Thursday 27 October 2011

6-Storey Building Collapse in Maryland, Lagos

The building before it collapsed
The building after it collapsed
A 6-storey building collapsed yesterday evening in Maryland, Lagos. The Don de Dieu Plaza, which was located at 11, Aderibigbe Street, was occupied by over 10 companies as at the time it collapsed. Over 350 people escaped death as they had been evacuated before the building collapsed.

The evacuation took place because prior to it's collapse, the building shook to its foundation and occupants and neighbours heard a very loud noise yesterday at about 3pm, giving signs that all was not well. Less than two hours after all the occupants had left the building, it collapsed. No casualty was recorded. Thank God!

19 comments:

Thank God!

Hmmm... what role did those massive billboards play in the collapse? Was there an engineering study done before those billboards where placed? Who approved the placement of such massive structures on the building?

Allegra said...

This is why due process must be followed and not taking short cuts. We have gotten to that stage in 9ja where tighter procedures should be in place and those administering the procedures well trained and better remunerated to stop all these back hand (we hope).
Thank God no-one was hurt.

na wa o!it wasn't built to last in the first place...no earthquake, nothing is just collapsed??? during construction aren't there standards but it in place/inspections going on??? pls where are my engineers and architects... lol
z

Why would not collapse? 350 people in a six floor building? The landlord is a very greedy fool. Thank god that nobody died.

Why would it not collapse? 350 people in a six floor building? The landlord is a very greedy fool. Thank god that nobody died.

Korede said...

O God thank you for your mercy upon your children.Help us more and more to put the counsel of enemies to shame in our nation. PRAISE YE THE LORD.PSALM 136:1

kecs said...

I dnt know why somebody thinks those billboards can have anything to do with collapsing of the building, FYI 350 people in a six floor building is normal, duh! its a building!! there are boarding schools that have more people on a 3 floor hostel. This building just has a strutural fault if you ask me.

CLF said...

Anon October 27, 2011 11:31 AM; the number of people can't be the issue here. If it was well built (foundation and all) it should withstand human traffic.
There are so many like this oh!

my friends wife left this building 30mins..before the colapse,i really thank God,cos they just got married.thank God

ephee said...

jeez! i know this building. i pass by it every morning on my way to work.its the building where the chartered institute of taxation is located. tank God no life was lost.

i guess the materials used to erect the structures were weak alredy coz if it was a weak foundation it would av sinked.

ChiChiLuv said...

Thank God nobody was in there, Jesus!

Na wa o....thanks God for giving them warning, that could have been 350 lives lost

Please do we have a commision that approves building plans and inspection in this country?Because this collapsing building scenarios has to stop.

http://praizhouse.blogspot.com/

Kemiismyrealname said...

Thank you Jesus!!!!

oscar said...

Praise God ....... Am happy no life was lost

Now in Lagos state if your building collapses the government takes over the property ..So the landlord now is a big looser ,, am sure he may have used sub standard materials during the construction

Buildings are collapsing in Nigeria without earthquakes or tsunamis may God save us!

Oge (NR) said...

Picture this, a deaf little boy lives in Maryland with his father and his step mother. After school everyday he has to hawk (sorry, I don't know how to spell it) some wares. IF he finishes before it gets dark, he goes home and reads a book for fun.

This aggravates his step-mother who feels saddened that she has no son so she takes it out on the boy (too much Nollywood, I know). So she gives him more wares to hawk whenever he comes home early. Meaning that the poor boy would have to head back into the streets. To avoid this, he decides to stay in this 6-Storey building in Maryland. He goes in the restroom and he hides there, reading his book

He does the same thing on Oct 27th 2011. But he does not know that the building is about to collapse. Yes, the building was evacuated but someone was left behind.

That day, his father, Mr. Adeniyi became a sonless father

OYANBO OWEI said...

Thank God there was no casualty recorded.i think the 6 storey-buiding did not collapse as a result of over population, nor the weight of the bill board but as a result of abandonment.the building needed total renovation which was not considered simply because the landlord didn't want to spend money