Nigerian graduate Uyo Ukonne missing in New Jersey since Sunday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 1 June 2014

Nigerian graduate Uyo Ukonne missing in New Jersey since Sunday

22 year old Nigerian man Uyobong Ukonne (pictured above) has been missing in New Jersey since last Sunday May 25th after drowning on a rafting trip with friends on the Delaware River, police say.

Uyo, who had just graduated from New Jersey City University with a degree in chemistry, had been rafting down the river at 1pm with friends when he took off his life jacket and jumped into the water to swim. His friends say after he went into the river, he surfaced once, sank again and disappeared.

His friends said he'd told them he wasn't a good swimmer before attempting to swim in the 20-foot, cold river (pictured right). Police say search & rescue began almost immediately but he wasn't found.

Since Sunday divers have been combing through the river foot by foot searching for Uyo, who is now presumed drowned, Joe Hinkes, the chief ranger of the Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River said.

Uyo had lived in the US for just six years. See his Facebook page HERE 

71 comments:

I pray they find him alive.

That's quite a strange story....

* My R1.50c comment *

Hmm Mysterious.Some inner voices can kill.

Pretty girls . RIP. Your murderer will be captured #hopefully.

VIA TECNO B3

Why allow him swim,when he told u guys he is not a gud swimmer? God knows why u guys drown him...ndi obi ojo.
Jennipukka

sumtin bad shudnt happened to him oooo.... mayGod protect him

Ubok Abasi! Hw can he take off his life jacket and dive into the River, knowing he cldnt swim. Hmmm Ifod ke di, no 2 ways abt it. They shld come and chck akwaibom River weda as he disappear from der he don appear 4 Naija. Chai. Winsh ppl

What is wrong with Nigerians students abroad,everyday unpleasant news ->>I Just pray Uyo Ukonne is alive.

VIA TECNO B3

vincentia said...

Nawa oooo everything is jst missing dis year

Oh...I wish he is alive but y would he do that when he knows fully well he can't swim?we have to be careful with the things we do.

B.I.G said...

God will bring him back wher ever he is. Dat's vry sad. Hppy Birthday 2 me........ Special thanks 2 almighty God 4 his wonderful deeds upon my life. Shout out 2 my late wonderful mum wher ever she is cos God gave her the strenght at the labour room & 2 hav a grown man 2day. I wipe she's not at my side anymor 2 eat the fruit of her labour afta her years of suferin. God be praise alwys cos he knws the best

#King said...

Hmmmm..nawa oo..D guy don die naa.....................#KingOfKings

This story doesn't make sense. Why would he jump in the water without his life jacket knowing he can't swim? Water rafting waters are usually very buoyant. Has foul play been ruled out?

Dontknwwhattosay....

Mehn the dude don die nobi say dem say...

20foot river n yet still missing? A beg make dem questions dose friends well. That's not normal cos if he drowned by now his body shld be afloat.

Tpy said...

Mumu he has been underwater since sunday. Wat Do u think?

I suspect he was murdered. #Glophil

May said...

Lind Ikeji Abeg there's more to this story! The Police should interrogate he so called friend, Let them take a Lie detector test and see if dey'll pass *hisses*

He was a nice guy, used to see him around campus he would always speak...very polite, and very smart didn't seem like the type to do something so risky

Hmmmmm! People like u na lm dey carry last for class, cos u don't read u prefer to copy 4rm people,

Adaobi said...

Hmmm.....dis missin cases lately. I no understand oh.

Choi!hys d only son n hys fam,hys sis â„“̊s n uniuyo!choi e mama don cry tire n dey dnt really knw wah really happnd 2hym oh,hys parent stay n ma area God pls let dem find hym alive...

I smell a big rat.Every Nigerian is an orphan,we are without fathers & mothers.The whole world has known that our government does not offer any protection to it's citizens,We are vulnerable to all sorts of attacks,dangers and molestations.That is what children with weak parents suffer.Charity,they say begins at home.

Hmmm. Pls let dem find him

Chioma Jennifer said...

Omg..I pray they find his body

I smell hate crime here. And when such happens no one tends to snitch. Even the security authorities will cover up the sh*t in a way. May God help Us All as no one knows when it will bé. It is not only in naija that bad things happens.

The signs are everywhere, Nigerians need to come home.

Fine guy...I just want to believe that he's still alive, God please we need ur miracle in this case.

""Na water spirit thingz. Mdem na him carry am"" He was possessed by the spirit of the water, otherwise he could a just graduated man, who knew he could swim,pull off his life jacket and jump inside river?? "You be jonah ni?? Abi u wan go nineveh??

So the blame game starts. Why the heck did he take off his life jacket in the first place. Obviously he wanted to die. Call off the search, he's inside the crocodile's tummy.

Story doesn't make sense. The truth will surely prevail IJN.

halimsy said...

I pray the find him amin o

Wat must have happened to him?

You just echoed my thots. I suspect foul play .

The body of missing Nigeria graduate of New Jersey university has been found in the Delaware River, May his soul rest in peace Amen...

And why didn't his so called friends make any attempt to rescue him, r they daft? Mtcheeew!

Wetin d guy dey find abt for christ's sake... Wen dey get thr, dey forget dey av lovd ones at home dat wuld b afected if anytin bad hapens to dem... May God av mercy

kidykuz said...

Oga how can he b alive na........how zit possible?

Proudly Bini said...

Na wa o. This is what bini people will call ASUA. See fine boy....

Na lie.....those wicked Onyibo boys have killed him.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

BBD my brother. It's well I share in your pain. Been there too..

Na wa for you o! Pretty girls? Murderers? You don't deserve your internet service biko

God have mercy o another person is dorodrowned dis year everything is just doromissing

I dont just believe this story...knowing fully well he couldn't swim, ion see y he wud pull dat stunt..#Nora

dat was my classmate at secondary school. Feeling xo sad

Jude OIWA said...

Prof miss Some Inner. Voices. Can kill. hw? WtF do. U mean?

Bony bony said...

Hope he is safe

ANYA IKENGA said...

Really? He is not fish.

I smell something fishing. They killed him and bury him in the woods and then lie to the police that he cud n0t swim but then take Out his life jacket, that is a big fat lie

Use common sense, he just gave the crocodiles a happy meal. Nothing will be found there.

Pretty girls? Which murderer?? Guy u sniff curry??

Now u gonna blame Boko Haram. U need to understand that when these kids to abroad they become different people from who they are at home.

They won't, crocs eat everything.

Now u gonna blame Boko Haram. U need to understand that when these kids to abroad they become different people from who they are at home.

@Anya,Must u drop a comment?wats dat supos to mean'really?He is not a fish'..u b mumu,stay out of dis blog if u dnt av anytin meaninful to write..smh

America #bring back our boy oooo h!

Buhahahahaha!!!!! Some people obviously don't read.

God help us oo, evriday one story or d other abt nija kids dying abroad na by force to live there?

It's happen like that in my state serveral times be4. The person sometime'll appeared alive or dead' I pray that he should return alive. Amen.

Dt young man can't take dt kind of risk,d only son for dt mata.I know him too well to do dt.he wasn't a good swimmer,dey must av pushed him n let him drown.wicked oyinbo pple

Lollllll pretty girl? Murder? Someone is clearly drunk

i pray they find him alive
healthy & sound

Meaning ! Some inner voices meaning inner voices like temptation. Wtf she means

Lord let ur will be done. Uyo shal be found

Amarachukwu,dem no tell us say he get gills so the possibility of finding him alive is zero

Come home to what exactly ?? An endless cycle of unemployment , poverty , poor healthcare , poor infrastructure , no electricity and running water , pot holes , poor education system . Please tell me what they are coming home to

Mami water don carry am away b dat

It a pity he had 2 do dat but why?but I'm suspectin fool play

I want to thank you all for all your prayers and voices of reasoning. However the die is cast. Uyo's body had been recovered almost after a week. The burial is scheduled for Saturday June 7, 2014. I will attend because I am involved. May His gentle soul RIP.