Sadiq Sani Abacha writes open lecture/letter to Prof. Wole Soyinka | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 March 2014

Sadiq Sani Abacha writes open lecture/letter to Prof. Wole Soyinka

Sadiq Sani Abacha is one of the sons of late military dictator Sani Abacha. Below is an open letter he wrote to professor Wole Soyinka days after the Nobel Laureate said it was an insult to share an award with his late father, Sani Abacha. Sadiq says Prof Soyinka attacking his dad is an act of cowardice...
If you want to think, speak and act logically then you should know all three.
1. The law of identity 
2. The law of excluded middle 
3. The law of non contradiction.
Now let's look at each one of these and see what they mean in practice.
1.The law of identity
The law of identity means that things are what they are, which at first doesn't seem very illuminating, but wait; it implies also the following, that things are what they are, whether you like them or not, it implies that things are what they are whether you know them or not, it implies that things are what they are whether you agree with them or not. Continue...

However, if you don't like the facts as they are you are going to have to put up with them, because facts are what they are, if it's raining on your golf day, get used to it! Because the facts are what they are and are often not what you want them to be, like if the traffic lights turn red when you approach, stop complaining! The law of identity means that you must adapt yourself to the facts and start your work from there, it implies that the facts will not bend to meet your expectations. You must first adapt yourself to what life is and then get to work changing and improving things in your life, be brave to meet reality as it really is and not how you would wish it to be.

2. The law of excluded middle.
  The law of excluded middle means that you should give a straight yes or no answer always and there is no middle ground. The law means that there is no kinda yes and kinda no, there is no ‘sort of’ being married because you are either married or you are not, you are either a thief or you are not, you are either on time or not, you are either living in Nigeria or you are not. The law is the idea that you should not try to keep all of your options open by staying in the middle or hedging, when it suits you, like when you accepted an appointment during IBB's regime as chairman of FRSC. I bet that was a military regime you partook in. Please pick one wife and state your claim 100% to her, pick one idea and go for it 100%! Decide and commit Sir! There you might find great power and self satisfaction in the doctrine of decide and commit. No half way measures, no middle ground, exclude the middle! Here! The law of excluded middle Sir.

3. The law of non contradiction.
The law of non contradiction says don't contradict yourself simple. If you say you will be there then be there. If you say you will do it then do it. Don't say or fight for one thing and then do the opposite. Don't say one thing and then later deny that you said it. Don't say one thing and then later contradict it. Be consistent in your thoughts and actions. Observing someone who was a socialist in the morning but then became a capitalist in the evening is a textbook on contradiction, these are two polar opposites, such a person is clearly inconsistent and is therefore considered a flip flop, confused, easily led or misled or at best a lunatic who has no clear understanding of the basis of either doctrine.

Apply these three logics to others with consistency and then you can ask for the same or expect the same from others, and then you can also ask for others to deal with facts not fantasy, which is the law of identity. Ask others to make up their mind to decide and commit. The law of excluded middle.Then ask others to follow through on the things that they say they would do. The law of non contradiction.

Sir, I believe brilliance is not perfection. I have grown and watched you criticize regime after regime and at that young and naive age I was thinking why wouldn't this man just contest to be president so that Nigeria can be saved, I would have defiantly voted for Mr Soyinka if it would have brought an end to Nigeria's woes. To my utter surprise, I heard about your FRSC leadership and how funds were misused and a great deal of it unaccounted for. "Oh my God! In the end he turned out to be just the same as everybody else" were my next thoughts. My hopes for you, all ended up in great disappointment.

Here I find myself defending my father 15 years after his death because some of you have no one else to pounce on, or rather, you have chosen a dead person to keep pouncing on over and over again when you have more than an array of contestants.  A coward's act I believe.  "A common writer" is what I have heard you being referred to lately, and I believe a mature mind would now agree to such referrals. With all due respect, there is a great challenge that faces the country, we have to put our heads together, rather than clashing, our collective ships must sail in the same direction, let us leave the ghosts of past contention and face the future bravely as one, criticizing the past does not help the present or define a path to the future.

You say, with the weight of your sense of history and the authority you possess on national issues that " a vicious usurper under whose authority the lives of an elected president and his wife were snuffed out" referring to my late father, you must be growing old, or you would rightly recall that that president elect you refer to did not die while my father was alive. Did you slyly change your facts to fit a history that would better serve your narrative, or are you just plain forgetful? Either way, it shows you are losing your grasp of reality.

Comparing my father’s leadership to Boko Haram's current reign of terror,  is a rather cheap shot, you are in no position to examine, judge and sentence an entire regime based on the information you think you have, you are privy to almost none of the true facts, what is at your disposal is at best, hearsay, or were you ever minister of defence? did you ever sit in during security meetings, evaluate the facts and subtleties of national security? You remind me of Obama criticizing the Republicans  before he became a sitting president himself, vouching to put an end to all American occupation, this all came to an abrupt end once he had access to the briefs and security issues, economic and political, facing his nation. Surely he did what he could, and history will judge him. To lead is not to be a rock star, and to be a Nobel laureate is not to be a an antagonist of this countries legacy..We are Africa's leaders, whether we like it or not, we cannot trivialize the centenary celebration, it happens only once, let us come together, if only for this one occasion and agree to disagree.

Open rebellion against the current government at this time, on the manner of the centenary celebrations, for whatever reason, is tactless, it is not about you, it is about our nation, our beloved country. There is a time and place for everything. My late father was a Nigerian, lived in Nigeria and died protecting our interests to the best of his ability, critiquing placing him on the honor roll, along with many deserving dignitaries is your right, you have the right to your own opinions, but you do not have the right to your own facts. Facts stand alone, regardless of who espouses them, let posterity judge, but you are clearly politicizing a dead issue, how could you not be? Having an issue with the naming of a hospital after the late General and leader? really ? Now ?

It almost seems as if you want to turn back the hands of time, what else would you like to undo besides the naming of the hospital, would you like to unmake Bayelsa state, Zamfara state or the others?  What about the advances we made in commerce, reducing the inflation rate, what about security and welfare, how many projects, hospitals and schools were created? inflation went from 54% to 8.5%! my father oversaw an increase in our foreign currency reserves from 494 million dollars in 1993 to 9.6 billion dollars by the middle of 1997, that is unprecedented , 15 years after the PTF the benefits are still being reaped today in Nigeria, What of peace keeping and nation building, not just in West Africa but the entire continent, restoring democracy in Liberia and Sierra Leone, all these under my father’s leadership, are all these not laudable? Or would you like to undo them all. All this on 8$ per barrel of oil! You have to be kidding me.

You are a learned man, you would have to undo all your learning to knowingly wish to undo all these achievements! I will be the first to proclaim that my fathers leadership was not pitch perfect or spot free, that does not exist, maybe in utopia but not here on this earth, so let us keep our discourse set in the sphere of reality please, he deserves the award, and he did not campaign for it, let it go, Sir...and allow Nigeria to at least bask in our survival and endurance in our growing prosperity and development in these trying times. I have been accused of being an optimist, hence, I am optimistic that you will come around and accept that we can all come together and face the future together, forgive each other our wrongs while celebrating our rights, I am still an admirer of your works after all, however, I cannot and will not attempt to answer your every charge, this is not the time or place, this is a time for solidarity, if only you were wise enough to grasp this.

I applaud the patience of President Goodluck Jonathan and his composure and restraint in not having a knee jerk reaction at such a pivotal moment in our nations history, but you would mar the occasion, Sir, in the future, please pick your battles, and do better to safeguard your relevance,  Enough Sir! 
Sadiq Abacha.

451 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 451 of 451

Wow am nt an hausa man neither am i a yoruba man but sadiq abacha's reply was well said with lots of high respect for the prof. Even though am nt saying abacha wasn't a torn on pple's flesh bt the fact remains that he had some gud contributions to this great nation. One great piece that cut ma attention in sadiq's reply to prof is > "To lead is not to be a rock star, and to be a Nobel laureate is not to be a an antagonist of this countries legacy..We are Africa's leaders, whether we like it or not, we cannot trivialize the centenary celebration, it happens only once, let us come together, if only for this one occasion and agree to disagree." well said no body holy pass...

The son of a thief (illiterarily, Omo-ale) defending his disgrace of a father in such illiterate terms from attack by one the greatest creative minds to come out of the country. In an ideal world, common-sense would be bitch-slapped into his ignorant head.

I hate this thing about Nigerians! they are bloody hypocrites, gullible and bandwagonists,those echoing how bad Abacha was are not even better off.The truth is that Abacha was not worse than the likes of Babangida and Obasanjo, nobody is talking about how Obasanjo killed Ige, Harry Marshal, the wiping of a whole community in Odi and so many others. The only reason why the Nigerian press - Yoruba press perpetually hated and still hate Abacha was because he didn't hand over to Abiola and they were jubilating when Abacha died because they thought that Abacha's death will make way for Abiola to be declared as President, most Nigerians are self-serving idiots.Wole Soyinka is part of Nigerian problem, always making inciting statements and he is even a perpetual cultist who has sold his soul to the devil, but always presenting himself as saint, look at the period he was Road Safety boss, he concentrated on only Lagos/Ibadan environs - bloody tribalist.

I can't forget the fact that the traitor stopped SE from defending the Africa Nation cup in South Africa 1996 because Mandela opposed him. SE would have won it then because we have the best team in SE history so far then.

Sadiq, your father was traitor, tyrant, murderer and a disgrace. Deal with it. Truth is bitter.

Sad day for Nigeria. I weep for my nation!

Funny you are saying this now Sodiq try this back in 99 bitch nigga. You should be be shot like Saddam's Uday and Qusay along with the rest of your family...Wombat

Ayo go and sleep, talking about or defending Wole Soyinka, wat did he do when he ws opportune to do his part in d FRSC? Ds mentality of let's drag him down is d pro of Nigeria. Wole cn only deciv d Yoruba nation wit his blabbing, where ws Wole Soyinka when Obasonjo massacre d innocent aged and children @ Odi? Obasonjo killed more dan d said Abach. An average Ijaw man will not forgive Obasonjo for what he did to Odi ppl. Jonathan's crime is his refusal to follow d part of Obasonjo by bombing Borno, Adamawa and Yobe just as Obasonjo did in Bayelsa may b by dat Ayo and his stupid Yoruba and foolish Hausa ppl wld av praise him. D pro d Yorubas av against Jonathan is d fact dat he free Al-mustapha, dats all. Who killed Bola Ige? Answer Wole Soyinka and foolish Ayo.

As in really...pls help me tell them o..

I can't believe this..in a more just world that family would've been forced to go into hiding to escape being killed the way Moummar Qadafi was killed – like a chicken.

Mr sadiq, you talked about the law of non contradiction, yet you contradicted yourself in the same piece. You called prof soyinka a "common writer" and later on said you admire his works. You should have paid me to write for you!!

After all being said, pls do accept dat ur father was a tyrant and dat under his rule, we Nigerians suffered.

Yes I agree, Abacha is a criminal, a thief, a moron, a murderer, fool. But I think Wole should stop crying over spoit milk

PLEASE TELL US......IF YOU REALLY HAVE A FACT.

Bugacious said...

I'm surprised u still haven't changed your surname from Abacha not to talk of openly defending that name.....

If I were u, I would have. And again if I were you, I wouldn't even open my mouth.....

Sadiq, you for no answer. Make I chop my peter, John n Julie mangoes to know which one sweet pass abeg!!

"...we cannot trivialize the centenary celebration, it happens only once,..."

Yes Sadiq! I agree with you on this point. Why TRIVIALIZE the centenary celebration??? It is A ONCE IN A HISTORY TIME event, about the existence of Nigeria as a country and NOT about any individual in particular.

Late Gen. Abacha's award fell into the 'ALL PAST PRESIDENTS/HEAD OF STATE OF NIGERIA' category. Whether we like it or not, he had the privilege of being in that category. History cannot change, whether he governed well or bad. So he gets the award without bias on the side of President Goodluck Jonathan. That is fair enough.

Let posterity [not Centenary award] judge the DIDs and DIDN'Ts of the Abacha regime; same as that of IBB, Abdulsalami,Shonekan, Obasanjo,...

The other day it was Atiku criticizing the centenary celebration with Boko Haram killing of students as if the lives of the so many other thousands of people killed in the past by boko haram doesn't matter. Cheap political noise i called it.

Nigeria Centenary Celebration is about the 100 years existence of Nigeria as Nation - the history of Her good, bad, and ugly experiences IN THE PAST 100 YRS. It will never be celebrated again in the history of heaven and earth.

LET IT BE!!!

I owe the Abacha Family great courses everyday of my life, thank God things have turned around and am a living witness to God's favour . That's personal...now let's go to what concerns the public...

Mr Sadiq, your case is that of someone who killed a man, buried him and later after many years you still go to the burial ground to remove his eyes. You need no soothsayers to explain the nonsense your father did as a dictator, even if The president elect was not killed under your father's regime, is it not glaring that you father killed him indirectly before he died? Can a whole country be wrong to accuse your father of thieving attitudes, prebendal politics and kleptocracy? I think you are a bastard because I assume you don't know your father. Can you swear you are not living via our stolen funds? You come here to mention some petty achievements during your father's regime but did you ask yourself if wealth was evenly distributed to all Nigerians during Abacha's. Regime? Am so cursing you right now, gues you will die in the arms of prostitutes like your father did. BASTARD!!!

David said...

Omo yi ma baje o. sadiq or what is ur name? u mst be a fool o. well, I wish I could see u face 2 face n give u a piece of my mind. omo ale jati jati

When your dad died, we celebrated so much in school. It was during one o the school breaks in JS 3; however, we were made to go to school since we were taking junior WAEC. Our teachers gave us the day off. We played so hard in school that day till we could not play any further. God saved Nigeria by letting your dad die. Sorry. But it's the plain truth. Youtube still has videos of how your father terrorized this country. Plain truth.

law of menini? y did u download a whole text book because u want to write a letter to a first class prof? shame on u it shows u are not intelligent.

The long letter was filled with irrelevant blabs... Young man should come outside whether Nigerians will not burn him alive...

BASTARD

I would not fault Sadiq for his well written letter. He's not in a position to be objective. He's not aware of Abacha's BLACK BOOOK!! Can someone pls educate this young man!!! Justice will come to this land someday, it might take hundred years but justice must come someday!

Thank you Ayo Sogunro. Sadiq, may God punish you and the unborn generation of sanni abacha. The evil man whose death made people rejoice. Your father died and the whole nation erupted in celebrated, your entire family should bury their heads in shame. So u have the mouth to talk, it can only happen in naija. May ur father continue to rot in hell

U are on point, some people are just criticising Abacha as if he was the only leader that killed and embezzled money. Wole Soyinka does not deserve the award for introducing cultism.

Your father is a killer and a theif

Truth, they say is bitter, why the anger on the noble Laurent , wether you like it or not he can't share an honor with a murder and dictator like ur dad. I thought I wuld here you mention the money your father looted and so on but you didn't, just like father like son.

Professor you talk 2much why are u running away from public office, if you think you know much help sanitise our country or stop writing and accept public office Nigeria needs ur help you pirate.

Nice one sadig....agree with 80% of your analysis?I also feel that wole soyinka's reason for rejecting d award was stupid & unnecessary.why pick on Abacha a dead man who cannot defend himself.how abt Ibb,abdulsalam,buhari etc.
The award category was for all former head of state.Abacha was one. fact! Gej could not have singled him out not to get d award in other to appease the almighty Soyinka.....besides he was not missed at all at d awards as 96 others gladly accepted theirs

The young shall grow. Thank God that Abachas' children are old enough to answer any stupid man that insult the dead spirit of their father. Enough of the ranting about Abacha and the loot. Did Obj, Ibb, Salami etc not steal our money instead of you guys to descend on the living, you disturbing a dead man. Don't you think is all cowardice from you poverty stricken lots. Face Obj who said he collected Abacha and did not give account of what he used the money for. Abacha did very well in his regime but Objs' 2nd coming was the worst in the history of this nation. Baba con settle im sec. Come to think of it Wole is always criticing every regime. This is a guy who doesn't have morals. He pregnanted the daughters' friend who comes visiting at home and was just eyeing her until he 'Jomole'. When it became shameful he hurriedly married the itsekiri girl. A girl of his daughters' age. If you insult anybody's Fada, u will surely get reply. No be only you dey speak grammer.

please tell them

Gibberish.....theirs is a typical case of The evil that men do lives after them. They should be used to all this by now. He better be ready to keep copying and pasting his letters cos Prof won't be the last person to publicly condemn Abacha's evil doings.
Musings of a busy body on-
omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

Brain wash open letter tinz

mr Sadiq Abacha, the US government has frozen the $458m cash stolen by your father more than 15 years ago. Do you know the good that sum could have done to the economy? anyways, to make it easy on you, your family and the US, you better help and gather the remaining cash in your family's possession.

Family of demons.

abacha and his family are the major cause of nigerias problems, infact the north is the cause of all the problems, if we can just share the country so that every body can just be on their own and be happy. its so unfortunate that ojukwu saw this a long time ago

Sadiq omo irankiran, i remember dat nite wen it was announced dat ur tyrant father has been poisoned by ashawo, dat nite my mum prepared moimoi bt we couldn't eat it coz we are all satisfied and happy dat d tyrant and d most ruthless idiot of our time is dead.
Ofonu oshi.

*adefunke*

I wonder oooooo. #long hisss.

Nigerians are stouthearted and to be led effectively ,they need a dictatorship kind of govt. Not necessarily dictatorship this days, who dares come out as boko haram or militant during Abacha's regime . He was a leader we Nigerians never appreciated because we are Nigerians. I think its better to kill the evil doers and law violators than let innocent people die like they do now to terrorism cases of boko haram and militancy .To me , Abacha's regime is one of the best only if we had the inner eye to look beyond the ordinary , in a country where there is no law, there seems to be no respect. Enough Said

barbara said...

All ye readers dat can't read properly..d ppl u kal children r far older dan u n married wit kids..dere all tryn 2 tell Soyinka 2 calm dwn n stop his criticizing 4 its 2 mch.Abacha is dead 4 he shuld be 4gtn,everythn dat happnd is past 4 we v a nation dat is in shambles..let's put heads 2 save our country Nigeria.Not 2 4gt wat ever happens 2 Nigeria happens 2 us (d commentors n everi1 included)so let's wise up/grow up..leave d abachas family 4 dey r ryt,u can't tell me if it was ur father u won't support? I know smppl will say dats y its nt my father bt if he was in his shoes dey ll all do it,that's y its politics.. Thanks you!

He who lives in a glass house shud learn not to throw stones,one thing Nigerians fail to realise is that even d hands of our Prof is not clean,
Sum pple comment that d dark goggled general killed many pple,do u kno how many pple have died during there initiation to d Pirates confraternity,abi no be d old aetheist be dstart am for dis nation,or wat significant change hav we seen in dis country since Abacha demise,apart frm telephone that they brought to consume our money.why can't some pple be lik Gowon or Abdulsalam who are busy enjoyin there money rather than (lips sealed)

Didi3000 said...

In some places, when an evil man is killed, his whole family is brought out and slain along with him. I used to think this practises unfair, but now I can see why...
Satan incarnate Abacha died, and everyone left his family alone to enjoy his blood money, now those maggots hv the guts to shout from the rooftop in defence of Satan. How tragic.... Only in Nigeria.

The only thing that pains me in all of this, is why Goodluck (whom I'm rooting for) would ever honour such a man. That's the true tragedy....

Well i took my time and read the letter, though it was quite long, my opinion is this, whole Soyinka should stop dragging us backwards, Yes Abacha must have been a very terrible leader, but since right after him, which of the leaders has been any better? i can remember that as at the time of Abacha's regime, Nigeria had almost a stable economy, it was N48 TO $1, the petrol price was normal, yes you may call him tyrant for the the killings, no doubt, but economically, he was by far the best head of state. "my Opinion"

Sadiq and Gumsu Abacha- follow and Read from this Link and refute this claim after reading this: http://lindaikeji.blogspot.com/2014/03/us-government-freezes-458million-sani.html

a.Your Father Sani Abacha is a THIEF !!
b.GEJ honored your father a THIEF (no surprises !)
c. Wole Soyinka was Proved Right- Your father was a Thief, Now everyone knows it.
d. In Nigeria and beyond everytime they mention your names, the world will ALWAYS identify you as CHILDREN of a DICTATOR & a THIEF (even if they do not say it to your face, Ole,Barawo Banza!)
This is your Father's Legacy to you and your family, even in death he shames you all Abacha's
Bury your heads in shame , 160million and more know your father is a Thief and we Dance and Spit on his Grave !!!!!!

If there's anyone amongst you who hasn't done wrong before , let him cast the first stone.......that was a beautiful piece from Sadiq with all due respect. Wole Soyinka being a Nobel laureate doesn't make him a saint or perfect being. I'm also sure all f you calling abacha and family names, ur fathers haven't been in such position to control and manage that much before. Abacha did better than our honorable retarded president ebele bad luck Jonathan. Cheers

BLAJO said...

Oga or Alhaji Sadiq your words smell. It would have been lot better if you had kept your mouth shot. You called Prof Wole Soyinka an ordinary writer?. He wrote your father's tale and you are crying foul. Pen is powerful my brother. You dad was bad and Nigerians rejoiced when he died, PERIOD.

calling wole soyinka a common writer is an understatement. he used the writing to gain international award and well recognize through all over the world.But your father was banned both in Africa and international community due to his dirty deed. the son of a murderer is still talking.

that wole soyinka is a common writer is an understatement.he was awarded different types of honor because of his writing but the only honored given to your father b4 and after his death is a deadliest murderer Nigerians have ever had as a president. Are you not ashamed of yourself. "Abachas are killer squad"

baaleaba said...

Ur father
was an allien

Its not really His Fault, Let assume We Nigerians Stump their house and Give them a bite of what we have been Tasting throughout his Father Regime D Stupid idiot wouldnt have got the nerve to spit out Such Nonsense.

Na GOD DO PUNISH YOU ...

Abacha is the Devil we saw in Nigeria. I hope he is in bell now

kidykuz said...

Mst

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 451 of 451   Newer› Newest»