So wait, young people take cough syrup Codeine to get high? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 January 2014

So wait, young people take cough syrup Codeine to get high?

I've been getting emails from some young people asking me to talk about this. Apparently some of our young men and women take the cough syrup Codeine to get high. Seriously? I hear they either drink it alone or mix it with a soft drink and instead of taking just a table spoon, they down the whole bottle or half its content and this makes them high, calm and helps them sleep.

They basically overdose on this medicine recommended by doctors to help with cough. Wow!!

The demand for Codeine by these young folks is so high that it's now expensive and scarce. So, how did this start? Who figured that a cough syrup would make anyone high? I don't know much about this so let's discuss it here. Do you know people who overdose on Codeine? Is it as dangerous as they say it is? Has it ever killed anyone? Please share your thoughts...

579 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 579 of 579

not only codeine wit also tramadol

Exactly, you can't buy benylin with codeine anymore in Abuja withoit a prescription!

This is a very serious issue! U wld hav found out d side effects first, so pple wld get scared of doing it, ur creating awareness by posting it without warning in ur blog! I had no idea about it before.

yes ooh

It happened to me. I took a bottle for cough and was always sleeping like a baby. When d cough didn't go so fast, i had to buy anoda bottle and enjoyed taking it. Don't know if it harms but i enjoyed ma sleep and wouldn't mind taking it again.

Na today u knw...madam llil...

In the north as far back as destiny child is concerned we ba been consumed of benylin codeine gaskiyani even it is popular called Beyoncé by ABTI students male and female. In any case where the preferable is not available we make the available the preferable by consuming cheaper codeine like tutolene. It can be gulped once or mixed with hollandia yogurt for sweet effects. Other drugs in demand are refnol , fan trapazan, roshi blue candy, slow just to mention a few. Trust me I'm a pro at any local cocktail. Right now we are at mami market trying to touch the sky.

actually,this has been going on all over the country for one and half year which some people have not discover but later known about it.codein drugs is meant for muscle relaxant and majorly for any tedious pain.quite surprise to all men and women that is the one they use as a water whenever they want water to drink.i this most people should know that ,the higher the supply,the higher the quantity demanded.when the producer has seen that people are realy consuming this in market they would think of how to get the price increase.i think goverment shoukd think of how to eradicate it and also NAFDAC should do somthing about it.see this drug,has side effect in the body if taken wrongly and too much.and if anything should happen tothe body,no remedy.therefore my beloved people beware of thistrap that satan use to multiply his own kingdom

I left my ex caz of diz.God4bid bad tin

Lepa shandy said...

Linda are u just waking up?

Linda dis na old news, you can add Tramon to spice it up.

Linda are you new in Nigeria or do you live in d moon??? Na old jist naa. Some take 3 to 4 bottles of benylin with codeine daily. They add some other stuffs like refenol,ecstasy,blue tooth, etc. And some also inhale sucker way toilet to get high. This linda you be learner ooo. What planet are you from sef?? Abi this ur blogging no dey let u know wetin dey happen around you ni.

Thanks for letting me know!

Dat they take it to get high with people having a clue of what they took as it wont give a trace of smell like other alcoholic drink. Most time they mix it one apple drink somethin called laca...

You are really a learner Linda

You're STALE, bruv! Are you a learner?
Lil' Wayne tinz.

Yes!!!! It's such a terrible habit that has become really rampant in our universities

Linda you're far behind. Have been taking benelin wit codeine since when I was in ss2 and now I'm serving,though I take only codeine mix wit fanta now since benelin wit codeine is very scarce now. No side effect

Fify said...

Linda! How are you just hearing about this...well I don't take it..but I know plenty people who do..it just slows down everything else and makes them calm...very calm.

Linda na today you hear about coda???
Haba! U dey dull o

Linda like really?, it's a nom now to get high On codeine. Not just in the north. It's everywhere. I'm a student of a private uni and alcohol aren't allow. So it's the other option.It's normal tho.

Haba linda.. U bn travel ne?

in northern part is on high demand, by dere voice u shall know dem because d do have crack voice

lol Linda! Even your acting is so fake! Acting like you didn't know about this. Do you live under a rock ?SMH

johnsonblingz said...

It doesn't kill.. It makes u and the things around you slow!!!! Makes everytin calm!!! And den makes the sleep blissful â„“oâ„“ .....

I'm a pharmacist & I can confirm it's true. It's very common seeing people abuse it esp in the US & UK, buh it's only a recent thing in naija. Codeine belongs to the morphine class of drugs, so people who can't get morphine & codeine legally grab the cough syrup. By posting this topic, u just revealed to a million readers who weren't away how to get addicted to cough syrup with codeine. It's only in Naija u get cough syrup with codeine to buy over the counter without prescriptions , outside naija. It's not possible. It's very addictive & not recommended

Yes o. I live in a state in the US where an id is required to buy cough syrup.

chinero said...

Haba linda u just dey hear....even lil wayne had issues wit it d last time he was rushed to d hospital

Damochedxb said...

Ahh "Beneline" and Codeine has been abused since long before now Ms Linda... I personally came to know about the abuse of this substance since 05 when i lived in Abj from 2005-2007.. It's common amongst the Hausa youths, as it was a way for them to get high without tasting alcohol which was a sin according to their Quran. So i was told tho.. My curiousity back then led me to try it, but trust me, that one time was the last time i ever did. I think i drank about quarter or more of a bottle, and believe you me, that shit paralysed me, as in, i couldnt move any of my limbs for like over 6 hours, i was just useless throughout the period the shit was in my system.. Totally different from how they said it made them feel cool and relaxed bla bla bla... Man, i decided to let them do their codeine, while i just stuck to my weed and booze. But i've since stopped taken the former since the past 3 years. Thats the end of my story...

Omoodu Inc said...

Its popular among students who want to get high. They mix it with hot drinks. They even use it for ladies to take advantage of them

Yes, its been going on for ages.. People take with all sorts, ranging from skunk to coca cola.. It makes you really calm and helps you to sleep.. It hasn't killed anyone and it won't .. #ThatSexyDoctor..

Codeine is used medically to treat cough and also to serve as anti-depressants amidst other functions. Bur young pple 2dai use it cos of its hypnotic and sedative ability. It takes dem 2 anoda realm esp in excess. Den dey strt suffering from withdrawal syptoms cos of addiction which occurs in a short time aftr use.

Hmmmm... I have seen some guys constantly taking this syrup and have tried to let them know that it is addictive and has effects on memory when abused, but they won't stop obviously they have gone deep into it. Stella.

Ohhh,codine..another sweet Highness...Another name we call it is Slow,coda or proud.....its even a old tin within me n ma friends..Its now expensive sef,last time a friend bought it,Na 800 per bottle.

Served chilled with a cold coke or cold tea.

Lex.

Lin lin pls abeg wetin i do U̶̲̥̅̊? Y dnt U̶̲̥̅̊ eva post ma comment

Ak11in said...

I've been hearing about this for a while now.

Its interesting how ingenious people can get when they really want to. Its just sad that in this case, it's negative.
They'll rather spend hours thinking of new ways to get high instead of thinking of new ways to better their lives.

madam linda, haba .. this is no news now! this is stale infact, CODEINE rocks everywhere now! It started when Lil wayne made mention of it in his song.....google it!

Shuoo Linda, so upon all ur aproko, u are just learning bout this useless trend? FYI: LIL WAYNE is their MENTOR! Hes been using it for ages and so the Young folks followed him. That the reason why Lil Wayne slurs when being interviewed or even when hes singing. He constantly High on Codine. So our Young folks/Youth too have followed his foot steps to DOOM! Good luck to them though... SMH
-Da Counselor

Linda u wil be surprised at wat youngsters know abt drugs, especially in exploiting deir adverse effects to achieve deir misguided aims. It amazes even pharmacists. Of cos codeine has hypnotic properties so ppl can get "trips" from taking it in doses much higher dan d therapeutic ones. In most civilized societies, its sold as a prescription-only medicine but dis is Naija,anything goes. Why are u feigning ignorance on dis though? Even my illiterate mum knows abt codeine, so......
Nyiny

Hozzy said...

I am based in Ghana, but Nigerian and to be honest with you when i came to Ghana, codeine was 3 cedes that's for diphex but benylin was too expensive so we settled with diphex because i prefer it to benylin (UNCLE BEN) now Diphex is ranging from 8-10 cedes which is equivalent to N1200 The price went up because of my demand and other partners in crime. well it makes me calm and able sleep. i think less and just feel free from the world. I am a Kaduna boy and if you come to visit me i would give you codeine instead of alcohol. and i have never heard about anybody dying from COCO. Linda you should try it and i swear you'll be happy as i am with the drug.

This has been going on for a long time,since my days in uni,i suppose its gets one high or gives u this slow feeling,a lot of people take it and they dont feel hungry, i had my kids brother who died because he was basically living on it and it will curb his hunger,so he was suffering from bleeding ulcers,like any other substance its addictive,you find people mix it in drinks,still beats me why people take it,i knew people that will spend their last money on it instead of food,at one point pharmacies no longer had it in stock,unless you produce a doctors prescription

As in at now is so rampant in warri...u can hardly get syrub codeine
in pharmacy.....

Lol...Linda Deh ask how guys sabi am..cant u see its Beylin with codine..n dere r many cough syrup with condine...Pop Coda.

Lex

Codeines are to be sold with a doctor's prescription these days but unfortunately some chemists and pharmacies still sell the drugs anyhow. It's a serious issue actually

not only north is just every where

yes.... it makes 1 high

Codeines are to be sold with a doctor's prescription these days but unfortunately some chemists and pharmacies still sell the drugs anyhow. It's a serious issue actually

Wow,this is new! Never heard of it,I hope they know how dangerous it is

Stale gist! Codeine syrups re evn v scarce presently nd xtremely xpensv.

kiki said...

Its bin a huge problem 4 a while now,some say it helps dem relax,basically I see it as stupidity cos wen dey take it all their actions become slow motioned

Tunu said...

Yea....dont know if it kills but it really knocks one out completely and addiction to it is really unhealthy.I advice you get details in full so people dont go trying it.

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

hian linda u are stale...this codeine no be for sleep na for highness i know of person wey don drink 15 bottles..medical shayo.. e get some areas where people no dey drink beer na shayo and sk

Codeine is a prescription painkiller... i have few friends that drinks it to get high, i kept telling them that is very wrong and dangerous to the health, but they dont listen, they even go as far as taking it with alcohol drinks and smoking, overdose of it is very very dangerous to d kidney, it causes ulcer and most importantly it kills when taking with other cold medicine or alcohol drinks or wine. Codeine maybe habit - forming and should be used only by the person it was prescribed for,never share this medication with anothet person, especially someone with history of drug abuse or addiction please... An overdose of codeine can be very fatal,overdose symptoms may include extreme dizziness, or drowsiness, nausea, vomiting, sweating, confusion, hallucinations, cold and clammy skin, blue-colored lips or fingernails, weak or limp muscles, pinpoint pupils, weak pulse, slow breathing, swelling of your face and throat, fainting, or seizures ( convulsions).... please kindly stop, is very risky to ur health... 4rm Sparkle Adanna

As for where it started ....kinda of hard to say but I think it trended in d states once . Check last year Gucci mane confessed to been addicted to sprite and cough syrup.

supremacydone said...

Codeine is small, they now inhale shoe maker gum and even put tooth paste on their nipples called pasting.

Kim covers boobs as she mistakenly showed it all
And comments are auto comment! No need to wait for approval
click here supremacydone.blogspot.com

Dis isn't new nahhh,bk in unimaid dats wat doz aboki boys use to get high.
It was a normal/usual thing as @ 2005/2006

As for where it started ....kinda of hard to say but I think it trended in d states once . Check last year Gucci mane confessed to been addicted to sprite and cough syrup.

AVL says:-yippee now LIB readers will be the ones to get Linda informed not the other way round. To your question Yes they do. Its all part of pop culture. Lil Wayne the artist is rumoured to take it in a red sippy cup even during interviews. I know of people going thru stress Just to get hold of it. Dont want to give details that can give young learners ideas. These drugs cause drowsiness and can cause accidents. Such serious issues to think about but our dumb law makers are busy fighting over APC versus PDP, who is stronger and will sit on the throne

Concilia said...

My brother confessed to this codeine thing. The side effect is that if you do take codeine to get high, when you use it for cough treatment, your body system will be resistant to it.

Ever since d Sharia Law was fully enforced, most northerners who cannot do without drinking, are so indulged in dis benelin wth codeine method of augmenting alchol that u wonder if they really have values for their life.

fifi said...

This is not new

gabon said...

I know a lady who can't sleep without taking codeine. Suppose to be a cough syrup but young folks xpecially ladies now use as anti depressant. The abuse is so rampant this days even in clubs/bar u can get it

I knw a lot of peeps dats into benylin with codeine,sum do mix it with cognac. The astounding part is d price of d drug have skyrocketed.Pls say no to drug abuse.

Codine aka coco aka Dc aka slow aka weezy. Lindodo itz more purpula in d north its so so fuked dat out of everi 10men. 6 to 7 of dem drink the codine. Itz badt.

Its not a new gist amongs d youth ooo.......lol

Ask Igbinedion University boys,dats wot dey re known for..If u doubt me Google it

rose said...

Datz true nah is nt even a news bt 4 pp dat don't kw abt it...yes Codeine. Can really get sumone high I mean very high dat u can b able 2sleep a Whole day....

Half of d guyz in ma hall take codeine everyday 2get hi........itz nw so rampard as even visitors nw check ur frigde 4 codeine.

Saganity said...

Linda u dey sleep since ni ??? i just drank some right now ... it makes you drowsy .. Turns you to slow man then you wanna sleep your ass off for hours ... You don't take it if you're busy person. Thats what i know so far .

Codeine is a prescription painkiller... i have few friends that drinks it to get high, i kept telling them that is very wrong and dangerous to the health, but they dont listen, they even go as far as taking it with alcohol drinks and smoking, overdose of it is very very dangerous to d kidney, it causes ulcer and most importantly it kills when taking with other cold medicine or alcohol drinks or wine. Codeine maybe habit - forming and should be used only by the person it was prescribed for,never share this medication with anothet person, especially someone with history of drug abuse or addiction please... An overdose of codeine can be very fatal,overdose symptoms may include extreme dizziness, or drowsiness, nausea, vomiting, sweating, confusion, hallucinations, cold and clammy skin, blue-colored lips or fingernails, weak or limp muscles, pinpoint pupils, weak pulse, slow breathing, swelling of your face and throat, fainting, or seizures ( convulsions).... please kindly stop, is very risky to ur health... 4rm Sparkle Adanna

Come to the north and see the level of drug abuse...

Haba Linda, are u just finding out? This codeine thing has been a menace in our society for a long time now, especially in the North. You need to see what this thing has turned them into.

I actually know of someone who claims to find it hard to sleep and drinks it. It is possible that people get addicted to it. Sad.

If u wish to see them, go to Wuse 11. thrs a compound at d other side of d road directly facing d CBN Qtrs, Wuse ll. Near AP Plaza. D compound shares fence wth Chicken republic eatery. Go into dat place btwn 6-7pm nd above, u'll see fr urself wat our children, brothers nd fathers hv turned Benelin wth Codeine to. Jst sit in ur car or pretend to b buyin something nd then observe.

samD said...

Yes Linda. Its bin the fin for youths nw. And most especiali dos who say their religion doesn't allow them to drink. Its so unfortunate and I heard it calms nerve and give confidence to to a lot of fins. Its adverse effect is bad too. I heard also dat it dos more damage on the liver than alcohol. After taking it, it takes several days to dissolve in the body and so gives the liver more work to do. And too much of it in the system becomes a solid dat will require operation to take out. Ppl sort to lot of diffent fins for 'inspiration' they say. So don't be suprised........

Linda I cant bliv you are just getting to know this its been for ages in fact many claim not to take alcohol but use codine as a supplement the feeling can be so crazy some say its the best better than sex try it..in-case you don't know there's another pills in-vogue for ages too refnor is the name you can also make research on it

They went to jail as soon as you were bailed.

Well I don't think it's popular in gidi which to me is strange, But men 4 north omo na him day trend, abuse na under statement, boyz no won hear o, I school here so no be say dem say, dm go con dull like mumu lol, there's no way one can be productive being in that mood almost all the time, its just sad men.

platnium boo said...

This my first time of commenting here on LIB ..WELL I TAKE CODE BUT AM NOT AN ADDICT EVEN MY FRIENDA TOO BUT HAVE NOT HEARD THAT ANY BODY DIED OF IT .....YES IT MAKES SOMEONE RELAX ...SLEEP..HIGH...BUT DONT BE SO ADDICTEDED TO IT PERIOD ...it does not kill

It hasn't killed anyone yet, @ least not on my findings, again it is about the safest means of getting high. I have friends who mix it in ice cream. Naturally excess of everything is bad and dangerous. Then medically excess of any drug is bad and harmful to the health. So for me, tho no known after effect has been discovered, but there is bound to be one soon. About d discovery, it was made known by doctors. Not directly tho.

prince presh said...

I'm a doctor so I'll enlighten u a bit.Codiene and all other antitussives contain analgesia within it.At low dose it serves the function of treating cough but at high dose it works as an analgesic. That's why it can get people high.There's even a concentration u can have in ur system that u can become insensitive to pain.

prince presh said...

I'm a doctor so i will enlighten u a bit,Codiene and other antitussives can function as cough medicine at a low dose and as analgesic at high dose.Their analgesic property is similar to what's found in cocaine and other hard drugs.Their neurotransmitters can cross the blood brain barrier and stimulate the central nervous system.They can actually make someone high.

wolverine said...

kk

wolverine said...

k oooo

wolverine said...

as in how niii

Smoking of rubber..like seriously..wat is wrong wv d youths of nowadays..do d knw wat dangerous by product d rubber will b metabolized into..God help us pls

Linda, ds is stale now, wat abt d pple dat smoke lizard/rat excrete 2 get high heard it on a radio program

Nah wao! Never knew that.

Linda it makes me high o i cant even sleep without taking it...meanwhile it killed one of my frnds bt ha's was a different case cos she mixes it with alcohol....may ha soul RIP.AMEN

anjola said...

omooo, linda ikeji dey carry last Ooh..on this subject matter at least..:) ...not sure about it being a killer drug, but it is def addictive, thats for sure.

Madu Ugo said...

ask a good Madonna student...... they will give u more update

its intoxicating, you feel drowsy and yeah it can lead to concussions. You have little or no appetite when you take that stuff. Thts whats always in lil wayne's cup

Codeine acts as a sedative. It depresses the muscles especially d respiratory muscles. Thereby interfering with respiration. The person has a smooth ride to the other side. Linda post my comment oo

David Nwabia said...

In Lekki/V.I, whenever I go to night club, I see a lot of young RUNS GIRLS between the ages of 18-28 down the whole bottle while smoking SK (which is another and higher brand of marijuana). And they also top it up with hennessy before going home with ROSCO, a man who wants to pay and sleep with them. Its not new though.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Well, to answer your question, Bonario is still constant. But the others, Linda annoyed them around December by only "remembering" Bonario despite that lots of people suggested that she should remember "prince Charming and Jobless too. I think that is what happened.

news from Nigeria nollywood

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Are you serious? May she receives her "healing"

news from nigeria nollywood

rutchie.com

Linda, its lil wayne that started it. They all started copying about 4 years ago.

Mehn, linda u r slow! U shld back date dis post 2 2009! Hello.

timmy said...

True dat... I've seen some abokis getting high on gum... Crazy Shiii

Yo. Use caution on every highness you involve yourself on. Codeine ain't dangerous when you use your brain. A bottle a day will cure the annoyance at work especially we bankers.

it's nt just biu nd igbinedion........oda schools do it....

JOHNNY BLAZE said...

ITS COOL WHEN MIXED WITH COCA COLA OR ZOBO

Tai said...

yap! Its old news... Its an epidemic situation Gwagwalada in Abuja mostly amongst the Ghetto Kids..... And yes its very dangerous Personally and to the general public

codeine dosent get u high.... it gets u extremely low and slow .. while sk gets u super high... thats what makes lil wayne go crazy

How can u say it's not dangerous! Strange behavioural patterns? Drug overdose? N u say it's not dangerous? Was d drug aimed @ gettn u high or healing cough? Wth??

Shey you have been away, go back to where you are coming from. Did you stamp them that they have to wait for you? I see you even seek to announce yourself.kmt!

Ur head dey dia...u took d word out of my mouth...its so common in d north,they also inhale gutter. It's that bad and how do I know dis? I live in North!!! I still find it difficult to wrap my head around it!!!

U can lie hw person go buy 3 carto

Aint nuthin sweet but the codeine niqqa...Weezy F Baby

BS said...

Lil' wayne started this trend in our youths. blame him. Lil wayne has had several seizures, and also it killed pimp c (rest his soul). but that happens when one heavily overdoses on it

Why the fuxx are u copying sdk's writing and interactive style! C'mon lindodo

linda linda. u have been sleping on a bicycle. this is so 2012. u see why i say we women are doomed. is ti a drug addict that is supposed to be the father of my children. after all the home training and education my parents gave me. i would now go and follow a drug addict. my lord would not let it be in jesus name... too many useless men these days. some even hide it. alot of young men do worse than codeine and u wouldnt even know. the ones that do codeine and think its no biggie are the ones that i pity. btw it was lil wayne that started the codeine trend

Taking the simple dose of maybe 1 table spoon as recommended by the doctor fucks me up. I can't begin to imagine d outcome of overdosing on that shit.
Sometime agao, my friend had a bad cough, he was on codeine for a while, so we went out one night to d club,he drank alot.you needed to see d outcome. Serious highness coupled with misbehaviour and loss of memory. (I never see dis kind b4). I later figured it happned like that cos he was on Codeine. Ppl be weary of that thing.

linda please raise a question why some men think they have to do some sort of drug to be cool or whatever.

Chiek said...

Why does it feel like we've been given term papers to write?

Be fooling yourself there, both will destroy your liver and kill you before your time.
It's like saying death by car accident is better than death by plane crash meanwhile death is death no matter the route.

Chiek said...

How can something make you user aggressive, itchy, calm, dizzy all at the same time?

Congratulations!
Now go and check your liver.

Tramadol does it for me. Make me high so I don't feel the Lagos traffic. I don't even know why I get home.

Linda this new background no dey make me read some comments o

NOT TO GET HIGH!!!! .......CODEINE GETS YOU FREAKING LOW!!!....

Yes o. Got to knw after few months of getting to d north. Its common here o.

You'd think that in our poverty Nigerians will be more prudent financially and take better care of their health.

SMH. Broke and stupid is just a tragic combination. Blame this foolishness on GEJ. I'm sure he is on this too.

Jan Klassen said...

Mixing syrup and sprite has been around for years, it originates from Houston Texas and was popularised by the late DJ Screw. DJ also died of codine overdose.

I know people that take it. Addey, 2fab, Blunt, Burna Boy and soo many more

I know that Addey guy his own is too much... He will mix it with Eva water and drink like 4 everyday

This is stale now, so Linda you didn't know, if u can be gay den don't judge a drug addict

My boyfriend takes it and makes him slow and does not remember a thing, ruined lives cus of coda*, i hope they all stop cus most of them are addicted

Linda its true o, i was right inside computer village and this guy sent his brother to go buy codeine for him, i tot he had cough and within a twinkle of an eye he had finished d whole bottle,i wanted to ask him if he's treating tuberculosis or whatever to warrant such

It's all lil wayne's fault

It's what most people Sizzurp!

Lisa, London said...

Linda, you must live a very sheltered life.

Sizzurp(coda,reph n sk)....Take it wiv sharwamma or Pizza.U gonna buzz madt den say Gud buy alcohol

there are many of it,Codeine,some call it Lean, Zizzurp, syrup, theres ref,tontoline too,but it Kills, the side effect is seizure, too many seizure kills ...it bad stop it today

Do two next year...;).

You knw dis it was so common then in gwagz ess those mallo kids

LegendRules said...

Well, I know people who take it. They mix it with la casera to be precise.
Whether it is dangerous? I really don't know. But, they sure look ok to me.

If u are taking about slow in dis generation then its in 10years time u will talk about ROCHI

Codeine is not something you buy across the counter here in the Uk

few said...

lindodo, dey take it anyow in kaduna like pure water anoda 1 is evn called totoline and pakalin....veri soon dem go dey use paracetamol high#up naija#
Few say so *via B.A.G*

i remember one time i told my friend i couldn't sleep and he told me to take codeine with sprite that it'll get me to sleep i was so confused thinking it was a one type of medication i wasn't aware of, maybe it worked like cenpain or nytol so i researched it apparently it originated from texas and all these musicians like drake or lil wayne use it and surprisingly they talk about it in their songs this probably encourages more young people to take it, it's called lynn or purple drank and when you see it, it looks like a grape juice or something like that. it is very dangerous and can lead to seizures or even death in some cases, i'm glad you addressed this issue Linda it is something that the young people need to be educated more on this

akindele ogunoiki said...

This topic is of great interest to me and I took out time to read people's comments. To start with, I am a pharmacist. Drug abuse, no matter d form it appears is killing oneself steadily and laughing about it. Be it codeine, tramadol, cocaine, rohypnol, marijuana and d list goes on and on. As useful as paracetamol is, ingesting more dan 8tabs in a day will destroy d liver n kill d person not to now talk of controlled medicines. Every drug is 'a necessary evil'. With d recent trend of lifestyle modificatn, pharmaceutical industry will surely be lucrative. I pity all of u saying u abuse drugs and are still proud of it. U will surely put money in my pocket though. Continue to destroy ur life while we make money doing so. Now seriously, codeine abuse is lethal and it isnt diff from cocaine abuse. Desist from it if u are already hooked.

Ask queen from iUO she knows better.

Wat do pple gain in getting em slfz high???

olatunji said...

How can you be aggressive and calm at the same time fool

olatunji said...

Have known this drug since 1999 .been popular in northern nigeria for over a decade .best way to get high trust me .

olatunji said...

Thousand ways to die choose one

I miss ejike bigger dick

olatunji said...

Codiene addicts dont worry about nothin

Am sipping Lean,it helps me sleep!#FrenchMontana- and lean is a mixture with promethazine and sprite with codeine..Nt just codeine alone..#BadoLounSoro

LOL! Grandma Linda where have you been? lol that's that SIZZURP o. na sizzurp them dey call am.

Linda after this one please post about "Sniffing of Glue"

Most of the youths in the northern part of Nigeria take it alot even with some classified men too.

U should try dat stuff out...it works for cold and its a cold world...

It doesnt kill except wen u take overdose like everyother tin in life.its a dangesrous trend cos it makes youths lazy and unproductive.

Temiafo said...

Yea. Codeine get someone high.

Temiafo said...

I took it innocently before n I slept for hours

Linda, this codeine stuff has been going on for years, kinda surprised you are just getting to know. Back then in university, i used to know some people that take the stuff a lot and to me it didn't make sense at all. I noticed it just slows them down as par when they don't take it, they're all themselves and active but once they take it, it slows them down, i remember then in school we called it "Slow"....and when it was known that students take it, the pharmacies around my school area increased the amount of the syrup.I'm pretty much sure it has a bad side effect and really hoping people will stop taking it cause it does not add any value in their systems.

Tot Linda was bougie..now i know she's just a locoso...she don't know abt promethazine and things.

Codeine A.K.A uncle slow is only dangerous wen u overdose it lyk takin 5 to 6 bottles.linda i tink u shld try it its kul

i guess you can't know what REF is then or even lizard drops. but Linda it is called LYN.

Hmmm! It's very common among young girls in abuja. Hardly you see any malo (hausa) girl in abuja that does not involve in one form of hard drugs or another, Codeine and Roche is very common, which have turned most of them to junkies...something should be done before it becomes a national disaster..

it has killed someone i know, it's pretty bad but it helps me sleep wen am heartbroken and i don't abuse it.

I de tell u malo boys don mad.....even solution...

Alex said...

Codein intake by young folks has become a normal thing theses days that even some clubs and bars sell it. I know of an undergraduate who died in his hotel room after consuming five bottles of Benylin with Codein.

linda your late its as good as finding out jst finding out jonathan is the president of nigeriaa

U can't even speak english.if u care 4d so called aunt bola so much why don't you advice her instead of bashing her on here.all you fake lowlife bitches Iin HNAUB forming holier than thou.#go suck ur pussy#

You can actually overdose on codeine. Too much isn't that good tho. Its fucking addictive

RICKY RAJO said...

THESE YOUTHS ARE JUST IDIOTS,THEY ARE TAKING AFTER LIL WAYNE WHO WAS ADDICTED TO CODEINE AND WHO DOCTOR TOLD IF HE DIDN'T STOP IT WILL EVENTUALLY KILL HIM.THEY NEVA COPY ANYTHING RIGHT FROM ABROAD.PRISONERS SAG BECOS THEY ARE NOT GIVEN BELTS IN PRISON SO AS NOT TO HANG THEMSELVES OR HARM OTHERS AND THEN A HUGE NO OF 9JA YOUTHS START TO SAG

@Lifematician said...

THIS IS SO DAMN STALE MEHN!!

eiya sorry

Codeine is a sedative and helps you sleep if you have a cough. Toxic doses of it will cause respiratory depression (you stop breathing and die). Then police will look for someone to charge for your death

y'all are soooooo late LOL thats been going on since like 2001 lol they mix it with sprite. look it up its called syrup aka drank

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 579 of 579   Newer› Newest»