UK deports Nigerian woman seeking asylum in the UK over fears her daughters would be circumcised here | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 June 2014

UK deports Nigerian woman seeking asylum in the UK over fears her daughters would be circumcised here

32 year old Afusat Saliu (pictured right) has been deported from the UK after a campaign to keep her in the country failed. There was a campaign against her deportation on the grounds that her two daughters, 4 and 2 (pictured above) face the possibility of female genital mutilation in Nigeria.

Afusat had fled Nigeria in 2011, claiming her stepmother had threatened to circumcise her first daughter. She was pregnant again at the time and claimed she feared her second daughter would also be subjected to FGM.

Afusat and her two daughters were arrested on May 28th by the UK Border Agency and although over 120,000 people signed a petition calling on the Home Office not to deport her, the campaign failed as the woman and her kids were put on a flight back to Nigeria yesterday June 4th.
"We consider every claim for asylum on its individual merits and in this case, the claimant was not considered to be in need of protection. The case has gone through the proper legal process and our decision has been supported by the UK courts on five separate occasions, while the European Court of Human Rights declined an application to halt the removal." UK Home Office said.
Afusat's lawyer said she's spoken to her since she returned to Nigeria and said Afusat is quite upset at being sent back and plans to continue fighting her case until she's allowed back in the UK.

97 comments:

DOBY DOBY said...

Hia.. deir wahala. . Deir ar many places to hide in nigeria nah

Welcome back!!!! Subjecting yourself to all kinds of humiliation because you wan stay abroad. Nonsense!!!

That's Uk for u, bunch of strict saddists. That's y Canada's everyone's dream country at d moment.

So na so u wan take enter uk be that? U shuld be deported jare, see reason na, I can't fit shout

She has two lovely daughters btw :)

CLASSIC BROGUE SHOES

The struggle is real, the struggle to escape from Nigeria.
People are even ready to leave coz of mosquito bite. Afisat don't worry your case is now known dear, nobody will circumcise your daughters.

Ehyaaa... Feeling bad 4 her sha...

Welcome home ma,hopefully your stepmum must have finally lost interest in you & your daughters already.Kai but this woman smart o,UK was the only place she could run to.Whatever happened to other parts of naija

MECURY said...

Welcome bk. There are gud schools in Nigeria if u do not know.

Stupid woman! People go just dey lie anyhow without sense.

She had beta sit her ass down here nd take proper care of her children.

Nonsense! !! This woman wants to falsely and forcefully stay in the UK by spoiling our name. Idiota.

Welcome back my sister, home sweet home. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Lammy Sweet said...

Are there no Agencies here in Nigeria to protect her interest? Jand sweet gan. Who wan come bak naija when bokoharam they blow everywhere

Get on with it. That's an old lie...

At last she is home lets see how govt will help her protect dis kids...

na by force to go UK? they don't wantyou there, stay in your own country. these stupid nigerians sef,...very useless people.#genital mutilation by force in nigeria? bloody liar!!!

claudia said...

FGM is not an issue in Nigeria. Hospitals don't do it again so, find another story but before then you better settle down here and be useful to yourself and kids. Assylum ko!

LEGACY said...

She would have seek asylum cus of the incessant bombing,raping and other sick things happening in naija. Everyone wana use evry posibl means run away shaa

hmmmmmmm. too bad

Pele o!

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Does it maen that all the girls here a circumsiced or what,

This is what happens when you listen to stupid advisers!people push you and you allowed yourself to be pushed,forgetting that the ukba doesnt grant papers anyhow.She was in the country for less than 3 years and making noise,

halimsy said...

Lie Lie!! She see say she dey enjoy for uk she know one come suffer for naija mumu stupid woman

Face your problems n don't run away from them.

Who is circumcision her? She is lookn 4 a reason 2 stay in d UK, stay back here joor

Naija till I die,am going no where
##################GOD punish#################devil

she no get case joor,make she look for better reason.since she doesnt want it and her step mum does,she should therefore ban her step mum from seeing her girls or report to appropriate authorities her step mum intentions.

OMG! the lie Nigerians will tell to stay abroad...bish stop lying! I have a lot of frnds who did not circumcise their daughters. no 1 circumcises their daughters anymore.

Seyifunmi said...

Why dosnt she want her gels 2b circumcised?

welcm home jor

They say life is hard in d UK and the same pple are fighting hard to remain there. Who do we believe nau.

Maggie said...

...and where is the Father?

What a stupid reason to flee from her country. She deserve to flog sef...lol

She has a right to determine whatever happens to her kids? Where is her husband self?

CoolDiva speaks!

Lie lie woman. Sorry you are not as lucky as others. Welcome home

FGM is a very serious issue in Nigeria! The girl child is at risk of so many problems if fgm is carried out on her! U can imagine a woman without clitoris n labia! In a serious case they suture the V leaving a little hole! All these barbaric practices should be abolished! The Govt nNGO's should please do something!

Olori Jojo said...

Welcome back

Dee Tee said...

... hahahaha. what an excuse for seeking asylum.. hahaha

Hmmmmmm!!!!! All dis issues still boil down to poverty. May God help us all

MISSPERFECT said...

Is this why u left ur country madam?well give us a reasonable excuse,be u who,u can't force me to cercumcise my own child I carried 4 nine months what a fuck?

occupy nijja said...

Is there nothing Nigerians wont say for asylum ?.My dear nobody will force u to circumcise your daughters just say u don't want to stay in the rotten system for which i cant blame u.

If u want a good life, pursue a good life. Don't go tainting the image of a country to get it. So her mother in-law threatened to circumcise her daughter and she ran to UK? What happened to Ghana or the police? Where is her husband?

LINDA SERIOUSLY... "THE LAWYER SAID HE IS GOING TO FIGHT TILL SHE IS ACCEPTED BACK INTO THE UK...IT JUST SHOWS LIES AND BEING DESPERATE..BABE, TRY SOME OTHER COUNTRY... MOZAMBIQUE IS FREE...

Elizabeth O said...

Welcome back to Oshodi lol.

Illiterate!

Don't mind her. Why not run to another state in Nigeria.

Igwe Osita One said...

This woman is a liar and deserves to be flogged!

Absolute balderdash! That's how they spoil Nigeria's image abroad. She doesn't even look like someone who will consider circumsition a great hazard, let alone flee the country for that reason.

Good job UK!

welcome back afusa....and don't tarnish the image of your country just because you want to stay in UK ok ?

Maybe she should have used a better format like boko haram.......LMAO

Is Nigeria that Small!!! biko pls look for another excuse. that one na blatant lie.

My God.what kind of grammatical error is this.

This might be a lie but trust me,a lot of people do.

Thank you.a bonafide illiterate.

Seriously Hilary.nigerian police?lol

Eeyah come bk home and hide @ abeokuta

This babe na liar a very stupid liar.this is afusa that used to stay in ajegunle onipan with her witch mother iya nuru.no stepmother was threatening to circumcise her kid or kids,it's all cheap lies.the UK will not fall for such cheap lies you have to cook a strong story for them to consider you not this kind of story.go back to ajegunle with your kids funny enough the house your mother used witchcraft to manipulate the landlords to evict everyone is still there and empty so you are going to be the landlady.welcome back afusa and regards to deola your sister in whore business

Na waoooo

Welcome my dear some people never go uk bf bt u don used corner corner way go and stay for 3 yrs u have noting to lose jor

give urselves brain said...

dey better not stop in lag or abj...i hope d deportation takes her all d way to Borno den she wld see a good reason to seek asylum;yeye foul

Lolz. If lieing is to be a profession eehh, some people will do just great. Of all the states in nigeria,you didn't see where to run to. All the NGO's fighting the rights of women you didn't run to them. You just jump everybody run go UK!! And over ther pple believed your story. Is like this oyibo pple once you mention "human rights" nobody cares to ask questions again. Even if your claims are true how many authorities did you report to in nigeria and they didn't do anything before you ran outside. This why some pple remain frustrated in this life.instead of you to settle down,use the little money you have and work a better future for your kids,you want it on the fast lane. Chai!! Poor nigeria! :( ehe nile no n'uwa n'emezi nnor na naija. God go help us

yinka said...

Abeg UK help now.it nt becos of circumcision na nigeria wahala

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Nonsense excuse. Welcome home jare.

That's a lame excuse to wanna leave Nigeria, theirs enough protection by our laws here plus d myriad of agencies/NGO's that would readily offer her and d kids protection & if need be, shelter.

Smh..dats hw u peeps like laying curses on urslf witout knowing. When dey start rejecting ur visa application u'll den blame d poor satan. When d money comes, I hope u'll still count on ur words.

amos horla said...

Abeg wetin dey d uk sef. Av bin dia. Nothing special

FGM has ceased to be an issue long ago...for som1 to cite it as an excuse just to live abroad is degrading and should be a punishable offense.

It wasn't too long ago that Linda posted a dear lib letter of a woman who couldn't trust her husband and his family with her child for fear they might circumsize her. Genital mutilation is still a reality in some cultures. Her story isn't far fetched.

Flogged by who? Wicked Animal!

Don't mind them ojere! All these desperate nonsense women painting 'baboon colony' picture to Oyibos for the sake of staying abroad. FGM is not rampant in Naija anymore. Who get the time sef? Nah family members who never chop remain na in wan circumsize another person pikin? Liar liars oshi. I have girls and no one has ever asked of their circumcision when no be say nah dem born my children. Naijas can lie sha! Welcome home Afusat, go an sell market, people are making it here at home. And please also ask for forgiveness for lying on many people and country

You'ce been reading too many textbooks, wake-up to reality

Don't mind them ojere! All these desperate nonsense women painting 'baboon colony' picture to Oyibos for the sake of staying abroad. FGM is not rampant in Naija anymore. Who get the time sef? Nah family members who never chop remain na in wan circumsize another person pikin? Liar liars oshi. I have girls and no one has ever asked of their circumcision when no be say nah dem born my children. Naijas can lie sha! Welcome home Afusat, go an sell market, people are making it here at home. And please also ask for forgiveness for lying on many people and country

My dear sister Afusat, now you are back in Nigeria, give things a rest and relax joor! When you are of sight, you are out of mind as far as the UK government is concerned, which means they won't do anything to allow your case go ahead!

Nah lie jor, se ur step mother nah ur mother inlaw nii why must she insist. D kids belong to ur husband relations not ur step mum so is not possible biko....

He may be a policeman, we wouldn't know

It's people like you that come to Canada and abuse the system nonsense. We hard working Canadians will be paying for your welfare

Its well with us

Nice try.

Aces said...

Please, female circumcision does happen in Nigeria anymore na, except for rumours of calabar people still doing it and afusat saliu is not a calabar name, where is the father sef?

mahoney sucre said...

That's not an excuse

Florie said...

Na poverty cause this lie oo but not to worry people are stil surviving in Naija so you wil too.. Wish her al †̥ђε best

Hi Libers. This is off the post but I need unbaised truth about something that concerns my life. I have been in a relationship with my boyfriend for two years. We never had sexual intercourse until 4 months ago. The first time we had sex he was hard the first round, afterwards he didn't get had again. I thought it was because he was nervous, but would he be? This isn't his first time of having sex with a lady. We have sex few weeks after and it was the same thing, he couldn't get hard after the first round. The same thing happened again after a couple of weeks. I am really concerned about his one minute-stand, because we plan to get married in a few months. I know marriage is not all about sex but I have had sex before and it was pleasurable. Should I walk away to save myself from having an affair in future or should we invest our time at the hospital trying to make him last longer? Or is it simply no big deal to marry a minute man?

Girlfriend padi welcome back unfortunately he don marry.

I'm sure the person deliberately wrote that. If not na God go save am and she shall not be cicumcision in Jesus name. Amen. Lol.

Sharaaap, which yeye name Una get. Pls madam run back to UK for d sake of ur children. Naija no be am

She is an IDIOT for lying against Nigeria like that. Mtcheeeeew.

I pity you.see as u don swear for urself. Stay for Nija till you die na u sabi.

This lie doesn't cut it anymore nah. Lol

U r just a fool.....shallow brain

Thank u dts a good point.i ve seen people with no paper living good.Dont mind her she want d benefit.Instead for her to hide herself for 7yrs and later use her children to get it .she want to start claiming benefits

Many things are special.Im proud to be british

halake said...

Anon:12:31pm,I wondered too o.who get d time to monitor someone else's pikin for circumcision again.if you like sef don't circumcise your male child.

haters-slayer said...

guy chill nah,your so paind,and who are you?her husband?

It seems u dnt read comments very well b4 replying..pls read properly wat STERN said

Will u just shut ur trap u call mouth, 'we hard working canadians' who ask u, my friend go take several seat.. Nonsense..

Dis one na big lie