Mapoly student who was brutalized by security at the school tells his story (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 March 2016

Mapoly student who was brutalized by security at the school tells his story (photos)

Some days ago, I brought you a story about a student of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic who was brutalized by the school security (read here). There were different versions of what led to the assault but below is the account of John, the Mass Comm.HND 2 student who was brutalized.
"Here's what happened. My name is John. On that fateful day, my group members for eed project and I went to  see our project  supervisor.  After seeing him we headed to the bus shed where we get vehicles to convey us home. I saw a cab, as I  tried entering, I  was blocked by a student who came down from the same cab, I asked for the reason for the obstruction,  he said he was talking with the driver.

I  advised him to go to the driver side to talk to him, he didn't respond. His friend came out from the other side of the door and started using foul language on me, I got angry but I understood the implications of fighting in school,  so I ignored him. I was tired and I wanted to get home quickly; it's always a struggle to get vehicles home in the evening.
I was able to make my way into the cab by going under his arm. Before the cab moved. The guy who was obstructing me came to window side and started using threatening words. I felt uncomfortable. I came down and told him I'll hold him responsible if any thing bad should happen to me. At that point he started moving closer to me, he was trying to put on a ring which I believe were charms because his friend had threatened  to hit my group members with charm, as he was getting very close I pushed him back. I never knew the school security were standing around that premises watching us the whole time and immediately they saw me push him, they didn't ask me anything they decended on me, hitting me with guns and firewoods. They asked me to enter into their vehicle, which I obeyed. They continued hitting me until we got to their security unit of the school. They asked me to come down and lay down on the floor and they got another big stick to hit me, so big that they had to use both hand 2 hold it. They continued hitting me with the stick and gun to the extent that the gun they were hitting me with got spoilt and the sticks also got broken in which they changed it simultaneously and it was like they were going to kill me that day.

They accused me of several things; they said I was  a cultist, that I was not a student and that I was disturbing the peace of the school. I was able to defend myself in all these false accusations. They asked me to stand up and write a statement of what happened which I did, afterwards, they asked me to explain the event verbally to the administrative staffs at the security base. They were all quiet after I was done talking, they pleaded with me and asked me to forget all that had happened. They returned my phone that was seized initially and asked me to go.

I was wondering why they didn't touch the guy who was obstructing my way into the cab. I got to find out that he's one of them. They call themselves (security) OPC and the guy is a student OPC, that is why they didn't touch him. 

It is not the first time they have  brutalised students in this manner. They have been doing it and getting away with it but I thank God for my classmates who stood by me to say no to this and are making effort to let the world know what is going on. 

I am into security too and I  believe the ethics of the job is to make peace and and hand over people with serious cases to the police, not to take laws into thier hands by beating up people.
These guys are illiterates, they are always high on drugs, and they are bullies. I have never had a reason to fight anybody in school, I  have never wrong them before, I'm not a cultist, I am not a trouble maker. I have proves to all ofthese. 

Two days after this incident happened, the school had it matriculation ceremony. The Association Of Mass communication  Student's General Secretary was sent on an assignment to cover the matriculation of the newly admitted  students for a forthcoming magazine that will be produced by the student in print class of HND2 masscomm. The Gen sec. and his crew were  taking shots and recording. All of a sudden, the assistant CSO spotted him and said 'you are a stallite!' he didn't demand for an explanation from him, the assistant CSO held him by the trousers and slapped him before asking what he came for.... we don't feel safe anymore in mapoly".

77 comments:

GHOSTFACE said...

the school sug shud stand for the student tho

Mapoly linda����

It's well

Touching.

You look like someone that have a very bad mouth so I choose not to feel sorry for you

Billy said...

O'men the guy structure be like cartoon

Schools are supposed to be breeding grounds for civilization, but the barbaric things that happen in schools are beyond me!

The way at which the security guys treat students in D school tho!

Virgin of steel said...

Animals in Nigeria, don't worry Linda will dash u 2m to treat your wounds

This is terrible ....this can never and have never happened in my school ...what kind of insolence is that ..having illiterates as security guards who does not even know what security conduct is ...and this people they call OPC ...their own is just too much ...we are civilized and socially on a very high upgrade now and don't need some hunter from the village who got bathed with charms and what not as secueities to a community of well advanced and innovative students ...I wonder why OPC is not checking in with boko haram!!!

***Nice says so*** via Nokia Convertible

The way those security guys treat D students at the school is a different thing entirely

Virgin of steel said...

Animals in Nigeria, don't worry Linda will dash u 2m to treat your wounds

Na wa oo,this life self

Thank God you are ok.

All I see is a guy with potential big dick ..Fine boy what your number

Okay.
Will read leta.

Kpele ooo and speedy recovery.

Huuu,nawa o,the sch authority shld do something asp.

na wah ooo, student OPC i have never hear such thing before.

Tina said...

Awwwwa Pele dear

Hmmm! Na wa o. When the people that are meant to protect turn around to become d threats, I wonder what students will do.

Na una sabi..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

That is the school I graduated from,, all this guy said is true,, while I was in HND1,,I had similar issue with the illiterate security,, (they can't speak English),,they slap me and handcuff me to their van..i paid 2k on that day before they allow me go.. (They said is money for boiz)..the students of that school are not save.. This security guys are OPC n they have guns..I want to be anonymous for some reasons.

Hian! Nna na wa o! God go help una. Linda take note!

Engee said...

Don't the school have sug? Sug should be fighting for the interest of the whole students. School security my black ass..

Sipping my hennessy

Hmmm...datz my problem wit all dis student security stuff

thank you for saying "Fateful" and not "faithful" day. I hope you get justice

I was a student in that school, I studied Mass Comm. too. This guy really described how these security people behave. They are always high on drugs(mariguana/opa eyin),they always exploit the vulnerable students and I can boldly say that they encourage and support cultists. Though I wasn't a victim of their bullies but I'd witnessed several in my days. Was always respected as one of the bigboys in campus- maybe because they saw me as such but all na packaging! However, I was never for once agreed or liked the way they carry out their modules of operandi. Lol...somebody must get justice for this guy.

chyyy said...

The sch authority should investigate this matter.

It's MAPOLY not Manopoly...

The brutal is too much. I pray that justice will be done. OPC if na thief u guys will not see that one. But wait guy dis ur so call group better refrain from it.

Sad

Wow.... Sorry abt that

LIB PIKIN said...

This is serious. And this is now happening in almost all the universities. Atimes I ask myself why whites won't reFer to blacks as animals cos Many of us don't behave well at all. How can u start beating someone in this manner? With sticks and guns...are u beating an animal???? And it's so humiliating that the scumbags called school security are uneducated set of idiots that are apparently always high on drugs and alcohol. Honestly schools should find a solution to this cos I don't see any reason why a total illetrate should have such privilege as to maltreating undergraduates all in the name of protecting the school. All these things go wrong yet the main subjects (cultists) kill and dump students everyday, how many times have they caught them? The heartbreaking thing is that most of those security are cultists.

thats mapoly for u. a skl where d rector chooses d SUG govt and not d student. thank GOD i graduated already

Hehehhe....na witch de worry them

the SUG r chosen by d rector. dey usually conduct election when d students r on holiday. we whld resume to see d surprise

adeleke said...

its True guys.. thats school its nothing else with the security guys.. i finish from that school..

NA SO THEM GO THEY USE SECURITY THEY COVER THERE CRIME. JUST OBSERVING

This guy am seeing is troublesome , maybe he biten more than he chew

Vela said...

Those incharge have to do something to stop molesting the innocent ones. It's not good news @ all

StfU!

Tina Collins said...

The school authority shldn't over looked dis issues and sweep the matter under d carpet pretending it nthing... D students shld b protected at all cost

david agbogun said...

Too bad!

lol. 😁 chai! the kind of comment I read on this blog. smh

But you fine she....... Ladies......take note..... Sorry for what happened to you

Why d babaric Act.. Such indisipline

This Stern guy is crazy... Lol

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Which kin killer beating be dis? People wicked o!

I graduated from this sch in 2010, throughout my days in this sch I cant sleep with my two eyes closed. These so called securities are type 1 illiterate, OPC, ready to beat u to death if care not taken. I went to the bank to collect my HND form, but when i got to the sch micro finance bank, my money was not completed so i had to turn back to withdraw more cash, to my surprise these people just arrested me that why am i taking teller out of the bank. in which if u go to the commercial banks, they can give u the whole teller booklet. I was took to the rectors office, locked for several hours with serious weeping. whereas i just left my working place to obtain HND form. Everybody were just looking for me. these people have maltreated lots of students which have caused their orientation and academic focus to change. they deserve superior authory attention.

God will figth for u. Linda see to that case

Sorry for wht happen

Justice must be

Stern stern seriously u 're clown theirs a blood stain in ur skull...can't stop laughing.

stern you go kill person here oooo. the poor guy they expect make u feel sorry him , rather you dey condemn him.lol

They are always like that,always high on some kinda of grass,,The school authority should better do some that this rubbish before it becomes worst than it is already.

Lolz

Akuko ifo

JAGABAN said...

You are a coded cultist..Nothing is hidden under the sun..They left the other boy because they saw how you chanced him and used force..We are not Nigerians that APC fooled,we are PDP that APC can't fool...Go and treat yourself and worry about tomorrow cos 9ja is finished

OMG.... Lol

They are always like that,always high on some kinda of grass,,The school authority should better do some that this rubbish before it becomes worst than it is already.

emeka4rl said...

this was MAde in Nija!

One little action said...

It is quite unfortunate that a country as big as Nigeria that is considered as the giant of Africa, actuually habors the most inhuman creatures. We are tagged as one of the most religious countries in the world, yet we seem to think it's ok to beat up people at the blink of an eye. Whether or not this guy was in the wrong, no one deserves to be treated in that manner. even a hardened criminal ought not to be treated in that manner. It is high time we the youths realise that the stone age ended thousands of years ago. Translation, if someone commits a crime, you call the police. If a girl or boy is caught still in the market, you call the police. you don't strip them naked. that's barbaric. If a student disobeys the laws in a school, you report to the disciplinary dept, you don't beat them up. and the passerbys that see these things happening and don't call the police, are just as quilty as the perpetrators. Even a secondary school graduate ought to be civilized enough to know that taken a law into your hands means that you are a criminal also. The reason why the state exist is to maintain law and order. if the general public were supposed to do that, then there shouldn't be an existence of these agencies.
Our lifestyle is not doing us any good, so lets change. If you see people taking the laws into their hand, don't act like its non of your business, cos one day it will be ooo. Call the police or take your time to go to their office and report. When you keep riding on the back of a lion, one day when it finds nothing else to eat, it'll turn back and eat you. So don't wait until you'll be in the situation. who know, one day they might be chasing a thief who might unfortunately be wearing the same outfit as you. You'll be dead before you get to say it was a mistake. No one deserves to be treated like an animal.
Please, lets emancipate ourselfs from illitracy, ignorance and mental slavery. This is the 21st century

Dear Readers, I have read with keen interest the story and comments above, hence this comment. The story is incomplete as the overzealous security man was immediately suspended and later sacked. There was an inquiry into the matter and has since been fired by the Polytechnic Management. There has also been a news release in that regard where it is clearly stated that the Polytechnic does not condone such acts.

starshine said...

Hmmm it's well oo. Na only God go help us

You are very foolish for saying that. We have been course mate since nd1. I know him to b a reserve, peaceful and jovial person. U should have seen what the class did when they heard it was him the security brutalise. They were ready for a serious protest all for his sake, knowing the kind of person he is.... Do u think if he wouldn't have taken laws into his hands if he were a cultist or probably harm thoes security guys outside the school. There are several witnesses to this. Be careful and think before you make stupid and foolish comments like this

You are saying rubish. Did u read his story?

I finished from Mapoly and wat happened to this guy was the order of the day wen I was der and we heard the school management was going to do smting abt it. It's shocking to hear it continued, OPC tins...dat guy said it all. @ Sulaimon Adebiyi (Tom Tom), I hope wat u said is nothing but the truth, u as a loyal comrade b4 u started working with the school authority should play fair. Thank God for avenues like this (Linda Ikeji and other medium) as a lot have died in silence and in physical which never got to social media...Justice must prevail, UP AMACOS, Great Nigeria Student, Victoria Asante

the management wont do anything about it but i hope the governor help

I attended mapoly,d sch security has always bin dat way.most of dem did nt even go tru ani form of training. Sorry for dat young man.hope d guys who did dis mess will be dealt wit.

Mr PRO
Pr is based on truth bt why deceiving the world. Mind u dis not propaganda but a total lie.
I'm a student of the polytechnic and nothing is being done.
We are still seeing those security that beat him.
Sir, go back and do you home work and come back with the truth.
@Mr Adebiyi

for why naa MAPITES..... i pray none of dis guyz don't fuck with me inside school premises cos the day we get to meet outside..... its all over for "HIM"

Is this how best you could write? Or it was because you were bittered by the story up there?

You want to be anonymous cuz you're scared of the unknowns....abi? Even after school, you're still scared! You must be a cult member(past or present)

You have all my respect!

This is what I preach everyday, everywhere.
Nigerians forget that AN INJURY TO ONE IS AN INJURY TO ALL. We need to be our brothers' keeper.

Don Smith said...

One has to be very careful in that kind of an environment.

Is your income not good enough, are you unemployed , or a student ?4Corners is giving everyone great opportunities to make huge income. Come work smartly with us and make your money.
For more details WhatsApp me on ...08104982994