This man turns 15 on Monday while his son turns 5 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 February 2016

This man turns 15 on Monday while his son turns 5

Fred Shekoufeh looks a lot older than 15, but then again his son, Eric, doesn't look four either.
Shekoufeh and son, who live in La Mesa, California, share a unique bond that goes beyond genetics: They were both born on February 29.
Eric is celebrating his 5th official birthday while his dad is celebrating his 15th on the same day. Both father and son were born on February 29, an event that has a 1 in 2.1 million chance of happening, according to Time.com.
Fred Shekoufeh, a native of Iran, didn't realize his birthday was unusual until 1979 when he moved to the U.S. and immigration officials commented on it.
It wasn't clear at first. "It's confusing," Shekoufeh told HuffPost.

Eric Shekoufeh said sharing such an unusual birthday with his dad is "pretty incredible," but admits being born on February 29 has some challenges.
"I get lots of jokes about whether I should celebrate on Feb. 28 or March 1," Eric said, adding that he tries to stretch it out on both days.
"It's a weird day. People don't recognize it on social media, but when they find out, they never forget it."
Eric said his favorite Feb. 29th birthday was in 2012, when he turned "four."
"Everyone and their mother made a joke about me turning four, and that four-year-olds shouldn't be able to drive cars. Well, evidently I could," he said. "I was glad to have an actual birthday on such on emphatic year: getting a license. No confusion at the DMV. I hope I can say the same when I'm going out for my 21st."
This year, Shekoufeh, a student at UCLA, plans to do more of his celebrating at Big Bear over the weekend.
"I don't plan to push it over to March 1st," he said.
He said he is more excited about next year when he will officially turn 21 and can legally drink alcohol.
"Legally, I should be able to drink on the 28th, but I'm expecting a bouncer to look at my license and tell me it's a fake," he said.

65 comments:

michael George (the Fulani Prince) said...

Lol. WTF is going on?

Roseberry said...

Lolzzz. D heading tho.

Story for the gods, What type of nonsense news is diz
It doesn't mk any sense...15 and 5

Sylvia said...

Congrats.... Same wit my gfrnd Gift..... She has a birthday on February 29 but its sad I'm going to miss it...

Lolzz. My friend's birthday is also 29th February. Anyway, more Instagram followers for you guys

eunymz said...

I don't understand

MZ EUEU

Kayode Odusanya said...

lol! I didn't understand the heading at first...I thought it was some sort of X-Men mutation stuff going on with them. I have always wondered how people born on Feb 29th feel. If my kid is born on that day, I would just change her/his date of birthday right there in the hospital, to either Feb 28 or March 1st...this will save a lot of troubles in the future.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Lol at this post, I really like it. My elder bro is 29years old as well, he will turn 30 legally by 29th of Feb. Meanwhile am already 30.. good post linda. U just made me calculate my brothers legal post. Will never let him bully me again.

WOW! Happy birthday to them in advance

Awwww! such rare occurrence. yet to see anyone born on that day here.

No I actually calculated it wrong. Fred shekoufeh is already 60years old now while his son is 20. So that makes my brother's legal age exact 9years while am 30 already, Hahahahahaha I'm really old o.

The leap year ish...even korede bello

It means dat not every year has their birthday. Linda take note!

Igba alusi!!!!!!!
Choi..

Posh Queen said...

This so confusingly funny, those born on feb29th get to celebrate their birthdays only on leap years.

Whaoooo!!! Thats funny

Mysterious

#spritual

Hembafan said...

Leap year wahala

The man's age is 15*4=60.
The son's age is 5*4=20.
The man and his son will be 60 and 20 in the next 48 hours respectively.

Mtchew nonsense count your age yearly

My sister-inlaw had a narrow excape,she was born on 28 Feb

Lol. I wanted to ask who was messing wit my head-u or d men?

Leap year babies

Wetin be this

Dis is a big joke.

Wat drama is going on??

No get story. MRS M

fisayo said...

Very weird tho

Gypp said...

Linda, Bcuz we de depend on u 4 update u wan kon de give us fake story. We are nt stupid. .

Thank God my dad as luck, Feb 28th

Leap yeah kids...lol.

Dapsonbaby said...

Who's LINDA giving bobo to drink now... The man is 60 and the boy shouldn't be less than 16

Dapsonbaby said...

Build an App Linda, please!

Lawrence okoro said...

It's a special feeling to eventually get a Feb 29th on the Calender. I share same birthday day,i'm Feb 29th. It's my 7th officially birthday.

Very funny leap year wahala

60 years and 20 years, that's their real age

POPULAR LIB READER!

Lol very funny

I just fell in love with you for this reply. Smart anonymous

What's linda talking about? So the father is 15birthdays old and son is 5birthdays old. We count age in years, not birthdays. Change that title!

Pearlie said...

Lol..

Jude Akinwole said...

Leap year guys. Only get to celebrate every 4 years... Kind a unique though! Happy Birthday to them

It happens very well but the emphasis or arguement is all abt 29th where both were being born.ODE.
Ofcourse 29th doesnt come up on every year,that ws why both based their officiàl age on every 29th in each year till date.
On each year of 28th,it wouldnt count as their official birthday date.
Use ur freaking sense.Opono

It happens very well but the emphasis or arguement is all abt 29th where both were being born.ODE.
Ofcourse 29th doesnt come up on every year,that ws why both based their officiàl age on every 29th in each year till date.
On each year of 28th,it wouldnt count as their official birthday date.
Use ur freaking sense.Opono

since leap year is every four years, that means you caculate by multiplying the official by 4. with that you would get the actual or their real age.

Lol. The title sha

How to care for your natural hair in a protective style

Your hair isn't growing? What you can do about it

Lol, funny world

Peace nwadire said...

Black Belle said...

Loool

OMG!WOMAN said...

My immediate kid sister and my dad were born the same day

Happy Birthday to all the leap year babies

He hasn't seen anyone yet born on that day! Anon what are you fretting over!

businessanswers said...

This is awesome. Can't stop laughing
www.sandalili.com

Wao is my 9th birthday then 0n Feb 29��

Linda, I'm also a leap year girl I will be turning 6 on Monday. I was born February 29 1992. So you can calculate. Wishing all my birthday mated long life and prosperity.

lintv said...

http://eshoppaz.com/surveillance-camera/ah-0218-dc24v-bell.html

Luciana Chinda said...

Impossible. Mr man you and your son should go and sit down. What kind of lies is this? #bullshit

Maubelle said...

Happy birthday to you dearie

FourthOfApril said...

@Stella, your first comment got me confused, i was calculating in my head before i scrolled down here. Nice one, for realising and correcting your mistake old mama!

And you just realised that today? Mscheeew!

FourthOfApril said...

Happy 28th birthday in advance! Wishing you a long joy-filled fulfilling life.

niny said...

Do u understand wat u jus read @all hw is it lies?

didi said...

I for talk o ! Thank god for the explanation

king of queens said...

Me too
I'll be 6 tomorrow. Proudly a leap year baby. Linda u should do something for us cos 2moro is special. It's till 2020 for the next bday. Cool!!!!

king of queens said...

U too girl. I'll be 6 too tomorrow. So we were born on the same day. That's cool.