Video: Lady who got infected with HIV after being gang-raped tells her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 June 2014

Video: Lady who got infected with HIV after being gang-raped tells her story

The lady who was gang-raped in January 2014 in the Bariga area of Lagos while heading to work around 5.30am, has shared her story. She said she ran medical tests after the attack and found out she had been infected with the HIV virus. She said the gang hang around Odunsi and Idumota Streets of Bariga, lurking around to prey on innocent girls. Watch her share her story. Video courtesy SaharaTV.

78 comments:

player no 1 said...

My advice, Pls don't infect others with the AIDS.. I'll watch the video later, need some sleep

Chai it's a pity

ADULT JOKES said...

Justice must be done. Very sad story.

Awwww! What a cruel world.
Her story is so heart rendering, found it hard watching it.
I pray she finds the closure and solace she needs at this trying moment.

keji said...

Eeyah
.....Pele....

Eyaaaa

Onyeka F! said...

Really heartbreaking indeed!!! I wish I could just shoot those guys!! These are the kinds that need jungle justice!!!

NA WA O O O O O O O O O O O O !
CHEI!!!!!!!!.
I'M SPEECHLESS .MY DEAR,If THIS IS HOW IT ALL CAME DOWN,BELIEVE IN GOD HE WILL WASH YOU CLEAN,YOU MUST BE HEAL IN JESUS NAME,PRAY DEAR,SOON THE NEXT TEST WILL SHOW NO HIV.YOU MUST MARRY AND BEAR CHILDREN AND LEAVE FOR TRANSITION THE RIGHT TIME GOD WROTE FOR YOU,NOT MAN-MADE OR SICKNESS FROM ANY BEAST.

THOSE BOYS WILL NOT DIE,THEY WILL BE ALIVE AND BEG FOR DEATH BCOS OF THE PAIN AND EVIL THAT WILL MANIFEST IN LIFE.IT SHALL BE WELL WITH YOU SISTER.

Wat a sorry case, may God help you out my dear. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Dear God please may this girl get justice please.

Ijanyi mitch said...

Hmmmmm, so sad, those bastards should be raped too, sodmised and left to rot, smh so sad

Did she just run the test?

It's sad but it's not a death sentence. Appropriate medication will help her and keep her well. Asides all that, God still heals! Stop the pity people, pray the BEST for her. It is well

Daily diet tv said...

This is preposterous to say the least. Had me almost had me in tears. In as much as i do not have a sister, my heart felt for her. Hope the bastards get the punishment they deserve. -THE BADOO OF UK.

Govt me should arrest the guys and let them serve the jail terms

this is bad, why people are heartless?

Bimmy said...

This is really sad. God will help you dear.

Sad,sad story! Some men are animals though!

Someone should pls teach me how to watch video hear@mercy sexy mama pls

TrimAndHealthyGuy said...

I hate to hear this kind of story because I have yet to hear of any rapist apprehended and made to face the full weight of the law....I guess thats why they do this evil with glee.I advice the lady to go for a recheck at a more sophisticated hospital because some of these roadside "labs' sometimes make serious flaws.They can use expired reagents,introduce foreign bodies into specimens and also employ lazy workers.Let rapists be punished.

Damn!

CHIKITO said...

I HOPE THE SHAMELESS AIDS-INFESTED GUYS HAVE BEEN ARRESTED BEFORE MAKING THIS INVESTIGATION PUBLIC? i REALLY FEEL FOR THE HELPLESS GIRL, JUST START YOUR ANTIRETEROVIRAL MEDICATIONS, GOOD THING U FOUND OUT ON TIME. BE STRONG DEAR, TAKE COURAGE, U'LL BE FINE.
AND PLS LINDA WE CAN USE THE POWER OF SOCIAL MEDIA/UR BLOG TO ENSURE THOSE AIDS-INFESTED GUYS ARE EXPOSED WITH THEIR FACES SO THEIR GIRLFRIENDS WILL KNOW AND GO CHECK THEIR HIV STATUS!!!! AND AFTER THAT THEY GO TO JAIL!

Player no1. You are a very insensitive & inconsiderate idiot. The lady is going through a very difficult time & you saying rubbish. I pray it happens to your close family member very soon so u can understand her plight. Mscheww

MECURY said...

God will see u through !

DOBY DOBY said...

Kai. . Soooo sorry. . Pls govt or al dis top politicians or rich pple shld jus console her.. it myt help her psychologically

D 9th I read dz story cudnt sleep,my dear u can still live ur dream,May d God of all comforts comfort u..keep praying its possible 4d virus 2 vanish,its well wt u*fashionista LeOnOrA*

Ladies pls move around with a sharp object on ur bag when u have to move ay odd hours.

Emperor said...

Madam, u get infected after 6 months of transmission of d virus. Dis story is filled with lies wey dey smell. U must've gotten from some1else and don't give us false yans here!

BONARIOS BABY said...

I read her prev story,I was so sad throughout that day. No1 deserves to be raped I don't even wish my worst enemy such.its a life time trauma smthg u can never forget in a hurry.. I pray this girl finds peace within herself..

Godof healer will heal u

Kpele

Justice must be done.

U're very very stupid for this ur stupid comment idiot, no sympathy for d sirloin sef. Abeg who asked u to comment @ anony 11:53. HOEloshi!

so sad...........

God will help u

It's really a sad one but just always remember God will neva rest in ur case so sori dear...

ifenkie said...

Pls whenever u r exposed 2 d virus, b it rape or needle prick, visit a govt hospital immediately in less than 72hrs n complain 2 d doctor in charge of the HIV clinic so u can b given a PEP (Post Exposure Prophylaxes) in case d blood or fluid contains d virus. Dis helps 2 prevent d victim 4rm getting d virus. WITHIN 72HRS is d time it takes d virus 2 adapt (in simple language) After 72hrs, nothing can b done.

Dr. Ada said...

Now 2 anybody dat gets raped, go to a hospital preferably a big govt. Hosp nearby. Tell dem wot happened, u 'll be tested ryt away & given prophylaxis against HIV + contraceptives. Bikonu!

There is a window period of about 3-6months for hiv virus, window period meaning, tests are not likely to give meaningful results until that time. That's why its advised that we have hiv tests every 6months. Now, she was raped and immediately went to check and saw she was positive? Those things don't happen automatically, even bhcg, the pregnancy hormone has a window period, that's why a lady cannot tell if she's pregnant few days after sex. It won't show u anything until after atleast a week, sometimes more. Whatever the case, I feel really sorry for her. Its not the end of the world. She needs ALL the support she can get nw from family, because friends no be am. FLIPA

What a wicked nigeria.... This is really painfull no doubt....

Hmmmmmm.....its a pity sis...but its good you found out on time. do whatever you can to keep your immunity strong.

there is nothing impossible with God. seek Him.

give urselves brain said...

God wld heal u if u blv..it cld have been worse(for eg,most recently d victims in d latest bombing of Sir Shekau) B.H members dou; yeye damned souls...

Nawa ooooooooo.

Deb U said...

This is crazy!!! she should been administered with PEP within 72hrs after the rape that is if she was actually negative at the time of the rape and not wait till 3mths. Cases of rape should not be treated likely. must be reported promptly to the police.
Debbie

You are healed in Jesus name. Go for another test and put the devil to shame

Are you kidding me? So those that did the test actually told her to wait for 3 months before they can test her for HIV when they know by that time the virus can't be treated again? Now we complain about the government, did the government also tell her to wait for test? I'm not a medical practitioner but I know the virus can be treated within the first 72hrs if the incident and what these fools could tell her to do is wait for 3 months when what they ought do is treat her for the virus anyways. Lord have mercy

@Gbyte, June 4, 2014 at 8:49 AM- it is not really possible to cure HIV even at the earliest stage- HIV is a virus that multiples itself and can change shape/direction to defend itself if it comes under attack- that is why it is so difficult to cure but it is not impossible to treat and control the virus for sometime. My understanding of the story was that she was given drugs within 72 hours and was told to test for HIV in 3 months which was what she did. The gang may have infected her but they have also infected themselves too by the look of things

My dear hv faith u r heal in JESUS NAME AMEN.

Justice must prevail........u guys should 4gt dah plenty question ure askin d lady n take action!!! Nigeria una go end up not doin anything!

Sorry about d rape bu...t, what was her status b4 d rape? What test was done? When was d test done? Then, how did she dress dat morning?

Young ladi ve faith n God cox u re healed dat is if u ve faith nd do nt wori doz hu did dix will b put 2 shame,bt dix area dat d rape tuk place 4rm is a busi area o hw cum?

Story so heart breaking a cruel world we are.his not d end of the road girl yur dreams can still be achieve if yu csn just believe in yur self no matter what..don't worry about does ppl justice must prevail...

@Gbyte, are u alright? Who is kidding who? U showing ur lack of knowledge and having the guts to show it! Read more on HIV/AIDS!

Nice One! pls keep it up.

LUFI said...

poor girl. thank God for the bf o. God has given him a second chance to live right. i pray God will visit the girl too and restore her health. He's a merciful father!

-LuFi frm TRINIDAD-

Question! Learn to read and listen properly!!

May the healing from heaven rest upon you in Jesus ηαмє Amen!

this is very sad

What a pity,she should have had PEP(post exposure prophylaxis) asap following the rape,to prevent infection with HIV. I hope she finds courage n strength to lead a normal life again.

This reporter slow abeg asking question like Persin wey get dementia or short term memory loss. He's very foolish and Sahara report need to train him on how to interview traumatized victims. Even the female reporter was trying to point out his stupidity. The girl already said everything he went to keep on reiterating multiple times in her initial interview. The girl was very coherent and patient, may God heal and bring retributions to the criminals who attacked her

wow!!! and if she didn't go to work that day what the worst that could have happen... now the company is working ooo... Nigerians are suffering sha... to get proper accommodation in Lagos is just to expensive... the people working on the island live far from the island due to expensive accommodation.... traffic on the road is another thing due to bad roads... maybe companies should change the working hours from 9 to 10 am... to reduce any unnecessary risk!

I know that God will heal her, because it was no fault of hers, there is justice for every deed under the sun. Sometimes I wonder why men who were born of women will still have theb the guts to hurt women. Yesterday I watched a video of a man defiling a girl between 11 and 12 yrs of age. He pushed all his 5 fingers into her for over 15 minutes and the fool was busy fondling himself while the little girl was writhing in pains and was trying to push his hand out. I saw a girl whose life has been over before it began, a girl whose vagina has been widened even b4 child birth, and today I'm convinced that men are WICKED.

Adetola said...

This is so pathetic! So sorry dear

I hope u won't take it down on some innocent men.

Engr. said...

5:30am! When is the safest time to walk gaan?...Awon omo ale yen ti ya ji ni 5:30..dem suppose dey sleep by that time.. Nah only God fit protect sombody.. Itz so disheartening faa..no marra  justice,e don happen.

Sorri God wil heal u Amen

My dear your God will fight 4 u and the evil men will never go unpunished in Jesus Name. Amen

@player no 1, she knows better than to infect others with the virus...

Joe said...

It is well with you!

Stella WaAfrika said...

Oh dear! :(

Lorde Daniel said...

Hello o?... @ anon 4:53, you seriously need to chill, how can you wish such a thing on someone, if you have an idea of how horrible rape is, not to talk of "gang" rape, you would not be so quick to wish it on a person's family munber who has done nothing to you.

Sylvonce said...

Heartbreaking story! Trust me, they will never go unpunished. Take solace in God dearie

@Gbyte, are u alright? Who is kidding who? U showing ur lack of knowledge and having the guts to show it! Read more on HIV/AIDS!

@Gbyte, June 4, 2014 at 8:49 AM- it is not really possible to cure HIV even at the earliest stage- HIV is a virus that multiples itself and can change shape/direction to defend itself if it comes under attack- that is why it is so difficult to cure but it is not impossible to treat and control the virus for sometime. My understanding of the story was that she was given drugs within 72 hours and was told to test for HIV in 3 months which was what she
did. The gang may have infected her but they have also infected themselves too by the look of things

This is a reply to two comments saying HIV cant be treated within 72hrs, its either that you havent read about it because you are so busy on Linda's blog or you just wont take your time to read,I said something and you felt what I was saying is wrong, I believe you should atleast make a little research about it first before insulting me. Well. I have a link that can educate you people a bit, and I did not publish what is on the link.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2293789/HIV-cure-possible-patients-diagnosed-weeks-infection.html

http://www.healthboards.com/boards/hiv-prevention/826369-exposures-72-hours-less-pep-may-prevent-hiv.html

those are two links, go through them and get back to me to thank me

Gbyte said...

@Gbyte, June 4, 2014 at 8:49 AM- it is not really possible to cure HIV even at the earliest stage- HIV is a virus that multiples itself and can change shape/direction to defend itself if it comes under attack- that is why it is so difficult to cure but it is not impossible to treat and control the virus for sometime. My understanding of the story was that she was given drugs within 72 hours and was told to test for HIV in 3 months which was what she
did. The gang may have infected her but they have also infected themselves too by the look of things

This is a reply to two comments saying HIV cant be treated within 72hrs, its either that you havent read about it because you are so busy on Linda's blog or you just wont take your time to read,I said something and you felt what I was saying is wrong, I believe you should atleast make a little research about it first before insulting me. Well. I have a link that can educate you people a bit, and I did not publish what is on the link.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2293789/HIV-cure-possible-patients-diagnosed-weeks-infection.html

http://www.healthboards.com/boards/hiv-prevention/826369-exposures-72-hours-less-pep-may-prevent-hiv.html

those are two links, go through them and get back to me to thank me

Amen o

Linda u get hot temper commentators here o

U obviously didn't read d previous story...insensitive cow! No makee ii take aids curse u ! Mscheew