Jada's boycott of the Oscars worked a little, this year's show saw lowest ratings in 8 years! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 March 2016

Jada's boycott of the Oscars worked a little, this year's show saw lowest ratings in 8 years!

Jada Pinkett-Smith and a few others called for the boycott of this year's Oscars over black actors being shut out for a second year in a row. The boycott and hoopla that followed words from aggrieved black entertainers may have worked because according to reports, this year's Academy Awards Show saw their lowest ratings in eight years.

They managed to pull in more than 34 million viewers but it was lower than their previous 8 shows...

41 comments:

Yes I was thereπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Chris rock,eat your heart out!

That's cool. Powerful Jada. More Instagram followers for you

Very good,hope Oscars learn a hard lesson!

The reason they even got this number of viewers was because of Leonardo d caprio. Cos so many pple were rouding for him. If now it wud hv been lower

Poco Poco said...

Chris Rock smiling to the bank. wetin concern am?

APPLELIPX said...

Yeahhhh...
My magic mike mistress voice made a difference

Good.Next time avoid the Oscars completly

Kayode Odusanya said...

Will and Jada are powerful in the black community, as well loved by a lot of white people, so I am not surprised. Plus, Re. Al Sharpton had a protest on the same issue, just outside the venue of the Oscars, so that would have also affected their ratings.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Serves them right..they gon learn

Nice one, way to go.
#BlackLivesMatter

That's their cup of brukutu.

#LibBadBoy

Noticed.

FORGET THE JOB SEARCH!!! GIVE US UR HEAD FOR 6 WEEKS, WE'LL GIVE U 3D ANIMATION+VFX FOREVER!!!

Good for them

It worked... Hope they do right thing nxt year

..... No to racism......

She never walk alone! Linda take note!

I support it. Alot of black actors and actress deserve the oscar

When you don't take the issue of racism seriously then that's what you get.

keke driver said...

So we're important ba?

How I make good money from home without much ado.
Follow the link to find out. http://cashpackets.com/invite.php?ref=66450

LINda IKEJI'S FIANCE said...

Blacks are the ones killing themselves. This is a good development. How would a film like Concussion not be given a nomination.

I hope this fair people will learn more lesson

tollyjems said...

It's done though

chommy said...

Very well. Linda observe!

Jay said...

The drop in ratings may not be attributable to Jada and co's boycott but due to the Academy's decision to select Chris Rock as host. Chris is as funny as cancer.

I can understand the disrespect. For black entertainers but I think jada was selfish about it.i bet she may not have bothered if it didn't affect her hubby.where was she all these years?did will just started acting yesterday?if you want to fight,fight for the race,not for your family.

The struggle continues

OK...Oscars and naira drop unparallel

The smile on this "sell out" is appalling.
To see that oscar ad or wateva depicting a black man cld decieve the gullible in believing it is an all encompassing academy board or efent..foolish racist jim crow hugging retards..
#chris rock must b remembered as a jusas..

Chief Priest/Chancellor
Anonymous University
Block 1,Boys quarters A
"Eductation without school fees"

Very myopic opinion...
Who else on diz planet that is black that has the star power to condemn d systemic racism of the american film industry like the smith...personal or not,they have d clout to embarass d oscars n d did

PEOPLE SHOULD GETTHEIR FACTS RIGHT AND UNDERSTAND BEFORE MAKING ALL KINDS OF MYOPIC COMMNETS. IS IT A MUST THAT A BLACKPERSON WINS? WHAT IF THE BLACK ACTORS DIDN'T DO WELL? BESIDES CAUCASINA AND BLACK THERE ARE OTHER RACES OUT THERE (HISPANICS, ASIANS).THEY CAN EQUALLY MAKE AS MUCH NOISE ABOUT THE OSCARS. JADA'S MOVES EEM KINDA BIASED, BUT IF THE WHITE ACTOR ACTED WELL, GIVE HIM THE GODDAMN OSCAR. IT'S NOT PDP NATIONAL CHARACTER. EVERYONE MUST NOT BE INVOLVED. THIS IS WHERE BLACK PEOPLE FAIL TO GET THINGS RIGHT. DON'T GET IT TWISTED, WILL SMITH DID A GOOD JOB, SO DID OTHER BLACKS, BUT SOMEONE ELSE DID A BETTER JOB. YOU CAN'T SOLVE WHAT YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND. THERE IS NO ESCAPE!!!!

True

Seen,

That isn't true!!! Since years the Grammy, super bowl and Oscar are losing viewers because people have other problems than looking at others making more money.

Gud for dem.

Jude Akinwole said...

Their wahala jare.

achmed said...

Yeah.true