People who say Buhari's administration has impoverished them are being uncharitable - Gov. El-Rufai | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 December 2016

People who say Buhari's administration has impoverished them are being uncharitable - Gov. El-Rufai

Kaduna State governor, Nasir El-Rufai described the says that President Buhari's administration has impoverished Nigerians as unfair and uncharitable.
The governor stated this on Thursday, December 15th, while speaking to state house correspondents at the end of the National Economic Council (NEC) meeting in Abuja presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

"When people say that this administration has impoverished them; I think they are not being charitable. Because I have said that we inherited a governmental structure at state and federal levels built around the assumption that price of oil will remain at $100 per barrel. By the time we took over, prices dipped to as low as $26 per barrel," he said.
"Now when 80 per cent of government revenues depend on the price of oil and the quantity of oil you sell (reduces) you must expect a cut in your consumption if the price collapses. If in your own household your salary is slashed by 80 per cent, what do you do? There is painful adjustment in the funding.
"You have to seek your family and explain to them that this is what is happening, your salary has been slashed by 80 per cent so rice is off the table and it is now `garri’  and so on. This is what Nigeria is going through. Essentially, our revenues have collapsed by about 40 per cent to 60 per cent if you compare it with , say, 2014. This collapse happened because the price of oil has moved from a high of $140 a barrel around 2013 to a low of $26 per barrel in February 2016.
The governor blames the situation on the resurgence of militancy in the Niger State.
"Secondly, we were producing over two million barrels of oil per day because of vandalism in the Delta, production went to as low as 1.1 million barrels per day."
The governor noted that the production was back a bit to 1.8 million barrels per day but noted that when the production was little so very little money was coming in to the government, therefore it was inevitable that there would be cuts and pain.

Continuing, the governor said that when he left office as minister of the Federal Capital Territory in 2007, Olusegun  Obasanjo's administration handed over $40 billion in reserve and  $27 billion in Excess Crude Account.
"That is what we handed over to late Yar’adua. Coming back as Gov. of Kaduna there is only $2.1 bn in excess crude account and when we left office the price of oil was $75 per barrel."
El-Rufai alleged that subsequent administration squandered $300 billion savings, borrowed over $60 billion in the period and spent all.
"Coming back as governor of Kaduna there is only $2.1bn in excess crude account and when we left office the price of oil was $75 per barrel. It is up to President Buhari to clear that mess," he added.The governor said the country was paying the price of mismanagement of the past, therefore unfair that the critics were not referring to the causes of the present predicaments. Defending Buhari's economic team, he said unlike Obasanjo’s economic team, Buhari’s team was headed by Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo.
"What you need at the policy level is basic understanding, management skills and leadership. The VP is exposed, educated and enlightened enough to say yes or no if given many policy options. The technical people are there to give you the technical input and the VP was the one selected and he has to make that policy decision.
"You cannot have an unelected economist deciding policy for the country because there has to be accountability. But there is nowhere in the world where heading the economic team is economist because the technical people are there to give you the technical input," he added.

44 comments:

Well I didn't expect otherwise

People must always talk, dats life. Linda take note!

SHAMELESS USELESS COWARD FREEBORN DON'T HAVE ANY thing to tell u and terrorist buhari this morning.
Hell rufai u are a disgrace the same way u are butching southern kaduna is the same way terrorist buhari is butchering Nigerians and their economy.

I'm not exonerating Jonathan from his inadequacies and his role in the dwindling economy of this country but this administration has proven to be very clueless and myopic in solving the problems of its predecessor.

We voted this government coz we wanted solutions to problems they inherited and not give us excuses on their inability to proffer solution.There is no government in the world that hasn't inherited mountains of problems, but a capable government always stands sentinel by the work it does to better the state of its economy

Okay overdependence on oil is what pushed this country into this mess.What is this government doing to diversify the economy? How good is it in solving the problem of militancy? What is their blueprint for a vibrant economy?

STFU

Devilish atinga you Wldnt close that your mouth, rubbish!

If we wooze you slap ehhhhh then you will just shut up and enter ur other room.

Birds of d same feather

Chaiii lindiway... Ur sis goodnews dey sweet my belle so much, d day ur own will happen I go kill goat. Congrats to ikeji's family.. Congrats laura

I think they are not being charitable. Because I have said that we inherited a governmental structure at state and federal levels built around the assumption that price of oil will remain at $100 per barrel. By the time we took over, prices dipped to as low as $26 per barrel,"
We tend to forget so easily here, ww failed to save when we had oil boom, our government then embarked on mass looting and that's what we are suffering today.

Idiots ... u say oil price dropped yet ur useless president is still wasting billlions of naira on oil exploration in the north, u are a stipid bastard el rufai

Jonathan made things easy! Buhari made life unbearable!

Housed-On-Water said...

Why depend on oils from the south when the north can produce agricultural products for at least six African countries? Open our boarders and our ties, invite new agricultural schemes including techniques and manpower, pls stop blaming harmattan will never blame rainy days for leaving late. Do your best.

this is why Shehu called you a heap of excrement u may mistake for a bar of chocolate! Fuckin' Dwarf!!

May God punish all our leaders who have turned a blind eye on the sufferings of Nigerians

Long Live LIB

Yes el-rufai we know! However at issue is what the government is doing to resolve the situation and how this is communicated. Your government neds to communicate better. and not by lambasting anybody.

So you were the only baboons that thought oil will stay at $100 dollars for ever and you didn't think of plan B?

You didn't know that proding the tail of aa tiger was a bad move when you distinguished between 97% and 5%?

This man should simply shut up and go and deal with the impending time bomb he has created with the Shiites.

I'm very hard working with good business ideas but lack of money is slowly suppressing my dreams which I'm not happy about. I want to start up a business of fish farming, and it will cost about 75,000 naira to start up, I seek assistance to raise the money and I pray someone will lend a helping hand to me. Nothing in little. And I promise to come back here to share my testimony and when my business grow I will assist someone too to start up a business. Pls good people help me achieve my dream and have a better life too thank you. This is my email kaima.kaima27@gmail.com

Price of oil? The price was lower during your campaign and was on an obvious downtrend. Unless u guys were and are DAFT, don't make an excuse that doesn't work.

A LITTLE RESPECT FOR THE MASSES AND IS NOT A MUST TO COMMENT ON EVERY ISSUE

YOUR FRIENDZONE said...

El rufai is a dummy cow that is nt suppost to talk when humans are talking.
The hardship and suffering he brought t o kaduna has even affect neighbouring states ****************IMPORTING HIS FULANI BROTHERS TO SUCK BLOOD********USING PUBLIC FUND TO PAY THEM AND OTHER THUGS###NO WONDER HE REMAINED SHORT

May thunder with tribal marks fire that your smelling mouth. Stupid and senseless man. May your family be in the current state your buhari has keep this country. Nama.

OBI LoVe said...

There's a big gap between talking like a rich man and talking like a leader... Mr man when a common man can no longer feed himself..there's a problem think about ur brothers Who re pushing will barrow, those hawking, those beggars, what's ur plan to smile on their face

Emy said...

Just imagine the kind of people we call intellectuals with no idea. Just imagine!

Caramel said...

Well said

QL Homes said...

Enjoy massive discounts up to 20% this season on: Jerseys, TM Shirts, Suits, Polo Tee Shirts, Jeans, Chinos, etc. Add: D1C06F29. IG-@qlwears whatsapp-08034334692. Call- 08130373753 or 08088989317.

**********************oro nsi gi kita gi lijuo nsi onu oburu na m na akpi Okenye iyi*********now are u not Okenye na agwo ofe??? ¤

Hello my fellow lindaikeji peeps, I am not here to spoil anybody's business on CCTV Training but I have purposely come to enlighten people going for the training to carefully choose which company or training school they choose to have their programme done and do it at Cloud Security Technology because they are authorized HIKVISIONresellers. Please call on 09055555495, 08030754443 or email at; info@cloudsecurity.com.ng and check out website at www.cloudsecurity.com.ng

They must always find excuses for their incompetence and failures

Lib aDdict#just passing#

Bonario or what ever so y iare these APC leaders here y ?

This man is an idiot...

Shame on you Juliet, you are not gonna get Linda's money this time...

Nigerians I hope you all can all see the kind of leaders you lot elected into office rather than take responsibility and figure out how to get us out of the mess we are in they talk nonsense to the press and you all

Nigerians are largely hypocrites.

It's well

Because you can provide all u need that is why u re saying that rubbish

So you are now trying to deflect blame to Osibanjo? Nkita ta gi, i.e., make dog bite you well well. Stupid ranting idiot from hell. Your government is failing. Be a MAN. Grow balls and accept it. From acceptance will come wisdom and knowledge. Goat like you. What happened to your frigging testosterone, you mushy mutt?
Ta comot for my internet wey I take my money pay.

Some body should help me tell El-Rufai to shut up and deliver.they were not elected to feed us with baseless excuses

Buy iphone, macbooks, ipad and other products at rebate prices. Become a reseller and make huge money. Hit me up tonymontana0104@yahoo.com if you interested

I had to go get my Oxford dictionary to know meaning of Impoverish ... Nigerians and their 1960 English grammars lol .. Who use those words anymore .. sigh

Godwin O. Ugbabe said...

It is good to do good even against all odds, economic, or otherwise. What PMB and my former Lecturer, El-Rufai should know is that you have to market your efforts and get people to buy-in. It's not enough to be holy on your own you have to convince the people that your really are and that it's virtue that they should subscribe and ascribe to. I believe that PMB has very god intentions but we shall judge him by his execution while understanding that he's starting from a difficult place. PMB is a marketing problem.