President Muhammadu Buhari beware the Ides of March (PART 1) By Femi Fani Kayode | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 5 March 2017

President Muhammadu Buhari beware the Ides of March (PART 1) By Femi Fani Kayode

This is an article written by Femi Fani Kayode. Read on...
In 44 BC the respected Roman seer and soothsayer Spurinna warned the great Consul and ruler of the Roman Empire Julius Caesar about the "ides of March". He counselled him not to go out on that day because he had perceived that something terrible would happen. According to the Roman calender the ides of March was the 15th of March.

Caesar treated the prophecy and the warning with riducule and contempt, as is often the case with most men of power, and he chose to ignore it.

According to the Greek historian and essayist Plutarch, on the morning of March 15th, whilst on his way to the Theater at Pompei, Julius Caesar saw Spurinna again and disdainfully whispered into his ear that the ides of March had come, thereby mocking the old man and his prophecy.

The soothsayer smiled and responded by calmly saying,

"Ay Caesar, the ides of March has indeed come but it has not yet ended".

Later on that same day on his return to Rome and as he entered the great hall and hallowed chambers of the Senate, the great Julius Caesar was stabbed to death by no less than 60 of his most trusted colleagues in the Senate, including Marcus Brutus, his young protegee who hailed from a noble and respected Roman family, who he had supported all his life and who he had virtually adopted as his own son.

History records that such was the courage, strength and fortitude of Caesar that even after dozens of vicious and deep fatal stabs were inflicted all over his ageing body and even as his blood flowed all over the floor of the Senate, he still stood up proud, refusing to bend his knee, refusing to plead for his life and refusing to fall. What a man he was!

It was only after the last of the conspirators, his very own Marcus Brutus, walked up to him slowly, looked him in the eye and plunged his long and sharp dagger deep into the old mans heart that Caesar gave up, yelled in pain and whispered the famous latin words, "Et tu Brute?" meaning "and you too Brutus?"? He ended it by saying "then Caesar falls" after which he fell down and gave up the ghost.

The truth is that he died more of a broken heart as a result of the betrayal of those that he trusted and loved, like Marcus Brutus, than he did from the physical stab wounds that were inflicted on him by the other Senators and his political enemies.

When he saw, felt and suffered Brutus' betrayal and treachery he gave up hope and lost his will to continue to live.

What a royal tragedy this was! What a waste of human life and greatness! What a gruesome and complicated mess!

What a way for the most powerful man on earth of his time to end his days.

What a way for a gallant and noble son of Rome, a man of valour and a great and irresistible warrior, clothed by the Living God in magnificence, and glory to go down and leave the earthly plain.

This was a valiant and courageous man who had achieved greatness and who was bestowed with awesome power and unprecedented glory by the God of Heaven and the Lord of Hosts.

This was a man who went to the British Isles, who conquered and bound their ruling spirit Brittania and who proudly proclaimed those famous Latin words, "veni, vedi, vici", meaning "I came, I saw, I conquered".

This was a man who turned Egypt into a vassal state, who overwhelmed the Greeks, who conquered Europe, who mastered the Middle East, who ruled the entire civilised world and who bedded and tamed the great African Queen Cleopatra.

Yet this was also a man who was also deeply flawed: an unforgiving man who could not reign in his immeasurable and profound sense of narcissism, who could not control his  obsession with power and desire to dominate others and who could not shed his sense of pride, self-importance and vanity.

This was an arrogant man who listened to no-one, who took pleasure in being worshipped, who loved to be revered, who relentlessly persecuted his enemies, who showed cruelty  to his detractors, who scorned his three wives, who had contempt for his clerics, who mocked the sacred prophecies and who defied the Living God and the Ancient of Days.

Predictably and sadly it all eventually caught up with him and, in the end, he was taken dispatched from this world in the most agonising and pitiful way, wallowing in a pool of his own blood, slaughtered, not by his traditional and known enemies, but rather by his own political associates, loved ones and erstwhile friends.

If Caesar had listened to his youngest wife, the beautiful Calpurnia, that ill-fated morning and not stepped out he would not have been murdered and Roman, nay world, history would have been very different.

If he had listened to Spurinna, the great seer and soothsayer, who the God of Heaven had used to speak to him and if he had shown humility and heeded the seer's warning about the ides of March, Caesar would have lived to finish the work that he started and to fulfil his vision.

If he had not become the victim of his own vanity and obsessions and if he had not turned from being a great and much-loved war general and hero into a beastly and dictatorial bully he would  not have turned the hearts of the Senate against all that he stood for, he would not have provoked the wrath of God and he would not have kindled and stoked the bitterness, hatred and enmity of even his most trusted loved ones and men like Marcus Brutus.

If he had not sought to destroy all his enemies with a bitter vengeance and if he had not killed, incarcerated, jailed and tortured the innocent and those that had done no wrong he would have attracted the mercies of God and the Lord would have protected him from his relentless and implacable enemies.

If he had not abused power, brought sorrow, hardship and pain to the people, played God and sought to impose his wicked will over the nation he would have lived longer and he would have died peacefully in his bed many years later as a fulfilled and happy old man.

If he had not allowed himself to be transformed  from being a great warrior and war hero who feared and honored God, who believed in justice, equity, fairness and the rule of law, who upheld the sanctity and integrity of the republic and who defended the constitution and the sacredness of the Senate into a mean-spirited, power-hungry, obsessive and brutal tyrant he would have lived for much longer.

If he had not attempted to transform himself from being an accommodating Consul and the humble leader of the Republic of Rome into a life-long dictator and all-powerful emperor who could tolerate no criticism, who would brook no opposition and who would kill, brutalise and demonize his enemies, lock up and humiliate his critics and seek to destroy the destiny and very essence of his nation, he would have lived for much longer.

If he had not used his brutal army to murder young and defenceless activists, opposition figures and protestors or his secret police to torture innocent people and lock them up all over the country without any recourse to the law or respect for their civil liberties, human rights or the courts, he would have lived for much longer.

If he had not attacked and sought to blackmail,  humiliate and intimidate the Judiciary and if he had not attempted to politicise, manipulate and corrupt the administration of justice in his nation he would have lived for much longer.

If he had not treated the opposition with disdain and contempt and if he had not sought to decimate and destroy their ranks by foul means and the dishonorable dispatch, planting and deployment of a bunch of merciless, crooked and treacherous blacklegs, traitors, moles, gangsters, saboteurs and murderers in their ranks he would have lived for much longer.

I could go on and on. When men play God all manner of tragedies stalk them and they never end well. That is the lesson of history and that is what we are seeing unfolding in Nigeria today.

Persecution and the abuse of power always attracts a heavy price for those who indulge in it: this is especially so when they hate God's children and His anointed and they persecute the Church and His clerics.  (TO BE CONTINUED).

48 comments:

Just negodu a president of a whole Republic of Nigeria.. a president operating in diaspora. Chai we have suffered 😢😢😂😂😂.. dunno if i should cry or laugh. Una sure say dis man still dey alive? Abeg na question o!!!

Oky seen...

Hmmmmmmm seen.

take politics aside. I like the historical knowledge of this write up.
history should come back to our schools.
thanks FFK

Good writer..great thief..if u had not stolen..we wont be after u..cos the whole of Nigeria are set to stone u upon conviction..

The money u stole last could av help defeat boko haram , save some of our soldiers and our brothers and sisters in the North.

Femi always writes deep stuff... I like him...

Each time I read this man's write ups, goose bums all envelopes me. FFK, God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel will bless you, amen.....Men like YOU Give me hope.....I don't belong to any political party whatsoever, but Buhari has failed Nigerians who voted him there. Truth bitters!

GOOD TO SEE

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Orabank said...

FFK , GO AND SIT DOWN ONE PLACE, YOU ARE A LIAR AND THIEF. WHEN YOU ARE EATING NIGERIA MONEY WITH FORMER PRESIDENT YOU DID NOT TALK ALL THIS RUBBLISH

FRESH said...

There already was a hatched plot against Julius Caesar by those men
.if it didn't happen that day,it would have happened on another day.Seer or no seer.FFK & his bitter,meaningless. '1st & 2nd' chronicles.

Cypher said...

Na greek story u come narrate for us? Na Hod go judge u ffk.

Kiki said...

Ffk. Nice! However can't seem.to find the link between Ceasar the great and the clueless Pmb. They are completely of a different stock.

Caesar was loved by Romans but unfortunately not so by the conspirators. He rose and became the most influential in the first triumvirate (his coalition with Licinius Crassus and Pompeius Magnus a.k.a Pompey the great) which unsettled the suspicious Cassius and Cascas (the co conspirators).
Caesar was power drunk when he averred that he was "as constant as the northern star". This informed the fear of domination on the part of Cassius and Cascas both of whom lured Brutus into the plot to slay Caesar.
Caesar's quest and "overambition" knew no bounds as he in one of his military campaigns "crossed the rubicon"- a point of no return- which was revealing of his hubris.
If one reads Achebe's Things Fall Apart and Shakespeare's MacBeth, the hubris misled the central characters like Okonkwo and MacBeth who like Caesar, ran into the seers or three witches who pronounced him "Thane of Cowdor", and that he (Macbeth) shall not die unless the "Birnam woods move to Dunsinane", into unceremonious end. The hubris was much on Caesar whom we learned shared money among Roman citizens (75 drachmas or so I think).
If Caesar has listened, against the hubris, to Carlphurnia he would have lived long and MacAnthony would not have any business "to bury Caesar and not to praise him". Caesar was a statesman whose death was historic for it happened on 15th March 44Bc a day in Roman calendar considered horrible for betrayals and conspiracy.
The end was fatal for Caesar as Brutus he slew Caesar "not that I love him not, but that I love Rome more". The saying bore testimony to the prophecy: IDUS CAVE MARTIAS- beware of the ides of march as Caesar was slewn by his beloved Brutus and died before the status of Pompey (The end of the Dictator and first Triumvitate).

I do not intend to link up that Shakespearean drama with Buhari or contemporary Nigerian politics but in politics, there are lot of Cassius and Cascas, there are equally Mac Anthonys who will play their role to mislead the man in charge or lick his boots. And this why Machaiavelli, the sage warned that a ruler should not always rely on the love of his subjects. We all should beware of ides of march in all aspects of our lives. Thanks for this piece though I do not agree totally with the author.

The Aficionado

If u understood that which you wrote, that means Buhari is finished come what may.

We are watching.

Lovely write-up. Always like reading from you. Very educative. Thumps UP

Orabank...seriously, dont u sound like a broken record to yourself?

Chidi said...

Yes, the man may have ingratiated himself with the luxuries that fell off the corridors of power during his Oga's administration, and fed fat on the privileges that came with his proximity to the government, but us that enough reason why he shouldn't speak the truth now that it is much needed? In my own opinion, I think it would be worthwhile to accept the message that FFK is preaching, and probably discard the messenger if we so please. But the truth must be told.....FFK is pointing out a tangible and obvious truth tat should be considered forthwith. The man cannot be wrong in his assertions even if he may be wrong in the eyes of morality..

Well written FFK, in 21st century, Buhari is fighting a partial and controversial war on corruption...He has brutalized and humiliated and tarnished the image of his critics

Amiable said...

Now dt Buhari isn't around fulani herdsmen are silent there is peace no more killings d acting president met with Niger deltans n de gave their conditions which he is working on it. Before now nothing happened. FFK is on point just dt people don't like hearing d truth. You said ur fighting corruption but ur people are dying of hunger every commodity on d high side u blocked d borders to stop importation when u produce nothing u don't listen to d cries of ur peopl u are a tyrant so heartless a dictator . May God deliver us all from u

What is wrong with this corrupt politician. You don't need to work because of the huge public funds in your possession that's why you have too much free time to write meaningless epistles. Was Julius Caesar a 74 year old man with health challenges that you're now comparing Buhari to him. There is no basis for comparison. Please stop manipulating history. No be only you go school.

I wish we are good enough to mean what we say.... Dear FKK, I wish you were a better human being

The Aficionado at 8.40 and FFK I hail you both. Such a pleasure to read well written pieces. Thank you. After all the rubbish one reads on blogs -bad spelling, bad grammar- it's great to read you. I appreciate 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

A lesson for the murderous daura general. Better not end like Caesar.

In 2019 they will still vote APC or PDP again.. And the same trend continues. The day the young ones know that they wield the keys to the corridors of power and stop looking at old men as saviors..That day the likes of Femi Kayode won't be talking neither will there be a Buhari to talk about

Mr. Ariyo said...

Linda Pls introduce like button... I wanto like Chidi M. Nwachukwu's comment a trillion times.

This is apparently the most reasonable and logical comment I read on this blog in a long long while.

Thank u Chidi

Ffk, lets sit n watch God unfold his plans.

Away with you and ur evil prophesy ffk,you lack understanding of times and you will soon be shocked that God is angry with you and your looters association to deal mercilessly with you amen.Pls keep shut and restitute ur way you fraudulent man of low morale.

Linda how much is PDP paying you to publish articles of Reno, Abati and FFK? This their divisive messages aren't for anyone's good

FFK thanks for your write up. We pray that your advice be taken by whom it is meant for.

LOL FFK Beware!

Any one who insult FFK cus of his write ups is an enemy of progress and should be stone to death. All these good for nothing friends of PMB will all die mysteriously one after d other. Cos I hate u and ur so called masterx our UK base president .

Sir, the Rubicon is a river...

Interesting rehash of Caesar's death.

Awsome writeup.Give it to you sir,anytime,anyday

My understanding of the write up and comments is that the truth is bitter, particularly when FFK tells it. My brothers, weep not for PMB. He is at present answering questions from GOD. FFK we get the message. A disgraceful end indeed. When the wicked rule the people mourn, but when the righteous rule the people rejoice -Proverbs 29:2.

Hunger in the land and that is why people are angry with Buhari.If FFK and co- travellers had not stolen us blind,things could have been different.Psychologists say that "To make a man to become very stupid,make him very poor so that when he comes visiting you and you tell him to sit down,he will sit down on the floor even when there are chairs to sit on" FFK and his group brought that condition on foolish Nigerians who look up to him as a hero.

How long does it take to approve comments?

Yeah.
Got a copy of the Book "Roman Lives" by Plutarch. A dope masterpiece.
Also got "Metamorphosis" by Ovid.

The poblic money that is with you The money you did not worked for is your brag it pain when one lused an opportunity you're a loser that is while you will always condemned Buhari

The admin.here is biased as usual.Do you share from the loot of FFK?Why do you always publish his hate filled articles?

The sad thing is, they may not get it. They do not understand FFK.This article nko? It will just go over their head. They may need to read over and over and seek a second opinion to get it.
Even after Nebuchadnezzar's dream was clearly interpreted, he still misbehaved and ate grass for years
When someone is destined for doom, they stop hearing, seeing, discerning, perceiving. Their wickedness has consumed them. All they see is ways to lock people up, intimidate,using DSS, EFCC, Whistle blowing and media justice.Their numerous concoctions is twisting their thinking and reasoning. Even Aisha Buhari screamed out that something wasn't right. But her voice is not strong or loud enough. I'm sure they will soon dash her one illnesses as a repercussion for daring to speak out.
God cannot be mocked.

The sad thing is, they may not get it. They do not understand FFK.This article nko? It will just go over their heads. They may need to read over and over and seek a second or third opinion to get it and when they do they look for more ways to lock FFK up.
Even after Nebuchadnezzar's dream was clearly interpreted, he still misbehaved and ate grass for years
When someone is destined for doom, they stop hearing, seeing, discerning, perceiving. Their wickedness has consumed them. All they see is ways to lock people up, intimidate using DSS, EFCC, Whistle blowing and media justice.Their numerous concoctions is twisting their thinking and reasoning. Even Aisha Buhari screamed out that something wasn't right. But her voice is not strong or loud enough. I'm sure they will soon dash her one illness as a repercussion for daring to speak out.
God cannot be mocked.

The sad thing is, they may not get it. They do not understand FFK.This article nko? It will just go over their heads. They may need to read over and over and seek a second or third opinion to get it and when they do they look for more ways to lock FFK up.
When someone is destined for doom, they stop hearing, seeing, discerning, perceiving. Their wickedness has consumed them. All they see is ways to lock people up, intimidate using DSS, EFCC, Whistle blowing and media justice.Their numerous concoctions is twisting their thinking and reasoning. Even Aisha Buhari screamed out that something wasn't right. But her voice is not strong or loud enough. I'm sure they will soon dash her one illness as a repercussion for daring to speak out.
God cannot be mocked.

Enter your comment...nice comment,a very accurate and intelligent piece...i must say that i learnt from it

White Gardenia said...

Those who wish to understand the true state of affairs concerning our leader has already done that.Oya others who do not understand and cannot read between the lines, start abusing FFK but whatever the case, the man has spoken.