London police called in to arrest The Guardian newspaper reporter for wanting to interview President Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 20 February 2017

London police called in to arrest The Guardian newspaper reporter for wanting to interview President Buhari

Security men at the Abuja House in London where President Buhari is staying, yesterday called the police to arrest a correspondent of The Guardian newspaper who had arrived the premises, demanding to see President Buhari so he could interview him.

According to a report by the newspaper, after the reporter arrived the Abuja house which is the official residence of the Nigerian High commissioner to the UK in the afternoon, demanding to see the president, a member of staff at the premises told him that the President wasn't there.

According to the report, at about 2:50pm, a black Mercedes Benz SUV arrived the premises and the occupant sitting by the driver rolled down the glass and asked the The Guardian correspondent, “why are you here?”

“When I told him that l was a reporter with The Guardian and l had come to see if the president was there and to interview him, he looked quite irritated and replied angrily: ‘he’s not here, you can’t see anybody here’.

Shortly afterwards, two police officers, Constables Marlett and Stock, arrived on their motorcycles with the intent to arrest the reporter. They took the reporter’s name and date of birth and subsequently made a check on the national database, before staying around for about 20 minutes and then left.

The reporter was later directed to go to the Embassy- Nigerian House at Northumberland Avenue to see any official there for any information he is seeking to get. “Somebody should be there,” he was told.

According to the reporter, at about 1:20 p.m., a man and a teenage-looking girl presumably President Buhari's daughter, arrived the gate and they were granted access.

When asked:”Is that the daughter of the president?”, the security officer replied “I don’t know.” When The Guardian reporter pressed the gate buzzer about five minutes later, the security man sounded angry and threatened to call the police. “You should realise this is a private place and I will call the police,” the security officer said. When he was immediately corrected and told that the reporter was standing outside in a public place, he then said:” l won’t speak to you again.”

However around 1:40 p.m., when two guests arrived, the reporter shook hand with one of them and asked, “have you come to see Mr. President?” He replied cheerfully saying “yes”, but he didn’t enter the compound. He left about 15 minutes later.

Another security officer came out shortly after and told the reporter to move away from the main gate. “Excuse me, you can’t just stand here,” he said.

The reporter stated that he sighted Senate President Bukola Saraki, leave the Abuja residence yesterday. Recall that President Buhari on his twitter handle, posted that he had a meeting with Saraki at the Abuja house yesterday.

69 comments:

hmm

i wonder wat dey ar hiding

bcmaureen said...

Wow ....... seriously

the way you headline stories thoe

Yar'Adua drama unfolds...

So what is the big deal about this president thing, Nigeria is how they intend to move this country forward, what kind of a leadership is leading this country all full of liar, may God mercy on their soul, clueless leadership, a whole president of a nation dissapair not a word from him and they keep telling us liar hoping they are deceiving us forgetting also deceiving their generation. God bless Nigeria

tsalz said...

More journalist should move to london for the interview.. Great work.

AM SURE BUHARI IS DEAD

baba said...

Watin concern me

What on earth are they hiding huh,hmmm.

I am very sure that the reporter from Guardian news paper must be an Igbo man.Stubborn and arrogant race.What was he looking for?He wanted to make a big fame from this nonsense act.Foolish person.Did he think they would grant him access to the president for any stupendous interview.Who would do that.May be he wanted to plant bomb in that place or probably assassinate the president.The guy must be the people of BIAFRA. Yeye people.He should go and interview Nnamdi Kanu,the foolish Biafra leader.Yeye BIAFRA.Is it by for you interview people?You do not interview people by force.Interview has to be voluntary not by force.

Lol the reporter you get mind oh, who send you? Lol that place na hospital? Lol laughing in Swahili.... You even get mind to peep shariki Lol... Chia part 2 is coming out soon.....

Na you kill him?

There are protocols to follow. U can't just barge into a private residence like that just because u are a journalist. Moreover, if he was allowed easily to see PMB then every dick & harry including unknown identities would be trooping in. UK is not Nigeria!

I tire for Linda o. Pls does anyone know any nice not too expensive Bed and breakfast around onikan? How can I get WhatsApp call logs with duration of calls.

Hide and seek
I remember when I used to play this game with my homies...

Just buy a button pin hole camera, a spectacle camera and use it .. That what needed instead of being too open as a media.

That idiot isn't here he is done kaput.

Imagine the kind of stupid president nigeria 🇳🇬 gat... oh I wish history will repeat itself again,babangida we need u ooo.. do wot u did to this man in d past

Yeah that's fine but hang on how you feel when nothing isn't going anywhere night meeting without the need of the most important part. you guys should be kick out of town back to your home addresses, we know where it's way too long but time we catch up with you pigs.

Fuck head Hurts

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

am sure one day our president will come out of hiding. this change nawa.

Yeah your dreams to be part of that country may end without warning!!

Ajibola. You don't have brains and you talk like a stupid fool. Do you know what journalism is all about. Think before you vomit rubblish from your dirty mouth

I can imaging ur level of stupidity to think he is an Igbo man..Aren't u ashamed not to kno the whereabout of ur president? Its ur kind of person that keep lookin for who to lay blames on instead of solving the problem at hand. Making himself famous my foot... Wat offence has he committed to kno the whereabt of his leader. Y did the police not arrest him if truly he was wrong? U think say nah Nig one ll get detained for doing nothing? Stupid Yoruba demon. Its ur kind of person dat give other Yoruba's bad name. Poverty never reach ur side yet dat is y u v tym to call out the Igbo's as if it was stated dia. "Ewu cambia" Wat has Biafra got to do with this post? Its ur type that look for fire wia dia is no smoke. U better go meet book haram ppl n complete d fight for Nig's since u like making one. Iti boli bo.. U think say Buhari go recognize u for ur low life speeches? Come wipe away the Igbo's nahhh if e too pain u. Oye ara. Biko as we wia saying? We need to see n kno the wia about of our president. Nonsense

Mike Ebony said...

@Bello Ajibola, there are already Yoruba and hausa guys serving their lifetime in UK and US prisons for offences we all know.."TERRORISM" Not a single Igbo son or daughter have been suspected not to talk of being arrested, charged to court and jailed. Go tell it to the press, We ain't that!!!. Why can't you guys make your point for once without showing how tribally divided you are here? Can't you atleast pretend like this country is united? It's a shame

Chief Oduro said...

Kudos to Guardian newspaper. If there are serious newspaper houses in Nigeria, all of them ought to be at the gate of that house in London seeking for information about our President who is holed up inside.

bello I pity people like u tribalism is one of our biggest problem u r so so tribalistic dat is why u seems not to reason well really I dont blame u

We will soon no the truth

Bello you must be very stupid and useless man if you said you have a president and he is not a public figure and is not capable of leading you always afraid of interviews well I don't know ooh but for you to stand here and talk and insult the igbos and biafrans you must be an idiot.

oma said...

Mr Yoruba man, please speak English.

Bello Ajibola - YOU ARE VERY FOOLISH AND A WASTE OF SPERM
PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOULD BE IN ZOO TO IMPROVE TOURISM IN NIGERIA
IF GLO DID NOT GIVE YOU FREE MB, YOU WOULDN'T VE COME ON THIS BLOG TO SPIT RUBBISH
I BLAME THE WOMAN THAT GAVE BIRTH TO A MOFO LIKE YOU IDIOT

Bello Ajibola - YOU ARE VERY FOOLISH AND A WASTE OF SPERM
PEOPLE LIKE YOU SHOULD BE IN ZOO TO IMPROVE TOURISM IN NIGERIA
IF GLO DID NOT GIVE YOU FREE MB, YOU WOULDN'T VE COME ON THIS BLOG TO SPIT RUBBISH
I BLAME THE WOMAN THAT GAVE BIRTH TO A MOFO LIKE YOU IDIOT

MR FESTUS said...

Bello Ajibola, grow up. Stop acting like you are 3

Your comment is the most foolish I have read. You are asking what a Nigerian reporter is doing in a diplomatic house belonging to Nigeria. Is that how ignorant you are? Besides the man in question is his President and he has the right to request for an interview with him.

oma said...

Mr Yoruba man, please speak English.

MY PEOPLE KINDLY IGNORE @BELLO AJIBOLA , A BUS DRIVER IN LAGOS. HE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH HIS MISERABLE LIFE AND HIS IGNORANCE HAS FULLY BEEN EXPOSED SO MANY TIMES ON THIS BLOG. HE SHOULD HENCEFORTH BURY HIMSELF IN SHAME.

Wow me I love this reporter die. The guy get mind. I begg what's his name.oh boy see mind;you de craze?

Nigga is dead abeg..... All this stuff are just fabricated shit nothing else....

Your name says it all! Ya mum called u Bellow @ birth but u changed it to Bello! traces of foolishness in every word u used! Idiotic tribalist. Ewu ọhịa!

Mumu

Hello Ajibola I can see you an insipid idiot and a born fool whose brain was buried along with the placenta at birth, what has the ibos got to do with this and since you want to be an ignorant bastard lemme educate you Britain has a newspaper called the guardian and the guardian in Nigeria is run by the yorubas ignoramus like you

Ajibola you are next information minister or start assisting lie lie mohammed ? Doomed race......Britain is not this getho called Nigeria ? British police knows what to do if called not this fulani- DSS opperating in Nigeria....... Anike

God punish u and ur generation for talking to my president like that. You shall die untimely death if u so wish him bad

Any responsible leader seeing the major concern that his non-appearance is causing among the populace would have made some effort to communicate with them directly, thank them for their concern and re-assure them about the situation.
But our so-called rulers are too arrogant, the only time they consider it appropriate to talk to the people is when the people's votes are needed, after they get into power through the votes, the people can go to blazes.
This unfolding drama clearly shows that Buhari doesn't have good advisers at all. He only has bed-sheet wearing sycophants milling around him and lying to him.
The genuine leaders of other countries who know the true meaning of leadership will just be shaking their heads in pity for Nigeria.

U r right jare my man. Don't mind d myopic social media idiots. They know nothing about protocol

Na u and ur entire family go die prematurely, I'm very sure about that

God punish all d igbos that gave negative comment@Bello.you this low thinking brainwashed progeny of gorilla. Eni ku si ibi aso yin wa

This is good investigative journalism by the sharp journalist. Obviously the sharp journalist had got wind of some information which he was trying to confirm. But the establishment acting like people who have something to hide hastily arranged all these "arrivals" of "guests" at the Embassy- Nigeria House at Northumberland Avenue just to throw the journalist off the scent but the man wasn't fooled.
This drama have only served to reinforce the suspicion of the journalist and observers worldwide.
If Buhari can receive Aisha Buhari, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Dogara, Governor Amosun etc. What stops him as a true man of the people from just stepping out unto the balcony and waving to Nigerians and saying a few words of re-assurance to them. This man is throwing away a gigantic opportunity to connect with the people and renew the initial support they had for him. No genuine leader behaves this way.

@Bello Ajibade U r a dirty, stinking, retarded and bigoted Yoruba pig. A no good, waste of sperm and space amongst human beings. An ape lyk u sld be captured for the establishment of the 1st ape island in Nigeria. Thunder fire d papa and mama wey born u. Useless son of a useless father and useless mother and so wld ur offsprings be useless also. By their fruits u shall no them. A no good low life. C as human being be, Bastard. @ 40+ u no get sense. Shame on ur entire generation.

Na story you dey yan.... Do you think PMB was not informed that Guardian's journalist from Nigeria is waiting outside to interview him?... Do you think there are professional security there that can search the man and confirm his validity?..... With all these, Why president didn't allow him interview if thorough checks are carried out? What are dey hiding?

I am Yoruba but Bello ajibola does not represent Yoruba. He's a disgrace to Yorubas! Having said that, why belittle yourself to his standard by replying him. A foolish man should be treated like one with just silence

Buhari is not fit...He is sick.

Osinanl, I am laughingggggg... I thought, you are on the same page with Bornario on dis platform? Buhari personal person.... Lol.

kisbykay (Travelling Agency) said...

Let them continue to hide him oo. Diaris God ooh.

Kids every where..mums be leaving their phones for their little if not tel me how ajibola manage to comment here...u yeruba people wil always be slaves to hausa....u guys hav always been afraid of dem!! Buh we not

See how Nigerians are embarrassing themselves. How can a Nigeria call for the arrest of a fellow Nigerian with good intentions? That shows how much hate we have for one another

Bello Ajibola does not talk like a stupid fool, he is a big stupid fool. Hey Bello Ajibola Biafra is your own problem right? People like you will stay in this situation for a long long time MUMU.

@Bello Ajibola for insulting the Igbos, you shall know no peace until you die. your hatred for the Igbos know no bounds and so shall your troubles know no bounds. you are not supposed to be a Nigerian for insulting a particular race. you wiil live long with many disasters. Sadness is your portion. if God has destined an igbo man to be your helper in life, He will retrieve it and you will suffer until you beg for forgiveness. This i pray for you until you repent from your hatred of igbos and tribal sentiments in Jesus name, Amen!!!

For your party palmwine, call JK PALMWINE on 08038186834

The thing is, PMB actually knew he was ill prior to the campaign and election but deliberately hid this because of his drunkenness for power and the ambition to possess Nigeria which he has achieved by shedding innocent and helpless blood of Nigerians for more than 12 years to achieve this, with the help of his northern kinsmen.

Ahmed Tinubu who reveled in the 'glory' of unseating an incumbent President actually knew PMB was critically ill but as the AFONJA of yorubaland, in is quest and hunger for power forced PMB on Nigerians with the hope of opening an office with immediate effect inside Aso Rock Villa to further his ambition of becoming Nigerian's next president until PMB clarified to him that Aso Rock belongs to the 'Fulani' race and he had no intention of sharing even with his benefactor considering their overriding plan to islamize Nigeria/ break away with our resources.

Ironically, they are being beaten to their own games, lol by nature. After PMB, Tinubu go follow. If him like, make him go the end of india go cook the jazz come, Nigeria must move forward.

The thing is, PMB actually knew he was ill prior to the campaign and election but deliberately hid this because of his drunkenness for power and the ambition to possess Nigeria which he has achieved by shedding innocent and helpless blood of Nigerians for more than 12 years to achieve this, with the help of his northern kinsmen.

Ahmed Tinubu who reveled in the 'glory' of unseating an incumbent President actually knew PMB was critically ill but as the AFONJA of yorubaland, in is quest and hunger for power forced PMB on Nigerians with the hope of opening an office with immediate effect inside Aso Rock Villa to further his ambition of becoming Nigerian's next president until PMB clarified to him that Aso Rock belongs to the 'Fulani' race and he had no intention of sharing even with his benefactor considering their overriding plan to islamize Nigeria/ break away with our resources.

Ironically, they are being beaten to their own games, lol by nature. After PMB, Tinubu go follow. If him like, make him go the end of india go cook the jazz come, Nigeria must move forward.

Death doesn't hide😊 . Time will tell😉

Nkan mi mbe nidi oro yii o. Ara baba yii o ya definitely. Writers of "definately" beware.

HMM