Court orders FG, police, to pay Sanusi N50million damages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 April 2014

Court orders FG, police, to pay Sanusi N50million damages

A Federal High Court in Lagos has ordered the Federal Government and the Nigerian police to pay suspended Central Bank Governor, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, N50million as exemplary damages for unlawfully detaining him and seizing his passport on February 20th. The court also asked the police to immediately return his passport and warned them against arresting or harassing him again.

122 comments:

Janelicious said...

50m for damages
Na waooooooooooooooooooo.

What! That's a whole lot

Patrick said...

Sanusi 1 - FG O "dancing"

Wow! Nigeria we hail the!

On what basis?.... The monies that disappeared, was he not the general overseer of fund coming in and going out of his office..
Maybe it's my understanding, but I think detaining him and seizing his passport was very lenient...
Ok ooo!

* My R1.50c comment *

Nigeria will never change, 50m u said? Wow!!!!!!!!!!! Mouth close

See wat being rich and influential can do... Pple are being detained illegally daily but not heard cos dey r "nobody" ...

Na wah ooo!!! FG abeg cδ♍ε̲ and arrest me like you did to sanusi and pay me my own. Choii!

Yes very good, Sanusi is a good man that speaks the truth, 50m is even too small.

Im loving what is going on in Nigeria. Many victories for the justice system these days. I hope it remains this way. No more jungle justice
KON.

Nice one kudos to our judiciary atleast 4 once they hv sided. Wit d truth

Better, though all of dem na thieves. The thief with a superior argument has finally won.

Hmmmmmm, For This our Country!I wish everyone can get such justice.

Reckless judge making reckless judgement for a reckless banker.

AnnMarie said...

Unbelievable. So judgement can be this fast in Naija and Aluu 4 victims have not gotten justice.

Etsako Pearl said...

*Yawns* ok next?

Nigerian Cuisine said...

WOw is all I can say!.....Anything is possible in Nigeria. It's absolutely unbelievable.

Tax Payere hard earned cash.....

50 million for what ...meaning court gets a kickback of 25 million...nonsense

Dats nigeria for U̶̲̥̅̊ .D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ make d rules α̲̅πϑ break d rules α̲̅πϑ justics is still sleeping

Hmmmmmm

Sanusi pass dem o ..........hez very calculative and d fell into his trap............now he has a legal 50m ........choi!he knew d WUd do smth funny and he planned it well...........smart move sanusi!

Kogi Media said...

K

50 cool million... Woooow..... Lamido must be feeling ontop the world nw but i thought the president was the one that ordered for those action, why saying the police did that did this......lol.. Naija goverment go dey always dash me laugh shah..

Ghen ghen..gbegey don set

Next episode

So like play like play, lamido is no longer on seat.... I just hope this very one will really progress naija.....

whose account will be debited for the transaction? useless country..Jonathan and his dogs are imbeciles

This is embarrassing. FG needs to get it's acts together. You cannot make allegations without substantive evidence and expect to win a case in the court.

BLAZER said...

PEANUTS TO HIM...WUNT BE LIKE BABA SUWE WHO WE FELT DON HAMMER...BT THEY'VE REFUSD TO PAY...SO SAD

Well this Certainly is going to be interesting, because the FG and the Police will appeal the court's Decision. Can't wait to follow the ensuing drama. Hahahahahah

In modern business,you not only fear a crook,you should also fear an honestman that doesn't know what he's doing.
GEJ acts before he thinks.

Way to go big man. Bravo. Bunmi

Pay him indeed hw many innocent civlians hv d f-govt or police pay to for defamationm of dere character in dis country ? Jugde hw many innocent cases hv u trown out of ur court cus dey are nt prominent pple , God wil jugde u all, unlawful detain indeed

Kai..... Cool 50M naira jst like dat.... Na wah oooo........ Bt dis man pass 50M 100 times... So 2 him its jst a chicken change.....

Y 50m??? Dats too much

Lala said...

Ehen!

Like seriously; iz dis some sort of a JOKE!
Harry PORTA!

I support this move. It will teach them not to unduly harass or arrest anyone again without reasonable/ probable cause

Interesting! That a welcome development to showcase fundamental human right. Nice judgement. Indeed exemplary.

Boko haram judge ibrahim buba and APC court lagos.nonsense.

Choi ! 3 gbosas 4 dis guy.....weda he is at fault or nt, dis is a man who knows hw to play balls......
No wonder 1 useless joke i saw on fb says, who is d president of Nigeria n d students ansad lamido sanusi...hehehe

Abeggy! Which N50M? So that he will go and give more money to boko haram. This judge must must drunk to deliver that kind of judgment. So if someone is a suspect of a crime under investigation, he should not be invited for questioning? Nonsence!

Zenki brown said...

Awwwww. 50m richer. †ђξ LAW!!!

Nawa oooo. What for na? Dis man is a muslim fanatic abeg and capable of doin anytyn to promote d religion

huh?

Na their way, they should keep playing wt our collective intelligence. Na one day go be day.

SMA said...

make i hear say Jona pay that money, ofcourse dey don sack the judge be that, him no dey fear face

Pro and Anti Sanusi &GEJ i hell you people..Nigerian passport property of the government,Sanusi public office holder,SSS,Police public institutions...why all these fight?Am more concerned about the alleged non-remittance of the $10Billion,$6Billion,$4Billion whichever is missing..But someone must answer for the feeding lunch money that stood for over N2.3Billion for just 190 police men,someone must answer for Billions misused on renovations of non-government properties.I don't care who did what and where but money due to the nation must be accounted for...

Nawa oh,see ow they are misusing funds,smh,money thats supposed to be used for the poor,aWON oLORIBURUKU

Ordinary 9ja said...

All these kangaroo courts and judges. Mtswwwee

For what? Am sure that judge is one of the sponsors of Boko haram

Am sure the Judge is Sanusi,s friend,who has eaten from bribe

Kudos to him, dis should teach 9ja police sensible lessons, to b more civilized in handling such personality. Not guilty until proven guilty!!!

ANYA IKENGA said...

APC judge in Lagos! If he committed crime why can't he be investigated, harassed or even detained. Let Oduah go and get his own injunction there too.

For what infact we are nt save in dis country. Crime is growing every day $ no wl talk

Naija sef! And the man that stole a phone was jailed one year,Naija lo wa.smh.

what a waste of money

The 50 million will soon finish because he is going to share it his Boko Haram boys. Ole buruku.

am so lovin dis 4 once smbdy is standin up against our corupt govt & is gettin JUSTICE

OMG! N50M for damages only! There has to be other things involved. not just damages alone.

CoolDiva speaks!

As I would always say people should always be informed and not just be quick to passing judgement. He was granted 50million as damages yes it depends on what the counsel asks for and since the counsel to the federal government reused to do their job well as counsels he was granted. Secondly he was detained unlawfully which is a breach to his fundamental human right. So the court has the jurisdiction to issue such against the federal government. All these are just measures to deter people from doing the wrong thing despite the fact that it sounds absurd because of the amount of money involved and because of the parties involved. In conclusion a High Court cannot go below 10 million to award as damages as magistrate Court have Jurisdiction of up to 10million so from 10million and above would be that of a High Court and considering the persons involved it had to go that High.

haywhizzle said...

He won't be paid that's for sure....not under GEJ regime.

As I would always say people should always be informed and not just be quick to passing judgement. He was granted 50million as damages yes it depends on what the counsel asks for and since the counsel to the federal government reused to do their job well as counsels he was granted. Secondly he was detained unlawfully which is a breach to his fundamental human right. So the court has the jurisdiction to issue such against the federal government. All these are just measures to deter people from doing the wrong thing despite the fact that it sounds absurd because of the amount of money involved and because of the parties involved. In conclusion a High Court cannot go below 10 million to award as damages as magistrate Court have Jurisdiction of up to 10million so from 10million and above would be that of a High Court and considering the persons involved it had to go that High.

Smart Alec!

Das Good

1 Naira u no go see.

Shame on goodluck oshi

Go and read the details you will find out they only accused him wrongly for the boko haram issue they forge document to rope him

Naija babe said...

eh hen! When money talks, bullshit walks. When there are thousands of Nigerians that are harassed everyday and detained unlawfully for months, even years.
Trust me when i say that the judge has a share in that loot.
Shame on our legal system. shammmmmmmeeeeeeeee........

Arrant nonsense! The compensation ought to be atleast 5 Billion Naira.

BTW, where are the GEJ supporters??? Shame on you all!

Y'all haven't seen anything yet - just wait till 2015!

zoharariel@aol.com

SIMPLYCOCK said...

So he could invest the money in Boko Haram...
Bad news!

zoharariel@aol.com

Yu ll first send Jonathan to the grave before the 50 million. See this liar from birth

Am very sure that the Judge that delivered this judgement will be suspended by NJC. This is travesty of Justice.

Anything is possible under the judgement of an APC judge. 50m or no 50m sanusi is just a disgrace . Is he the first to be CBN governor carrying himself like obama. He got too power hungry and it landed him where he is. To me I prefer to beat u up and pay hospital bill after. The point remains I beat u. He should go n sleep. He is irrelevant. Next gist jo

Hahahaha. Abi o @ anon 4:37

257thousand was missing in my place of work in dopemu I was taken to agor police station for question,when they ask the boy who brought the money he said no one was in shop when he kept the money the police told my boss that the case is not mine that I shld call someone to bail me wit 20thousand

Swagg isimemen said...

I so much love dis Judgment so sweet awwww

Y dem no go pay am.Na fed to Fed!!!

dhobiz said...

Haywhizzle you just took the words out of my mouth,i who FG is cause it's definitely not JONA

RUSH said...

GTFOH! Ugly bitch!

H S C said...

Wham!! He should go and pursue his emir of kano future ambition abeg

flaky said...

Dis country will not cease to amaze me.paying 50,000,000 as damages when no money to buy diesel to fuel a government owned hospital's generator,imagine me using kerosine lantern to take a woman's delivery during labor.Nigeria ti tan,mtscheeeeeew,oshisco

Dem no go pay..u no wan wise

That's the Law

That's the law. Fair judgment

Oh really? Which kangaroo court is that? Boko harram court? What of all the money he stole?!

Una go hear am Hot.... FG nd CO

Nigerians should watch this man...Mallam Sanusi Lamido Sanusi. A lot of shallow minded Nigerians are just posting comments of no substance just commenting sake. He is sowing evil seed that will do this Nation no good and some fickle minded fellows are making Jokes/ Politics of the whole nonsense . While I am not an advocate of the uncivilized approach of the Nigerian Police Force, we should call a spade a spade. How many Nigerians have recieved justice as fast as this? Why did we not recieve the answers to his Audit Queries in this swift manner?
Why N50m? Is he the first to go to court this type of detention by the NPF? Let us be wise.

@haywizzle if the money is not paid the trial wont go on as his counsel would continue to ask for the money. And until the money is paid the court cannot move on.

Ade said...

patiently waiting for part 2

I am so sure this case will get to supreme court. Thats where d real legal politice takes place. So sure FG will not pay a dime. Welcome to Nigeria.

A federal high court in Lagos!hmmm God is watching you o,50m for ordinary arrest and passport seizure?has he bin cleared of all d allegations against him?dis is a joker like Jose Mourinho of Chelsea(my defenders are jokers).this nonsense should stop,someone is accused of mismanagement if our fund and a court in Lagos giving judgement for arrest,what of dose dat lost dere jobs in banking sector,what of intercon bank he bought?where did he see d money?I see dis coming,bet me by May Sanusi Lamido will join APC like Hell Rufai and FFK etc.God ll deliver us from all dis judges dat deliver dis kind of judgement within 1{1/2}myths,no recess ni?Aluu boys never get judgement o since 2yrs o.God is watching u o

50 million? Na wa oooooo

Shuld he support ur twisted religion instead? Oloshi

I taya oh! What nonsense.... Money wey fit better 50lives na hin dem wan give one idiot... Sey wetin na.. The wan wey Dey hin acc neva reach ni.. Na Nigeria dey destroy Nigeria oh!

U r right, Angie Cape. It is ur understanding. It is faulty.

Speaking d truth by sponsoring boko haram u mean, he won't get a dime. He will wait for eternity, nonsense

Gbam! Plus he is very far from honest!

Anon 3.40pm, are you so dull? Sanusi's supposed sponsorship of Boko is a figment of the govt's imagination.

Anya Ikenga, exactly. But first u must have some sort of evidence of the person's involvement. U cannot just detain or harass someone based on ur feelings or because u don't like the person. And by the way, Stella Oduah is female and therefore cannot get "his" anything.

Thank u!

Sanusi would never see that money in Jesus name. 50M for what!!! When they killed Lloyd tekena and ugonna who ordered what ehn? When they detain thousands of people and almost beat them to death and even kill them sometimes who ordered what.that court must be stupid and all its judges mentally deranged. Rubbish!!!!! Oh because its sanusi abi? E maa worry o ma duro be yen fun 50M awon omo oshi jati jati.may GOd judge the people that hold power in this country.. What nonsense did they beat sanusi ehn, did they even handcuff him. So because of ceased passport abi? What of all the ceased lives, did they order anyone to give them back. Olorun ma mu awon eniyan to ti baje! Ahhhhnnnn kini?? The ecobank worker that just died did anybody pay his family, was there even a court hearing? Ejo mo ti binu! Mo ti Koran ju! Jesus Christ would not let him see that money.50M that can be used to improve health care or any other sector, they would be paying a thief and a corrupt human being like sanusi.oshi! He shall not see
that money.olorun maje ( I spit kelembe).Linda odabo mo ti so ju.

Why are you so sentimental and myopic at this part of the world he who alleges must proof ....jona is always a stupid man let the govt produce evidence. Against sanusi rather than embacking on flimsy immage battering. without iota of fact...

So Sanusi went to Justice Ibrahim Buba(the judge that gave Odili and Ibori perpetual injunction)to get a similar judgement and 50million naira.Sanusi should be ashamed of himself,he wants 50million ,what about the 37billion that was awarded to Odi which he refused to pay?

4 what?Let the judge,sanusi go to hell with their APC judgement afterall his in lagos.kobo he won‘t get better accept yu faith now,EFCC do yu work,criminal&terrorist

This useless Sanusi 50M no oooo make them no try am

This JUDGE must be probed for this biased ruling!

Abi won ti pay e ni

You go tee for cell

kay said...

sanusi took it so soft with this kind of case of sponsoring BH,imagine hw can a reasonable govt like this gej n family accused somebody without a reasonable evidence,if i was sanusi,i would hv take the case to international court. I said and i will continue saying,gej govt is the most poor govt we ever had in nigeria,every na story.no light,no security,uneployment is increasing everyday,still madam finance will come with paper story.poor govt i said.

This things...Only in Nigeria?

Obey this court order, they will not.

Let them all -ogas at the top- batter themselves. That's the only fun I get when it comes to their issues.

This is all setup. Sanusi and Jonathan...Legal way to pay money out without people saying missing money. Who has ever sued FG and won the case. Wakeup they are looking for money all possible way for 2015 election. Mind you all the money will be paid and sent to Jona.
Canadian Tush

What is ur proof that he sponsor BH, lies from Oga at d top

rubbish na him papa get CBN? Tunda fire both FG n SANUSI

Oga oooo.......how can one get to dat top sef. its sweet there oooo. 50mila

I guess dese fundamental human rights are only experienced by people at d top. We see u guys.....