .He who is blameless throw the first stone. Me Hrh paul ojeih I dey watch porn pure and simple and I ain't addicted ya all should come out of d closet even linda sef dey watch blue film wen rain fall weather cold. Ladies with vibrator wetin una call dat thunder fire una hypos

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

His face looks like already made eba....ProudlyDeltan

You are right

Better bro

So it's now you know

chommy said...

Thank God for ur lyf. Linda observe!

Tru talk bro.

Laughin.......lik seriously, anonymous? Smilin......Oh! switheart i am vry much interested.

Smilin...tank God oooo he realized it on tym. God safe ur soul!

Dis old man just admitted 2 being a muscular wanker...literally

Amen bros u are saved...just hope u don't go practising wah u hv learned so ffar

Peace nwadire said...

ThankGod you're saved, wish others will learn from you, ve been advising people on this but they think am way backward, now you see that. May God help us

Being Tochi said...

Ppl should flee from it

Golda Awosika said...

Thank God for his life

Wow.. I love Terry.Now this is a man who is willing to admit his weaknesses and seek psychotherapy. Most Abuja Men that are gay just seek psychotherapy hoping to land other rich men. God save us all

didi said...

Who says he has overcummed it ?