14 year old boy locked up in Iyaganku cell in Ibadan | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 February 2014

14 year old boy locked up in Iyaganku cell in Ibadan

I got an email from a LIB reader who claims he was recently locked up at a police station called Iyaganku Police Station in Ibadan. While there, he says he saw two boys less than 16 years old who have been locked up there for a few years. I decided to share his mail here just in case. See it below
Hi Linda, I am writing you regarding something I saw some days back in Iyaganku Police Station Ibadan. I was detained by some Policemen of Iyaganku in Ibadan, after which I was put in the cell because I wont co-operate with them. Surprisingly, a boy of about 13-14yrs old came out of one of the cells, I wasn't sure of what I saw because its awkward to find someone so young in a cell, I believe for whatever crime he must have commited, he shouldn't be locked up in a cell, so when I got into my own cell, where I met about 6 other people in the cell, I told them what I saw and to my surprised they weren't shocked, they told me, its no news that the boy is called "State" and he's been locked in that same Iyaganku Cell for over 5yrs, with my calculation, the boy is 14yrs old now, that means he's been locked up since he's 9, when I asked for his crime, I was told he is locked up there because he pushed someone into a well and the person died. Continue...

My Point is this, yeah, the boy committed a crime, but at 9, and this crime is not even something that he must have done intentionally, even if he did intentionally, that is no reason why he should be locked up in a cell for 24hrs let alone 5yrs. My reason for writing you is because I cant bring the boy out of the cell, but I know the media can, that is why I am writing you if there is any human Right Activist you can talk to about this, or if there is something you can do to get the boy his freedom. 

I also want you to know that the boy I saw is not even the person who has been locked up for 5yrs, he's just another minor locked up in Iyaganku Police Station, that means they had 2 boys of less than 16yrs old locked up in Iyaganku police station as of Wednesday 05-02-2014

Please and Please. I left Iyaganku that same day but I couldn't sleep well because I know what I saw is not right and I shouldn't just be silent about it. 
I would speak to as many people as possible of which you are the fourth person I am writing to about it. I am hoping something would happen soon.

Thanks and I hope you do something about it.

158 comments:

Nigeria is a country where anything goes. Mtcheeew.

Classgist said...

dis is serious and needs an investigation to knw d crime d boy committed.

Its quite unfortunate,and am sure there are many others like him all over the country.
Seems this black uniform of our police is affecting them,I suggest its changed to white,so as to bring about change of heart.
I pray something is done about this boy's case as soon as possible

Na today?it happens ...

Another Sick story from the region with a dark heart and no conscience. Sick People.

Hmnmmm

dee said...

my God! what is this world turning into? this is pure injustice

I trust something good to come out of this since it has reached here.

Chia.. what a world!

Wow!! SPEECHLESS!! Naija Police is just a Minus to the society. But that small boy self, nawa ooo.

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Chris said...

A police cell is not a juvanile home. Hw can the police be so cruel.

He has being in cell for 5yrs nw nd he's just 14yrs, an under age? Hmmmmmm don't kn wat 2 say. Buh wait ooo bros, weytin carry u too go dia? Lol #justaskingniooooo#

Yipeeee,am 1st to comment wulalala. So happy.am going to celebrate and collect ma trophy will be back to comment on d post.

Jesu....this is just crazy.

He has being in cell for 5yrs nw nd he's just 14yrs, an under age? Hmmmmmm don't kn wat 2 say. Buh wait ooo bros, weytin carry u too go dia? Lol #justaskingniooooo#

Amarachukwu said...

What's so so unlawful,is it that he doesn't have people or what? Pls do somthing.

Yea those two kids who killed Jamie burger in the u.k were locked up but by 18 they were released

WHAT DAH H**L!!!.

IkwerreBoy said...

what did you do that they put you in cell I guess God wants to use u to set those kids free. Linda now do your job you have to set this kid free do your job blow the trumpet.

Ma bro wetin carry u sef go cell and 2,what makes a 9 or 10 years old boy push his fellow into well,omo odikwa risky o.he sud have been taken to a corrective home instead of prison sh but he sudnt be free o cos hmmmm

THE WORD said...

Matthew 24:12 KJV
And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.

I am not surprised at all.When I say nigeria is finished,people tell me I'm lying. The dead boy's parents must have something to do with it.

ogunlade enny adesoye said...

Absolute injustice

cutemumm said...

This is cruel..when our corrupt leaders are walking freely and the shameless police men are busy collecting bribes about.imagine what these kids are going through.i hope they don't come out of there with their hearts already hardened and ready to commit crimes..may God intervene.

Dis matter na wa Ooº°˚˚°.

What a country we are dis are things d president should fight not pass stupid bills n laws. 1st time to comment

A very touching one, we wud broadcast this till the whole world come to notice, u are not alone on this.

OMG if its true dat kid needs help nt to be locked up....

Off the record- I read with dismay at the inflammatory remarks made by one commissioner in lagos with respect to the child begger story under false pretense. I am highly disappointed at the level of ethnocentrism on display by a supposed learned public official. I have always thought that the yorubas are tribalistic judging from my experience, even though there are good in every bad and the comments I read as regards that post further confirmed my thoughts. Crime and love of money isn't uniquely any one tribe act. Just recently two yoruba guys murdered an ibo NNPC staff over eight hundred thousand Naira and also a yoruba juju priest concoted the susbstance they used! Now if that is not lust for money, then I wonder what that is! I guess that when Lagos is rid of all Ibos then crime will cease in *NG* . If parents, adults like my commisiioner is so filled with hate for a particular region because they aint his tribe then I could'nt be bothered much about the tribalistic hate hurled around in this blog by younger ones! It is such a shame!

last baby said...

This is so sad

sweetie said...

I cry 4 my country & d little boy

last baby said...

This is so sad

Its a pity dt ds corruption hs also infected d judicial system dey do nuthin abt d law!even if that boy ws supposed to get a sentence as juvenile he won't be der uptil ds time!do we even ve a Home for juveniles in ds Country! D police shd be held accountable for tkin d law into der hands am sure d boy didn't even stand trial in d juvenile court!such a pity...

D person dat wrote ds is a wonderful person..tanx dear..lily hav u heard date Toke ur friend ordered for her weddin dress three days b4 d "surprise weddin"?

Nigeria! Anytin is possible! My God! What abt d boy's parents? I can't believe wat i just read. God come to our aid in nigeria ooo.

Mr Ei Evans said...

The world in which we are now is becoming something else. This boy don't deserve to be in cell for any reason because he's still under 18 years of age, so he must not spend a 2 days in the cell.

ZeeZee said...

the compassion you have ...Wow may there be more people like you on this earth
Free "state"

Lisa, London said...

LET'S GET THOSE KIDS OUT!!!

Additionally there are sane kids in mental homes, put there by evil
step-parents who wanted them out of
the way

Igor said...

During my first year as a lawyer at Aba,I met a man who has been locked up for over seven months simply because he used his master's water tanker against the wish of the master,the master had him locked up.The truth is that the rank and file of the Nigerian Police are so corrupt that even when the courts grant bail to an accused person,they always rearrest the person on flimsy grounds.They only free the after they must have extorted money from the person.The high level of ignorance in our society,is another contributing factor,the police capitalise on this to abuse and deny people their legitmate rights.However,the boy in question commited a crime punishable by death.But since he commited the said crime as a minor,the courts will only send him to a juvenile home for rehabilitation. The family should look for a lawyer that can help expediate his case,so that he can be charged to court.

slimzyose said...

Oh God dis is disturbing,I saw something like dis 2 on ladun's blog few days ago abt aw 2 kids were accused of theft,tortured by "our" police N sent 2 prison in ogun state or so,dis kids re minors 4 crying out loud,8 N 12yrs old respectively,wat is rili happening in dis country.SOMEONE PLS HELP if u can,cos dis dos nt luk n sound gud @ al.

ade said...

Oh no... thats sad. i understand he committed manslaughter but a 9yr old... whats the rehab point of prison where he just looses himself. Poor thing. i'll go ahead and assume his parents are poor or they may have got him out since its such a broken system.
so sad. may be poor find justice... cos this is no justice for the dead either.

Linda we handle cases like dis @ our legal clinic ( olabisi onabanjo unversity ago iwoye ogun state). # wonder#

Rumoursvilla said...

alright this will definitely hit my blog. i hope the poor little boy gets release...

(Faculty of law , olabisi onabanjo university ago iwoye ogun state.
#wonder#

I am speechless

Hmmm this story dnt sound true----C21

Like dey rightly said "it's no news" that's the order of d day in 9ja, And trust me on dis I've got my facts

#That happy sister!

Na wa o! No rehabs or juvie centres in naija. Later wen d guy comes out rily bad wit a personal vendetta against police,pple will say rubbish!

Woooow, god is in control

hmmmmmmmmm. a minor in d cell? naija we hail theeeeeeee

linda pls hlp do sumtin in anyway u can. tankx

As a lawyer I did my court attachment@Ibadan and I had the cause to go to Iyaganku. Those boys are many and unkept.

Now this is a hard one. What happened to juvenile? Why cell of all places? And as at 9-14 year olds? Really wish I can do something and I know the kind iyaganku wella

diamondblinqZ said...

Obara Jesus. Chimooooo. Choi. Lord hv mercy!

Hummmm ,9ja sha!!! Dats so sad aniway Wα̲̅†̥ w̶̲̥̅ι̥ℓℓ apened τ̅φ dis boy later .

Thank you for bringing this news to the public. I'm sure it was God who led you to that cell for this purpose. Please let human rights activists fight for their release and rehabilitation.

Thanks for shearing dis Linda. SMH for our great state Nigeria

dida said...

What is dis country turning to? God pls heal our land and make it Ur place

Ds is very terrible...in dz our country???dos boys wd nw get a bad definition of life@pls d appropraite agency must hear dz b4 I goes so bad 4 dem

chioma said...

Naija na mental case

God punish ur mouth if that lil devil killed ur child ur story would be different get outta here tatafo bet that's why ur dump ass was locked up

omg!ridiculous

Topebrass said...

OMG ! į̸̸̨§ der no any other way τ̲̅ȍ punish them than τ̲̅ȍ lock dem up I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ a cell? Thy Lord į̸̸̨§ ready τ̲̅ȍ intervene into dis issue now dt d story į̸̸̨§ out

Odd world... I wonder if d boy was even tried in any court of law. Anoda odd story here... 10yr old boy walks on water http://earnstart.com/?id=159898

Highly-Favoured said...

OMG! What a world! Nigerians please come to the aid of these two minors!

adeola said...

lip sealed

Lord have MERCY!!! Nigeria is JINXED period!

Zenki brown said...

9 or 14 is still ​A̶̲̅ juvenile . ♓☺w come is in jail? Somebody shud plx help dat kid ÀϞԂ where nd who re his parents/relatives???

9ja police is a mess.......

I am very dis-appointed right now. How would they feel if their own children where in the prison? What ever they feel,should be the reason why those young children should be released.

dhobiz said...

This is very bad,something should be done,Linda pls help

Jesus!! This is injustice, authorities involved should look into the matter fast

henrietta4gwin said...

Hmmmm, dis is serious, plz where are the human right activists', the legal personnels', the statesmen - Plz do something about dis issue, it's not funny at all.

peperina said...

Hmmmm. Nigeria!

ade said...

so pathetic, i day we wld get it right in this nation

Justin bieber was a bad influence on......

Josphy said...

Linda God bless u for dis.... Dahs sharing it. It is a step

5yrs? An underage boy? That's really unfair º°˚˚°ºoo somefin should be done quick&those useless people letting him stay there for long should be punished!

Harnikky.

mayor zod said...

This country sef...!

AnnMarie said...

unfortunately Nigeria have few if any correction centres for underaged offenders. that's where he ought to be

Na WA ooo 4 Nigeria police. Mr_ melvin- say so

Na wa oh!!!! Things are happening. It must have been the deceased's family that are responsible for his stay in d cell. Lindiway pls help, am sure u can.

Oh ma God...... Crying... Pls Aunty Linda hlp pls... Do Sumtin ok n God Wil surely reward u 4 dat. Chaiii. Dis life!!!

Nice1.. Lindodo u hv to act fast..

that suckz

Things happen in this country sha. I still remember how the American goverment paid a teenager 1 million dollar for this sort of act as compensation. No one will fight for the boy's right.
Justhealthng.blogspot.com

Hello chief complainant, i think the boy should remain in the cell if he killed someone and has been tried and convicted in a competent court of law. This is what happens in other country. I watch crime channels like 24/7. In America, u can see kid-killers of about 10yrs old who murdered their parents. In most cases, the judges rules that they will be tried as an Adult. Consequently and unfortunately they are tried, convicted and sentenced to "LIFE IN PRISON WITHOUT PAROLE". Eberechukwu na my name.

Bruv, y u lying. I was still locked up there in November and I remember the faces of everyone I saw there. Its a small cell and am certain the oldest lock-ups are max 2 weeks. I think every police officer is a dick but mehn its unnecessary to put up this kinda lie.

Linda, my fear for you is that you are starting to swerve. Go back to what your dreams were when you started this blog and how you want your consumers to perceive your brand. This kind of story cant be in line with that. You want recognition but with the clout I believe you have now, an email to the office of the Inspector General of Police to confirm the story, with you cc Mr Jona himself and posting such a letter on ur blog would get u more popularity. You can imagine your bloggers everyday blogging and waiting for a response. You would have achieved bringing out the truth and becoming more popular. And helping people cos u"d bring others' plight to life.

I like ur blog, please don't become unreliable

What a baberic country

Linda I need to tell you this.a lot is going on in iyaganku police station.the minor issue is even nothing compared to other barbaric behaviour of the so called officers

And how does the conscience of those police men respond when they see a minor like that being locked up for that long? Our rights are being abused especially those of our children

May God help d children in jail and others we don't know. It's so sad our country fails in our responsibility to them. Rather than repair and heal their troubled mind, we are spoiling and hardening it to become worse and detrimental for us tomorrow. I hope a group of activist lawyers see this and do something to rescue the children and solve the problem permanently.
What court sentenced these children or has the police now also closed their heart to chicken? God please help us.

Nigeria..........

Nigerian police with their own self decision. May God help us ooO. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Na wa 4 9ja ooO,9yrs old wat does he knw nd even if he pushd sum1 in a we'll 5yrs is jst nt rite

Thanks for d write in LIB reader...the boy was and is still a minor, shouldn't be locked up let alone 5 solid years...crazy!...it was manslaughter not murder...really hope he gets out of there b4 he bcums a hardened criminal.

small Anukwu said...

Wetin u comit go dia? Ole. I jst dey pass o

Loisy said...

So a less than 16yr old boy reads this blog? I find it disturbing in view of what goes on by way of comments. Just saying.

Loisy said...

So a less than 16yr old boy reads this blog? I find it disturbing in view of what goes on by way of comments. Just saying.

Loisy said...

My guy relocate from your present address before they come after you o... The country is SICK.. All glory to God my own prayers are answered. Amen! I pray the prayer of those people inside there are answered too.

And so? Ure a lawyer and so? What did u do? So what should we do with this ur info? Shut up there and keep moving. Lawyer ni Lawyer ko

You are a lawyer.do this pro bono.

Abi oooh

Omg.are you a maniac?he was a child for heavens sake.even at fourteen,he's still underage.

I dont understand you, so ibadan or yoruba land is the sick region? If am not mistaken they usually post ibo and yoruba policemen to this sick region and post yoruba and other to the north and east, am sure ure smart enough to have noticed that. So am sure u know it's ur sick people that runs the police stations here in d dark hearted region! Oloshi Omo Iran Kiran onisokuso!

*Barr to be* Ryan. said...

First I want yall to know dis is a country wia lawlessness is the order of the day, a child is anybody below the age of 12yrs, while a minor is below the age of 18, anybody found within this age is called a minor and for reason are they supposed to be locked up or confined in a cell irrespective of the offence against him/her. Where such person is guilty of offences such as the case at hand, he is supozd to be confined in child rehab center and handled strictly under juvenile protection cases. But here the reverse is the case. As a young lawyer, I wish I can help but my hands are tied! Pls linda try as much as possible to get the appropriate authorities known, who can press further to secure the ejection of the kid out from the cell.

So says bona!

Swaggs isimemen said...

U never see anything u go hey nw, dat is Y u hv 2 stay clear don't put ur hand in any bad tin or else wen it get 2 the police ur own is finish hmmmmm

‎​Ʊ ar a second hand fool, we ar talking serious issue here ‎​Ʊ ar talking nonsense. ‎​Okrika.

Swaggs isimemen said...

U never see anything u go hey nw, dat is Y u hv 2 stay clear don't put ur hand in any bad tin or else wen it get 2 the police ur own is finish hmmmmm

Swaggs isimemen said...

WTH??? Thats injustice and unfair!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

This is heavy tho... If we had a better system, he should be in a juvenile home...its. Sad tho, but for Such a child to conceive such evil, tthe people around him had fears, however his being in there in the midst of all those criminal minds only makes him worse..

A country with no plans or future for the youth, where bribery and corruptions rule, may the anger of our Lord befall on anybody that locked up that little Boy there.

~Medusa~ said...

Nigerian Police which way forward! I find it hard to believe that God created some people ooo, this is more than wickedness am sure even devil complain for d matter....smh for Niger

mimi said...

Oh Lord!! Dis is sad. God please come 2 his aid in Jesus' name

Imagine this. When he should be in the juvenile delinquents correction facility, if at all. This is so absurd. Where are his folks? What is the boy's name? Are they aware he is in jail? All these will help to fight a direct course...becos someone will have to first visit the boy to scrutinize the authenticity of ur observations. Then the right channel will see to his case. Sad much

I don't think that we should even concern ourselves with the writer's issue. I think that God may have sent him there for the sake of those boys. Some people won't even give it a thought after they have been released. They'll just move on. I applaud the whistle blower. Well done.

Oh well.. Enough young citizens at that Iyaganku. While in cell December, 2012 i met 2 underaged boys there.. They were there 3weeks before me.. Locked up no food no nothing. They were accused of stealing with being caught with exhibits o. Omo only God can clean up the police force. Once someone reports you there, you are going to cell so you can pay money to be bailed outa there. Even when you and the other person have settled your differences o. You go sha go that cell noni. My own offense be say i fight person publicly eh. 98k bail out. God Bless Nigeria

Y'all are sick!!! Been reading all the comment no one offered any solution to bring justice to the poor boy. I keep reading "only in 9ja, sad, Linda do something" what r the people living in Nigeria, reading the blog doing about it? NOTHING!!!!
I know that most of us living abroad would love to come home and do something. Menh!!!! I will get to the bottom of this even if I live in the moon
ICA

Millenium fool is dat y u hv refused 2graduate? Ewu gambia

He might have been an orphan who was staying with some relatives. Or his mum might be dead. Cos If his parents were poor, they would have fought tooth. And nail to get him out. Oh Lord please help

That's the problem with Nigerians!so the story doesn't sound through enough for you right?so you'll wait and fold your arms until something similar happens to u or a loved one.

Lol, ur own shud beat d one I saw, with d jail term, although I didn't ask how long his been there.

U kno say wedding don turn surprise birthday naw....abeg leave toke make she go face bush...drama queen. ..

Don't worry dear. ..that 2yrs old chukky go beat ur 1yr old child faint almost at the point of death. ..den u carry the girl go kirikiri...ape

Check out this world wonder http://bit.ly/1ni49rT

Dis is vry Disgusting....May God Help us oooo

SLIMZEEY.COM said...

He has being in cell for 5yrs nw nd he's
just 14yrs, an under age? Hmmmmmm
don't kn wat 2 say. Buh wait ooo bros,
weytin carry u too go dia? Lol
#justaskingniooooo#
Check us out today - we are not the best but we are better .....

He killed somebody, accidental or not. But yea I agree he shouldn't be in that cell with adults cos of the obvious, but unfortunately I have being witness to similar situation, it is common practise in Nigeria and it has being going on because nobody has spoken and I hope this gets HOUR on it so that the millions of minors in the jails and cells are taken out.

Nigeria !!!

When I went on prison visitation with other corp members in Calabar,Afokan prison,I saw about 10 to 13 small boys there wearing prisoners uniform and when we asked they said some were children of inmate who gave birth in prison,the warder also said they go to school in the prison,but I still don't think its right,it will definitely change their mentality for life.

NA WA oooo, Naija" WAT A SMALL WORLD" impossibility ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇ Nofin"

Well I think we sometimes get too sentimental as human. Whatever made a boy @ 9 push someone into a well???? I don't think such boy wiv his act then n his experience for 5yrs in prison should be Allowed into the community. He will turn out to be no good I bet u........

Marshall Matters said...

What's your point... All this textbook and no point.. Lol..I love this blog..

Linda please post more stuff about our naija prisons. I know innocent people who have been locked up for years without trial. There are some prisoners whose family don't even know that they are still alive. I hope goodluck will read this. How can someone be locked up without trial for 8 years? Those are people's children wasting there. Its not human. Some of those prisoners confessed to committing crime because the police threatened to kill them/torture them if they didn't. Goodluck should make a law that will prevent people from awaiting trial for over 2 years. And he should set panels to address the plight of prisoners. Its not fair. The account of kidnap suspects are emptied when they haven't been tried. Who ends up eating the money taken from such people? they just take advantage of suspects. Sometimes, the police/soldierscarry out raidsand lock up innocent people. If they are pressured to catch thiefs, theyjust to to a joint n arrestpeople just like that. Who does that?only in Nigeria. Many people awaiting trial stayin jail till further notice unless they are rich. Goodluck, do something o. People are suffering

I thinkk it used to be 18 years

"The killing of chukwuma ihezie, by sars" The Civil Liberties Organisation has called on the police to commence probe into the circumstances surrounding the death of a taxi driver in Enugu State, Mr. Chukwuma Ihezie.

The CLO said the demand had become imperative following complaints from the family that their son, who was arrested over trumped-up charges, died in the cell of Special Anti-robbery Squad few days later.

The victim, a graduate of Mechanical Engineering from the Institute of Management and Technology, Enugu, became a commercial driver as an alternative due to lack of employment.

In a petition to the Commissioner of Police in the state, which was made available to journalists on Monday, the CLO wondered why the police should kill the suspect instead of charging him to a court of competent jurisdiction if they felt he was guilty of the offence for which he was arrested.

The family of the deceased had alleged that he was murdered in cold blood while still in detention in the SARS cell, after his arrest on January 12, 2014.

The letter, signed by Mr. Paul Uwadiegwu, on behalf of the CLO in Enugu State, read in part, “Mr. Chinedu Ihezie informed CLO that on January 12, 2014, the deceased who is his younger brother, Mr. Chukwuma Ihezie was on his usual duty as cab driver and was hired by a man he did not know to take him to his destination in one of the hotels known and called Media Royal Hotel located somewhere at the Independence Layout Enugu.

“After waiting for some lengthy time, he began to hear ‘hold him, hold him, he is a thief’. When he saw his passenger being dragged out from the hotel, he decided to turn his vehicle, on the process, he was arrested.

“Mr. Chukwuma Ihezie, was detained in the SARS Cell for six days before contact was made to his relations. The deceased while still alive, was taken to his resident located along Concrete Avenue for searching of his house.

“Mr. Chinedu Ihezie, reliably informed us that after the searching, the police did not get anything incriminating..... Please just help make this reach the. Ears of all Nigerians... Thanks

@ Linda, please verify and pursue this case to a logical conclusion like U have been doing with the Aluu 4.
This is so sad and I hope that boy would not only be released but integrated and reformed into the society.
The Nigerian Police should be made to answer satisfactorily as to why minors are been locked up in a cell for more than 24hrs let alone 5 years!!!

Skepy Beauty Place said...

Jeez! Though he may have committed man slaughter but a 9yrs for crying outloud shouldn't be in jail , a rehab centre @ most. Don't even know where dis country is going to. May God save us.

Nigeria police needs training, retaining and more education in tackling crime and other issues. I will say, a lot depend on the government, Senate chairman for policing, minister for internal affairs, Oyo state government and all the relevant people that have interest in the case.

Dis is serious....~ chidinma

Gracee Love said...

They should pleas do something about it

otevee said...

Nothing amazes me in ds 9j again o...I wonder wat training n qualification processes ds so calld police pass through..mtshwwwwww

otevee said...

Nothing amazes me in ds 9j again o...I wonder wat training n qualification processes ds so calld police pass through..mtshwwwwww

I don't get it...and you concluded that the comment above yours was made by an Igbo person because????

Dumbass he just stated he was arrested n taken there cos he didnt cooprerate with d police..cant u read..probably dey wanted bribe n he didnt give them and they roped him

They didnt lock them in d cell but a juvenile correction home..do ur findings plss

Na wah for this country oo!! Though the crime is serious but that boy don't deserve that I believe if we all can go back to what happen den, e fit be say na play dem dey play, locking up for 5yrs your taking that guys carrier and all from him, my question to our so call leaders are we still the learders of tomorrow? Cause I wonder if una go fit lock 9years old boy for cell what's left for us?????

Bolomopepepepe said...

If u hv never missed 1 out ur 3 square meals, u will never know what it means to hungry.
If u hv never been wrongly accused b4, u may not know d definition of justice in Nigeria.
If u hv not REALLY lack much b4, u may not know what is it to poor in this country.
Hope is what we count on for change and hope hope will not fail us.

DSP Olabisi, PPRO, Oyo State said...

It is quite unfortunate that many people have cast aspersions on the Nigeria Police Force without caring to know WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED. The boy, Rilwan Olaniyi was not detained on police orders or discretion. He was detained on COURT ORDER. For the avoidance of doubt, when the unfortunate crime was committed by the boy, the aggrieved parent of the deceased through their lawyer took the case to court without recourse to the police. At the court, the case-murder, was then referred to the police for necessary action while the boy was ordered to be committed and remanded in police custody. Rilwan had on several occasions been taken to court for the hearing of the case and at the end of which there have been adjournments alongside court orders that he should be returned to police custody. There's no juvenile remand Centre at Agodi prison. The only remand home is that which is at Ijokodo and it's not in good condition; and not safe for the protection of this boy's life. At Iyaganku police station where he is, he is kept at the Children Welfare Cell, where he has access to bed, mattress, toiletries, change of clothes, bath, etc. It is worthy of mention that he has unfettered access to seeing his parents who bring food to him on daily basis and at will. His detention in police custody is also PROTECTIVE of his life. That he is standing trial of murder case, doesnt exempt him from his fundamental rights to life. Some Human Rights groups have been on his case as well. Police at Iyaganku are human beings with milk of kindness flowing thru their veins, taking care of this boy, seeing to his welfare. The attendance of rights groups to his matter is brought about by them.
It's however disappointing that some pple take delight in judging, abusing and chastising the police when they are bereft of information concerning a matter. By now, they would definitely be ashamed of their folly. To us in the police, God is the ultimate judge and he shall recompense us according to our sacrifice to the Nation. I can only ask God to forgive all those who cast aspersions on us, cos they know what they do. Instead of cursing and blaming the police for even being kind to Rilwan, they should pray along with his parents, also ask God to give the parent of the deceased the fortitude to bear the loss. I rest my case. DSP. Olabisi Okuwobi-ilobanafor, Police Public Relations Officer, Oyo State Police Command.

Georgia lloyd said...

It's so sad am jest sick n tired of this damm country

DSP Olabisi, PPRO, Oyo State said...

Hi Linda, to set the record straight, see below police account. It is quite unfortunate that many people have cast aspersions on the Nigeria Police Force without caring to know WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED. The boy, Rilwan Olaniyi was not detained on police orders or discretion. He was detained on COURT ORDER. For the avoidance of doubt, when the unfortunate crime was committed by the boy LAST YEAR, 2013 (not 5 years as erroneously broadcast) the aggrieved parent of the deceased through their lawyer took the case to court without recourse to the police. At the court, the case-murder, was then referred to the police for necessary action while the boy was ordered to be committed and remanded in police custody. Rilwan had on several occasions been taken to court for the hearing of the case and at the end of which there have been adjournments alongside court orders that he should be returned to police custody. There's no juvenile remand Centre at Agodi prison. The only remand home is that which is at Ijokodo and it's not in good condition; and not safe for the protection of this boy's life. At Iyaganku police station where he is, he is kept at the Children Welfare Cell, where he has access to bed, mattress, toiletries, change of clothes, bath, etc. It is worthy of mention that he has unfettered access to seeing his parents who bring food to him on daily basis and at will. His detention in police custody is also PROTECTIVE of his life. That he is standing trial of murder case, doesnt exempt him from his fundamental rights to life. Some Human Rights groups have been on his case as well. Police at Iyaganku are human beings with milk of kindness flowing thru their veins, taking care of this boy, seeing to his welfare. The attendance of rights groups to his matter is brought about by them. As at the last sitting, the presiding Judge had already taken steps on how he would be transferred to Juvenile Remand home in Ogun State.
It's however disappointing that some pple take delight in judging, abusing and chastising the police when they are bereft of information concerning a matter. By now, they would definitely be ashamed of their folly. To us in the police, God is the ultimate judge and he shall recompense us according to our sacrifice to the Nation. I can only ask God to forgive all those who cast aspersions on us, cos they know what they do. Instead of cursing and blaming the police for even being kind to Rilwan, they should pray along with his parents, also ask God to give the parent of the deceased the fortitude to bear the loss.
Note: Theres no other minor apart from Rilwan in Iyaganku, please. I rest my case. DSP. Olabisi Okuwobi-ilobanafor, Police Public Relations Officer, Oyo State Police Command.

Igor said...

My dear I am not based in Ibadan.But if they need my help I know lawyers that I can contact in Lagos.

I sure say if that Lukin wey bite her classmate for abroad dey here dem for follow arrest am smh

I hope you'll be able to dig further about this issue Linda and find out what crime they've committed..... This should not end here please

Yes that's true they shouldnot be released to the society just like that they should go through some sort of rehab. A 9yrs child that killed with 5yrs jail time will never make it easy for the society. So i beg our govt.to help with erecting proper juvenile and correction homes some of these criminals today would have been better ppl if the option of rehab was giving. Meanwhile if there wwhere to be these centers police will also have places to send minors and kids with problem