Woman asks the internet for advice after sleeping with her best friend, the responses were unkind | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Woman asks the internet for advice after sleeping with her best friend, the responses were unkind

A 23 year old heartbroken woman who turned to Reddit for advice after sleeping with her best friend of ten years didn't expect the type of responses she got from the social media site. She said her bestfriend fled her house saying 'I can't do this' after they hooked up.
The woman, who did not give her name gave intimate details about her relationship with the said best friend named Paul, also 23. She said:

'Paul and I have been best friends for years. Throughout our friendship, we've flirted, but he's always been in serious relationships with someone else. I've been his shoulder to cry on throughout it all. 
'Our friendship has always been strictly platonic with moments of slip-ups.'
She talked about how he had been in several dysfunctional relationships with controlling partners, saying that she had always been there for him after his breakups.
Adding:
'I was his support system. We grew very close over the next few months. We had history of cuddling and holding hands, but nothing progressed beyond that. 
One night, he came over to watch a movie and he looked me in the eyes. He leaned in to kiss me when he stopped and basically ran out of my house saying 'I can't do this. It will ruin everything between us.' 
He didn't speak to me for a week and got back with his girlfriend thereafter. I told him in person I couldn't do it anymore and I felt used. He responded 'Okay' and went on his marry way.He didn't even care and I was crushed.
She said she managed to rekindle her friendship with Paul but Paul had found another girlfriend who was studying overseas. She said he flirted with her but their relationship remained platonic until another one of Paul's relationship ended again.

She wrote:
'We ended up getting drunk with some of our friends and he came to spend the night at my place.
'When we got into the bed, he grabbed me and we started making out. He told me he had always had feelings for me and he likes me (...) Well, he kept pushing sex and we ended up sleeping together. When I went to fall asleep, he grabbed me and said out of all things, he would miss me in his arms.'
'He called me the next day and acted like nothing happened. He said he was just drunk and horny, but now that the sexual tension was out of the way, we could go back to being just friends. He said he doesn't remember most of the night.'
She said:  'The cats out of the bag. It's going to be very hard to see him just as a friend now that we know there's this between us.' 
After reading the story Reddit users weighed in to share their thoughts, and most posters advised the young woman to end her friendship with Paul permanently.  Some of the comments:

Others really didn't mince their words. Theborogrove wrote: 'HE IS MIND******** YOU. He is NOT your friend'

Gonzoimperial said: 'You're his safety girl. He's going to keep doing this until he's 35 and then he might settle for you. Please don't do this.' 

Others really didn't mince their words.
'You were a booty call,' said Barntobebad, 'Sorry, but his friendship with you isn't as strong as you think, nor is his attraction.' 

Damaged Damsel said: 'it's more like he strings you along so that you will always be there when he is single. Move on.'
Another wrote: 'HE IS MIND******** YOU. He is NOT your friend. He is using you to gratify he is ego.' 
Some called into question whether Paul really is the poster's friend after all.

User expressed a wish for the poster to avoid being messed around by Paul any longer

One user compared the story to the novel One Day by romance writer David Nicholls

Addywoot said: 'I don't really get the feeling he's even that good of a friend to you.'

Pretendingtobenormal write: 'This is not how I would treat my best friend.'  

Isayfiesta encouraged the poster to focus on herself, instead of the state of her friendship with Paul.

'The cycle will repeat as much as you let it. Take the reins back and make an intentional effort to move on with your life, whether that is dating other people or doing something to explore or improve yourself. 
'A little boost in self-esteem can go a long, long way,' they advised.

MrsValentine said: 'I don't believe based on his actions that he truly cares about you as a girlfriend OR a friend.

Look, you had sex - it happens, no big deal, and at least you know how things stand now. I'd look at closing this 10 year chapter if I were you. You've got more to look forward to than being messed around by this guy for another decade.

Suckmy**** said: 'This reminds me so much of the movie/book One Day. But much less nuanced.'

Let's just hope this final Reddit user's name isn't an omen. 

58 comments:

Lol. * it's well*

Sylvia said...

Sorry

Eyah sorry.

Yawns..... WhoThemHelp????

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

MmMm, na wah oooo. You're like is waitress, you are always there when he calls for service anytime. Better wise up and carry on.

when a girl says a guy is her best friend...cos no one understands her like he does..I'm like..okay, i'm glad i'm not ur BF. 8 OUT OF EVERY 10 best friends of opposite sex end up like this. they just hide their emotions from each other from the very beginning. In little or no time, u get excuses of all sort..It was the devil, sorry the vodka, sorry claro..etc..

uwakweesther96@gmail.com said...

It's happened just move on dear

uwakweesther96@gmail.com said...

It's happened just move on dear

Lagos Lawyer said...

Growing up, I have an uncle who always said something that I found funny - that there can't be any true friendship between a man and a woman. That it's like the friendship between a human being and a chicken - no matter how long it lasts, the chicken ends in the soup pot. I found it funny then, but honestly he was right. He is right

Kay said...

Like the theory from the movie 'When Harry Met Sally' a man can't just be friend's with a girl...in the end feelings will always get in the way. A man having a female friend is like a man having a chicken for a pet...one day, he is going to Eat that chicken.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

We all have dat 1 girl......PLEASE BE CAREFUL OF THE PEOPLE YOU LEAVE YOUR KIDS WITH SEE HOW THIS HOUSE HELP CUT OFF THE RIGHT HAND OF AN INFANT -PHOTOS

Lol dude used her and will continue coming back for more. He just had sex with you, not like he stabbed you.

Choi.. Nawa oo
Such evil

Akuko. Well it happens. She is his rebound girlfriend. Not healthy at all

Havnt u hrd of frnd with benefit bfr. It really dosnt end well. Dis guy can ll never let u find ur mr ryt. U need to move on els d person who really wnts to take care of u n respect ur feelings will never show up. Wake up gurl, ure still dreaming. Be a mans first choice, not his sad sleeping bag.

durnkayzor said...

Sorry

i hope it isnt u Linda

Linda you consider these responses unkind?? I don't know if we are reading the same Engrishhh. These ppl were frank and what I'd call honest :-)

Steady said...

Hmmmnn she is being used as an ego killer though

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Blunt responses. I like!

Smh

Dave Mide said...

they were all right! I didnt see any unkind words here Linda, they all advised her well and its nothing but the truth

I agree with these people...she shouldn't keep making herself available for him...he's clearly not interested. She shouldn't waste her best years on illusions.

Move on with your life, paul is not a good friend

I know such kind of things. My ex. And I. He broke up with me said alot of staff, disrespectful things, insults, a whole year we didn't communicate, he started again I gave him another change again the same old patterns came back, I have to send him money, he is always asking for money. I looked back at the whole year I DIDN'T communicate with him: I was able to go on holidays, didn't had money issues, I was focused all was well with ME. He always says he loves me, no he doesn't am the comfort zone he needs in his LIFE. If he can't pay he rentals, I used to jump in. What I did, I gave him 300£,because he was complaining that he is tired and want to rest, knowing how one get tired, I gave it out, the same month, he came again asking for 150£ first I said o.k., but I had my thoughts, I told him NO and this is what he wrote: " it's not like am dependent on u. U talk like u have raised me. Fine keep ur money, I will find another person, just thought I ask u" am just surprised were all this came from. It's time for me to move on. Because for too long I was sugar coated by this guy. I don't blame him it ME who mostly acted like am his wife. At times ladies we need to chill and be just a girlfriend who we are!!! The guy is still crying around that he loves me but I guess he loves the staff that comes with me more. In a month some gives you so much money and you ask for me. In the country where this guy is based, 300£ is a lot of money, those are salaries of lecturers at the university, people feed a whole family and pay school fees from that amount, and I gave it out for free. He is just careless with money because I have been his money pot. I sincerely don't believe that he loves me like he says!!! .

Lolzz. Linda I like your comment. More Instagram followers for you

The lady has real love for the guy but for the guy she is just an option for when things are down. Things like this are happening. Let her just move on. Forget the guy. Get married.

xxpensive said...

It happens now

What can I add to all this good advice? If she like, make she no hear.

She shld move on...the guy is obviously using her,he is a guy he shld b protecting her

Osho thanks... dee

Her biz

Honestly, this post made my day, hahaha #Bootycall #FriendsWithBenefit

Femiluv said...

They gave her great advice.

Dis white people and their reasoning. Soon dey ll ask Internet if dey shld poo or not. Brandyblesswilliams@gmail.com

they were not unkind Linda. they just told her the bitter truth

Nkemy said...

She should be grateful for their candid advice

I really understand her plight,its just that the guy is mad

chommy said...

Babe abeg forget dat ur frnd. Linda observe!

Pearlie said...

I agree with them, Paul is just using her that's all.
She is just a blank space filler

General said...

Na their headache

Peace nwadire said...

Am not surprised the guy reacted in that manner cos right from the onset,he's been acting funny expecially,anything she refuses his amorous advances, he Wouldn't speak to her instead he Wil go back to his girlfriend. He sees her as a booty calls,jus move on with your life.

These are not unkind responses.... They are just plain honest

You ve been used and dumped girl!move on with your life plz

What's unkind about the responses?

Isn't it the truth?

Na wa for your use of adjectives o b

Honestly I don't care... As far as it is not my boo she is sleeping with

I am never an advocate for girls and guys"friendships" one day something will happen.it just like a man having a chicken as a pet one day that chicken will end up inside hot pot.I do hear some girls saying something like all-my-friends-are-guys.it's total rubbish.

Queen Riri said...

i'd say you let go of him

What did she expect??? Linda take note!

Tina said...

Can some one summarize d whole episode pls?

The lesson is NEVER. Shit at your doorstep.

Nze said...

if you have a chicken as your pet, one day u will eat the chicken..

Hmmm...not possible to be friends with a guy that long without having feelings.... trust me linlin a kiss ruins everything

Posh Queen said...

Those were hurtful but truthful comments.

Yeah, she should stop d friendship cos he will use her & dump her

Sorry oo.

Sorry oo.