Photo: Zimbabwean man & his wife have UK 's first 'black and white' twins despite coming from the same egg | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 February 2016

Photo: Zimbabwean man & his wife have UK 's first 'black and white' twins despite coming from the same egg

Libby Appleby, 37, from County Durham and her husband, Tafadzwa Madzimbamuto, 40 from Zimbabwean were surprised when their babies were born with different skin tones. While Amelia was born with dark skin, black hair and brown eyes, her sister Jasmine was born with fair skin, blue eyes and light curls.

"We get a lot of funny looks when we tell people the girls are actually identical," she said.

Despite their different skin tones, they are genetically identical and are thought to be the first of their kind in the country.

"When they were born, we were flabbergasted. They look like they're different races. Amelia is the spitting image of her dad, while Jasmine is a mini version of me." Libby said.

Libby said strangers mistake the one-year-old twins for step-sisters. The couple have been together for three years, when she found out she was pregnant in June 2014.

Three months later, they were told they were expecting twins and medics at University of Durham Hospital warned they would be difficult to tell apart. Libby said medics were shocked when they delivered the girls - who are monozygotic - formed in the same embryo but developed in separate sacs.

"We put them next to each other in a cot and couldn't believe how different they were. Doctors told us the chances of mixed race identical twins are one in a million. We were thrilled they were so unique."

A sample of Appleby's placenta confirmed the twins are 100% genetically identical, despite them looking nothing alike.

Dr Claire Steves, from the Department of Twin Research, said multiple genes control skin colour and although identical twins are very likely to share them completely, it is not definite.

Source: The Daily Telegraph

52 comments:

WOW! Cuties

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

They're cute.

Absolutely adorable!!!

Cute twin

Lovely combo. Notin God cannot do

#LibBadBoy

Aww... Cuties! X

They are the same jor

Wow...
Nice..

Beautiful... dee

Waoh

Wow,I want!

Pearlie said...

Beautiful babies

Dis is lovely and big congrats to them.

Woooow

Woooow

It's only the Lords doing.

They are beautiful.

That's God 4 u

Awww...and they look sweet!

Dats the Awesomeness of God. Linda take note!

junia said...

Abeg one is jst lighter than d other

Gbam..
Equal right...

IWP said...

Means notin those babe's are of mixraced ok no one is real black nor real white www.iwonpoular.com

Posh Queen said...

That's unique indeed

Lolly said...

I love them twins..., yes!!!

wisdomer said...

Beautiful

princess Stella said...

The black one resemble oyinbo sef.

princess Stella said...

The black one resemble oyinbo sef.

They look so adorable.

Chi chi said...

I see perfectly mixed babies in that pic with one having a fairer skin than the other and has a different eye colour which is common with mixed children. She has frizzle hair has well, ogini?

Rihanna has hazel eyes and she is quarter mixed. Enough with all these attention seeking lot!

Jude Akinwole said...

You've posted a similar story before... but I guess twas in the US. #GodIsGreat

magabonjay said...

Why is the fairer twin looking harsh. .she wld certainly be collecting more milk 4rm her mum....they are both cute though

Wao

Amaka.u.l said...

Seeen

Amaka.u.l said...

Seen.dts cool.

ANN said...

this confirms that no two persons are completely same , not even identical twins

Engee said...

The skin tone is not too noticeable by me, I only noticed visible difference in their hair colour.

Sipping my hennessy

businessanswers said...

Wow that's amazing.
www.sandalili.com

Congratulations

Cute two

I see two little black girls, yo. I don't see the little white one they're talking about.

NneGal aka Linda post my Comments hahahaa said...

Wowwww they r cute anyway!

DADDYSWIFE said...

They look amazingly beautiful
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

Luciana Chinda said...

Is not new naaaaah!

WildChild said...

While this is amazing news, they are not the first of their kind in the UK or even born in the UK

miss_cuzzy said...

Wow! I like. God give mine. Linda what seedy still waiting for?

dats interesting

both kids look black to me.. we come in all shades...

The white baby looks like a racist

cuties