Goodbye Goodluck. Australian press not impressed with our president | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 October 2011

Goodbye Goodluck. Australian press not impressed with our president

Here's an article written by Amanda O'Brien for The Australian Newspaper
The mysterious non-appearance of Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan at a packed CHOGM forum yesterday where he was scheduled to outline his country's mining potential, failed to stop his delegation launching a strong bid for investors to get on board.
Nigeria has one of the biggest delegations with more than 120 people and its towering President with his distinctive black hat has cut an imposing figure at the business forum all week.
But there was no explanation yesterday when he failed to appear for two scheduled speeches.
 Nigerian Mines and Steel Minister Musa Mohammed Sada took his place, declaring Nigeria "the last frontier" for mineral exploration in west Africa as he touted for investors.
Mr Sada said substantial mining was happening in all the neighbouring countries as "big-time mining companies" recognised their mineral worth, and Nigeria wanted to join in.
So if he wasn't going to attend the forum, why did he go to Australia?
See the article here

47 comments:

sakara said...

Of course he went to Australia to throw a surprise bday for his wife now...isnt that more important than d affairs of d country? and like i always say...goodluck to those who voted d clueless man in and anybody that tries to preach to me about that fish livered man...f ever fish dey get liver...may God handle his affairs the way Jonathan is handling the affairs of Nigeria...what stops him from soliciting for how we wl start having 24/7 uninterrupted power supply....mscheeew

Linda u still dey ask? No be u post pictures of madam patience's bday parry?.....omo mehn our president go australia 4 baiday only. Dt meeting ws jst a cover 4 we nigs so we wld think he's working. Na wa o

Ikefirstlove said...

Badluck Jo-mouse-than!! Did you read that they took a delegation of 120!!! To do wetin!! Just a waste of precious money!! Common Boko Haram,even to show us half of a finger of one of them,they cannot!! Still no infrastructure,no electricity and yet this fish-monger and im wowo wife de parade de form activity! See Gaddafi and learn!!

Why am I not suprised at all. They had a mission before leaving Nigeria, to give Dame a surprise parry. The common wealth meeting is just to mark attendance. Imagine the number of people on the entourage and the amount of money that has been spent. All is well. Linda nice reporting here, God bless you.

Why are you people surprised? The trip was meant to be a jamboree for the President and his wife. An excuse to get away from all the probelms at home and celebrate madam's birthday outside Nigeria. Just imagine over 200 people attending a party thrown by Jonathan and his wife in Australia. Which kin work you want do after the party? Na sleep and bend bend go follow now. So please do not blame Mr Jonathan. Blame it on the Sapele water and jigijigi that did not allow him to wake up to attend the said session

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Wooohoooo... what a surprise. Not!

Has there ever been a time when a Nigerian president actually did what he was supposed to do?

Ahmed said...

Linda, what's your own. For even daring to post this about GEJ, I don't feel you are patrotic or even a bonafide Nigerian. How many Nigerians have ever seen your Nigerian passport? None. How many Libyans have seen your Libyan passport? Many. For goodness sake, please ooh, please ooh, leave our president alone ooh. Can't our wonderful and hardworking president be on (unofficial) vacation, get bladdered, piss his pants and nurse a (legitimate and lawful) hangover (for several days) in peace? For your information, GEJ was nursing an official hangover (from the party of the other day for his madam, Her Royal Highness, Patience Jonathan). I find the President not guilty of getting drunk and missing very important meetings of representing Nigeria in Australia. Case dismissed. Linda? Linda? How many times I called you? Behave yourself ooh. Don't make us (PDP) use EFCC to harras and tarnish your image. Your 2011 Christmas Card from Aso Rock is hereby withdrawn to teach you a big lesson.

Owambe Presido!!! Abi na Patience no give you permission go? Or you just spend all that money to celebrate her birthday!! I wonder!! I am beginning to regret voting for this man oooo. He is not doing anything. At least baba go slow try smmall

ChiChiLuv said...

What a bloody shame!

Seriously? Who gives a phuck about racist Australia. The Queen of England is STILL the head of state of Australia (a country STOLEN from the Aboriginees. We as black people must stop caring what white people think of us. Nigeria does not need their approval. GEJ was right not to please or kiss the white man's arse. That journalist who wrote the stupid article has no respect for Nigerian President and that white b*tch can go die in burning hell.

Anonymous 8:20pm, will you shut up your stupid trap. What does the writer's observation have to do with racism?! Did she fabricate the story? N besides the 120 idiots in your presidential entourage were not denied visa entry. Even though i was never at home to vote, nigerians should have seen the written on the wall and vote BUHARI in instead. Johnathan or whatever is his, would only set Nigeria back 10 years in progress. He is a shame to himself and the country, weak liver fool!!!

According to a reliable inside snitch, GEJ needed "a well deserved rest". That's why he was AWOL in those meetings in Australia. Apparently, he was drunk at Patience Jonathan's surprise parrry, then (from 4:47am to 4:50am) Australian time, he was "finished off" by his harem of runs girls (whom he smuggled into Australia in his 100 suitcases).

@Prism of an immigrant, you were spot on. No Nigerian president did the right thing at the right time, even abroad. That is why Nigeria is as bad as it is.

Yet, ex leaders like Buhari and IBB still want to rule us again. For what? Are we fools?

Some peeps dont seem to get the point sha. or they simply have been brainwashed by whatever favours they get from these mindless thieves. we should be grateful that the australian press revealed what our rulers spend tax payers money and crude surplus on. many a-head of states, senate presidents, speakers, ministers hav gone on similar unofficial vacations with whores and concubines that we never heard of. at least we nw knw why there never seem to be enough funds to run the GEJ administration!

oscar said...

This Goodluck that can not stand before the public and make a speech,,He just deliberately avoided the speech, someone who could not even appear for presidential debate in Nigeria here

Why are we all complaining, we elected this president, until we are ready to face facts, force change through the ballot to the youth, we will keep getting screwed by these agbayas.
Lets be wise next time around, a nation like Nigeria needs a vibrant young president in his 40's, we need to do away with electing old men who are only interested in themselves and their cohorts. When push comes to shove, these guys will not die for Nigeria, wake up people, stop voting these fools in.

I will say we need new people to lead our country Nigeria yet we are mad with the white people but just to see the way they rule there people with respect i have been in canada for some years now and its just like a dream to me seen the way people with mixed culture come together to live as one i for one as a citizen of the Federal Republic Of Nigeria will want new reforms even in the political sector

UgoBabeee said...

I am not getting the significance of the president's absence at this meeting. Its not as if he snubbed the Austrailian president or head of states. So what the hell is the big idea. From the reading it seems to be some sort of symposium to get investors and their were Nigerian representatives equally capable of representing Nigeria's interests so what is the big deal?????

UgoBabeee said...

My bad...i see the forum was for heads of states.....for that, i stand corrected!!

The Critic said...

I'm so impressed. He fast becoming the most disappointing one if our leaders.

These your Naija delegation are so embarassing. Its allo ver the news here.. those of us that live in Western Australia have developed good reputations and excellent work ethics..
Meanwhile, Mr Goodluck and his croonies have now rocked up with nothing to show for their trip besides enjoyment on Nigeria's tab..SMH

I feel so sorry for those of you who allowed him to be re-elected:(

Anon @ 8:20 PM you are officially retarded.
Did the Queen take 120 delegates to Australia or your president GEJ did this?
I'm an Australian History teacher & can confirm that you know nothing about "Australian history & racism to Aboriginees" so zip it now my dear. Done!

UNIABUJA, holds 2011/2012 Post-UME on the 31st October said...

Whatever makes the president to be absent?

Futo admission acceptance fee to end soon said...

Whatever makes the president to be absent?

ESUT Releases 2011/2012 First Admission List, Registration Procedures and Forms said...

??????????? What those that tell?

This is hillarious

when i said this guy is useless...ppl were yarning goodluck for president...I blame everyone dat voted for him cos his stupidity was obvious from day 1...live with ur choice fellow Nigerians...goodluck ko, spineless lazy fool ni

let them go to hell. come and invest or we give it to China.nonesense

Linda, you missed this one:

http://www.theage.com.au/national/vibe-was-right-for-pm-to-hope-for-goodluck-charm-20111027-1mm3a.html#ixzz1c3JZXHNI

Smart said...

*sighs* as much I as dont want to be rude, I truly am angry with this stupid behaviour.Buh Linda, with all honesty, are there activists visiting this blog or can you relay this story to any. I *smh* am so scared for this country.
#justcantweep#
This man wont take us to the promise land,he is rather making it worse.

Sam Meera said...

That is what people get when they vote in PDP.

And Nigeria continues in the blazed path of cluelessness.

grace said...

HAHA are you guys just waking up from your slumber? right from day one, i was against this man becoming the president and yes i didnt vote for him, he is too annoying for my liking, he is just like hamlet's character in shakespeare, infact he is worse than Hamlet. He is just not fit to be a president! simples!

Meanwhile, he is about to remove the subsidy on petrol in order to free up funds to "develop infrastructure". How much did this wasted trip for over 120 people cost? Those whom the gods want to kill....

pls o! not all of us voted for gej! by d way, 2wks ago while waitn 2 board an emirate flight 2 dubai dame patience was also flyn 2dubai wit her entourage! meanwhile, half of d airport had no light, acs blowing hot air! na wa o! dis country sef...all dese deir nonsense is gettn too much...such parasites!!!

CLF said...

He forget his speech writers and/or written speeches at home so he gave it a miss. LOL!

guys, come on.....the president was there with some ministers.......definitely they need to do their JOB....by convincingly wooing investors to their various ministeries. Eg Minister of mines & steel.

wht do u expect frm a birthday party man

Samuel said...

Some comments on this blog are so childish and Nigerians should grow up! The President went to Australia with a delegation so as to make sure Nigeria is fully represented in every fora during the CHOGUM meeting. His being absent in a forum to scout for investors in the mining sector does not mean nobody represented him at the event. Does this Australian reporter wants to eat him? Why is it that she wants him to be present at forum when other representatives was sent? Let her leave our President alone. Those insulting Mr. President should desist from doing so as it does not show respect for our country and constituted authorities.

DEAR LINDA, I GUESS IF YOU DID JUST A LITTLE RESEARCH ON CHOGM YOU WOULD'NT ASK THE QUESTION AS TO WHY GEJ WENT TO AUSTRALIA.

CHOGM HAS GOT MANY SESSIONS AND THE ONE HE SENT THE MINISTER TO REP HIM WAS JUST ONE OF THEM(NOT EVEN AMONG THE MOST IMPORTANT).

AGAIN IT ISNT UNCOMMON FOR HEADS OF STATES TO SEND THEIR AIDES TO DELIVER THEIR SPEECHES IN SOME SESSIONS. THIS SMACKS OF SENSATIONALISM DEVOID OF FACTS. CARRY ON.

You folks should leave annon 8:20 alone! We are all entitled to our opinions on this blog isn't it?

As for the australian history teacher, please don't play us for a fool. We all know that aborigines are a disadvantaged group in australia. Despite being the original owners of the land, how many aborigines have you had as president? Yall are just as rascist there like here in Amerikkka, so stop fucking denying. History gets distorted all the time anyway so who cares what you teach!

Dr. Jonathan Goodluck, shame on ya! Hope Nigerians don't reelect you.

stating the obvious that your president went to waste the country's resources and time when he should be addressing more pressing issues such as the lack of electricity, extra-judicial killings, lack of security is showing a lack of respect for the president???WTF!!!
really?
that's why Fela said, we are a suffering and smiling nation.. GEJ ia a failed ptresident, he has shown that there is no use standing up to vote especially in a nation where all the supposed leaders and their god-fathers think about is self enrichment, i wish Boko Haram had a clearer mission, bomb the fools! but hey wait Boko Haram can never do that because the fools are the ones sponsoring them...
God help this nation!.

Criticism is ever so cheap. I wish I could swear that most of you wouldn't have done worse than GEJ. GEJ is a representation of the larger population of Nigerians. However this is not suggesting their alleged actions are appropriate. Secondly, its unfair to blame Nigerians for voting in GEJ. If you present 3 buffoons and ask a man to pick one..at best, he will pick the best buffoon who will still be a buffoon. GEJ was and is the best among the three on the table, not the best leader. Be sure the next leader will be worse than GEJ..as usual..it doesn't get better..we abused OBJ, then UMY, now GEJ

well all i can say is dat whatever might av kept the man away from dat meeting must av been realy very importnt. Knowing the man and how willing he is to help solve Nigerias many problems... I just wonder why some of u prefer to say studid things rather than reasoning...smh

he's just a useless, stupid and scared president

EBEKUO said...

www.icheoku.com says whoever captioned this article is either not literate enough to understand the connotation of it or was under the influence or better still out to cause mischief; otherwise how could any man or woman of letters infer from the Australian article that they were not impressed with Nigeria's president? the last time icheoku checked, the word impressed means satisfied and in this article the controlling word regarding how the Aussies felt about Nigeria's president was "towering". Now may whoever the editor or publisher of this headline tell icheoku that the word "towering president" could now pass for unimpressive president? being awol for a meeting is never a crime and even if deliberate, so what; may be the president was indisposed. please advise yourself properly the next time you caption an article.

U guys are talking crap.must he be there at d forum?how many head of state were at d forum?besides his ,minister was there.those of u talking I'm sure never watch d news cos if u did u wud've seen that he participated actively in d chogm meeting