The National leadership and the entire members of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) have received with rude shock and disbelief the report of yet another religious hatred motivated gruesome murder of a dedicated 42 year old Christian mother of seven children, Mrs. Eunice Elisha, who on Saturday 9th July, 2016, was brutally killed while doing Christian evangelism.
Mrs. Eunice Elisha was murdered in Kubwa area of Abuja, FCT, in the early hours of the day. Her neck was slashed and she was also stabbed in the stomach. About a month ago in Kano, Mrs. Bridget Agbaheme, a 74 year old Christian was murdered at Wambai market due to an altercation with a Muslim man who came to the front of her shop to perform ablution. Her offence was that she objected to the Islamic washing rite in front of her shop.
Just last week a clergyman of the Evangelical Church Winning All (ECWA) Reverend Zakariya was killed by attackers suspected to be Fulani Herdsmen in Obi LGA of Nasarawa state. They attacked him on his farm, cut off his arms and legs, then they chopped his head with a machete. Another fresh but sad news reaching us is that of the Fulani herdsmen militia that is back on rampage killing 81 people in multiple attacks in Logo and Ukum local government areas of Benue state in central Nigeria.
In recent times, there have been multiple cases of attacks by Fulani herdsmen on various Christian communities, all over the nation. In the South East and in the South South zones, there have been gruesome attacks on IPOB members and on Christian communities in the Niger Delta. All these are in addition to the relentless attacks of Boko Haram and Fulani herdsmen in the Middle Belt and southern Borno.
The Christian Association of Nigeria commiserates with the families affected by these mindless orgies of death and destruction as well as with the entire Christian community in Nigeria. We pray that God in His mercy shall comfort and strengthen the families of all the Nigerians affected in these unwarranted murders unleashed upon the nation by religious extremists.
The recurring decimal of violence and murder of innocent Nigerian citizens on the basis of religious intolerance demands specific and relevant response from all concerned citizens in the country more so when the government in power seems to have adopted an attitude of lukewarm response to the evils being perpetrated in Nigeria in the name of religion.
The discrimination against non-Muslims in Nigeria under the Buhari Administration is assuming a dangerous dimension that should not be left to the vagaries of time and circumstance to resolve.
You will agree with me that with these happenings and the lukewarm attitude by the authorities concern toward putting an end to it, Nigeria is dancing a macabre dance of death, both for the nation and for its citizens. It is time to stop the beat and let common sense guide the nation out of the present quagmire. A stitch in time saves nine.
Before the situation escalates into an unmanageable national crisis, the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) is calling on the authorities both at the states and federal to do everything possible to bring the perpetrators to justice if the confidence of Christians on this government must be maintained.
The unprovoked attacks on Christians and the authority’s inaction is becoming unbearable and may not be tolerated anymore, inasmuch as we will continue to call on Christians to remain tolerant and law abiding, it is becoming inevitable to also call on them to buckle up and be ready to defend themselves against these incessant unprovoked and mindless attacks.
Signed...
Rev. Dr. Musa Asake
General Secretary, Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN)
10th July, 2016

55 comments:
How can a Christian organization be encouraging violence? What does defend themselves mean? Pepper spray defence?
I think it's really time we Christians speaks up for ourselves and take the bull by its hun #CHRISTAINLIVESMATTERS
No we should stay and allow Islam kill us everyday!!!! When the time come u people will know what Islam is all about (kill Christians alah will reward u)that's what they believe u will continue to kill untill war strts then buharry will proove to u that this is what he came to do
To think that they still call this evil sect "a religion of peace" pisses me off, they're simply evil, belligerent trolls...!!!
Yes o! It's high time we fight back. If the country wan spoil abeg make e spoil. Enough is Enough! Linda take note!
I agree ✌✌✌
Nigeria is one my foot
**********************nnam okwu gi kwu otor ka Cigar*************dey are pushing xtians to d wall********** d day xtians go retaliate now. ...........abu nti Buahri anaa....... u go cee him swing into action.... but for now.... Na xtians dem dey kill hex keeping a deaf ear......... ******jux dont knw y God does not wanto come n sweep dix pipo away from d surface of dix 8**************Muslims Re stark idiots adding nothing but sorrows n pain to dix nation and d whole world......... God isi na agbakam............. whr dar hell did dix pipo emanate from for Gods sake *********??????
A gud step in d right direction. CAN. Govt is passive about d unwarranted killings. This is bad. Human life is sacred. And nobody I mean nobody has d right to take another's life.
I agree, gradually islmazimsing d nation
#Defendyourselves #Defendyourselves
When same words were spoken by the CAN PRESIDENT 4years ago, they opposed him. Now everything that has breath is saying #Defendyourselves.
God help us all!
Nice one.
Well said, Enough is enough!!
Christians no dey read bible sef?????
Don't u see how how the Jews defended themselves from Hamman's tyranny?
#writeyourowndecree
Very good! Religious war loading...! Where my pump action?! Dem go finish today!
It's so sad. How can a useless president sit there and watch people die this way. Buhari is antichrist, therefore his evil will consume him and his co vipers.
YOU DEY TELL THEM?? SO THEM NO GET SENSE SINCE??? MAKE DEM DIE IF THEM DE WAIT FOR GOD TO HELP THEM NAAA... STUPID AND LAZY CHRISTIANS WEY DE WAIT FOR GOD TO COME GIV THEIR WIFE BELLER.
Its about time
Make them first start am nw.... Nonsense...
OKAY O
soon fools will call this useless..but we wise
Na so
I have said it long ago that we must fight back when attacked as christains. Please stop saying 'God protects or God will fight our battle' when you family and friends are killed everyday. Let the battle start, am in full support. Enough is enough.
God will vindicate us
So you won't defend urself in the face of death,CAN should fold its arm until all Christians are killed?pls come to the north and see what dis ruthless he goats have done to peoples lives and livelihood. This country is heading somewhere, I pray its not on the path of destruction
U are really not ok
Mumu, u tink u guys in Lagos re immuned from dese dastardly acts? Time will tell! As for us, we re now set to face dose infidels headlong!
I concur!
That's exactly the way "Defend Yourself" (K*ll or be k*lled)
This lukewarm attitude of our dear president is becoming too much.....Afterall isrealite defnded themselves, its high time we christians too rise up and defend ourselves....
Guy wTF are u talking abt or r u blind to the ceaseless killings of the christian,maybe u should tell the Christians wat to do then Mr peace and conflict "resoluter"mitcheeeeeew.
Make e spoil?? No be u dey ranka de de upandan for BuHari? U neva drink half u wan drop cup. Very disloyal.
Oga if dem try to lynch ur gay ass, u no go defend yourself if u fit?
Juliet Buhari Iwuno, na you talk like this? E-bi like your Papa Buhari don fall your hand? Most of you Redeem people are brain dead.
Yorubas and some foolish igbos that are supporting this imbecile call Buhari how market?
Dear All, please go through the attached link and you will understand the basis for the current situation not only in Nigeria but globally:
http://www.thereligionofpeace.com/pages/quran/violence.aspx
Please go through the link below to understand why these murderous acts are being committed.http://www.thereligionofpeace.com/pages/quran/violence.aspx
Gay man! He can't even think straight
Well.... am getting ready is start my tech skills will help blower making.
The best way to defend is to attack. Christians from the east,west north and south arise and #Defendyourself
I have always said this and I will say it again, Christians should always defend themselves!! David in the Bible had armies, Joshua and Aaron had armies, Sampson fought the Philistines and killed many, so many to mention. So I don't see any wrong in carrying arms when doing the work of God to defend ourselves. The world is becoming a terrorist front and we can't just fold our-hands and watch some miscreants take away our precious life or that of our brethren. Our brothers in North keep killing us and attributing it to fulfilling the promise they pledged to Islam to kill all infidels while we look like goats and present our necks for slaughter. The Bible say's that we should be wiser than the serpent!!!
Is not as if dis Muslims are having three heads...we can still butcher dis demons like dey are doing now...God no go vex.
Well said
Gay bonario, u beta shut ur gay ass before i help u. Idiotu.
Yes my people, we Christians must awake from our slumber
@ONYX MAY THUNDER SHATTER THAT YOUR MISERABLE PHONE YOU USE IN FIRST COMMENTING RUBBISH, HOW I WISH YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED SUCH BEFORE, YOU MIGHT NOT HAVE THE NERVE TO JUST TALK WHEN MEN ARE SPEAKING.
Christian's should weak up from there slumber... Its time we stand up if not we will be slaves in our own country...
Vice president is RCCG member, I still remember his speech that night @ de holy ghost congress, this is de price u get 4 supporting aboki that used u to get what he wants.
It is time for every Christians to defend themselves. Every community must hold emergency meetings and setup a security unit and a detailed plan to defend themselves.
What does she know?
CAN, please,you people should go and sleep when Revs and pastors are receiving honors from the Govenment with the Name of inferences and eatind dinner with president, what will you expect,shame on CAN.my fellow christian´s just be carefully beacuse those people you are perchting for are Evils of theyself.perch for yourself and your family.Bible say heart is for GOD: Matthew 6:21, Proverbs 3:5,Romans 12:2,Psalm 51:10,Philippians 4:7.
Brothers and Sisters be ready to defend your self why you pray.
Onyx, I have always known that you are an idiot. You are asking why Christians should defend themselves in the face of these senseless killings? Don't worry if you are ever confronted by these evil peeps, just jejely surunder your neck to their knives. Mschew. I totally support what the CAN secretary has said, it is time for people to defend themselves in the wake of the continuous lacklustre attitude of the government with regards to this issue.