Dear LIB readers: My friends mock me for wearing Aba-made clothes | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 February 2016

Dear LIB readers: My friends mock me for wearing Aba-made clothes

A male LIB reader writes in;;
"I'm a low income earner and cannot afford to buy expensive foreign wears instead I buy 'Aba made' which prices are cheaper but anytime I hangout with friends they make jest of me, saying that I wear any made clothes. They have even nicknamed me as Aba. I love the #Buy-Naija-Product-to grow-the Naira# campaign. Please advise."

113 comments:

Dont mind dem jare..
U are buyin to grow d naira

Aba made products are good, just that they are usually low quality. I hope the govt empowers them to produce quality stuff that will.last

Bollocks! We've noticed u fellow LIBer, now go back to work.

Dee Tee said...

#Naijastore

Bamidele said...

No lie,u don't love made in aba cloths..but if that's what u can afford then ur friends can go to hell..

Don't mind them, continue to rock your clothes #BuyNaijaToGrowTheNaira

Chop Chop said...

Just do you and don't get intimidated.

Stick to your gun, loads of Nigerians don't know the 'foreign' clothes they wear were made in Aba. I actually make my shirts in Aba and they fit perfectly.

They should go and buy better outfit's for him. Anytin dat rocks his boat he should wear.

Don't mind dem my broda. Buy what u can afford and wear dem with pride.

Oga you are just looking for attention....... How do they know its Aba made....90% of youths in south east wear Aba made and nobody gives a fcuk
www.henrykingz.com

Mtchwww!!work on your self esteem and self confidence! Such trivial things shouldn't bother you! Do you know how many Nigerians rock okrika and yiu would think its from a high class boutique? Its all about how u carry yourself! Never let people intimidate u

Gud

Don't mind them, who dem be and pls don't force yourself to do wat u are not capable of doing

The same thing happen to me last year when i went to meeting immediately i pack one of my friend called me naija made local car i was really embarrass because i bought car at innoson,nigerians are still back forget about all this pretence we keep destroying our self why some of those ones u imported are not strong like the ones we have here,nigerians need to change there mentality.
Please aba people have to make there shoes and other things strong since there criminal governo don't care.
My dear keep patronizing aba people please.

Don't mind them joor.

Since we don't value what we have here lets continue patronizing the white.
The same thing happen to me last year when i went to meeting immediately i pack one of my friend called me naija made local car i was really embarrass because i bought car at innoson,nigerians are still back forget about all this pretence we keep destroying our self why some of those ones u imported are not strong like the ones we have here,nigerians need to change there mentality.
Please aba people have to make there shoes and other things strong since there criminal governo don't care.
My dear keep patronizing aba people please.

Pearlie said...

Don't mind them,do they want you to steal so as to afford foreign products? Keep being you and buying naija to grow naira, one day you will be able to afford luxury trips,buy a mansion in banana island and bags worth over 4.8 millions for your babe.

Okirika to sure...

Issshhhh...abeg joooo

Don't mind dem jor keep enjoying ur aba made guy

M not an igbo man...but m proud of d tribe called Igbo...talented set of pple

sanrock said...

Continue bro......Abanaya

Advise wetin??? Wear what you can afford. Linda take note!

chommy said...

Wetin u wnt make we tell u nw? Linda observe!

Ppl will always laugh. Dont take it personal. Dont act rich and b poor... Allahu Akbar

Leady said...

One man"s meat is another man"s poison! Thank you for supporting project buy made in Nigeria goods.

Sorry...
Dats wht u cn afford, so be proud of it!

Sorry bro!its d kind of clothes u buy in d aba place that is maybe funny.the colors and d tendency of buy the aba clothes that v ova 12 replicas in one shop.sometimes it's d fact that it's an imitation of an original foreign wear. stay away from d brit colors and inscription shirts and jeans...v them plain.simplicity is more

Posh Queen said...

U want advice? Go and steal so that you can afford designers wears. If u like don't change ur circle of friends that mock you. Mtcheew!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Your friends are stupid for saying that to you. I support u jare

Dats wat U can afford,u won't steal to Please anybody

You ve nothing to worry about.I am a designer in phone and I make my cloths in Aba. Most of the big boys in ph,abj and lag wear aba made senators cloths 50k and cooperate shirt 10k.Even noble igwe rocks aba made .so dear rock your thing with style

Get out jor

Oya! Write their names for me !Rubbish! Sulk it up and keep moving.

They are not ur friends... Ignore n dont hang out with them anymore

Hahaha as Nwa Aba

kunta said...

Don't mind them hypocrites...them sef dey buy d aba sef sometimes

adebanke said...

Go and rob a bank, what kind of advice is this one expecting? Afterall, it's what you can afford that you buy

Must we give advice for every issue..if you have the money to buy foreign wears then go for it but if you don't then stick to your Aba made its your calling #commonsense..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Mtew!

Make Dem give u money buy foreign wears naa.

#Somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

somaya10 said...

Bia nwa aba as ur fiends would call u,#nothing is wrong with naij/aba made..so long it fits,who cares!good clean tailors come from aba n becms fashion designer@other city....

BUT MAKA WHY said...

Aba!!!
What a nice name.

Joyous babe said...

Don,t worry people mocking u will soon join u in buying aba made bcos very soon they will not have money to buy those foreign products.

Joyous babe said...

Don,t worry people mocking u will soon join u in buying aba made bcos very soon they will not have money to buy those foreign products.

nekkymighty said...

Dnt mind dem biko,Rock it well dnt be ashamed of who u are,life is in stages,befor u know it u will be able to afford designers,so long as it suits u biko wear,pls how much do ur friends earn?i bet they r living below their standards becos they want to wear designers,big his!

*********Thunder scarer oll dem lips for mocking********* stupid fake assed pipo !!!!!!!!! Umu ewu**********Inferiority complex egbugo ndi igbo particularly ................. Who foreign wears don help

Don't mind them oh. Only you know your struggle

femmedy said...

Ur true friends should accept u.. either rich or poor. Jx ignore ur fake as friends

D'Senator said...

Mtcheeeeeeeeew!!!!

May be you are wearing Iyano ipaja made clothes.

My brother Abeg put ur hand where ur pocket reach. Nor let all those fake people intimidate wit their foreign nonsense. If u can't afford it. Wear the one u can afford

Jude Akinwole said...

Even if you wear the most expensive clothes, people will still have something unpalatable to say. Just do what you gotta do, in as much as you are not dressed in rags! Q.E.D

My brother, in your case you don't have any choice than to buy Aba made clothes, except you want to go and steal. The campaign is for those who can afford to buy clothes made abroad. Lol

Amaka.u.l said...

Nothing to say to u.

We should all support made in Nigeria goods most especially at this critical period of our nation when oil prices slumps all the time.

Your problem is inferiority complex when you carry yourself with dignity no one will ever have the guts to talk you down, flush out that I'm a low income earner mentality

Dabo4u said...

Keep buying more. Some day soon I believe they will ask you to take them to your Aba made supplier for them to also buy for their use! That's the way forward in this country.

Engee said...

Well you are wearing aba made because of your small income but not for love to grow naija made. Things go better.

Sipping my hennessy

I'm still Harrimomoh don't mind them keep on wearing it in as much it fit u keep on guy Nigeria must grow.

Advise Wat? Go n hang urself hence u live by Wat pipo say.cut ur cloth according to ur material not size

ONYI P.K. said...

Do not bother about them. People like you should be encouraged to play the role of our own Construction Giant-Julius Berger because when people tell me that Rome was not built in a day, I reply that the contract was not awarded to JB. Just know that slowly, steadily and surely, we will get there and begin to export Aba-made goods. I have said it in several fora that you cannot be the MD/CEO of Toyota and use Mercedes Benz as your official car.

I never comment but your friends are such idiots. Typical Nigerian mentality of putting money into another country's pocket, who look down on you as a Nigerian. Please keep wearing the clothes you wear and let them call you Aba if they choose to. You are the smartest of the bunch...

businessanswers said...

Don't worry very soon your friend will join you. Just wear it with pride and know that Nigerians are doing something good.
www.sandalili.com

#KING_KHALIFA said...

Buy okrika cloths de are cheaper and have better quality jst get a tailor to package it well for u

Very soon everybody we come to these, a little time more

They advice people to buy Niger to grow Niger while they are on Fendi suites 247.

Its Poverty mentalité that makes us get validation from western things.

No disrespect but that's how you differentiate true wealth & class look at A Dangote & Linda Ikeji. Dangote wears palm slippers made in Nigeria. Linda is struggling to prove that her bags were truly bought abroad.

Or imagine Beyoncé trying to convince any1 dat her bag is d real deal OR trying to explain y she shops at H&M still. You may hate on her but she's focusing on more impt things.

So your friends are just exhibiting poverty mentality getting broke to look rich.

Oga Do you biko.
I just hope Aba quality can be regulated
They are industrious

Don't mind them. Rock your wears at least you don't go stealing to look good. You live according to your income which us more honourable. Body is still covered whether cloth us expensive or not.

LIBfan

Limat said...

I will say don't keep friends who wants you to spend more than you earn ! Does are not friends,,,

Chai be proud of ur self ok? Remember it's all vanity!!!

Ok oOo

tollyjems said...

My advise is that u stay away from them, sooner or later u will be force to do something bad due to their influence . Don't surround urself with people like that

Take my advice.next time you hang out with them,go NAKED.since they are complaining and you are worried. Nonsense

The boss_lady SGBG said...

Please don't mind them,you can't live above your income, so it won't result to robbing,and besides there's nothing wrong in wearing made in ABA,we should learn to patronise our made in naija goods,that way our naira will have value..
*a word is enough for the wise*

Pls instead of aba made clothes, go for okrika/bend down boutique. Lots of pals nd gals buy those. U see them u'll want to hang ur self cuz u think they buy from boutiques. U need good eyes when buying those. So u dont buy rags. Just go for first grade uk bale. Good luck.

It's like u r mad and there's no one to tell u. u buy aba made clothes bcos of ur situation and nt bcos u want to strengthen the currency.

Which one is - pls advise? What advice are you looking for? You are wearing what you can afford,you expect us to tell you to go and start robbing so you can be like your friends nii. Ogbeni ya ara e ni brain abeg

oh noooo, u just gave a fuck, how dare u???

Kings said...

Please ignore those friend of yours and if they continue to insult and embarrass you tell them that "If they can't buy you those foreign clothes which they believe creates the class then they should keep quiet". as you can do beyond your capacity. Do not let their mockery debase your self esteem. Only do what you can within your means.

Kings via Sony Xperia

Do ur Thang.

SMURF said...

Change your friends, or tell them when you can afford better u will buy. And hope you don't dress anyhow cos it's aba. Manner of dressing matters

Cut your cut according to your size. If you go steal and get caught, they are the same ones who will say wow 'we never knew our friend is a thief'. Remember people can never be satisfied. If they make fun, just say 'am promoting buy naija'. P.s: real friends don't mock their friends. Change your circle. - Newyorker ( Linda let's get married )

Pesin Pikin said...

LEt them say, you just wear

What advise do you want? Cut your coat according to your size and stop listening to foolish people

Awww. You really should hold your head high bruv. You work, you don't steal. I'm a huge fan of the #buynaijatogrowthenaira campaign.i buy Naija a LOT! As long a you look smart, they can say whatever they like. They are not catering to your needs biko! One day, you will have enough to buy Tommy Hilfger,Ralph Lauren.... but for now, thank God for your humble beginnings. Take it from someone who's been in your shoes. E go better

They are not friends...why not get friends who accept u for who u are and not who they want you to be.

Ask them how they make their money???
On the other hand, show you CHARITY!!!

Ask them how they make their money???
On the other hand, show you CHARITY!!!

Luciana Chinda said...

Don't mind them.

Maybe it's the way u wear them. Some people just know how to wear any thing n it fits them while some can't.

My guy don't mind those unpatriotic Nigerians that only like to buy foriegn things from another country instead of supporting thier country men. I also wear aba made clothes sometimes, and no one in Manchester makes fun of me.

How can u tell linda that bgt 2 hermes bags for almost 10million naira to advise?

Okaro said...

Bro this has nothing to do with your friends, you simply need to work on yourself.

You probably have a very "Low Self Esteem" and should start working on your self immediately.

It's not really about the design, how U wear them matters most. If U take your time and select a nice aba made dress, although there r some that r a no no, shape it to fit, ur packing and self esteem is what matters most. Most of ur friends wear de same Aba products

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Lol..
You've said ur challenges already cos I know any correct income earner will not buy Aba tins cos they are fake!!!
I'm sure the Aba guys are ur brothers, kip patronising them..

Ignore them

Abeg cut your cost according to your size. I guarantee you have more in the bank than your friends. Besides it takes confidence to do what you are doing. Your friends need to take several seats.

Ask them how they make their money!!!
Let them also show you dome CHARITY!!!

pls keep wearing whatever seems good to you

They re not frnds,avoid them,u don't need to hangout wt dem to prove any point,they will end up leading u astray bcos u can't afford wat dey ve,so u mite go any extreme to b like dem.linda u've never publish any of my comment.i hope u publish ds

Frank Ogilvy said...

Did you announce to your friends that your stuff is Aba-made
or are they mocking you based on assumptions? It's up to you
to win this psychological battle. Clothes are usually not bought
because of their cost or where they are made. The value is in
what clothes and accessories do to enhance our personalities.
This is the right attitude.Period.

Festus clem said...

It is rumoured that the preacher of that Gospel printed his book in the U.S...I will place no value on 9ja made unless our leaders learn to do that first

Change your friends!!

starshine said...

My brother u are cutting ur coat according to ur cloth

Oden'Igbo said...

Nwanne biko koo ha.

Abeg mk we hear, swt just learn to blend them well. There's nothing wrong with it. Beside it's more expensive than 70% okrika clothes. Relax n flex wat u can afford. U just need to blend dem well✌🏼️✌🏼✌🏼✌🏼 don't go matching plenty yellow e.g yellow bag, yellow earring, yellow shoes, black gown. It's wrong my love. Just learn from those big girls u see ard u, blend ur colors well n nobody will know it's Aba.
Love u sweet

He should go and friend poor pple and remain poor just like Freeze said.

Yorubas will do anything to tarnish an Igbo man's handwork but God is with us.

don't mind ur friends, they wear it too