Texas couple indicted for holding Nigerian woman captive for more than 2 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 March 2016

Texas couple indicted for holding Nigerian woman captive for more than 2 years

The Texas couple Chudy and Sandra Nsobundu, 56 and 50, accused of holding a Nigerian woman captive in their home for more than two years and without pay has been indicted.
A federal grand jury returned a five-count indictment against them and they have both been charged with forced labor, withholding documents, visa fraud, conspiracy to harbor and harboring an illegal alien.

The couple also have to forfeit their home in Katy, Texas.. Both Chudy Nsobundu and Sandra Nsobundu were accused of mentally and physically abusing the unpaid nanny who is also a Nigerian who lived in their home and was allowed to only eat leftovers, not wash her hair and work about 20 hours a day with no pay.
The woman was rescued on Oct. 10, 2015, following a tip to the National Human Trafficking Resource Center.
If convicted of the conspiracy or forced labor, the defendants face up to 20 years in federal prison. For withholding documents, they face another five years, while the visa fraud and harboring illegal aliens carries a possible 10-year sentence. All of the charges could also result in a $250,000 maximum fine.

Source: Click2Houston

28 comments:

Seems holding people captive isn't a Nigerian thing after all.Sick people everywhere

* it's well*

Gud

casino said...

fools who dy go America. were everything dy 9ja here.. am sure that lady no be igbo..bcos we no dy carry last

If they are really guilty then they deserve what they will get.

it is well, this life.linda see to that

Tina said...

Go pay for ur crime

Kayode Odusanya said...

I am still wondering what would make two middle aged people do this to someone from the same country with them.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

OMIDAN ABBY said...

That's lik 35yrs in all or $250,000..
God help u Mr exploiter

Na waoh oh,as old as they are...#Karma

chommy said...

Dat serves dem ryt. Linda observe!

Texas couple or Nigerian couple living in texas?lol.funny how we twist things when the news is positive, it will be "Nigerian british born"..., now its negative, it's texas couple! Ok!

Good for dem.

Nawaooo

Jail them and give their house to the nanny, put the children in foster care.

Gud 4 dem

O KWANOO ILLEGAL ALIEN,OYIBO PEOPLE SEF

tollyjems said...

Abeg the should go to jail, no need offering fine

Those ppl are hrtless

Such wickedness! I hope dey pay dearly for their crimes. Linda take note!

Hmmmm what is this world turning into

Very good

Texas is in America/US not Britain/UK

Na wao ooo, wicked people be dis, ooo

This nigerian couple smuggled their house help from nigeria to texas. Having househelps in nigeria is normal. You can even pay them the minimum wage of N15,000 ($100) a month. I don't know why Nigerians will bash this texas couple. They were looking for a cheap maid service in USA. What we call househelp in nigeria, Americans look at it as slavery/captivity. Cos no one over there will work for $100 a month. I think they were just trying to save money. And the house girl was probably living a much better life with them than in Nigeria. So why would you call them wicked people?

Gud for dem..

Truth said...

You don't understand what he is trying to say if it's positive they will say Nigerian if it's negative they will say anything but Nigerian in this case it's Nigerian couple not Texas couple the assumption when u say Texas couple is that the people r Americans distancing themselves from their true identity every country does it so understand before u reply ... Bye

Let us not be too fast to judge this people. They had an agreement abi. I pay for your ticket ,visa,house and feed you . So why are we all condemning the couple. Was the help forced there. she agreed to the terms ABI.
She is the wicked one because all these would have been better for her than in Nigeria ,otherwise she would have said no and stayed back in Nigeria.
Her PASSPORT COULD HAVE BEEN HELD BACK BECAUSE there has been cases of you taking a help there and the person runs away. When you call to inform the parents or relations in Nigeria they will tag you ritualist, sex worker coordinator and even burn your belongings in Nigeria ...