Nigerians hospitalised after mob attack in South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 April 2014

Nigerians hospitalised after mob attack in South Africa

Some days ago, specifically Wednesday and Thursday April 2nd and 3rd, Nigerians in Johannesburg and Pretoria were physically attacked by a group of organized gang members and Commercial Taxi drivers in South Africa. These hoodlums destroyed and looted over 25 shops belonging to Nigerians. Though no Nigerian died in the attack, Nigerian residents there say at least ten Nigerians have been hospitalized with a few battling for their lives.

The attack according to the President of the Nigerian Union in South Africa, Ikechukwu Anyene, started last week from Johanessburg where some gang members attacked some Nigerians and looted their shops. They extended the organized attack to Pretoria this week.

Anyene said the South Africans say they are angry with Nigerians residing there for selling illegal drugs to South Africans. Continue...
"Officials of Nigerian mission in South Africa and Union officers went round yesterday to assess the extent of damage done to business centres and shops owned by Nigerians. In Pretoria, 25 shops belonging to Nigerians were attacked and looted by the gang. Ten Nigerians are now receiving treatment in some hospitals while one of them is still in coma. We have reported the incident to the police in the central business district of Pretoria, where the bulk of the attacks took place. The South African police have made entry on our report and pledged to investigate the attacks. We have also appealed to our people (Nigerians) to be calm and law abiding because the Union and the Nigerian mission were handling the situation. As we speak, we have not recorded any attack today, April 4, and everywhere is calm,’’ Anyene said

77 comments:

CruGa said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

Hmmmmm
I hope they would learn from this mishap and change their ways of livelihood.

Attacks everywhere...end time tins.

jaybeyblu said...

There is no end to our shameless, wicked acts. Selling illegal drugs?! Kai 9ja! We wud do ANYTHING for d love of money. God help us

Na wa oh! This is wickednesss...
Caught in the act! See shocker

SANDRA said...

Is dis country biting people? Why re they running away? Come back nd manage here,atleast u'll have peace of mind nd ur fundamental human rights.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Nawa ooo.....Why always Nigerians? I think its time for nigerians that are living in a hostile country to start coming home...Am using this medium to dedicate SOUND SULTAN Motherland song to all Nigerians living in diaspora...

Why on earth will they come up with that shit story that they were selling fake drugs...... Is so damn obvious that this south africans hate nigerians residing over there and if we take a closer look yu will observe that the men are the people that hate us the most just bcos there women love and admire us men, pls na bad thing say we nigerian men handsome pass una neh..... I just hope the nigerian goverment will do something about this matter as quick as possible....

This really greeting out of hand, Nigerian govt needs to do something.

Learn how to count calories in Nigerian dishes http://www.itwillendinpraise.com/how-to-count-your-calories-in-nigerian-meals/

In as much as I know South Africans don't like Nigerians; they term us as being 'clever criminals', Nigerians are also their own enemies; being jealous of each other, setting each other up and going as far as being police and gang informants against their brothers....
If they look out for each other, things like that cannot happen.

*My R1.50c comment *

Thank GOD no one dead. wish the injured ones a safe recovery.

But we nigerians bad o.... 20shops all belonging to nigerians.... Why wont they burn the shops down if nobi pure jealousy.... I have many of their gals up in my facebook as frnds and their actions shows that they fucking love we nigerian men, bcos we are handsome and hardworking(yeah am handsome and hardworking), why their ugly men no go jealous..... God punish all of them....

Again I say this, S.Acans have problem with igbo's and not Nigerians as a whole. When you ask them, they'll tell you this without mincing words.

Hmmmm... South Africans r looking for trouble oo.

Leecia said...

Nigerians come bak home,anywhere we re calamity must befall dat place,wat is d prblm re we cursed or wat?

na wa oooo, nd we keep killing our selves to.go to another man's land where we evebtually get slaughterd it is well

God save us

Its quite unfortunate
And over here we're very accommodating

S/A peeps hate nigrians b4 no b 2dai so am nt surprised 1bit....

facethefact said...

south african blacks still have issues! They have learned only to fight by hands from their past experience

Ammy Becky said...

Hmmm wonder y our fellow Nigerians are treated like trash in other African countries. .
From murder to now stealing from dem, its not fair just bcos we r in their country
D things we see nd endure for money...God we r in ur hands!!!

This is so absurd. Why are they always on our neck? They must be terrible racists.

is jonathan doing anything about this?

Swagg isimemen said...

Somehow I don't blame the South Africans, Nigerians are nuisance everywhere they go! Bent on tarnish what little image Nigeria has outside! Everywhere they go, they go look for easy money, stealing drugs and fraud making it difficult for those who run ligit businesses! But on another thought imagine what would happen if Nigeria looted MTN shops around Nigeria?

Blackberry said...

Most Nigerians do peddle drugs in SA.

last baby said...

Nigerians should stop going to those countries that does not want them and Nigeria govt should also start checking those people from other cpuntries

Abeg make una come back home.

princenho said...

this south africans first is there immigration now there people attacking and dip porting nigerians. its all bcos of bad government in nigeria watin person dey find go SA

Jdy said...

Why must it be always Nigeria

Jdy last posted... "Can't seem to make a relationship happen; Am I a psycho?"

Na wa o. It is obvious south Africans do not want us in their country. I do not see any reason y I wld move to another African country to go thru such maltreatment.

The issue of SA guys attacking our people is geting out of control, Nigerian don't act like this to foreigners here in our soil. I think Nigeria Gov need to interfere. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

haters-slayer said...

hmmmm!!! So much happenings lately.can bad news just go on a vaction so gud news can shine at least for a while.

AnnMarie said...

Come back to ur country

Seriously, why are Nigerians earning an honest living and living in houses, not squarter camps not attacked? Because they are honest human beings and they are not involved in crimes. Most of these 'shops' are disguises, come evening they become drug dens. I know a guy who repairs shoes by day, at night he peddles drugs, but I can't report him cos he is my friend.

Kemikal said...

Typical. Those ungrateful South Africans, again. This hurts. Must they keep being hostile to Nigerians. Nigeria was the main country that publicly condemned and opposed the white supremacist government that were oppressing black South Africans. We helped free b!tches from extinction, servitude, and slavery. With all the help Nigeria and Nigerians gave South Africans during apartheid years of their white masters, now they're free they don't want Nigerians in their country. South African police conveniently turned a blind eye and allowed its people to attack Nigerians. They bloody owe us. There I was thinking South Africans are civilised. Apparently they're not. Bush people. Bantu education definitely phucked them up. They're still backward and (with bone in their nose blocking airway) still catching their meat with bows and arrows. Pathetic.

What?! Can't believe I wrote that? I, too, can't believe they treated Nigerians the way they did.

The white man built South Africa, but without Nelson Mandela's effort and world's efforts in freeing those same South Africans, what have black South Africans contributed to the South Africa of today. Without the white people that developed South African, South Africans of today would either be living on trees or in caves or in mud huts. For what they allow to be done to Nigerians, South Africans deserve to be verbally abused. Once the white people, who right now own South African economy extract their money, South African economy would be worse than Zimbabwe. FACT. South Africans, enjoy while you can. The table will turn, soon, and y'all be worst off than Zimbabweans. Smh.

Clementina Nkemakolam said...

The truth is everywhere we go, Nigerians tend to be successful due to the hardworking sqirit which God has blessed us with. Not saying we are saints but the drugs being sold in south africa started from south africans themselves. Music wise, in qoq culture etc we tend to best them at these niches even tho corruqtion and qoverty is still at the heart of the nation. In conclusion, this is simqly jealousy because our businesses (legal and illegal) are booming and they can't seem to understand why we are so blessed in their country.

i guess the presidency hasnt heard yet.

Kemikal said...

Typical. Those ungrateful South Africans, again. This hurts. Must they keep being hostile to Nigerians. Nigeria was the main country that publicly condemned and opposed the white supremacist government that were oppressing black South Africans. We helped free b!tches from extinction, servitude, and slavery. With all the help Nigeria and Nigerians gave South Africans during apartheid years of their white masters, now they're free they don't want Nigerians in their country. South African police conveniently turned a blind eye and allowed its people to attack Nigerians. They bloody owe us. There I was thinking South Africans are civilised. Apparently they're not. Bush people. Bantu education definitely phucked them up. They're still backward and (with bone in their nose blocking airway) still catching their meat with bows and arrows. Pathetic.

What?! Can't believe I wrote that? I, too, can't believe they treated Nigerians the way they did.

The white man built South Africa, but without Nelson Mandela's effort and world's efforts in freeing those same South Africans, what have black South Africans contributed to the South Africa of today. Without the white people that developed South African, South Africans of today would either be living on trees or in caves or in mud huts. For what they allow to be done to Nigerians, South Africans deserve to be verbally abused. Once the white people, who right now own South African economy extract their money, South African economy would be worse than Zimbabwe. FACT. South Africans, enjoy while you can. The table will turn, soon, and y'all be worst off than Zimbabweans. Smh.

We will always beat them...yeah,we hate each other,I don't know why
Jennipukka

i am not saying selling illegal drugs is right oo.. but abeg linda.. take it from me.. i used to live in south africa.. and the main issue is not about nigerians selling drugs... lets forget about the supliers and lets look at the demand for the drugs.. the south africans r the ones creating a market for the drugs to be sold.... if they were not using drugs.. the drug dealers would hv no business selling it.. because i promise u.. if u shld check those nigerians that r selling the drugs.. u will find absolutely no drugs in their system... they r selling it.. dn the mumu southafricans r using it.. but the drug dealers themselves dont really use it...

Linda honestly Am really pissed as well as disapointed with some dese so called hollier dan thou commentators here.Yes,Let me ask one kwesion,Is is Only Nigerians that do Drugs?In as much as I DON'T & will NEVER Support Evil Especially Illegal Drug Pedalling,I'll Put It to All dose whose mouths are running like a loose motor wheel dat if proper investigation is carried out on dis devilish act on Nigerians U'll be Shocked dat it has Nothing I Mean REAL Nothing 2 do with Drugs.Y am I dis conviced,cos I know a couple of Nigerians who were deported some time ago on an accusation of gross wrong doing,by d the a private investigstor wuz used to find out d truth,we discovered it wuz a case of Personal Vandetta.They're pissed at Our determination 2 survive against all odds inspite of their inhuman treatment against Us.Nigerians live in dongons and still struggle with their little income 2 survive.Nigerians do most of d menial jobs there,they are bad no doubt but Not half as Bad as the South Africans demselves.I seriously will ask Us here 2 pls always have respect 4 Our Brodas and Sistas living abroad.They're really suffering under inhuman conditions!Thank U Linda!

Why do Nigerian still go to south africa if you don't have any major thing going on in South africa you should just leave is not the country is richer than Nigeria.

Pls note that the issue of drugs was a cover to loot and maim. Drug dealers don't own shops. South Africans and their business are all over Nigeria and they are not attacked. Meanwhile police refused to respond while the maiming and looting was going on. The rumour is that the ruling party is exploiting the hatred and jealousy towards Nigerians to mobilize their young people for the election in May. This according to the story became necessary after the former youth league leader formed his own party. Also note that shops belonging to Ghanians were equally looted.

u r very stupid n an uneducated fool. I knw u look like a burnt goat naked. Ewu!!!!!

Did u just say peace of mind?so doz In d north have peace of mind abi?let dem come back to a country dat has nothing to offer dem? Abeg oo
*vanchuks*

That's the annoying part of it..we are very accomodating to foreigners buh we stil get brutalized wen we r in their country.

I know a lot of south african drug dealers with nigerian bosses! #okBye

I think it is so unfortunate, I met a Nigerian living in South Africa on my way to Abuja sometime last year, he informed me of the horror Nigerians are committing in the country to make quick money, selling drugs to under-aged.

Yes you are cursed days why we are having problems so pls go back to mother earth.

Amen! I hate south Africans

Shyla said...

And is that the best way to go about it? Destroying their properties. Abi dem carry gun put for the SAs for head to buy the drugs. If na we do the attack now, dey go sey Nigeria dis and dat.

Help free South Africans where? When? So because of your 1 cent help that means u shud come and do illegal businesses in SA? Please seat down, if u are seating just fall askeep.

White south africans. Point is they are south africans therefore they had to build the country. Why don't you have white Nigerians? Is it our fault?

U bastard again!!! Demon from the pit of hell. May thunder fire ur head there. Jobless animal!!! Get a life u low life prostitute. Pscheeew!!!

Nigerian government please look ιηтσ this matter.

Upon all dis assault nothing will still happen to their MTN DSTV n SHOPRITE dis is to tell u naija no get mouth both home n abroad

U are a stupid moron!!learn from what?dey looted their shops n beat them n u talkin bullshit!if u can't reason well 2 make sensible contributions den stfu!instead of u 2 calm down n read properly n undastand,u wil be rushin 2 comment ode!!

Kai walai u are a real mumu!so jus sum people are selling illegal drugs dat justifies beating up innocent shop owners?!how wil oda people value us when we don't even value one another?

Abeg shut up!which peace of mind?wit d fear of boko haram hangin over our heads daily or d impunity of our system n govt?wia is d peace of mind ere

are you always this deperate?

#SMBD

So, for your mind now, you be fine boy o. Lmao

«LIB addict»

Folks....I live and work in South Africa. Average South African are very receptive to foreigners, but our people "especially the typical hurstlers" who came from Nigeria thinking the street of SA is laid with gold. They always take to crime like selling drugs and uses their shop as camouflage to hid their nefarious trade.
The worst part is that it rub off on other law abiding and professional Nigerians living in South Africa. I think it is high time we all should collectively condemn what our fellow country men are doing. We should learn to do legitimate business and earn dignified income, rather making money from crooked means at expense of the country name. ....Ademola lives in Sandton !

What I can only say is this the igbo people are really destroying our image all over there world

Akin Akinola said...

Nigerians are the real drug Lords and peddlers?? by whose standard?Well I think racism doesn't have anything to do with the colour of your skin anymore...Ita brothers hate Nigerians.

As big as you're,you have peanut brain.
You can't be more foolish or ignorant,always the biggest fools opening their mouth widest.

naijablab said...

Dis UGLY monguloid-looking South Africans have never liked Nigerians. Dey suffer from acute inferiority complex.When we sneeze, dey catch cold...moda4ukas.

Fat is because the foreigners in Nigeria respect themselves and are better at abide to our laws and rules....they are all doing legitimate businesses here....

Didi 3000 said...

The oyinbos and the indians in south africa control everything. Police, govt. Etc. They still live like kings there and have a strangle hold on the economy. The only other people making any kind of economic progress there are Nigerians, bcos most of the south African men hv been beaten into submission.
I suspect the 'organised attacks by the mob' was done by a select interest group, trying to get rid of the competition and to avoid more nigerians coming there.

Hilary I have an answer for your question. Go burn down MTN shops and u will b just making things worse for naija , increasing unemployment.

I agree. Am a proud south african and I have nothing against nigerians bt what thy do in SA is bad on 100percent behind any SA guy that will stand against this shit we are sick n tired

Nigerians talk too much, if u hav never been to SA shut the fuck up.thr are only few whites still in power here. Some people just want to comment n thy talking rubbish

I find it interesting that so many people here were so quick to believe the story that the Nigerian shops were looted and burnt because they were a front for illegal drug deals. The fact that many black south Africans are poor and hate black people from other parts of Africa residing in their country is a well documented fact. Most of these Africans work very hard and build businesses that the black South Africans are unable to build for a variety of reasons. In the past, shops belonging to Somalians have been destroyed in similar circumstances. Zimbabweans and Malawians have had their livelihoods destroyed too. So what they have done to these Nigerians is nothing new.

It is rather sad that they have failed to take the fight to their real enemy; the white minority that still holds the reins of economic power in South Africa. Unfortunately, the political deals that brought an end to apartheid ensured that white economic interests, including their majority ownership of arable land was protected. Until this is properly addressed and real effort is made to redistribute power and wealth in SA, the blacks will continue being the majority of the poor and they will keep taking xenophobic actions against their fellow black Africans that are succeeding in SA.

@Kemikal, your comments are rather naive. The whites instituted a political system that dehumanised blacks and bound them in servitude in their own country. Black South Africans were effectively prevented from playing any role in developing their country. This does not mean that if they had had the chance they would not have been able to build their country on their own. The Zimbabwean scenario is also not comparable to the South African one in any way. Contrary to what popular western press would want you to believe, Zimbabwe's economy was not destroyed because the white farmers left. Rather it was brought down by unfair, strangulating sanctions that were placed by western nations on Zimbabwe because Mugabe took land from white farmers. Thankfully, he stood his ground and Zimbabwe is slowly and steadily rebuilding its economy.

ff @jokelawal29 said...

I don't know why South Africans hate Nigerians so much