Former Lagos Deputy Governor, Alhaja Ojikutu, arrested for fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 February 2014

Former Lagos Deputy Governor, Alhaja Ojikutu, arrested for fraud

The Special Fraud Unit (SFU) of the Nigeria Police today Tuesday Feb. 4th arrested former Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Alhaja Sinatu Aderoju Ojikutu, Sahara Reporters reports.
She will appear in court tomorrow in connection with fraudulently obtaining N130million from one Cajethan Okekearu.
Mrs. Ojikutu was declared wanted on June 19, 2013, but she went to court to halt police investigations, a suit that was thrown out by a judge a few weeks ago.
The SFU police spokesperson Ngozi Isintume-Agu said in a statement that Alhaja Ojikutu, 67, who was picked up at her Lagos Island residence, allegedly connived with one Samson Adebisi Ojikutu Jnr, her son, to commit the offence. Samson is currently in the United States.

According to the statement, the former deputy governor and her son “were parties to the sale of the land and both signed the agreement given to the Complainant and obtained the sum of N130 million from him.”

The police said the suspect admitted the crime but explained it as a genuine mistake of plot identification.  She then refunded the sum of N50 million to the complainant and promised to refund the balance as soon as she had disposed of two other properties she had put up for sale.
The statement further said Mrs. Ojikutu has confessed that she injected the complainant’s money into her business.

“She equally made an undertaking and payment plan which was drawn from September, 2012 and was to terminate by November 2012, but she defaulted due to lack of fund.”

The police further said the deal unraveled when Okekearu, on the verge of completion of development of the land, was accosted by the bona fide owner of the property and it was established that the land that the suspect had sold actually belonged to one Mr. Afolabi.

“It was also discovered that the Plot 24 Block 4, which actually belonged to Late Samson Adebisi Ojikutu Snr, the suspect’s husband who died in 2008 was sold by him in 1995 and the suspect was a life witness and appended her signature to the sale of the land.  A financial institution (name withheld) which was in possession of the CofO after payment was fully made also tendered the original CofO which the former Deputy Governor of Lagos State had earlier declared missing and even sworn an affidavit to.”

The statement recalled that Alhaja Ojikutu had sued the Inspector-General of Police, the Commissioner of Police, SFU, and the complainants, asking the court to restrain the police from further investigations and violations of her fundamental rights.

“The ruling by Justice Obadina (Mrs) on 17th December 2013, dismissed the Suit for lack of merit, that the Nigeria Police has the power to prosecute the Applicants, Alhaja Sinatu Aderoju Ojikutu and her son, Sampson Adebisi Ojikutu (Jnr) since the Police investigation revealed that there is prima-facie case of obtaining by false pretences against them and added that the court will not interfere or restrain the Police in carrying out their statutory function,” the statement said.

The former deputy governor will be arraigned at the Federal High Court in Lagos on Wednesday morning.

Culled Sahara Reporters

56 comments:

Commented

AnnMarie said...

130 million naira is a whole lot of money.the things some women who are into politics do is seriously amazing

Wht a man can do, a woman can do beta

Linda I need LIVE coverage from u,

FDJ said...

Heya too bad

Chai! Auntieeeee! And when those in need in d family comes for help,u won't give. Na wah o! May God deliver u

No one is above the law.
Fiat justitia ruat cealum

Haaa ???nawa ??korokoro thief... alll dz pple wit amala n efuriro brian !!!

Wonders shall never end.

Glammo! said...

Sigh! 'So long a letter'. God will pull her through this debt.

Linda I no fit finish dis your dogonturancci. But she should be arrested and prosecuted with immediate alacrity. Gbam!!!! Bonita Bislam where re u??? *eyez rolling*

Thank God it is Yoruba dat obtained Igbo, otherwise some tribalistic LIBers would turn it on all Igbos. No tribe is d best, no tribe is d worst but gud and/or bad individuals among all ethnic nationalities. Linda, dis report is timely considering d police-dollar case ealier whom am so sure is not an Igbo (not exonerating Igbos here). ***ogamba chux***

Ghen ghen! Plz in whose regime ws she deputy governor n under wch political party?

--N.II.C.E

hmmmm! nawaoo!! give a woman chance in politics m things wil be beta....? for where? wen we were heavenly n earthly made to be known as oriaku? And one Mazambulla wil com n tel us she has all d formula 2be d next governor/ness of Lagos state. corruptn dey all politicians body in respectiv of dia genders. ( miss lib'ly addicted)

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

good job by the judiciary and police here on this case...if the above story is true with all the facts provable, then the alhaja cum ex-deputy governor and her son should prepare to sleep in jail...for a few months at least...

Na wa...

vivian said...

This is a disappointment to such a person... She fucked up

All goverment officials are crook I mean all. Lynda abi linda abi liendah post or not I don reason

small Anukwu said...

Yoruba thief. I jst dey pass o

This lady nah thief worry am. Its not till u carry gun to street oo. Reading d story, makes me want to conclude dat she is a born thief. Fundamental right ni funmental right ko.

Seun Ajet said...

Nawa o,she's so broke,Lagos state govt should her out pls! Barawo

makky said...

There's enough for every man's need but not for every man's greed.

Good her let her dance to the beats smh

Ok!! Guilty or not Guilty?? NOT GUILTY, case adjorned till April 20th!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

yolowba ppl and there stupid way of fraud. they think igbos are still there full but she must pay 4 it idiot

Funny.. Why are only d women caught.. In dis case its an issue of land nd not being able to pay back when compared to missing $10bn, "subsidy scam" and all d money missing in govt dat no one has been arrested for.. And they posting d woman's face all over.. Kmt.. Delusional..

See this people? Na so una don rena igbo people reach?!! 130M!!! Na him they wan chop clean mouth?! Person hard earned cash?!

Pls give my uncle his money, let's have peace with you please

Amarachukwu said...

What a man can do a woman do even better.

Femi otedola NRC 1992

Fashola and Acn the new APC

#That happy sister!

A thief will always be a thief it's in d blood already, like my people will call it (it doesn't hv two name Oleeeee)

#That happy sister!

Am very sure it's becos she got no money to bribe this people, dats y they showing us her face.....all na thief

~Medusa~ said...

This is disgraceful,cant imagine my mom being in the news for criminal offences, total disgrace from a woman am disappointed.

Chuxx Obi said...

Wen u see a thief for face you go knw! So you injected the money into ur business abi! Dat business will never progress in jesus name!!

Hmmnnnnnn... This politicians and their ways of stealing... Smh

Mrs E said...

The fundamental rights of a thief is to be free to continue stealing/thievery

Her son is a bastard 4 leaving his mother to face d music alone

Igor said...

And she always claim to be an upright politician Smh.

The way those in power steal, smh. Why dont they apprehend the main thieves, those stealing real money.

dabsditty said...

Nemesis! And her son had better not deny her cos they did it together!

Shame on you mercy . In some countries, reading is a subculture .. Are u dyslexic?

Small you are very stupid- uche

Anon 12:16 women learnt it frm men.ln Nigga as a fomer dep gov that's chicken change l guess Tinubu did nt allow her to steal like he stole n his still witch hunting her for defying him.With owl eyes n Toronto certificate.

THIEF!

Funny how this people embezzle millions like kobo. That money is HUGE!! God help us in Nigeria.

Solution To Quick Ejaculation Here

Dee Tee said...

HMMMM.... NO COMMENT ..... HMMMMM

You are obviously a fool
No wonder u cannot spell ordinary brain as you lack 1

This is a mere calculated stratagem by the decadent bourgeois ruling politicians to distract the attention of Nigerians away from the gargantuan billions of naira that this government is misappropriating through people like Florence Oduah and Dizeani Madueke. It is even more pathetic that Nigerians are falling for this cheap trick.

Dnt mind d yeye Onyx! U wey don spoil d name wey ur papa n mama give u, weather na Onyinye she dey bear soo o! Ur mouth like amala n efo riro, come turn brain to person name *brian! Olodo

Dis one is a shame to womanhood and motherhood! She has succeeded in grooming her son 2 be an hardened criminal, she even send d boy abroad to flex! God will catch all of u o!

Alhaja e se to rara. O ku die fun yin. Aiye le nle, e wo ti aljana. Ati botan, ise ire, iwa ire, omo luabi in o se koko. E san owo olowo

U be lawyer,just dey Talk

God help us all.