Topic of the day: Should Prostitution be Legalised in Nigeria? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 October 2011

Topic of the day: Should Prostitution be Legalised in Nigeria?

Deputy Senate president, Ike Ekeweremadu, wants it legalized. According to him:
We need to regulate prostitution in this country so that if anyone wants to indulge in prostitution, the person should be registered and issued with a license. If we say we want to stop it, it would be difficult. It is done in other countries; let us regulate it by issuing license.
Should prostitution be legalized in Nigeria? Please share your thoughts

88 comments:

ONYEDIKING said...

N O, no

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

I really don't want to get into the argument of whether it should be legalized or not.
My concern is that legalization will not work.
The simple reason is that prostitution is not an orginsed trade in Nigeria. it is rarely practiced as a profession.It is often practised as a hobby or part time trade.How many girls (and guys) are openely and solely prostitutes? They are either students, housewives,bankers or office workers who just do it on the side.Its legalisation will rarely regulate it because the practitioners who will be subject to its regulation are a very minute portion of the the practitioners.So whether legalized or not, it makes very little difference to the trade. Hence,instead of expending energy in this regard, their are more productive initiatives that can be pursued.

Maybe.... since its happening, it might be more cost effectivem better controlled and safe.

Legalize (PROSTITUTION) what are we saying here? don,t we no longer have morals. what do we teach our children for Christ's sake. Is the senate president a father at all for championing this crusade? does "HE" have a daughter or daughters? would he allow his daughters if any to indulge in prostitution? or would he allow his son to marry a prostitute? let him answer this questions first and then if his conscience allows it, he should legalize it in his family first as a test transmission and see if it can be legalized in the country.

Ahmed said...

I thought prostitution was legal in Nigeria? All the runs girls I gave money and things must make immediate refund. Bastards. I thought they were legitimate and licensed prostitutes. I want my money back, please. I feel cheated. I'm going to file a complaint to the police. Those women need to be locked away for impersonating prostitutes with their way of dressing and for deception under the trade description laws of Nigeria. I'm so pissed off.

World's Largest Gold Coin said...

Lol. Prostitution is illegal but flourishing, what difference would legalizing it make, its already above ground anyway?

ONYEDIKING said...

@Ahmed lol am so sorry for hahaha! Your a very funney guy

http://naijagosip.blogspot.com

Smart said...

So the Nigerian deputy senate president does not av any other initiative to bring forward to table other than this? Well Mr. deputy, saying this aparently means you re just jobless and you honestly dont have any contribution to the growth of this country.It is now obvious that you re abt this so that all the atrocities committed by you and ur coligs with these girls in abuja could get a justification.
I am so ashamed that of all the challenges associated with living a good life for every citizen of this country,you could think abt legalizing prostitution.I honestly wish you ciould be sacked for bringing this shameful suggestion to table and if I could lay my hands on ur email address or fone nombre,I wouldnt mind antagonizing you in the open.
I am not a party to insulting on a social blog, buh I am forced to say that you re a jobless moron in that office and this country 'for goodness sake' does not need ur type.mscheeeew !!!

ife said...

At Ahmed u must be a mad man, so u patronize prostitutes, and u ave the gut to come out and make such a commet... i beg get lost joor!

Let prostitution be legalized please. I love prostitutes!

Ejyk said...

Those dat engage in it [both d seller n buyer] are adults so they deserve to live their lives nyhow they wanna..bcos legalizin it means kipin it eXCLUSIVELY 4 adults 4rm 18yrs n above
n also if legalized,dey MUST have representatives,office or somtin lyk dat... n dat wil help *in som extent* in curbing armed robbery n some otha social vices...
so PERSONALLY i dnt c nytin wrong innit... buh dat na one of d least problems of dhis country...

Ahmed said...

@Ife ... There's nothing wrong with demand and supply. Prostitution should be legalised. You must be a prostitute masquerading as runs girl. Where's my money? Where's my refund. Watch your back. I'm going to pimp you, very very soon. 

@ smart,well written.

Daughter: Daddy, I want to be to start a business!
Daddy: Really? i'm very proud of you. You are proving to be an entrepreneur. So what line of busniess? You know i don't really have start up capital at the moment
Daughter: Prostitution
Daddy: HUH? what rubbish! How could you say that? are there no better trades?
Daughter: what? sebi it's legal, and the start up cost is little or nothing. Besides, i'll play safe and make tons of money in a year.

i think the Deputy Senate president, (Ike Ekeweremadu) daughter or wife should be the first to get the license and tested if they can be a real prostitute by getting down with them. Sorry dis man na big F+O*O+L becos he knows his family wont be involved due to the money they stole and shared among themselves.

E J said...

ne runing to? if na better thing u dey do, why u no wait to take d photograph. ode, mumu.

And for u oga on seat, i really see say with u dis country naija dey go worst. u better think of something positive dat will move dis cuntry forward bcos in naija nothing is valid everything is invalid, both monoey, material, resources and even humans.

If i may ask, is it a curse? dat no leader can show good example and ideas?

i think the Deputy Senate president, (Ike Ekeweremadu) daughter or wife should be the first to get the license and tested if they can be a real prostitute by getting down with them. Sorry dis man na big F+O*O+L becos he knows his family wont be involved due to the money they stole and shared among themselves.

Blog Police! said...

Mr onyediking, dropping STUPID/USELESS/UNCALLED-FOR- COMMENTS-THAT-DONT-EVEN-RELATE-TO THE-TOPIC on every post in LI's blog wont get u anywhere around successful blogging so GET A LIFE! go & work hard and stop being a nuisance and blog-attention-prostitute!!!

Linda i think d man wz only tryin to speak for some of his babes dat must hv bn whiskd my doz patrol teams sent to catch prostitutes in abuja, d team is spoiling runs for him & his babes...wat a shameless man!
dis shudnt evn b a topic of debate in a country where der r more important tins to b trashed out.
nigerian leaders and deir misplaced priorities...*notinterestedbbmsmiley*

Linda pls kindly respond to our email on the LIB Initiative. Thanks :)

Rukky said...

Linda, this is for you. Have a look at what Jayz and Beyonce's daughter will look like. She will look very much like her daddy, JayZ. http://t.co/aa6jhrPh

Have a look.

monty said...

he he he.
see d way dat runs girl pick race.
he he he

Whether they legalize or regulate prostitution it will not stop those who make the law from soliciting them!!!! Capish

Loudmouthed said...

lol, ole buruku people. Who would go and register as a pros?????? is it everything that they would copy? What most countries do is that they try to design laws that fit their country and culture and keep tailoring those laws. Not copying another man's law

Kenny said...

Linda can u imagine this question?Linda,Linda,Linda !!!how many times did i call you??lol!!!leave evil men alone with their evil thoughts.
How many reasonable countries legalised prostitution.The only state in the US that legalized this is Nevada and tell me the history of that state.
Those parliamentarians in Nigeria are obviously less busy that's why they had the time to discuss such an issue despite all the issues in the country.
However if i should suggest,the DSP's wife should be the first to be given a licenece cos obviously her hubby patronizes the trade.
I'M STILL PRAYING TO WAKE UP AND HEAR THAT NIGERIA IS BETTER AND NOT "NIGERIA GO BETTER".......Evil People!!!

ZeeZee said...

Linda,u do realize that there was a rebuttal by this same guy saying that this was never up for debate/discussion @ d national assembly. So before we quote ppl let's get our facts straight. If we are arguing based on our own opinions then fine.....

so nigeria does not have other issues at hand

They are the ones patronizing them na. As their god father, he does not want to do it secretly anymore. Useless man. I hope his wife will read between the lines.

ZeeZee said...

Besides we only know that d only reason they would even suggest legalizing Prostitution is solely for tax reasons. They simply cannot understand how these run girls can b making all that money and not account for it...... It can work! Only problem is, once that happens, legalizing abortions n homosexuality with naturally follow suit......
This is not a freaking evolution ... It's just the world coming to an end.......

what countries is he talking about that prostitution is legalised?? obviously he patronises prostitutes and is their number one advocate...even here in the US Las Vegas is the only place where prostitution is somewhat legal, and yet it is called sin city..these aimless ppl who dont know their left from their right want to take nija down to hell in a hand basket...and incur God's wrath...these lascivious men like ekweremmadu that tout things they know nothing about must be condemned..

Thunder fire that Ekwremadu. Idiot! Na your mama, na im you go issuee prostituting license. Nigeria has better things worrying us. Prostitution licensing is far the leaset of out worries. Idiot of a man!

Uhm... @ Ife, I think Ahmed was being sarcastic! Lol! Take a chill pill... no make that two.

Sam Awo said...

I am very sure that he is one of our govt officials who wastes our money[in dollars] on prostitutes in Germany

You dont know what you are saying. Legalizing it means it will be thrown in your children's face like the most normal things. Please for the sake of a sane society and raising a normal next generation keep it the way it is now underground as bad as that is, it will only become worse if legalized. Dont believe me, check the countries where its been legalized, normal children from otherwise normal homes are growing up with the professional ambition of prostitution. Tufiakwa!

Uhm... @ Ife, I think Ahmed was being sarcastic! Lol! Take a chill pill... no make that two.

I'm off to pop some too for even bothering to butt in.

Life's too short and prostitution and all the nasties you pick up engaging in it make it even shorter. I'm not saying it isn't a problem, just don't think it's a priority.

I dont care if its legalised or not.What I hate in Ekweremadu's statement is "it is done in other countries". Is that the only thing the f00l can copy from abroad?. How about constant electricity,good roads,security and even corrupt-free society.Oloshi,oko ashewo. *YIMU SI*.

@Anony 12:28 PM hahahahahahah bad guy

chi chi said...

@anon 11:31, u'r right. the man should address d real issues we have in the country, not this.

The deputy whatever he is should have better and more fundamental issues pertinent to the basic welfare and being of Nigerians than this bill he's trying to prosecute. It is a shame that with all the mirade shortcomings and the underdevelopment that Nigeria is walloped in, Mr. deputy has the moral authority to bring up an issue that is a sectional one. Maybe if he and his greedy and good-for-nothing-ignorant thugs in the senate and house of rep had done the right thing and provide the people with basic needs on the Maslow hierarchy of needs, I.E food, shelter and security we may not have them girls standing on the road side and being patronized by his friends in the senate and house. SOB.

chibaby said...

na wa oh!! Dis una deputy senate no just get work atall sheeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Mumu politicians

Trust me, It is alreadey legal in Nigeria... Girls dont give it up for free no more!

Son of Babylon said...

It should be because then all legalized hoes will be made to submit quarterly HIV test unless their license will be revoked. They will also be made to pay taxes based on how many tricks they turn. I know Tinubu will be happy in Lagos if these girls can join in the tax bounty he collects every month.

Prostitution is the oldest profession in the world and will NEVER go away so why not make money from it and regulate it.

plz lets obey the word of God who said dat prostitution is bad.(sin).it is morally, socially, physically n mentally bad. whoso
ever supports it or practices it will blame himself on d judgement day. Human voice is God's voice.

Style City Rocs said...

Well to each his own.....on this particular issue am on the fence.

http://stylecityrocs.blogspot.com/

ChiChiLuv said...

Instead of bring out initiative on fixing the education and health system, fixing the social infrastructure to ensure people have water, light, good roads and jobs this IDIOT can only come up with legalizing prostitution? Is this so he can have a legitimate reason to visit them?

Like Anonymous 11.31 has stated, when did anyone ever accept in Nigeria that they are in the business of prostitution? Forget about the chicks that actually walk the street; more than half of these women don't even consider themselves prostitutes when most of them are especially the married "business" women who sleep with big men for contracts and other favors, what about the banks that sent their bankers to procure clients and some of them go that "extra" mile to get that clients by "entertaining" them with sales speeches that consist of a roll on the proverbial hay?

Under what office will this be allocated for people to get such licenses? The Office of Licensing for Social Development and Pleasures? LMAO! Who is collecting the money for the licenses and where does that money go? Will the prostitutes and their pimps pay taxes on the money they make? Do people even pay taxes in Nigeria or file income tax? Some people talk out their asses just to be heard! I weep for Nigeria everyday!

is that d problem wt d nation? can't these morons do something about unemployement,poverty,roads,inflation,security,....etc. Those nations that legalize prostitution have most of these things in place and their govt is largely run by genertated tax unlike naija which is oil revenue. Those dumb ass called leaders should put the nation on the right course rather than chasing the wind.

http://hotgistshotnews.blogspot.com/ said...

tell me why should prostitution be legalised? commercialising God's given body?
http://hotgistshotnews.blogspot.com/

linda dis should not b sometin we should even talk abt.....what other countries is dis man even talkin abt? those countres is even talkin abt has don alot in dier country e.g courruption, basic amenities e.g electricity, water, good road etc, security....OMG y will dis man even taught abt dis? infact i dey shame d way dis people are bringing our country NIGERIA down.....No b una fault

Babes that indulge in Aristo are high class prostitutes. Just that they don't stand on the streets. Maybe he prefers it legalized so guilty conscience won't catch all those pot-bellied legislators/Aristocrats.(Just saying ohh)

http://hotgistshotnews.blogspot.com/ said...

Celebrity Blogger Linda Ikeji, and 34 Others Appointed FRSC Celebrity Marshals.

Congrats Linda
http://hotgistshotnews.blogspot.com

Samuel Anwana said...

All I have to say is that they dont really care about us - Yes . . Prostitution should not be encouraged by any body of government. Legalizing prostitution is simple this - Legalizing and allowing men to masturbate inside a woman. Be aware and stand up against it. Our Nigerian women and women around the world are pearls despite your back ground. NO PROSTITUTE WANTS TO BE A PROSTITUTE. . . .

Samuel Anwana said...

All I have to say is that they dont really care about us - Yes . . The government. Prostitution should not be encouraged by any body of government. Legalizing prostitution is simple this - Legalizing and allowing men to masturbate inside a woman. Be aware and stand up against it. Our Nigerian women and women around the world are pearls despite your back ground. NO PROSTITUTE WANTS TO BE A PROSTITUTE. . . .

Ejyk your a big fool and for you ahmed youra retarded he goat....wait,what is even this even the problem with some of the people droping coments here?o.m.g some people are insane,so if its bein practise in other country must we?the senate president your father there idiot.

It is a good idea to legalize for obvious medical reasons, revenue generation and help eradicate society stigma. It will be rough at onset, but acceptance will come with time. Whether we like or not, it will be here until Jesus returns. Also having it legalized will give one the opportunity to rehabilitate some of the pedlers to mainstream society. My issue though is the so called underground runs girls who are educated professionals, a friend just returned from vacationing and swore he had days he was sexing 5 different girls all linked by the almighty blackberry, they are the potential menace and could be the demise of society as we know it.

Legalizing prostitution might help improve the safety and "working conditions" of prostitutes and protect them from abuse and trafficking because it is the illegal nature of the job that creates these problems...however, is Nigeria at the stage where it is okay for prostitution to be considered as a legitimate career? I doubt it. It wont be legalized, the Deputy Senate President is jumping the gun.

Nephiza said...

pekele pekele the world is really coming to an end, legalize wetin, i think maybe this guy is just using style to advocate for this Prostitute. These girls are supposed to be flogged in public i can imagine my once serene area which was one of the areas Big pple USED to scramble to buy houses now boast of 2 popular clubs,like 15 guest houses and uncountable mosafun e to(i run from u try)lol buh iknw its nt funny...

PROSTITUTION IS ONLY INTERESTING BECAUSE IT IS ILLEGAL...and we can never regulate it, we wey never get anything right i nigeria...i mean wharahell is this man saying, doesnt he have other things to worry about...im confused...

well, am not surprised. afterall they are even amongs men wey patronise them.......nonsense

Nonye said...

@Ife ever heard of a satire? Calm down...

Queen said...

An Igbo man for that matter,u ppl wunt stop bringing shame to dis cdountry but only GOD can reward all of u.

Sam Meera said...

Prostitution is nothing new in Nigeria and it is even practised in the full glare of the public. These whores range from the roadside girls to the blue collar working ones.The sheer proportions of what this man is about to undertake does not seem feasible.
Even though it is legalised, it will not be implemented fully in Nigeria. Just a waste of time, energy and money.

NOOOOOOOOO!!!! it will become expensive

MR Ekeweremadun or whatever you are called so if your son bring a prostitue home that he wants to marry you will say okay? sorry to say you but you are a BAD leader,even in western world prostitution is not total legalized.

MmaY said...

Oga deputy b like say u dey patronise dem silly old goat, dnt we hve any morals in dis country just cos oda countries r legalizing it doesnt make it ok. Dis man shld nt let d wrath of God decend on him since devil wan use am! Agbaya oshi

So na so e don do them reach? Instead of dem to do simple things like provide infrastructure, dem day think of how to put licence for the totos deir pricks dey visit on an hourly basis. Dem no know say na deir stupidity dey make 90% of the ashi dem to sell toto. Abegi do the work wey you suppose do and stop trying to make toto-prick laws.

*ajalahtravel*

It a very deceptive way to introduce and legalise homosexualism. Legalising prostitution will fuel the agitations of the gay guys. Besides, it is the least of our problems. If I have the opportunity I would ask the senate deputy president if he will allow any of daughters to become an "OPIO" if that is her dream career. Rubbish!!!!!

it is legal na.. which kind question u de ask Linda

All i can say is that for one to think of legalizing prostitution in Nigeria clearly practices it. Whoever his wife is needs to watch her husband closely because this is the sign of a man who goes around sleeping with every and anything and uses money to Get away with it.....God punish this man

People, people, the real question we shud be askin ourselves is y a high percentage engage in it? The answer is simple (POVERTY as a result of INEQUALITY caused by a corrupt ECONOMY). How do we rectify this in the long term? Provide employment opportunities. In the UK for example, an M.D can enter a shop and buy a shirt worth 2,000 and a cleaner can also do the same. (The difference between two of them is that the former pays immediately while the latter is installmentally. Either way, they both get the shirt. If the average naija person can afford a good living standard, prostitution will be by choice not circumstance.

Mr. Senator, where did you place our morality? Are we so discouraged the best we can do for this country is to find way to encourage and legalise prostitution (hope u are not a customer)? Pls. Senator, preach the gospel of sanity and morality in our society and find a way to abolish prostitution instead of giving prostitutes a licence to operate.

LadyNgo said...

Didn't this guy already say that he never said such a thing and that he doesn't know why people have quoted him saying that???

FOLLOW FOLLOW MENTALITY..SO LETS ASSUME IT IS LEGAL IN OTHER COUNTRIES IN THE WEST, THEN IT SHOULD BE LEGAL IN NIJA...COLONIAL MENTALITY...HOW IS ALL THE EVIL IN THE WEST WORKING FOR THEM THAT WE MUST COPY?? ASHAWO MAN, PATRONIZER OF PROSTITUTES SHAME ON YOU!!!

It's something to think about because law or no law people will continue to engage in this activity. Morally is wrong but in a developing country women especially need a safe way to earn a living when jobs or opportunities are limited.

That is a very interesting picture. You can write a short story looking at it.

:)

Miko da Pimp, London, England. said...

I hope they know what they are doing ooh. I want prostitution legalised and I want pimpping legalised. I want to create the biggest prostitution franchise in Nigeria and pimp all the b*tches in Nollywood. Soon, all of them shall be working for me. I will allow them to join the trade union which I have recently formed, "National Union of Prostitues" and "National Union of Runs Girls"

Different ways to look at this issue:

1. Men already have women for free in Nigeria.. two,two kobo women.. SMH.
2. Every UNILAG/POLY chick is theirs for the picking. Why then pay for SEX?
3. Because there is a maket for it.
4. Sure legaise prostituttion maybe then we can regulate the spread of AIDS & STDS.
3.Maybe have a register..liske in the WEST
4. Think: ITALO chicks who come back from their European "jobs" and bring diseases back home.
5. Ok. Make prostitution legal then maybe the men will leave the rest of us normal people alone.

Free browsing with phone and pc said...

I wonder if it is not legalised already. This people operate freely.

UNIABUJA, holds 2011/2012 Post-UME on the 31st October said...

Legalised? They are doing there business and no one stops them, what kind of legalility do they need to operate?

Nigerians, how can we be talking about legalizing prostitution, in a country where GOD has been faithful to us. Where are our morals. What is wrong with our so called leaders? I believe we have better issues to deliberate upon.

YES IT SHOULD BE LEGALISED!!I patronised prostitutes and i can tell u right now, they fuck better than regular babes.

chima said...

The man whose house is on fire does not pursue rat. Pls Mr. Deputy, Nigeria still has a long way to go. There are lot and lot of things to be done. incase u have forgotten let me help u out: Security measures, payment of civil servants, production of indigenious food lets leave imported goods for awhile. Cos we get all it takes to do that. Unemployment, constant electricity, Good hospitals, Good roads, Education. I think by the time u are through with this few i have mentioned above, prostitution itself will have no alternative than to flee away. Try and renew ur mind by the holy spirit in order to perform well. jesus loves u and so do i.

bisi said...

"i don tire"
legalise or no legalise the question is if it is not legalise will they stop? if you say, they will do, if u do not say, they wont still stop. Bible had already said it that at the end different things will happen,the world is ending. WATCH OUT!!!

imagine how the country will look like, increase in STD and it is nice cous those who want to get into it can do so and those who want to patronize them can all so do so. its a thing of choice. http://www.campushotworld.blogspot.com

I really hate that phrase anytime it comes from a Nigerian; "It is done in other countries" What BS do you know about other countries Mr senator?? We should find out what is right for us not what other countries are doing. Mind you, not all countries allow prostitution, here in Canada, you are arrested by kotie for picking up prostie, you are labelled a "John" and charged. In other countries ko, go and see what prostitution has done to Holland, instead of you to come up with programs and that will keep these girls occupied and away from the streets you are talking BS about legalizing crap! create jobs and these girls just wanna make money, not so much for the sex. I'm sure this oga is a big customer that's why he wants it legalized.

Ike Ekweremadu has to get his head examined. This country will never give the nod to such a thing, that other country did it does not mean we should follow. Where are the good examples others did? Please let's talk about issues that matter jare! He can legalise it in his house though!

First off,lmao!!!at the girl in the red mini making a run for it.and secondly,LOL @Ahmed!na wa for naija shaaaaaa. *smh*

bigjunior said...

mehn, if it has nt been regulated, they beta do it nw, cus most developed country it is legalised. Bjss.

bigjunior said...

mehn if it has nt been legalised they beta do it now, cos most developed country legalised it.

Crazy governement! Legalize electricity instead.