"I am not a thief, my problem is spiritual" - actress Yetunde Akilapa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 January 2014

"I am not a thief, my problem is spiritual" - actress Yetunde Akilapa

Upcoming Nollywood actress, Yetunde Akilapa was allegedly caught trying to burgle a house located at 16 Ibitoye Street, Magado, Lagos on Sunday, January 12. She was badly beaten by residents of the house and photos from the incident sent to the press. (Pictures above)

It was her second stealing incident in one year. In February 2013, the actress was involved in a home break-in incident in the Shomolu area of Lagos for which she was allegedly arrested, prosecuted and remanded at the Kirikiri Maximum Prison for six months. Just two months after she was released, she was caught stealing again. But Yetunde says she's not a Kleptomaniac, that her problem is spiritual.
"I am not a thief. I didn't steal anything. I dont know what is happening to me. I have every reason to believe my problem is spiritual. I can't even explain the circumstance I found myself. People should not ruin my life and career. I am fed up with life. I am not what people think I am. I have never been to Kirikiri Maximum Prison as alleged. God please help me out of this mess! As I am speaking with you now, I am in Ibadan, Oyo state seeking the face of God and I believe I would get out of this dilemma one day. I am not a kleptomaniac. I have not stolen anything" she told Encoimum magazine. Continue..

Yetunde was also rumored to have been banned from the Odunfa Caucus of the Yoruba Movie Industry, an allegation she refuted stating she had called her bosses and they said such a decision was never taken.  

She said 'There is nothing like that. When I heard that rumor, I called all my bosses, and they said there was nothing like that. So it's just a rumor. People are only interested in fueling issues because of my situation. Nobody banned me from acting".

Reacting to the ban allegation, Yomi Fabiyi who is a member of the Odunfa caucus spoke on behalf of the group. 
"My opinion is that the association has procedures. With the report highlighted on social media, it looked half baked. To me, half truth is worse than a lie. I want to believe if she was caught with stolen items, the items must have been stated. She said they found her with four keys and nothing suggest the keys fit into any of the doors there. The association would even have to investigate the matter, especially when the reporter seem to be filing his report on a third party account. If there was any ban whatsoever, where is the proof? Then who banned her from acting? The association does not condone crime in any form and will act on authentic information. So Yetunde Akilapa to me has not been banned, But that will be investigated if necessary" Fabiyi told Encomium magazine
Counsel to Yetunde Akilapa, Barrister Bosun Osifowora released a statement on the issues about Yetunde's theft story, her alleged Kirikiri prison detention as well as her ban from the Odunfa Caucus of the Yoruba Movie Industry.

His statement reads: 
"We write to expressly correct the impression that Yetunde Akilapa has been banned or suspended. She has not received verbal or written notice to that effect. Yetunde is sorry and remorseful that her name is involved in such things. She has very much regard for the industry and Odunfa Caucus, more reason she fights hard to always clear her name. It is ridiculous to suggest she wil be expelled when it is abundantly cleared that she has been cleared of any wrong doing but needs physical and spiritual help. There is no dignity fighting someone on the floor.
We also like to correct the following impressions:
* Yetunde was never in Kirikiri prisons during the first case. The matter was charged to court and bail application was granted  and condition met same day which the media was aware of. The case lasted three months and she attended court from home, not from custody.
* There was nothing like master key and on no account did the police say the keys found on her were compared to the key hole of the rooms in the hosue and it opened. Why are journalist feeding people with stories so untrue? They were her keys, just four pieces.
* On this second case, whoever broke the news lied. Yetunde was never accused of stealing. The accuser suspects she may have been sent to drop some fetish substance. Must lies sell stories?
* The case got a twist when in an effort to prove her innocence of diabolical intentions, she confidently stated she is a budding actress. One of the guys googled her name and found the previous story, hit her in a swift reaction, hence she fainted. The guy has since apologized.
* It was on this note that the police was informed and the matter was settled and it was abundantly clear her accusers were also at fault. One thing now led to another until it dawned on her, after public accusation she began to realize she is in the wrong place.
* We are all Africans, efforts are in top gear to find a lasting solution to this menace. She needs your prayers, not your persecution now.

128 comments:

awwwww! I feel for her.
I pray she gets the needed spiritual help.

Fuck your opinion said...

Too long. Let her go to TB Joshua.

Not spiritual. .. you are not just contented with what you have. I'm allergic to stealing. Pele anyways may God help you

IkwerreBoy said...

Recommendation go see TB Joshua.

Kleptomania!!! we knw !!find help biko !

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

All Dis long right up for Dis dirty looking soul sorry bt I'll pass. Next

Omaseee oooo,only God sees what we human can't see.we don't no who or what to believa anymore.olorun ako e yo ooo.

AnnMarie said...

She needs help, maybe she has mental issues

Folashade Idowu said...

Hummm who knows she could be right, that's why i don't judge. May God deliver you Yetunde In Jesus Mighty Name. Amen

Milly said...

Oh God please help this girl.

mmmm... Its only in Africa that everything is associated with the spiritual realm ..

http://www.enthrown.com

Na dem sabi o,hehe Linda dear I saw u on banky n Tiwa show,u look so beautiful.congrats dear I can see u going places.D sky is ur starting point IJN.perhaps who are ur gay friends u talked about.is it D****** hmmmmm

http://www.enthrown.com
all about stories...

Shyla said...

Mehn! See serious damage control tinz. She should get to the root of her problem cos her problem might be right under her nose. Her PR try but them no try well. Kai!!well, I don de double lock and bolt my doors and gate for d estate oh. I no get power fight any thief. I no wan here tori again.

Mab said...

OMG THIS IS SAD, HOPE SHE IS DELIVERED SOON

Editor said...

God dey > make online tips here

May God deliver u indeed from your pending/Spiritual problems.
Most d media really tell/sell lies 2 tarnish people images?????
Which way Naija/.......

Na wa o....she should seek spiritual help naw...its a pity sha...

she should go for deliverance fast.....Maksy

Sasha bone said...

Ngwanu...over to LIB commenters!!

Not all problem is spiritual, it could be psychological. She needs help anyway! Hilary Obiorah

OMG!WOMAN said...

The issue is Linda do u believe their story? Blc your report still sounds like she was trying to steal when she was caught, but what was she actually doing there.

Good God she needs deliverance,my dear step out of the limelight and seek the face of God#mysteries#

SANDRA said...

Plss pple enough of d jungle justice especially those done 2 women plsssssss enough,enough,enough. Hand them over 2 d authorities. Plsss

linda point of correction...she's up coming yorubawood actress

Good God she needs deliverance,my dear step out of the limelight and seek the face of God#mysteries#

Igor said...

A classical example of one developing 'anointed fingers'.

God will deliver you in Jesus' name. i have a feeling her problem is truly spiritual. it is well.

My dear,step out of the limelight & seek the face of God

O ma shey o...I just pitied her and I pray ernestly dat d evil spirit controlling her body nd mind be cast out IJN...sobbing for her but it is well

Sabrina agu said...

What a story!!hope she gets the help she needs...

chumsy said...

Is well let us stop with the violence plzzz

May God vindicate as she wishes , Amen. Miya

sherylicious said...

Nigeria and jungle justice, anyway I pray she gets spiritual healing.

Na waooo tins dey happen dey jst want to destroy her name enemysofpromisethings. GHANAGIRl

God will see u tru sis...its well with IJN @rexo6

Hmmmmmm dnt knw wat 2 sai nd blieve bt pls u nid 2 seek d face of God so u can b heald

lovely said...

oh really!!

Na wa o

Hummmm, my dear the truth of this matter is that u need God now in ur life than ever, people are out to destroy u, I feel ur pain and I will also pray for u. But if u ask me wher to look for lasting solution and dilevarance from this mess, I advise u to visit SCOAN. There u will be dilevered from all courses that is trying to shame u

the 2 pictures doesn't look desame to me

sundayotuns said...

They should not ban her.Rather they should give a permanent role as kleptomaniac.she can act such role very well

God will see u tru,dnt worry am prayin 4 u!

Kai! This ιƨ really an eyesaw! *Cagey*

sundayotuns said...

They should not ban her.Rather they should give her a permanent role as kleptomaniac.she can act such role very well

She needs a shrink and very seriously too. Sadly, she does not recognize that. She may just be a kleptomaniac... Pitiful.

I pity her ooo. Pls people should mind how they treat their fellow human. God save us.

Igor said...

A clear case of one developing 'anointed fingers'.

lol @yorubawood actress.

i never see you for yoruba movie b4 o, this has made you popular kind of. abi na. -Tomi

Pls u dont just make a judgement so fast and take justice on ur hands... pls lets be courtious

Tnx jare! U̶̲̥̅̊ r SOoº° on point

Why is some folks taking justice into their hands, its high time jungle justice should stop, such a beautiful lady eeyaaa. May help come ur way dear. Am back to d blog, missed u guys

You have a serious problem.

God will help Ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ ...

~ALATISHE say so~

Annaveeconfectionery said...

nawa oh.. u indeed need the prayers.....,..
KANNY

May God help and fight for u IJN... Everyone has his or her own problem!

rovina dauch said...

I c am reach so!there is a limit to stealing!

Lucy said...

Self deliverance is the best, fast and pray. Check ur life if U̶̲̥̅̊ have wronged anyone in time past. God will surely deliver U̶̲̥̅̊.

jannygurl said...

The story is not so clear

Woders shall never end however, since she knew that her problem is spiritual y can't she go for prayers . Anyway people stop taking laws into una hands

She needs help not insults cos som lowlife LIBers wud insult her, bcos linda don giv ona d priviledge to air ona rotten view den u guys wud say rubbish,if we investigate most ppl here we wud discover dat d devil is beta dan dem,bt de com n insult ppl, naija pls enufe of dis jungle justice, I stay in london,dis dsnt happen here, d police is there,y lynch ppl? Dis is y naija can nvr change, u talk of d govt,while d citizens are devilish and wicked, nigerians r heartless sori to say, asin very wicked, som ppl wnt knw d exact details of wat happened n de wil start to judge n say evil tins,dats y light is not constant in naija plus d bad road cos ona no deserve am, shame on nigeria.I pray dis jungle justice tin ends,its so babaric, go youtube n u wud c dat naija is num one for jungle justice..nawa

Useless country wt useless ppl,alwys takin laws in2 their hands, after de wud say God hates gay n wickedness na ona second name, d last time I checked,God hates wickedness, other countries help n rehabilitate ppl,bt naija na lie, devilish ppl

a thief is a THIEF...all this nonsense about spiritual attack is BULLSHIT...kmt!!!

Linda Park well joor,thief na thief.... Gbam
Classy

As usual #Spiritual tinz.....,
Hosea 4 vs 6 ......,Will always remain the disease of most Nigerian inhabitants and the world @large till the end of #TIME....!
Shalom....!

Ubochi onye ara mara n'ona anyi ara, ka ara ya kusiri. Thank God she now know her problem is spiritual.

*Lanceslot

That's so unfair! I must say the press is doing more harm dan gud these days by posting fake stories here and there. Imagine sm1 putting Chris Oya**** watever on fb wit R.I.P on it. That's absurd.

AMY said...

Eeyah. Hope d witches n wizards of her village are nt @work!

God will see her thru #bright bravo#

Imoh said...

The picture of her in blood looks more like a make up like a scene in one of the movies that she acted,anyways if the story is true God will help her and she also need to pray.

Gibberish! Arrant nonsense!! What was she doing in someone else's apartment without d person's consent? Her lawyer should answer that & stop skirting around d issue. *Hands 'em SDK's seats*.

I pray you get the deliverance you re seeking IJN. In case you are looking for someone to pray with you i think you can visit AG church in Surulere. The man of God is really a man of God he would love to help you.

I believe her,its spiritual,i pray She gets delivered.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Na wa o. May God help her come out of this mess.

Its either she's a thief or they have jazzed to be one. If the latter is d issue here, may God deliver her IJN.

Idiot which 1 is yorubawood or ibowood

Its obvious u r an illiterate. U call someone a dirty looking soul, looking at u, its obvious u r a pig given birth to by pigs... Better watch ur mouth...

it iz well *imelcy

Lord please just because i care about this lady, kindly see to her needs, the disgrace and humiliation is too much that if not taken care of, it'll affect her acting career and other business of her's, which may give her the permanent access into the THIEFIOLOGY WORLD.. #justsaying!!

*LINDA'S FIANCE*

If she wasn't there to steal, nor drop jazz, what was she doing in someone's apartment especially when d occupants are not at home? By the way how did she get in without breaking the door if not through master keys? Oga lawyer, pls next time don't try to confuse us d more with your own 'half truth'. Yetunde is deff a kleptomania who needs urgent help.

FDJ said...

May d good Lord deliva ha

REXOVIC said...

MAY THE HAND OF THE ALMIGHTY TOUCH YOU AND MAKE YOU WHOLE IJN...AMEN

INSHA Allah she will never experienced such problem in her life again in d name of Almighty Allah ( Amin) watch n c d work of Almighty Allah

Ol's Network said...

it might be true. After all some rich people can claim kleptomania, my prayer goes to her.

You are indeed a thug, that's why u reason & talk like one.

flante said...

Girl is a thief.God gives us liberty of choice.no spirit can possess us and makes us do what we aren't aware of.may God help her soul

I feel her too mar God see u true in Jesus name..Amen

Hmmmm beta seek help before u go steal for wia dem go put tire for ur neck... Olorun a ko e yo.
*adefunke*

bravest hrt said...

And he just proved to b ode again

Idiot like u, na by force make u comment? See his mouth like dirty idiot soul.#waka#

Nzuonyi said...

Eeehya may God deliver u completely.some pple suprisingly found themselves doing what is nt right,its only God will help u Yetunde.just continue 2 seek his face nd u shall be free totally.

halliday said...

It is well wit u...jus go to redeem camp God will sort u out..u will kom out of dis mess by d grace of God.

Swaggs isimemen said...

May God have mercy on u give u complete gud health yetunde in jesus name Amen

dhobiz said...

Me too o,what a sad situation

dhobiz said...

I always known you to talk before you think ode

Okeke Austin said...

I pity her. God help her.

Iphie dearie said...

Ur allergic to stealing right,n can't tolerate her abi?no sympathy?dats d same way some ppl feel abt u been gay..see!!!u can't even show love to a fellow human being n u expect to shove ur lifestyle in ppl's faces.do unto others d way u want ppl to do to u dear.

Eiyaaa, itz so unfortunate but God is able.

Maybe she's a kleptomaniac

May God deliver her from the lips of her enemies

lovlyivon said...

Owk my candid advice is go to SCOAN prophet TB joshua's Church like JIM IYKE Did in less than 20mins Jesus Wud heal u thru His Vessels there. Meanwhile just lock urself in ur house dnt go out so u won't be tempted to steal till ur delivered

dr. ada said...

Blog thug can't be serz wit dis comment... serzly u must be so wicked 2 have typed such "dirty looking soul" u are so pained... do well 2 seek deliverance.

Ok it is spiritual go and cure your self.

(FYO) you don't have sense..Lmao
The lord will heal u (Yetunde)

#That happy sister!

So God's creation is what you call dirty soul? You obviously need help.

Dude I'm forced to ask if u grew up in an orphanage home. You don't deserve to stand before any woman.

Yetunde and her lawyer should just shut up. The first time such incident happened she claimed she was set up by her friends, now she is claiming to be under spiritual problem. The fact is she is a thief who is not contented with what she has. Her case is not spiritual at all. What was she doing in the house when the owner was not there. Why would the samething happen to her again. Abeg make she stop lying and look for help except she is mental

MissBusyBody said...

Somebody take her to TB Joshua already....

I second ur motion

I feel xo much for her. Na who dem catch be thief. Who dem nor catch na sharp person

Admiral said...

Linda kindly remove the comment of that "blogthug" not a nice comment he made there! Yetunde will be alright soon!

Yes yes yes!!! Thank God for given her employers the wisdom to be able to realize that she is not doing this deliberately, people are wicked they probably put a curse on her, I just one the oneness in this whole situation.

few said...

hmm...i pray she gt d help she need, nd i pray diz incident should not spoil are career..AMEN!!!
Few say so via*federal government*

Gbenga said...

U r getting a 3 bedroom flat in hell....

True talk

This common thief claimed she was set-up by her ex the other day. She's now on a long "spiritual" journey story. We await the next culprit. Habits die hard.

She needs a shrink. Might just be psychological problem. Psychophrenia....can't spell it.

Amarachukwu said...

She shld go for deliverance.

Wu is she sef? I cnt picture seeing her in my entire life yet I keep hearin actress yetunde.

Nigerians are all cowards..see how they already beat her to a pulp with blood gushing out of her face...they will be quick to lynch a helpless Adult but flee from a child with a gun....cowards!!!

mimi said...

As inn, my thoughts exactly.May God help her and all like her

Listen bitch, being against anti gay law doesn't make someone gay. Use your dumb brain ok? Even if I choose to be gay, na your papa business? You better get a life.

She shld go gir deliverance

God we help u oooooo

@Blogthug, you are obviously an animal. You call human being a dirty looking soul, I'm trying to picture what you are like but pple like are just not worth the energy, cos you've got no soul, just s zombie wondering round the world, no peace, no brain, no use in life, just tormenting pple. Waiting to be sent to hell. I'm sorry for you. The day u find yourself in such situation let hell raise on you. Cos you insulted God for saying that. I'm sure he's wondering why he created you now. Crazy zombie blogthug. Only a retard would call himself a thug.

Pls make my comment visible so pple can know, she made a mistake, spiritual or not, she apologised and seeking God. Pray for her instead of judging her. It could be your sister too