Finally! Electricity for all: Fashola, Shittu Commend MTN and Lumos for mobile electricity solution | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 February 2017

Finally! Electricity for all: Fashola, Shittu Commend MTN and Lumos for mobile electricity solution

The days of uninterrupted power supply is fast becoming a reality in Nigeria as MTN partners with Lumos to launch an affordable alternative electricity solution called Mobile Electricity Service.

The mobile electricity solution which was recently launched in Abuja was commended by Babtunde Raji Fashola, the Federal Minister of Power, Works and Housing.

“MTN is addressing something close to my heart and portfolio. With this new and innovative technology, Nigerians can easily access affordable solar electricity to power their homes and businesses,” he said at the launch.

The Honorable Minister of Communications, Barr. Adebayo Shittu, also commended MTN Nigeria for its innovative solutions “MTN has always been at the vanguard of providing telecommunication services to Nigerians. With this new product launch and partnership with Lumos, they have positioned themselves as a critical enabler of social and economic welfare of Nigerians,”he said.

The duo have come together to combine the solar technology of Lumos and the easy payment process through MTN airtime to provide a seamless experience for millions of Nigerians looking for modern clean electricity.

How it Works
  1. Electricity is generated by home-size solar power systems installed in customers’ homes and\or businesses. It comes in a new type of solar panel and indoor unit that allows customers to purchase electricity as a service on demand using their MTN mobile phone.
  2. Upon deployment, the subscriber loads airtime onto the SIM (embedded on the system) to activate the platform and enjoys uninterrupted power supply.
  3. The service is provided on a lease-to-own basis and the cost is spread over a five-year term, payable in affordable instalments via mobile phones from MTN accounts. Customers receive a full product repair service during the lease period providing peace of mind and quality assurance.
Now, everyone can enjoy 24/7 access to noise-free, fume-free reliable electricity, every day for as low as NGN200per day. This solution will help to improve the lives of MTN subscribers especially because it empowers them to do more for less with electricity at their convenience and pace.

Existing users include small businesses, residential users, small businesses, schools, healthcare facilities, community buildings among others.

See Pictures from the launch below:

25 comments:

Hmmmm! Sound nice but how possible can this be? Time shall tell.

Ok oooooo... dee

Good innovation!!!

Yeye APC! was we buying inverter and solar the uninterrupted power supply u promised us when u said that our problem was PDP and Jonathan. Should we stone u out now as u and ur lying members requested.

Good innovation. But let's see how it works and the cost spread over 5years first.

Long live LIB

13 watts,what Willmott carry.Rubbish

General said...

I hope it's as good as they say

Vision less government and inept minister. Rather than tender his resignation he has turned to pet projects and business proposals from equally incompetent organizations.
Shmeez!

amakandidi said...

Nonsense, this is a new way of milking money from Nigerians.

igboboy said...

xenophobic idiots, #200 per day that means #6000 per month, that rubbish will not carry pressing iron, ac or even boiler and you pay such hugh amount. instead of fashola to give nigerians bigger power plants that will supply uninterrupted power he is advertising a small solar box, rubbish

TBC BONANZA! Am giving out 100tbc at 1k per TBC contact me on 09024360475 whatsapp or call

Like they are not going to charge an arm and a leg for it.

God's baby said...

Arrant nonsense, pure rubbish so this is another generator (I pass my neighbor)in disguise Abi? I weep for my country. Whatever that's is rejected out there is being introduced in Nigeria. What if you (the so called leader) work towards making uninterrupted power available in the whole country? Is it too much to be asked of Nigeria leaders? Water, light and good health care? Now tell me how the people in rural areas, and some who don't even have a phone will benefit from this nonsense and on top of it paying two hundred naira everyday. You have the courage to publicize it and expect applauds. A whole lot of small small countries with absolutely nothing in it, basically feeding on tourism money, make basic necessity of life available for all their citizens. Nigerians with all thier natural endowment are suffering courtesy of....... let me not call anyone name. I pray the Lord Almighty for the sake of innocent citizens there will come to our rescure.

Linda mkn money snc 2000

Honestly he's a minister of darkness biggest fool

see as this men de happy, clearly shows that we need south africans, no wonder dem de treat us a shit for SA

Money Making Machine said...

Yeye they smell,rubbish!!!!!

Fashola the flat in block u built in igando lagos for civil servant and masses for outrageous money are still there. U are just clueless man!

It's a big shame, Mr Fashola display of incompetency. Electricity suppose to be for the masses not private sectors, how do you expect someone earning 18k monthly to afford 200 daily? It's rubbish

The govt and ministers will give these foreign businesses audience and create favorable business concessions for them but will frustrate Nigerian owned businesses till they fold up. Imbeciles !

When you put right pen into wrong hole, this is what u get. Imagine lawyers doing the work of an Engr,in the country whom are blessed with human resources this is what results look like.... Compensation political party

Shameless minister, dispensing solar energy again. What is going with the Nigetia electricity supply. What is the capacity? There are many solar generators complete sets around the world that are not expensive and could be bought just for once for almost a life time.

That thing is a toy.

That is a toy because it cannot power iron, pumping machine, AC or refrigerators.