Dear LIB readers: Should I accept money from my mother-in-law? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 February 2014

Dear LIB readers: Should I accept money from my mother-in-law?

From a male LIB reader
I am a married man with a beautiful wife and a one year old baby. I recently lost my job without prior notification. I have very little savings to fall back on but my mother-in-law who is very rich says she would be sending me money for my family upkeep. I expected her to give money to her daughter but she's insisting on giving it to me. Should I accept the offer or not, knowing fully well how women can be when they start giving you small change?

261 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261
lovlyivon said...

Afteral she is ur mother inlaw and cud help out when the need arises

And Who Approves Linda

Lol...Y not? Is not every mother-in-law are able to do that for their daughter husband.... Instead they'll make life miserable for u. I care (1world♥)

Richard Aigbe said...

There's absolutely no crime in collecting it but not occasionally, afterall, she's ur mother only dis time inlaw. If she gave u once, its ok. Do not,I repeat, do not collect it repeatedly and try as much as u can to reciprocate the gesture. Afterall no condition is permanent. You will bounce back.

Richie say so!

Well it depends on the kind of mother in law u hv but u can insist on her lending u the money and make sure u pay back although she might not accept the payback.

I believe she's not in d country rite? Take d money joor she respect u dats why she's giving u not her daughter becos nothing thr, even if ur friend give u, he or she can't still insult u later.

collect if you are in need for urgent need like house rent,if not my dear you are a man fight for ur self marriage is not boyfriend and girlfriend thing.tomorrow is another day.if is for food or pleasure forget the money.

Peejay said...

Best answer so far.

Follow ur heart

No comment!!!! walking away......

FDJ said...

Sure u can collect it but firstly discussed it wit ur wife n dnt kip it away from ha if anytin apens after dat

Am thinking the reason why she wants to give you and not to her daughter is that she doesn't want you to be collecting money from your wife every time you need money, am sure would give her own daughter separatly.i think she means well.

My brother, am telling you this out of experience, if you have other ways to get money do not accept it oo, i was a victim of this kind of even and i have eaten lots of shit from my mother inlaw the only thing that remains is for her to come and open her p***y and ask me to lick it every morning i wake up. Some mother inlaws becomes terrors in pretence that they wana help you.. but if you don't have any choice just accept it and make a move take all the insults that will come in later and just find a way out so that it does not continue

Let her give you job or link you up for another job

Depends on the kind of relationship you have with your mother-in-law. she doesnt want to give it to your wife because you are the head of the house and you might find it somewhat insulting that money is coming in from her. i dont think there is anything wrong with collecting it so far you didnt beg for it and it is not frequent. even so-called friends might rub it on you.

Chika said...

I think that you discuss it with your and do what you both conclude.

Damochedxb said...

My guy, dont accept it directly.. Infact become indisposed.. Dont even stay at home, act frustrated, leave the house every morning insearch of a new job.. Come back home at night.. Dont give her chance to send u the money.. If God forbid the situation becomes difficult and there's no spending money, trust me, your wife herself will collect money from her mother, dont take part of it.. Instead go and borrow from your friends if u need money to go out to look for a job, you can pretend to force yourself to eat if she cooks with the money given to her by her mom, tell her u dont have appetite, let her be the one to force you to eat.. DONT ACCEPT THE MONEY FROM HER MOTHER DIRECTLY. YOU WILL REGRET IT

Idi said...

Haba! The woman is rich and wants to help wat's d big deal???? Just hustle hard so it does'nt last for too long.

men and their stupid arrogance, if its small change y r u contemplatin then..msheww

Obviously it's not the mother that has a problem but YOU!! You sound so condescending . If you have problem collecting 'small change from a woman' like you put it then sit in your house n die of hunger . African men and their unnecessary pride!!!! Msteww

Why am i not surprised ny bonario and onyx's comments? Na every man go be like una?

I'm surprised you are the 1st person to notice his condescending attitude, everyone here is just giving him foolish advice. Very ungrateful human .

No only collect am, go dey wash her car. Mumu question. If she no fit give her daughter, make she chew am..... Da illiterate chic is back

ABUJA LAWYER said...

You may accept it, but make sure your wife is with you when you do, and accept it together with your wife so it's a gift to you and your wife and not you alone. You're safer that way.

kings said...

dear poster she means no harm,she just want you to always have cash @ hand instead of tasking your wife.

its a question of pride over commonsense... Your choice.

Also bear in mind that women talk and believe she will refer to it in future, on the other hand, do you want your family to starve?... your choice *sighs*

Osinachi IBIAM-URO said...

You better grab the offer before it passes by

AnnMarie said...

what do you mean by small change

U can take it at least she is ur inlaw,my mum once gave my boyfriend moni and told him not to tell me and till date she hasn't mentioned it but my bf told me

Actually, its best she gives it to you. She respects that you are still the head of the household inspite of your recent predicament. Sending it to her daughter might begin to cause tension in your house.
Sounds like your wife isnt working, if you can get a loan from ur mil for your wife to start up a biz, that would be nice too. So you dont have to go to ur mil everytime you need to feed

Osato Selobar, u r on point! Oga u must discuss wt ur madam o. U know u r one especially because of tomorrow. Remember it's for a time. Make frantic efforts to secure another job so that u don't be on d collecting end for too long...not palatable!

I agree but know ur limits. Truth is let this not be her avenue to start nosing in ur relationship and asking for "details" on how the money is being spent....

I 2nd this. Discuss with your wife and pray about it together and make a decision together. Once you make your decision, your wife should be the one to tell her mum.

Don't do anything behind your wife's back.
Tell your wife what is going on. Reach a decision to together and let your wife be the one interacting with her mum.

If It were the father-in-law, I would have said ok, man to man but since it's the mother-in-law, abeg let your wife be the one doing the interactions.

OMG! Why must Nigerians always be so skeptical. Drop your pride and take the money. After all she is your mother-in-law and your family has to eat. Once you get back on your feet pay her back with interest. Finish!

Princess said...

haha Mystic falls, and Nedu cee jay... thank u so much for telln him oo. make e just dey dere dey form..hunger go finish u.

Amarachukwu said...

Is your wife aware?and u shld know the kind of perosn your mum in law is.

Collect joor

Nooo don't collect. It is "small change" abi so it won't make a difference to your life? I wish she could see this. Ingrate! A real man would collect and promise to pay her back in full and work towards that, but you've come to Linda Ikeji's blog to insult the poor woman instead. If she had given it to her daughter someone would have said that nobody ran it by you and that now that she's done that it means the money is for your wife to play around with as it is her money. I won't be surprised if she wanted to give it to you to accord you respect as the perceived head of the family."You know how women can be" Ewu! As if men are not capable of disturbing you for money they loaned you and as if all women are the same. Nonsense. Don't collect it. Starve instead.

ACCEPT IT BUT GIVE THE ENTIRE MONEY TO YOUR WIFE. AS FOR YOU, LOOK FOR A JOB ASAP AND LIVE ON YOUR LITTLE SAVINGS WHILST YOUR WIFE USES THE MONEY FROM YOUR MOTHER IN-LAW AS AN UPKEEP FOR THE HOUSEHOLD.

U even have so much pride. Ingrate!!!!!! #Go and look 4 bigger change den$

IF SHE GET CONNECTIONS, MAKE SHE USE HAM FIND WORK 4 UNA

ZeeZee said...

Hmmmmm tahts fishy... dear don't try it!! Ask you friends, go and hussle this route isnt a safe route to take

You have issues o. if she gives it through your wife, you'll say she doesn't respect you. She insists on handling the money to you because you are the man of the house and now her adopted son. So whats the issue? Please collect it but also push harder to be independent.

Another good advice

All I can say is pride is a sin!African style!we help one another n the family!its like saying you have and wnt give your elder brother or sister!

Begger that 'has'

Smart answer

Whether thru ur wife or directly to you, it the same thing. I ga bu ogbenye buru amosu! What baffles me is why give you feeding money, if she is rich like you said she can give you money to set up a biz which u will pay back of course with interest if need be. I dont believe in giving me fish every, I believe in showing me how to catch a fish for myself.

She is giving it to you and not your wife out of respect

My thoughts exactly!!! His final statement just put the nail in the coffin. Complex much? Abeg don't take it then! Pssh!

Na wa oooo...what kind of women were you guys who think this way raised by?

Don't mind the plonker!

lady kim kim said...

It's a two way tin
1)It is either u start collecting money n b ruled,monitor n disrespected
2)U know ur mother in-law beta,mayb she wanted to give u money so dat u can still b d man of d house,sum mother in-laws treat their son in-law lyk their own.mayb she is trying to save u.bt i think since she is rich,she must b influencial.she sud help u wit a job instead.think twice

I feel she is giving it to n not her daughter cos you r the head of чυя family.wat I suggest you do is to make it known to чυя wife before collecting it so that she wld thank her.

Chidinma

I would like to point out that u r ungrateful. Someone is trying to help u, no matter how little u should not call it chicken change.

IF YOUR BROKE THAT SHOULDNT BE A QUESTION

don't accept it she's going to feel like she owns you and will always refer to the fact that she gives you money

Dis ur case is dicey ooh

Jay O said...

What option do you have??
You are broke!!
Abi you want your beautiful wife and child to starve???
If it were your mum giving you the money, will you be asking?? In face what about your own parents??? They are obviously broke so you have no choice. Yet you are here twisting your mouth...go and take sign and stand at Idumota and start begging. Nonsense!!

You too get sense! Also accept @ least the first in ur wife's presence

Seriously, great-full??????

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 261 of 261   Newer› Newest»