Former Nigerian Olympian jailed for life in South Africa for murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 February 2014

Former Nigerian Olympian jailed for life in South Africa for murder

Former Nigerian Olympic athlete, Ambrose Monye (pictured above), has been sentenced to life in prison in South Africa for the murder of 26 year old Channelle Henning (pictured right).

Monye, who participated in the Seoul Olympic game in 1988, is accused of killing Henning as she drove out after dropping her young son at the Morning Star Montessori Preschool in Faere Glen, East Pretoria South Africa on the 8th of November 2011. He and another accomplice, Andre Gouws, who was also sentenced to life in prison, were contracted to kill the woman by her estranged husband.

After denying their involvement in the shooting death for almost two years, the men finally confessed to being involved in the gruesome murder.

According to Andre Gouws testimony in court this morning, Channelle and her husband, Nick have been on a custody battle for their young son for a while. Nick then decided the best way to have full custody of his son was to permanently get rid of his wife. He then contacted Andre Gouws to help carry out the murder with a reward of a million rand if successfully done. Andre then contacted Monye to help facilitate the killing with a promise to pay him 50,000rand. Continue...

The husband, Nick

Ambrose then contracted two men, Gerhardus (Doepie) du Please and Willem (Tattoo or Pike) Pieterse who carried out the murder. The two men are already serving 18-year jail terms, following their guilty pleas to the murder charge.

Described by the investigative team as the kingpin of Pretoria's underworld, Ambrose has a history of being involved in murder cases. In 2011, he was arrested and later released in South Africa for allegedly beating a man to death. Ambrose runs a security firm in South Africa.

76 comments:

Mba9 said...

Good for him. They just keep rubbishing our country's image outside. Haba! What wont they do for quick money? Mtschew.

BUT WHYYYY.... NIGERIANS LORD HELP US

na wa o...why now? why assassinate your wife when you can remarry and have more kids?

Its quite unfortunate the way he's going to end his life time
He deserves the sentence

The Naija guy is not only broke, but also veery foolish.

Abeg, how i go use report one gay for my area, the guy get mind de make passes at me... When i don decide to show my hole to only my toilet seat, one idiot wan change that decision, not possible.

Kai so much blood has been spillled over the millenium that I think the throat of the earyth is being clotted and choked and fresh blood cannot raise a voice from it.I pray these killings stop!

Zenki brown said...

Omo contract killer. Its time to dance to †ђξ law/justice music.

Bad rep for Naija. Wat jail term was given to the woman's estranged husband? Eeh Aunty Linda

Hmmmnnn... God have mercy!

C em facial appearance, §☺ devilish

Objection My Lord, Tamper Mercy With Johnson!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Harnikky said...

What kind of people are this? Like they can creat a life they jst destroy it aniaow, that's is really unfair&d Nick is a useless&unfortunate husband! May her soul rest in perfect peace.

NAIJA ppl we are only good In committing crimes home and abroad really when will Nigerians stop tarnishing their image wtf everywhere we go, we are being hated just bcos of one crime or stealing or another felony damnmmmmmm

You meant Seoul right?

so serious issue. Do we need to pray for him?

What a gross contradiction.Being a security company owner and being involved in insecurity acts. Bros u fold my hands o.

udbros said...

See his wicked face!!, a wicked man can neva go unpunished.

FDJ said...

Y nah?All in d name of Money

Visages Parfait said...

Ha! Na wah o. How do you go from being an olympian to becoming a murderer? Why do most of them always end up like this na?

Amarachukwu said...

Is a pity.

Na wa.y r Nigerians all killing or being killed abroad??
@Omotejowho

sureguy@toronto said...

Let the old fool rot in jail for all I care

He thought he was in Nigeria where police collect bribe and set criminals free. Mtcheeew.

U killed another because of your son.what will u tell d boy dat happened 2 his mother wen he come of age?

50,000 is that up to 2M! Is that the price of a human life? And we wonder why Nigerians are targeted in foreign lands, when washed up idiots like this act crazy! Come home and hustle instead of acting crazy abroad!

dhobiz said...

How much was he paid to destroy his life?

ugo said...

Seen Next......

Blessed said...

See his wicked face. These are the people giving Nigeria bad image.
Rot in jail

Na wa O y can't black people live white people to handle their business

Dj Gentle said...

If he is guilty as charged then that serves him right.

He will get free 3 mealsn free education for the rrst of his life. Jails in SA are like hotels.

Chinonso Charles said...

Nigerians! always in the news . . .

Online Money

Ambrose ke no more sniffin cocaine 4him anymore big ups to our law...

he runs security outfit not firm Linda, eish u like pomposity

Nigerians your a problem everywhere, no wonder your people are killed in Cyprus

SA prisons are rough. Anything for the free prison meals.

English graduate google is your friend it is SEOUL OLYMPICS NOT SOUELLE

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm. Are you sure this guy is a Nigerian. All i know is that Nigerians are not murderers
...#NewsBlist

Set hm up wt ur friends n deal wt hm seriously,dat way he wil stay away from u. Going to d police is a total waste of ur time.

Money must b made*Lol

Whatever it is, let him face it...

Well d evil man never goes unpunished, serves dem ryt

LINDA said...

The wickedness of men fear d devil himself! Hian! Na wah ooo!

LINDA said...

The wickedness dat men do fear the devil sef! Hian! Na wah ooo

ZeeZee said...

over just a million rand that can finish today msschheeww

Abi o, yesterday na Jesse and Hadiza own, today na Ambrose.

AnnMarie said...

Why are Nigerians embarrassing us like this

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ anon 2:40 wit Gay issue, set him up wit ur frnd after beating him seriously then call the police 2 arrest him, make sure una beat am no fear..

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ anon 2:40 wit Gay issue, set him up wit ur frnd after beating him seriously then call the police 2 arrest him, make sure una beat am no fear..

Fellow libers this isn't his first brush with the law,this guy sometimes back was arrested on police tip off for drug possession,he had it in a suitcase in his trunk,he got arreasted and when he was arrainged,and the court was to be showned the exhibit,the suitcase was opened and instead of cocaine what was inside was cockroaches,loads of it,crawling and flying all over the court room,he was thrown out for lack of evidence,juju of the higest order,am so glad he's behind bars,he was greatly feared in Pretoria,notorious man.....justice is finally served....

What do u people expect from us nigerians? this is how u will be insulting people in other countries but ur own country is full of murderers? Not surprised smh

Guys b playin hard to get dese days,funny...lol dis world sha

laura O said...

We are here talking about this Nigerian man who was contracted to kill,and also sent other people to kill,what about Oscar Pretorius the disabled sprinter who murdered his gf in cold blood?I think this is jst a clear case of segregation and racism bcos he is Nigerian and he is black. South Africans dnt like Nigerians judging from past records. Wat happens to the husband who contracted people to kill his estranged wife?

Set him up?, really.
That's your response.
Whilst I agree that he shouldn't make a pass at you. Make him aware gently and firmly that your not interested and never will and intact don't play for that team.
Resulting to violence is not the answer.

Adorable. Jewel said...

Nigeria is synonymous to bad life( corruption)***Congrats man!!!! You represented ur country very well

That serves him right

Is dis emmy, okponu...U̶̲̥̅̊ don finish linda,lolz

Guys b playin hard to get dese days,funny...lol dis world sha

Only God knows how many innocent pple dat naija beast must have killed

ℓ̊ still wonder d kind of spirit in every wicked person that makes him to kill his fellow man,wheather spiritual or physical killing! ǤÕ̳͡D̶̲̥̅̊ is so patient in HIS judgement these days anyway.

Desperado!

Lord Jay said...

for only 50,000 rand?? So that's what you sold your life and someone's for?

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

see his murderous face....biko..what of the husband that paid them to kill her?...any mention of his own sentence?..I wonder how he will have the custody of the boy now...

Haa its a well known person,it was a planed work cos he know's nothing about it. Hmmmm enemy of progress

prince presh said...

Ugly man,see as e face be like mad woman armpit.

story has since been debunked as mixed up of name.

the judge was too merciful to have sentenced him to life imprisonment. All parties involve should be hanged and their bodies served to wild hyenas to feed on.

Igor said...

This guy is crime incorporated.

Igor said...

If it is in naira,it's about 3million.(That does not mean I support the hardened criminal)

Quite sad! this sad news killed Ambrose's mum last month. Really really sad

Guy,report the fool to boko haram headquarters in Borno for proper bombing.

lady kim kim said...

Sum men n the way dey act to what dey can create sha!!!so d best way solve ur prob is to eliminate ur own wife,d mother of ur son!oga oo.good for dos fools he sent on errands.

Tamper ko,tamba ni...it's temper olodo!

Aunty Linda, this is an old story

Dee Tee, I live here in Holland and Nigerians are not wanted, I remember the first day I stomped the land, my fellow students they asked me where Im from, and I told them...they phew thank God we thought ur from Nigeria, I asked them why...they told me so many bad things