Photo: A Nigerian woman and her baby allegedly detained in an Indian hospital since Sept 2015 over unpaid medical bills | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 March 2016

Photo: A Nigerian woman and her baby allegedly detained in an Indian hospital since Sept 2015 over unpaid medical bills

A Nigerian woman, Erinma Laurette Chamberlin and her baby, Benita have been allegedly confined to the 11th floor of a hospital in Mira Road, India for the last five months over her inability to clear her medical bills, even as the hospital has claimed that she has been discharged. 

The 36-year old woman delivered a baby girl via Caesarean Section in September 2015, and hasn't stepped out of the hospital since then. Her husband, Chamberlin Chiemela Ezeama, who is in Nigeria, has issued a legal notice to the Wockhardt Hospital alleging illegal detention of his wife and daughter.

According to the hospital management, Mrs Chamberlain's medical visa has expired and her bill has now ballooned to around Rs 8 lakh (she is being charged around Rs 12,000 a day for the room alone), adding that she and her baby "were allowed to stay at the hospital on humanitarian grounds", after her husband didn't respond to calls and messages regarding the dues.

"Her husband has not bothered to take the family back home despite repeated requests, even when the woman was fit to be discharged 15 days after admission. Her bill is now more than Rs 8 lakh, largely because of the unnecessary stay due to his non-response regarding settling the bill or taking his family back," a hospital official said in an email to the media.

Mrs Chamberlain said it was distressing to see her new-born not being allowed to return to her country.

"Back home, several women undergo a Caesarean Section end up dead. Friends suggested I travel to India as the country has fantastic medical facilities. I didn't know that I would have the worst experience here," she said.

Benita is Ernima's fifth child, and anticipating complications during the pregnancy, she and her husband got in touch with the Wockhardt management, which helped Erinma secure a medical visa. She was admitted on September 15, and has been confined to the hospital's room no. 1124, she alleged.

"Around a month after the surgery, I asked the doctor whether I was fit for discharge, to which she said yes. I began to make plans for our return to Nigeria when the management told me I could not be discharged as I hadn't cleared the dues. I told them that we had already paid $3,000 (around Rs 1.89 lakh), and promised to stay in the city till we paid our dues. But they did not discharge me and my baby and I have been living in this room, for which I am charged $180 a day," she said.

She claims that the hospital staffers are threatening her. "They would warn me that I will end up in jail and now I will see the 'other' side of India," she said. "I am only allowed to take a stroll on the floor where my room is located. I am scared and worried, and my temperament is having a negative effect on my baby. Living in this room, I have lost track of time," she added.

Erinma's husband contacted advocate Utkarsh Srivastava of Adjuva Legal. He told this newspaper from Nigeria:

"I wrote to several government departments, including Sushma Swaraj's office. I am ready to pay the dues but over a course of time during which my wife will stay in India. I am unable to visit India due to financial and immigration issues. But my wife and daughter are being wrongly detained in India. I have not yet held my daughter in my arms, I only get to see her on the phone."

Erinma said that her acquaintance who lives in Mira Road was quizzed by the hospital staff, which scared her so much that she never returned to the hospital to see her.

"My only respite is that the nurses are really sweet to me and look after my daughter," she said.

The hospital has already submitted complaints to the police, the foreigner regional registration offices, the Nigerian High Commission, and the Indian High Commission in Nigeria. A statement by the hospital said:

"The patient has been given the best of services. Nobody has barred the patient from leaving the hospital. The couple was unable to pay the entire amount due to constraints and a limit to the amount of money they can carry out of their country. The husband promised to send the money and said that the woman would stay in the hospital till the bills are settled. On numerous occasions, we had told her husband that her visa will expire, but he hasn't taken any action. We have looked after the patient like a member of our family,"

The hospital also claims that said that Mrs Chambelain chose to remain in the hospital on her own accord as she wanted her baby to get vaccinated.

53 comments:

...Good thing is they look well taken care of.

Na waoo!

Gov shld luk into dis matter.

Eyea,and the baby is so cute,x

Phew! I pray help comes her way.
Nigerian High commission should try help them.

. ~BONARIO~say so via NOKIA LUMIA

Eayaaah. Someone should pls help them out.

Nigerians why do you always look for trouble?

the woman and her husband knows what they are doing.....Lindododo, I beg post my comment

Okay..

Tina said...

All this are lack of good facility in our own country hospital

Fifth child? Oga and madam e don do oooo... Shuuuuu plus the story is complicating.... But I believe my Nigeria folks....

... Free elinma and her child....

Abeg who had CS and die in Nigeria. I had my son through ceaserian section in Nigeria here oo and am alive my baby is alive. Abeg na your problem,people like you spoil Nigeria name, I know many people who had CS here in Nigeria and they are doing fine with there baby.

Far away india? Whr is her husband?

#LibBadBoy

HM! MADAM U & UR HUSBAND LOOK FINISH COME CONCLUDE SAY NO HOSPITAL IN NIGERIA CAN BORN UR CHILD FOR U ABI? M'GWANU, UGO EBERELA NA MGBAGBU!

Just like that.Abi linda!

Omg and this is my childhood friend! Linda she say make u publish dis gist? Haba

Now who is saying d truth

#spritual

Its a pity but we have better hospitals here. my wife had a CS with our 3rd child and all went well in surulere not even in any of the top hospital. i think we have an issue in this country about any thing foreign. i still dont understand.

PKE

Na wa oo

munachimso said...

Well u laid ur bed so u must lie on it.u had the option of givin birth in Nigeria yet u chose not to nd u re giving me most annoying excuse dt women die while givin birth tru cs. I u had so much money,y didn't u go to USA or uk.mbok pls don't worry us o.go and pay ur bills madam nd stop making noise.if u have sense,when givin birth to d 6th one,better do so in nigeria.rubbish

is there no hospital in Nigeria. u dey hang ur hand where in no reach abi. just observing

Who goes to India to give birth?

Even a Nigerian hospital will not release u if u don't pay! Haba, why not stay here n gv birth? All d way to India cos of CS, so many women die in Nigeria after CS? Really? Bunch of crap, pay n ul be out, is it a charity organisation. U were told u were fit to leave, so u started preparing to go bk to Nigeria really? When u knew u hadn't paid, u said u will stay in d city? So they should be running after u? Mtchewwwww

Nsogbu dikwa! Linda take note!

Eiyaaa! We should help her#Lindangwanu#

Fine baby

Madam they said you have been discharged for long .i Begg carry your pikin commot for there.

Make them give her broom n mob to start cleaning nah

You are owing now. I don't understand Nigerians. Pay the bill and leave. They have a business to run.

How can they claim that she chose to stay in the hospital on her own accord, is the hospital environment the best place to train a child? Lies!

Dirty stories.You don't have money for the bills why going there at the first place...
Nuel

Demmy said...

Nigerians wl neva learn.
God pls provide for dem so dat dey can return safely to Naija IJN.

Vela said...

see gobe!! everyone wants to give birth outside nigeria, make they please pay up.

Nawa ooh,pity the poor woman and her daughter may God help dem

Igbo people want to spoil opportunity for others. Financial fraud.

Alaspecial said...

Really don't know whose account of the story to believe. but I don't trust the husband and wife.

Whatever the story,This couple is at fault.why go to Indian when you can't afford it

Nsogbu dikwa!

What ever them see make dem take!people do c section everyday in Nigeria, plus they could not even afford it! Indian hospitals wen like money, they should pay and hide their shame abeg.

Maryann said...

You wan born for India abi. Your friend told you to go to India, when you know you and your husband cannot afford it. And you are not even ashamed to say that u can't pay ur bills.. Who do you want to pay for the bills. Even in Nigeria you will be held in any hospital when you refuse to pay your bills until its settled. Hope your adviser friend help you out. Abeg carry your cross jare. You want to go to India because others are going, because we don't have hospitals in Nigeria where CS is done. "Notice me or I die"

Why didn't she give birth in Nigeria? Of all countries obuzie India odiegwu

OMG! That baby is toooo cute to be in this predicament. Linda please publish information where nigerians can donate. even if its N1K I will send. it will add up n bring this cute baby home :(

When people try to do note than themselves
why go to India for cs when it isn't that you have a terminal disease of some sort ? What happened to all the Nigerian hospitals here? If you know you're at risk why have more children when you've already been blessed with 4? I don't know what is wrong with some Nigerians. Who are they expecting to bail them out now? Sorry not sorry, carry ya cross o!

Probably they forgot India is not the US where Nigerians come to give birth and leave without settling the bills and nobody stops them. India is a freaking third world country and they need all the money that are due to them.

Chyke
City: Unknown

Yetty k said...

Diff stories evrydau

Hahahaha..... Use made in Nigeria you say no. How many people die from CS bikonu. Now you've spent about a million naira and still going to spend more when you have would have spent #200 to #250 here in Nigeria in a very clean hospital. It is only in nigeria that someone who doesnt know the pharmacology of a drug is capable of prescribing and people will prefer him to the doctor. May God help us

ngfineface said...

I am so ashamed of them. Imagine India that are known to exchange babies. She better do DNA to make sure the baby is theirs. The couple are fraudlet. They thought Nigerians will pay abi? See all they wrote no shame. Ordinary CS.

Abeg pay your bill and stop making unnecessary noise

Kc said...

Nwanne, I believe this will draw attention to her situation and probably the much needed help by the grace of God almighty.

Aunty linda,pay for her naw bikonu..its chicken money for u

na wa

Linda help dem now , abi .