Dancehall artist Vybz Kartel sentenced to life in prison for murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 April 2014

Dancehall artist Vybz Kartel sentenced to life in prison for murder

Jamaican dance hall star Adidja Azim Palmer popularly known as Vybz Kartel has been sentenced to life in prison for the murder of a former business associate named Clive "Lizard" Williams.

Jamaica's supreme court sentenced Kartel today April 3rd after a 58-day trial, said to be the longest in the history of Jamaica's Circuit court. The musician's 3 other associates, Shawn Campbell, Kahira Jones and Andre St. John were also sentenced to life in prison.

The four men are accused of killing Clive after inviting him to Kartel's home to discuss two missing illegal hand guns. Though a body has never been found, the key piece of evidence that nailed Vybz was a text message that he sent from his phone which claimed 'Clive had been chopped up into so many pieces his body would never be found."

Kartel will not be eligible for parole until he serves 35 years of his life sentence. His lawyers are planning to appeal his sentence. Meanwhile, Vybz has been in prison since 2011 after he was arrested for possession of marijuana, illegal possession of firearm and the murder of a Jamaican businessman, Barrington Burton. Though he was later found not guilty and was acquitted of the charge of murder of Burton, he remained in prison pending his second murder case which started in November 2013.

122 comments:

Sufferings are lessons.. Make him enjoy

Bola said...

Omg!!

Kai so this guy that sang "tightest vagina" copycat of miss independence has been behind bars since 2011? What a waste!

mehn dat is realy ur home..prison.. e be lyk say d guy sef na customer for prison sef...loool...
Zeezi.

Sylvonce said...

Eishhh! Life's wasted..

One bad seed!

That's sad o,hope they will let him still make music in the prison sha,the guy has talent tho!sad sad he is ending it all up here!

See as the guy be? He luk like ghost...He deserves to be locked

Ego said...

Nawa o

I never like this dude, first he bleach his skin, looks more like a porn star. His a Babylon. Rastas dont kill we love

the moda4cker said...

Why was he even out in d 1st place? Stupid cursed bastard son of a bitch. He's better off in prison with his useless shapeless hopeless worthless mannerless meaningless songs that hav spoilt alot of bitches....rot in prison u dirty motherfucker.

princenho said...

only you all this crime, you be michael jackson bleach all your body yet you still no fine .......mcheeeeew

Ekene Emmanuel said...

He is very lucky that he was not even hanged immediately, he got what he deserved.

Chai! & I lyk dat his "rough sex" track ehn!
Too bad! C em face sef!

---------------Tarilicious-------------

la_dimsy said...

Na him b gangster, prison is his home. Have fun bumbo clak! Rasta man! Anyhow its been said.....

Dullard. Who does that? He sent a text message?! Better rot in jail. Dumb ass nigga

Kokodundun said...

Serves him right!

Hmmm!!! This was unavoidable..Vybz just couldnt stay out of trouble..Wasted talent..THEGEMRUBY

bobby du cable said...

Oh vybz cartel whyy whyyy whyyyy?...not too many options when u come from d project...love ur tunes shooter,

choi no more great music from the "di teacha"... kingston is upside down today

See his face sef,,murderer!!!!

Wow.... Soooo sad..

dhobiz said...

Murderer of life,he's not new in the killing business,God be with him

Total waste of life,I dnt understand how people sit down and plan evil,Na wa ooo

homeboi said...

Free World Boss!!!!

KUCHI said...

uncle vybz. lol

God dammit!!! He looks like something out of the 3rd world cop! Sh*t!!! He has kissed normal life good bye!! 35 years!!! Guess his whole life has being leading up to this moment.

Beht y u do me dis na! I love ur songs, but me feel say 5more years gast be added to his sentence for bleaching like a bitch... brahhhh....

Vybz nawa for you oooo.you no dey beg fuk sha.this one wey you no get regard for human life.olorun ma dari ji e.I really hope your appeal goes through. You sing good music.

Serves him right.

fedricx consult said...

this is a serious issue. vybz Kartel at it again!!!. lets hope he won't escape this one because it-is-jamaica..fedricx

Good for him...He can now go & sit in prison with his ugly tattoos...Ugly boy!

KUCHI said...

him don stay prison sote him bleaching don finish turn black...lol...uncle vybz

Say no to violence.say no to drug abuse. #@badman xxx#.

All man gats to pay for their sins, this dude is kinder finish bcos 35 yrs jail tym is equavalent to life inprisonement....

But Vybz whyyy bruv!.?

Long gest ever had, this dude just made history.....

Big G said...

Is this guy a demon or sumn!?

Damn!end of the road for gazza icon.those with interest in dance hall ragga knew he was one of the real mcoil(a true gangster).sad.

Make he go do up gaza for prison... abi he be tough guy. He'll be somebody's "batty boi" soon, filthy ass animal.

I hope he be able to release some more songs from prison...new age thug rap messiah! miss his nice dirty lyrics! BEG U A FUCK!! still my best

Bomboclat nigga!

Omo jamos method of killing..chopping n dumping. Very dangerous set of people

nekysparkles said...

He shud remain in prison

heya,so no more punani songs for 35yrs...oh boy..thats a long time oh..why you add murder with ham vibes..

SaphicDerrida said...

He's a gangster, the dancing thing is just a past time...

Rude bwoy yardie!!! Hope they lock him up and throw away the key!!! See what bleaching has done to his skin!!!whizman

JJ said...

A very bad man. Why waste resources keeping him in prison. Why not just kill him like he has been doing to others.

He looks like a hit man

Faith Ogaga said...

Wicked soul..

Hmmmmm ur hand don full 4 blood 2 much and ur cup don full 2 u wil die dere 4 one matter enter another one

Pale

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" God, he has bleached he'll out of his body. See his fingers. Main looking at him alone, he looks like a murder. Happy sentencing

Too bad #bright bravo#

R . I . P

dos tattoos are ugly

He should be killed also

Choi.....good 4 him

Choi...good 4 him

Serves him rite .rot in jail

Omg!!! Where will he be getting bleaching creams and cake soap now eh!

rose berry said...

Eyaaaa, I am a fan of his songs fa..... #sad

Na person pikin b dis. God forbid.........

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

This is serious

Nigerian celebrity Scandal News

C him face like monkey this time he will not go unpunished

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Dude bleached too?, well he cn serve the sentence,looks violent tho,they be singing,who knew thy weree like this really.

hownigeria.com said...

fastest way to down fall for life!

Three places in the world I can never go on vacation, Brazil, Jamaica and North Korea. Lailai. Nigeria better pass these countries o. Me wey like trouble make dem no go chop my body into pieces

C him ugly body n bleached skin demonic static fool.Abi na

ms k said...

Loooool.

Oh god ..have mercy on him

Opelicious Morgann said...

He didn't learn his lesson after the first case. So goodbye to his career. The world has moved on.

Well this life we live its either 2 things jail or coffin.

He is even bleaching!! He looks really demonic, mtchewww!

Wow dis vybz kartel na fucked up human being oh he murdered b4 n went way with it n now again smh nemesis don arrest him, "evil that men do lives with dem" me sef dey play him music

Na wa o.. e dey bleach join d wan wey dey e bodi ni?.... strolling by laughing

Vybz ya fi be de wrong set ah brethren!!! Why ya chatty chatty and murder another ghetto youth fi di shatter title? First of all ya bleach, next ting ah de tatoo, then the boomboclaat homo allegation....nuh you wan fi be de toughest man inna de yard! Ya nid fi project into de future fi ah better living, take dancehall to another level like mi brethren mavado, now he ah wine and dine with Dj Khaled and ting.....ya damn twisted baaty. Respect large sexy Linda....one day mi ah fi take ya to kingston jamaica fi ah sexy vacation *grins* #idiokaboy

So watz d point of sendin d txt..... Diz pple no jst wise,u kill pesin nd stil de tuk.anywayz sanco na em fit u wela,datz if u no go die dia. Thug war is nva d Way

Dat serves him rite...... He look more like a killer self!!!!!

If he has been found guilty then enjoy the rest of your living life behind bars. Linda See me here. #wink#

WOW. I love his songs. so sad. but if he really did it, he needs to be punished accordingly.

Ladun said...

It cannot happen here in Nigeria, celebrities don't go to jail and how can u be so stupid to have left a sent message on ur fone like that

2011?? Then he probably ows a duplex there, very talented guy.i. Love his.songs so sad *eats carrot*

LOL He even bleached too

dis guy wey i lik him songs..na wa o

LUFI said...

What a waste!!!
-LuFi frm TRINIDAD-

kai,
I like his songs o....

His hands r sooo irritating.hands of a murderer!

Slimy said...

Gud 4 him.

He sure do look like a murderer!! I mean who looks like this if not a murderer

suzydiva said...

Ohmy!!!! If ds is actually true then he deserves the sentence n I love his songs so much, Vybe but y???...

Good for him, that is the result of being rascal. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

ASHANKA said...

Na wa oo

Eyah....Lobatan...Lesson to d kids out there..Dont do drugs...

Trana Cameron my jamaican girlfrien i'm sorry to say dis buh ur guys re just cowards can u imagine dat?.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Candy floss said...

He looks too shitty, he is better in prison than anywhere else. Good riddiance.

Staton said...

He looks like criminal

And I think I have issues...

He's a real terror,oo.he should be sentenced toi death by hanging.

Leecia said...

Dis guy is a hardened criminal,wish u well in a land of no return,justice served well.Linda if u like dnt post my comment as usual.

TONIA said...

REGARDLESS OF MY LOVE FOR BODY (ART) INK, HIS OWN LOOKS SO IRRITATING. I LUV HIS VOICE AND SONGS BUT HIS WAY OF LIFE IS A NO NO. ROUGH LIFE DOESN'T PAY. WASTED VOICE WASTED LIFE.

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

Rude buoy! Love his songs though but his character is ill.

He's effed up in the head. All those blessings squandered. Do the crime, do the time. His time behind bars will answer one of my burning questions. Do bleachers revert back to black when they stop? The answer after his first five years

Good,very good.

Omg! I can't believe this! Vybz kartel! I used to love this guy! Omg!

oma said...

OMG!!!!!! Chaiiiii. And I am such a fan of his music and Movado as well..... dis guy jst fall my hand. Jst going through my laptop looking at his song list. Kai!!!!! E pain me sha

Millypee said...

let him rot there for all I care. Bomboclart.

Justice served.

Look at how much he's changed after rubbing Dencia's Whitenicious.....lolll

Why now Vybz Kartel.. I hope you enjoy prison like your riding on a bicycle and don't like dem Prison balti boiz. Beg u for a fuck..

Spacey said...

Just passing.....

He should be given more years for looking this scary

Millypee said...

he'll turn gay in prison, that is, if he is not gay already. Bombo!

skilful_ said...

Awww. I'll miss his music. The guy dey sing well

Dis guy na confirm bastard o! So, hin don even dey prison b4 sef, nd hin head stil no take dat one corect

Just looking at him i know he is guilty.

why nah

smh, so its jamaican people dat brought these stupid chopping body into pieces to Canada and America. Awon eleriibu, i just cant deal with Jamo peeps

McCoy bro... not the other thing you typed

Welcome back 2 d prison customer.

You can tell from the facial bone structures that he has anomalous DNA.

ZeeZee said...

This case has been totally tampered with and the Jamaican legal system is very corrupt Linda please check the story on how apparently that text message was sent from his phone after he got into custody! just hope the case is appealed

I too sabi, tightest was done by busy signal. Get ur facts right b4 opening ur big mouth#datananymous#