Wait, Etisalat fired 2,000 workers last week? Oh dear...! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 April 2014

Wait, Etisalat fired 2,000 workers last week? Oh dear...!

According to the President, National Association of Telecommunications Subscribers, Mr Deolu Ogunbanjo, 2,000 workers of telecommunications company, Etisalat, were relieved of their jobs last week. That's 2,000 people back in the unemployment market.

Mr Ogunbanjo made this known while speaking as a guest on Channels TV Sunrise programme this morning. The panel discussed the Lagos Mast Policy which according to Mr Ogunbanjo was a case of multiple taxation. He said this has adverse effect on telecom companies with some of them laying of staff such as Etisalat that just disengaged 2,000 of its staff last week.

108 comments:

God have mercy on us wey never get job..... government jobs remains d best,though d pay small.

Peejay said...

Sad.

Dear lord.... 2000 workers,wetin dem wan do now

They should keep signing new ambassadors. Stupid people.

Nothing in this country can be successful.

I hope the anti gay bill you idiots signed will give this 2,000 people jobs. You deserve it nigerians.

Thatz madnx..... Watz dia offense or reasons of removin dem? Diz country jst tire me coz no work nd dem stil de remove d pple wey de manage

AnnMarie said...

Nigeria keeps getting worse

This is bad news o.

Its quite unfortunate,they don'thave money to pay staff but have money to make artists brand ambassadors,and organize useless music shows across the country.

2000? That's too much o. Which way Nigerian Gov? ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Oboy, 2000 workers not robot or machine but breathing human beings...... Should i call this thing wickedness or what... Linda, which available bus dey wey person fit use go america abeg...???

Too bad #bright bravo#

There is hope for them but only if they will leave lagos and go to all this small villages around nigeria and start up a business, no doubt they really make it....

Nawa ooo. @na Folarin talk am

diamondblinqZ said...

Hmm... Na wa o. Hmm... N sum ppl r so foolish d word save dosnt exist in there dictionary. N even if it dos how lonq will dat last? Choi.

Nawaooo....

Wow with the rate of unemployment dat is in naija nw

Veracruz foodies said...

We are crying about unemployment and some companies r still laying people off... 2000 extra people in the Labour market... Very sad.

7 Nigerian foods that increase men's LIBIDO

mamalette said...

WAIT!!! I hope Uche onise and my beloved frnd francex are not affected sha. Else.....

... Nd d unemployment rate kip on gettin higher...

May God have mercy on us,another 2,000 unemployment couple wt d num of unemploymt in d labour mkt ha it is well.God will see us thru.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Oooow.....No job No Grub...Yet the few jobs available are not guaranteed...«Nigeria oojo jumo la an ji riya ani kaama gbadura where is mr Yar'dua»

Who can blame dem,wen dey are not making much money demself
*vanchuks*

God plz help D youth of diz country....

Yes oh a frnd of mine was affected itz rilly bad, Genevieve nd co tigba owo osu won tan

Wow! 2,000 that's even more than the banks do this days!

@jokelawal29 said...

You just dey hear, but if it is gossip now you will be the first to hear it

Dem sack uche too?

Too bad!!!!

#GIFTEDhands

Since on monday, old gist

Liar....my bro work there. Etisalat staff strength is not even up to 2,000. Only 74 peop were sack though he said its based on performance.
Anyways....this is not a good development at all

Linda even diamond bank. Other company is also doing the same.

Jay said...

This is the most useless and baseless associated ever found.

National Association of Telecommunications Subscribers

Very soon we will have in this our funny country.

1. National Association of Petroleum products end-users
2. National Association of biro users
3. National association of landlords and landladys
4. National association of garri patronizers.
5. National association of road users

Very stupid country we live in

My mum always wants me to be self employed or work for the govt coz of this nonsense! I pity those guys that lost their jobs.its not easy

Hiannn.... Wahala dey O! God help us in dis country.

This is absolutely untrue, and this clown is going on tv with false information. There is an official Etisalat statement on this and I am sure Linda could've gotten it from the folks at Etisalat to verify before posting this. Shame!

Prinze said...

tell me y crime nogo 2much 4dis country...mcheew!

Prof said...

What is happening in Naija? Jonathan needs to really really address the issue of growing unemployment in the country or else? As the saying goes, there will be a time when the poor will have nothing left to eat but the rich.

Prof said...

What is happening in Naija? Jonathan needs to really really address the issue of growing unemployment in the country or else? As the saying goes, there will be a time when the poor will have nothing left to eat but the rich.

Miluv said...

Chai! Ds too bad wit so many unemployed graduates out der.what is ds country realy turnin into.baba God na ur hand we dey o

Jessica law said...

2,000 workers that's much na wa ohBack to labour market.

Al said...

Its so sad that someone of his caliber will make such an untrue statement without just taking 2 mins to call relevant stakeholders in Etisalat to confirm this bogus number. Pls if Etisalat sacks 2000 people who would remain? I work in Etisalat and I can tell you authoritatively that about 75 staff were laid off and those who were sacked were those who had performed well below average in their KPI's over a period of 3 years.

Linda I'm sure you have pple in Etisalat you could have easily called to clarify this but you chose to add voice to this bogus and lazy journalism. I'm disappointed to say the least.

Life goes on...

This our country sha.. When we are lamenting about the existing unemployment status of millions of people, they are adding more to them..

God will purnish etisalat ...after they will pay those useless celebs like Genny 150million ! And be sacking poor Nigerians.

babycakes said...

Who come remain?

babycakes said...

Linda u shld Thank God evryday cos u no dey for all ds one, u have a secured JOb, i mean ur self-owned job. God grant us direction.

babycakes said...

No bé even say them dey pay better money.

That's my beloved Etisalat. Ôђ dear me.

unique lady said...

Na wa o! If mtn sack, etisalat go sack too den banks too, hian! Wia we dey go 4 naija.

The leaders and the rich should be more worried about their security more than ever before, a hungry man is an angry man.

See wickedness jor...to those fired,make una no worry. What doesn't kill you makes you stronger.

Etisalat couldn't cut their coat according to their size,they allegedly paid Genevieve n100,000,000($600,000 approximately) to endorse them,now people have to pay for that.....Thank you Genny for taking food off of innocent children's table.

I just think all this management of most top company are very stupid. Why pay a celebrity millon for an endorsement deal, and pple are lossing their jobs . I think it's stupid

I'm a staff of Etisalat. Abeg oooooo, it's a big fat lie. We are growing and waxing stronger......please rumour mongers should park well.
Nez.....

gdys said...

disengage 2000 staffs haba dats too much nay, 2000 plus d millions unemployed we have already in this country haaaaaaaaaaa God pls help us

Hope they were paid off.

gdys said...

Disengage 2000 staffs haba days too much nay, 2000 plus d millions unemployed we already have in this country haaaaaaaaaaaa God pls help us

Humm Linda,at least we know why etisalat sacked workers $ it was a mass thing! What of Glo??? They treat workers like slaves, sack them without prior notice $ don't pay for the few seconds spent in the company. I can get u a copy of my friends sack letter from Glo without warning(s) from mgt(hr) but for beef from a female staff (ikeade adejumo) and pure injustice. Naija we hail. Yet Adenuga pays supper eagles trillions#whew#

Mr Deolu Ogunbanjo should please get his facts straight. It is totally untrue that etisalat sacked 2000 people. Linda I believe you have contacts in this organisation, you can verify this. People were laid off because of poor performance and productivity. And the number is less than 100 across board.

wat a pity

She said...

Yes ohh Linda,it is true ohh. My cousin's wife was affected. This naija sef!!!

Teyus said...

Hmmm... May God save our country Nigeria

See the list of celebs Kim K invited to her wedding, but they said HELL NOO!!!!

Anne said...

I hope it didn't affect uche? Cos she has been facing her work.

Na so we see am oooo

Why na? I tot Etisalat is owned by Arab Billionaires. This is really a big slap on the Nigerian Economy.

Which way naija

Terrible

I keep thinking day by day of life after Service Year VIA 264D9FB0

Not true...yea, there was tsunami in etisalat but not 2000...not up 2 100. Sad though. We still r in shock.

kim said...

Mtn too is doing d same o. And the idiots are paying so much 4 stupid ambassadors. God heal our land

Okonjo-Iweala says that Nigeria has the fastest growing telecommunications sector after China.

Lmao

Don't think we were up to 2,000. I was sacked too! But I'm sure God has a purpose for everything! I will find me a new Job! It is well!!

Shut up dey said is 75 not 2000 hw is it etisalat fault wen d tax dey pay on mast is 2 high were would dey get dat blame ur brainless govtmt

True but not only those whose KPI's were low. From retail they needed 45 names! They could come up with only 42 but HOUR insisted of 45, so those who had "met expectation", and not below expectation were added to make up 45 names! Sure this also happened to some pple in the call center. This I was told by a retail manager! So sad!!

Ahn ahn..u b gay

Don't think we were up to 2,000. I was sacked too! But I'm sure God has a purpose for everything! I will find me a new Job! It is well!!

Airtel
Diamond banks etc
Mtn
Etisalat
Which company is next?
Nigeria Nigeria limited ?

6 hectres of land @ #110,000 for farming ,ccoa, plntain , palm oil etc. In osun state.

Don't give up

fadareo@yahoo.com

This guy is a fool. He should try to verify facts or resign. Etisalat did not sack 2000 people. Only 74 people who were below performance level. Get a life people.

U are comprehensively daft!

all dis gay people are really sick.you need help serious help.why not sleep with dogs.yeye people.omokomo

Obviously he is gay

jennyA said...

U sharrap there, ugly monkey gay pikin, wetin concern gay matter for d pple way dem sack, think with ur brain not ur anus, isi nbe, oyeara

jennyA said...

Which village way lite no dey, unless say them wan use d small money way dem save take buy fuel or diesel. My bro dat jupiter way u dey, lite dey there, make I come join u.

Use d moni dey saved to start sometin and employ pple=enterpreneurship..if udon chop ur own finish rainy season is here park ur bag jeje go villa borrow hoe do some justice to ur farmland=survival+self employ+agriculture

Mr Ogunbanjo made this known while speaking as a guest on Channels TV Sunrise programme this morning. The panel discussed the Lagos Mast Policy which according to Mr Ogunbanjo was a case of multiple taxation.

Hypocrisy is what will kill Nigerians....DOUBLE TAXATION IN LAGOS IS GETTING OUT OF HANDS....APC states are like ..Mosquito....

No wonder your face is brighter than your future

You think we have a govt??? Think again bro!

Paid off 100k pere! Only 100k and were made to sign papers that etisalat owe them nothing! Can u imagine!!!

I taya!Linda will just be carrying fake gists without verifying!74 people were sacked and it's cuz they performed below expectation for 2 years in a row..Ignorant niccurs and niccresses be commenting shii

Spot on bro. It was less than 100. There are actually less than 2000 staff at Etisalat.

Yes it was based on performance but y make kpi's very unrealistic and unachievable? They ve the balls to say it was based on performance when only 2% can meet expectations in a whole department. It's really sad cos we don't have a govt dat works. I just fear for dis country cos things are gerin worse by d day and it won't be too long b4 the poor will be forced to act....

Wow'...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

@anon 8:10 it's best you save some cash and start up some business,no matter how small it is with the money yhur being paid during the service year

Lol.

Wow'...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

this is so untrue. please get you facts right before posting. 2000 ni bo? for wia?

The Lord is your strength, use this as an opportunity to start up something of yours.

this is too far from the truth, while not get the Etisalat side of this story before posting it, pls u shld be sued for this grand lie of the year

Hw can I contact u @chichi ndubisi

Lwkmd

Very useless management in etisalat,especially in call centre.By outsourcing d department ,the idiots felt was the best idea of laying off the parmanent staff. The wind will soon be blown,and all the top officials in call centre will shamefully get their asses escourted by policemen out of the company too.A very high and unrealizable KPI was set,which only few could meet. You laying off ur staff honourably would have even been better,than subjecting them to humiliation and escourting them out of the premises by the policemen.idiots

Ah 2000 workers. O ma se o.well God is in control.

2000 ke wit d situaion of dis country now hmmmm.

Stale gist......................................................