#KeepTheNairaGrowing: CBN targets N200/$ parallel market rate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 28 February 2016

#KeepTheNairaGrowing: CBN targets N200/$ parallel market rate

The strident calls by the IMF and some foreign interest for Nigeria to devalue its currency and the artificial spike in forex rate created by Bureau De Change operators appears to have tanked. This has been linked to a complex and integrated currency management approaches deployed by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). 

According to a top source in the apex Bank, “The aim of CBN is to ensure that the divergence between the official and parallel rate does not exceed N3, so we are looking at a parallel market rate of N200/$ because the downward trend in the pressure on the naira will be sustained.” 

“The CBN has the capacity to sustain the downward pressure and will deploy further currency management initiatives, while capitalising on fiscal policies of the federal government to remain in support of non-devaluation of the Naira. The current stand of the federal government on Nigeria’s legal tender is Non-Devaluation. It will be unwise for anybody to be hoarding dollars because we can assure you that Naira appreciation is going to trend upwards going forward.”

So far, the CBN in a bid to manage the pressure on supply has deployed over $11.7billion to support Agricultural Sector, SMEs, manufacturers and others. This has reduced patronage of black market by end-users and has forced rent seekers to dump the greenback thereby creating a dollar-glut in the black-market.

The source noted that it has been observed that most of the imports that were draining forex resources have since found local substitutes with attendant savings in forex and shortage of demand for the greenback, which was fuelling the pressure, this is also coming on the heels of the CBN instruction to commercial banks to publish allocation of forex to end-users, this has in recent times ensure that real sector of the economy and genuine users for education and medicals have been able to access forex at official rate. 

In the same vein, industry analysts have described the development as a game changer for majority of local manufacturers in Nigeria. The manufacturers acknowledged that the impact of CBN policy on forex since, its inception has more than double their productive capacity, with attendant benefits in terms of expansion to meet increasingly higher demands for their products and services.

The Analysts said, “Conveniently, since the CBN foreign exchange policy came into existence, production capacity by local manufacturers has increased from 50%- 70%. This has impacted on their propensity to increase exports with higher volumes which is expected to also earn Nigeria commensurate higher foreign exchange earnings.” 

Speaking further, the analysts are of the opinion that the policy has helped the local manufacturers to realise the urgent need to expand because of increasing demands for their products. Some of the manufacturers have submitted proposals for expansion and creation of new manufacturing plants, which the CBN has agreed to provide commensurate foreign exchange requirements to finance such ventures that will create employment and improve Nigeria’s capacity to attract more foreign exchange earnings.   

The analysts also revealed that some of the local manufacturers are now developing capacity to also attract foreign investors, who are exploring investment opportunities in local firms to enjoy economies of scale and direct access to some of the raw materials required for production without increasing the cost of production.

39 comments:

Hopefully

Sylvia said...

I can't wait....

Very good

Pearlie said...

I also pray it falls below that too

We r waiting

This is total trash, food prices are still up devaluation is the way to go.

God help us all. Linda take note!

We are not seeing the sme funds! Steewpeed people!

Stop the talks already! start doing. Ndi long story

Too much grammar.
Abeg who has gotten dollar from local bureau recently and at what rate please?

<< LIB Addict >>

They don't say!

Dr Ifeanyi ubah !!!!

This is the biggest hog wash I have read in recent days. How did capacity of local manufacturers that do not have raw materials increase from 50-70%.

As we speak, the last shipment of wheat into Nigeria was in December. By mid March, there will be scarcity of all wheat-based products if no new consignment atrives.

Fantashots Photography said...

Yes o! If we can get N200 to 1$ with the current prizeof crude, it might get to 150 when the oil prize ffinally stabilizes. #BuynaijatogrowNaira

PH PHOTOGRAPHER

chyyy said...

The FG should stop all black market hoarding dollar in the country. My own is any police u pple adopt is okay as far as things in the market is cheap.

There is hope...
Believe...

Kul

Propaganda is Good.
Still believing in the Nigeria project though.

Dollar exchange rate as at today pls?

God help Nigeria

This is just blowing HOT AIR! Unfortunately the Plebeians in CBN who are meant to be the authority in economics are being swayed by Buhari who does not understand it.

There is no way the parallel rate can be sustained without increased forex revenue from oil and other diversified sources as well as improving on our foreign reserves. I do not know where this SHIT of improved industrial capacity coming from. God help us, this government is killing businesses !!!

Well until then

It's well with Nigeria... dee

daniel said...

I believe strongly on local content that will strenghten the naira

Can't they target 100/$

I beg make somebody simplify all their English above. Got a lot on my mind, can't seems to graps everything.

Dan said...

Good can't it be lower

BUT MAKA WHY said...

Propaganda!!!!
APC and lies are synonymous
Lie Mohammed has thought the CBN how to cook up lies

Pls why so much charges from banks?

Hope this is genuinely the work of CBN .. not just a thesis that a Msc or doctorate prospect in Economics has put forward.. We dey look ooo

Okay....

If u knw the real meaning of what u jst typed u wnt hav typed it, u wld hav tot very well b4 doin so....

It is well

i usually don't comment but i simply can't bear to be silent when a clueless CBN would rely on cheap deceit as opposed to telling the truth or maintaining their continued silence at the least. Nigerians pls don't be swayed by cheap lies and false representation by CBN when it was simply not important to address the nation while the greenback appreciated fast against our naira but its has suddenly become important to put out a statement now when naira is appreciating against the greenback. The simple truth here is that God intervened in the form of a meeting of major World Oil producers Russia inclusive (In which it was agreed that producers would stale their production quantity). And in two/three days Oil price started looking up. So since we are an Oil dependent economy such cartel arrangement automatically favored us as our Oil becomes valuable once more and with a bit of luck naira should appreciate a little bit further after the soon OPEC meeting especially if the agreement to cut production quantity is reached. CBN the strategist.... if i hear!!! LOL.....

Nnaife said...

This is a mere propangada meant to fuel some speculation. It won't cause the rate to go down that easily.

Dam said...

If u r looking for cheap affordable and superneat braid wig add me on 5bf9a23f

you r on point