How Nigeria's tribal monarchs still live in lavish royal splendour (even though they lost power 50 years ago) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 31 July 2013

How Nigeria's tribal monarchs still live in lavish royal splendour (even though they lost power 50 years ago)

Omo N'Oba N'Edo Uku Akpolokpolo Erediauwa I (left) was crowned 'Oba of Benin Kingdom' in the Edo state of Nigeria in 1979. Before that he studied at Cambridge university before being appointed to many top government posts. Alhaji Abdulmumini Kabir Usman (Right) is the current and 50th 'Emir of Kasina'. He was coronated in 2008 five days after the death of his father, Emir Muhammad Kabir Usman. He is remembered as a peacemaker during the Nigerian civil war and has a passion for Polo

This is a UK Daily Mail special report...
With their brightly coloured robes, ornate thrones and legions of flunkeys attending every whim, they seem every bit the archetypal African kings.
Nigeria's traditional Monarchs may have been stripped of their powers half a century ago, but they appear to have lost little of their regal pomp and splendour as this fascinating series of portraits shows.
Photographer George Osodi toured the west African country extensively for a series of photographs entitled 'Kings of Nigeria' which is due to be exhibited at London's Bermondsey Project in October.

Robes of office: HRM Agbogidi Obi James Ikechukwu Anyasi II, 'The Obi of the Idumuje Unor kingdom', was until his death earlier this year, the longest reigning African Monarch. He was crowned king on October 9, 1946 at the age of 22. His robe, depicting a young Queen Elizabeth, gives a clear nod to the period of British colonial rule

Born to rule: Sitting on his golden throne, Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi I is the current 'Dein of Agbor'. Just two years and four months after his birth in July 1977 he was crowned king following the the unexpected death of his father. It meant he was the youngest king anywhere in the world. He is currently the Chancellor of the University of Ilorin, one of Nigeria's most prestigious universities
As a well-known and celebrated Nigerian photographer, Mr Osodi was granted rare access to the palaces and throne rooms of these hereditary rulers who now serve as living repositories of Nigeria's enormous cultural heritage.

He told Al-Jazeera: 'There are frequent clashes among different ethnic groups… Lots of people have lost trust in their identity. I felt it was important that we see this diverse culture as a point of unity instead of seeing it as something that should divide us as a nation.

'The easiest way I could approach this was to look at the monarchy structure in the country because they are closer to the people than the governors.'
While their ancestors ruled over vast tracts of Africa, following the abolition of the monarchy in 1963 the regional monarchs were stripped of all their constitutional powers.
But far from fading into obscurity, they mostly remain popular leaders and are held in great regard by their hundreds of thousands of loyal subjects.

And despite lacking any formal powers they continue to wield considerable influence and serve as unofficial intermediaries between their subjects and the Nigerian government.
His Majesty, Deinmowuru Donokoromo III, The 'Pere of Isaba', poses with his royal sceptre outside his palace. He has ruled over the Kingdom of Isaba  in the oil rich South-West area of Delta state since 1983

His Royal Majesty Oba Oyetunji Jimoh Olanipekun Larooyell, the 'Ataoja of Osogbo' in southwest Nigeria. He worked as a teacher for many years, firstly at a baptist day school. He was crowned king in 1976 and rules over some 300,000 subjects. He has studied management in London and is a qualified chartered accountant
His Majesty, Wilson Ojakovo Oghoghovwe Oharisi III was made the 'Ovie of Ughelli' in 1980 and has ruled over the great kingdoms of Ughelli and Urhoboland for more than 33 years
Alayeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the current 'Ooni of Ife', relaxes in his throne room.  Born in 1930, he has enjoyed a colourful life first working for his father's business, then with the Nigerian Tribune newspaper, before attending Northampton College in the United Kingdom where he studied business management. In 1963 he became Sales Director of the state-owned National Motor company in the Nigerian capital Lagos. He later formed a company to distribute Soviet-built vehicles and equipment in Nigeria
he Emir of Kano Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is attended by aides as he sits on the back of his vintage Rolls Royce on his way to the Central Mosque in Kano
Posing on his ornate throne, Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero is the current 'Emir of Kano', a position he has held since 1963. A former ambassador to Senegal he is renowned for his abundant wealth, which has been amassed by investing in the stock market and agriculture

99 comments:

B n B said...

I have always said it.... Put all dese people in one room and bomb d place...datz d 1st step to redeeming Nigeria! I av spoken!!!!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

How I don't give a flipping sexy fuck. Anyways, that Rolls Royce gives me the mares. Who designs crap like this at this modern age?

What's the difference between these kings and their own Queen of England and Wales or whatever she is called. She also does not have any power. So what exactly is their point??

Good for everyone.

chris said...

wow 1st to comment.............

chris said...

wow 1st to comment.............

Lovely post

Ignore the Mail. What powers did they lose? Don't let Ooni hear it.
No Alaafin, Oba of Lagos, Sultan of Sokoto, Awujale, Alake and Obi of Onitsha. Dem go vex oh.

How come no igbo traditional ruler is there???? I guess its because most of them don't have money!! They have the poorest set of trad rulers!!

....Asha said...

hmnn linda its like you dont understand the meaning of ''Old Money ' it never ever runs dry....'no long thing

Beautiful! The Ooni oozes class! I really hope we can get back to a place of unity and ethnic blurred lines! It starts with us! God has blessed Nigeria!

Hmnnnn......

how that one take affect garri price for market? click here jor to get your adsense approved

The information written about the present Ataoja of Osogbo is wrong, it's the info of the late Ataoja.

Sexual Anorexia: What You Need To Know said...

They lost power 50 years ago but they are still the king makers, the god fathers. It is only in Nigeria...

That's what I like yorubas for. Even wiv the whole chieftancy ish! They all go school. Hardly would u see any yoruba oba wey no go school.

Yemmie Oscar said...

I doff ma hat for 'em all

HENREAL said...

Omo N'oba N'edo Apkolopkolo Erediawa d 1st is ma king. I rep Benin kingdom

All hoodlums

They are born to enjoy life.....i wish them all long life.

Na all be dis? Very mediocre! If he wasn't ready to do extensive touring, why bother? Mschewww

Wow lucky 4 me I don't bow down to any ruler except God

Nice read. what about the core ibo communities?

Respected, wealthy and powerful jazz Men.

Nigeria still has a close link with traditional rulers, the people ans government, so this isn't strange.

Nigeria still has a close link with traditional rulers, the people and government, so this isn't strange.

At last i get to comment dats gud

Mich said...

This is got to be the most expository post I've seen on this blog.
Gives an insight into the Monarchs of some of Nigeria's ethnic groups,each picture also depicts the monarch with his full trappings.
I once read somewhere that these monarchs are paid by the government and are also often awarded with some federal government contracts...hmmmn!
If only the people whom they rule over aren't impoverished,if only the children of the people they rule over have access to quality education like their own kids do 'cos I actually see a number of "Royal family" kids here driving in exotic cars and living lavishly.
Anyways,its good to see this pictures,would show every one of them to my buddies here.

jstsayin said...

Oba gha tor kpere!!! ITSE...oh y is d cutest monarch(olu of warri)not here na?

#jstsayin

Se heat no de catch dis people like this

I rest my Brain

Lagosgirl said...

Omg!!!!!!!i love royalty. Emir of kano is the one I want Linda Abeg Holla me him BlackBerry pin

stevedaddy said...

even without allocations from the government,they are still toiling hard to carter for their communities...long live our monarchs

na so

Its the bini boy again say hello

Nice!!! I like this alot!!

kcee said...

Very colourful. Is good to tell our story via our historic cultural heritage.

Long live Dein of Agbor Kingdom!!!el~vincie.

Motivation to lose weight? FOLLOW NELLY AGBOGU'S BLOG said...

In Nigeria, once you have tasted power no going back

Now where is our very own great Awujale of Ijebu Land, Oba Dr Sikiru Adetona? Now I take it personal.. This is a very careless omission and unforgivable offence! Hain! *straight face*

linda, linda, linda......... how many times did i call you? you no go hear word o. stop giving us outdated news. this news has been on mail online since early hours of today. we need your own news, not stale gist. please what did you bring from america for me,your reader.... if nothing, i beg park for one side jooor lindodo.

JAY said...

Benjamin Ikenchuku Keagborekuzi the current 'Dein of Agbor'.....That's ma cute uncle..*smile*

Luke Chinedu said...

WHAT OF THE BRITISH ROYAL FAMILY? ARE THEY NOT LIVING IN LAVISH SPLENDOR?

Don't mind the fools... Always want to point somewhere. This is not news abeg!

I LOVE MY OBA SO MUCH..SO HUMBLE AND HAVE A GREAT SENSE OF HUMOR.. OBA EREDIAUWA UKU AKPOLOLO..OBA OF THE GREAT BENIN KINGDOM..

ANNNDDDDD MY OMO'N'OBA , OBA EREDIAWA OF BINI KINGDOM IS PICTURED 1ST - BEAT THAT!!!!!!!

evenda said...

These are great leaders... I presume,, they are closer to their people than the so called governors and president....from my place we say:

OBA A TO KPEE.... ISE....

What of d Obi of Onitsha? I guess he does not live a lavish life style.

pwitie B said...

Duh lyk wi care

LINDA PLEASE DONT TELL ME YOU SUPPORT THE BRITISH NEWSPAPER?.....THE QUEEN has also lost power in the UK Since the 60s she and her family are just enjoying life she doesnt rule UK anymore....its good we still have this it is not good to lose ones identity

Oba erediawa uku a kpolo kpolo!ugha tor,ugha kpe!God bless u!the oba of Benin.i love you.

What happened to all those silly autonomous communities

The footnote about the current Ataoja is inaccurate and incorrect. The only truth in d footnote abt him is dat he's a teacher, the rest is d biography of d predecessor who died abt 2 years ago

Me I love my OBA of lagos he sabi collect house way no belong to him, am talking about the one on the thrown now.....

dats my Obi-Obi Benjamin Ikechukwu Keagborekuzi 1 of Agbor kingdom....OBI'M ODEIN!! ODEIN!! ODEIN!!

JERRY NWA ONYE IDUMUJE said...

God bless the white people for acknowledging the present of my Obi, HRM Agbogidi Obi James Ikechukwu Anyasi II, 'The Obi of the Idumuje Unor kingdom', who was until his death neva remembered for being the longest ruling monarch in WORLD.
LONG LIVE IDUMUJE KINGDOM, LONG LIVE DELTA, LONG LIVE NIGERIA. RIP.

The Obong of Calabar ısnt there...*poor research*

Oba erediawa uku kpolokpolo....I hail oo evn though v not been dia bfr#shinesteeth#

ISE

Seun Ajet said...

But the british royal family ar the ones ruling their nation,I think u dnt read the story,FOOLS

Seun Ajet said...

Oba Okunade Sijuade,(Ooni of Ife)Alayeluwa!

Katsina u mean? #yawns! Lindz bera 1 biko after all hw e tk make phcn gv light?

Opeedo said...

Nigeria does not value its own
pls click here for hot naija gist

traditional rulers are an essential part of our culture.they uphold our culture which we mustnt lose, especially in these days where politicians are disgracing the country and do not have the moral integrity to instil some sense of collectiveness in people.these people have remained pillars For people to rally round and worthy leaders to respect and emulate.

Oba Gha to kpere! Ise!!! Bini for life! Long live the Oba!

Oba gha tor kpeeeee!iseeeed!oba of Benin leads and the rest follow!

Kandy said...

Obagha tokpere!..Ise!!!

Oba a tokpe e, Iseeee!!!!!!

Help me ask them...if na oyinbo own them go dey bow and worship, but when it comes to our own, na yabis and insults...misguided people...mtchew

FOOL that's why it is called a VINTAGE rolls Royce.

Iseeeee!!! Long live our oba

Riches...

Exactly my tot.

Who asked U. Ignorance sha

Correct guy. Thanks for repping your people

What white ppl? The photographer is Nigerian. Geezzzzz. Are U the type that meets white folks and call them master? (I've seen this at the Lagoon restaurant on Ozumba... Disgusting)

Which poorest? Is it the yorubas or the edos or the uhrobos that have traditional rulers for long? Wo don't let me open your chapter this night O.

Why are u famzing?

I love benin people. They never carry last jare.

helen said...

Awwwh Good to see obi Anyasi once more!continue to rest in Paradise till we meet again Daddy!!!!!

Where is Alaafin of Oyo kingdom, dis one na yeye documentary

Omo no oba ne edo ugha tor ugha kpe vbe aye: ISE

You dumb fowl, it says vintage. Kindly read before you comment. Thanks

Which school did u go too, who told u †Ñ’ξ Queen has no power, †Ñ’ξ Queen controls †Ñ’ξ world, that their PM Cameroon is just a figure head.†Ñ’ξ Queen is one of †Ñ’ξ most ppwerfull people in †Ñ’ξ world.

Ndi ara,Ndi ara,le le,nekwa ha. Oga eme unu vum na anya.where are my ibo traditional rulers kwanu?Linda,u dey try well well biko,up to date,u no dey carry last at all,God bless ur work

oba of Benin dont spend lavishly, he doesn't travel out of Benin. so whr is he spending the money ? dailymail error dere jor.

Nice one,,,,

You cant go to Oba of bini's palace nd say you wnt 2 snap picture.. the palace is too grown for such... Oba Atokpeye!

JAY said...

Will it add anytin to ma pocket for famzing?....Nonsense, go and ask of obika family in agbor.....dnt sit in ur hux n say nonsense...mtccchewwwww

JAY said...

U jt sit n say nonsense.....

Uyi Iredia said...

Rigjtly said. I heard that Lucky was eating out of his monthy allocation from the FG before Oshiomole revealed it. Oba gha to kpeere !

As jobless as his name stark I mean STARK ILLETRATÉ

Osas Cruz said...

Oba of benin is a true leader pays attention to even the smallest matters in the state and outside, Fast in making piece, I respect you sir
www.sweetlife51.wordpress.com
www.mynaijagotalk13.wordpress.com

Oba nedo ukuakpokpolo!!!He leds others follow!!! Twale for you

What about The Orodje of Okpe Kingdom, His Royal Majesty, Major Gen. Felix Mujakperuo (Rtd)

How about OBAfemi Martins? is he not a king too? or D'prince's dad? <>

Cali babe said...

I dey tell u oo.Me sef no hapi

Pls shut it, the queen is the figure head, ........."controls the world" indeed smh

oyinbo people all they know how to do is criticise and so what , eyin nkan queen Elizabeth and all the duchess , ladies, dukes, baroness and the rest of them don't have any power but yet they still have millons of pounds to there name kmt

N O AKINSOLA said...

Take a trip down to AUCHI and see the 'SAKI'. He deserves a mention.