Obama to meet with leaders of Iraq and Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 17 September 2016

Obama to meet with leaders of Iraq and Nigeria

US President Barack Obama has scheduled meetings with the leaders of Iraq, Nigeria and Colombia and plans to promote trade between the U.S. and Africa as he continues his efforts to defeat the Islamic State group, the white house said Friday. Obama plans to sit down Monday with Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi to discuss progress the country has made countering the Islamic State group, a coming Iraqi military operation to take back the city of Mosul from IS militants, and a brewing humanitarian crisis inside Iraq, said Ben Rhodes, Obama's deputy national security adviser.
Deputy Secretary of State Antony Blinken said this week while visiting Baghdad that Iraqi forces aided by the U.S.-led coalition against IS had retaken half the territory that militants once held in the country. He also announced more than $181 million in aid to address a humanitarian crisis that has festered in Iraq as a result of the insurgency. Despite a series of major defeats in recent months, IS has maintained its grip on Mosul, Iraq's second largest city.

Meanwhile, North Korea continues to defy the international community with its recent nuclear and ballistic missile tests.

Obama also plans to meet Tuesday with Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari, to talk about continued U.S. support for security and economic changes in the country, as well the government's efforts to counter the Islamic extremist group Boko Haram. At a summit on refugees that the president is hosting, Obama is expected to press more nations to open their borders and help double the number of refugees who are resettled around the world.

Obama will devote a portion of Wednesday, the final day of the General Assembly session, to promoting trade between the U.S. and Africa.

Source: AP

28 comments:

I hope is gonna bring better outcome.

another strategy to manipulate our senseless leaders again. The penury will all reflect on us at the end of their aimless trade of no direction..

Bad news.
Who him meet epp huh?
THE SAME IRAQ AND NIGERIA HE DESTROYE WITH TERRORIST CLUELESS BUHARI alhaji obama u are a dickhead.

good

Nice one!

That's great, pray it yields something good!

I think is a welcomed developement

Dats nice! Linda take note!

Hope it yields good fruit.

Mtchew. He never came to Nigeria

Obama's previous meetings with dumb ass buhari(a dog name) has proven unproductive and I expect a similar result from this meeting also

Idiot Obama... Gay lord.... Bastard that denied Jonathan ebola medicine during ebola saga and deny him tools to fight boko harram.. All in the bid to sabotage Jonathan administration, jst because he signed gay bill into law.... God will judge of of them.... Donald all the way

.......... Liber maniac..........

Genny's Blog said...

Ohk good.

GOOD TO SEE

If obama
finishes his presidency and does not visit africa,,s most populous nation ,,then it will be a very,very big and irreversible debit from history on his presidency

jovultus said...

Make una talk wella

jovultus said...

Make una talk wella

That's a welcome development... Kudos!

Buhari die and free Nigeria!

Ok ooooooo... dee

***************************can't even see d content of hix visit ******is it dat dix pipo like nkwughali *******

Okkk

Tpy said...

Your ignorance is showing girl

I WILL TAKE OBAMA AND ANY OTHER WORLD LEADERS SERIOUS WHEN THEY WILL DISCUSS NIGERIA POWER PROBLEM NOT THIS BULLSHIT...U CANT DO ANYTHING IN THIS MORDEN WORLD WITHOUT LIGHT FOOLISH NIGERIANS WAKE YOUR ASS UP

Eyes of the gods said...

Iraq, Syria,Libya, Sudan n so on used to be peaceful before America stepped in biko leave Naija matter for God hand we don't need America. They only cause chaos