What they won't tell the president - by Dele Momodu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 July 2016

What they won't tell the president - by Dele Momodu

Read his new piece below...
Fellow Nigerians, reactions to my column last week were not unexpected. As anticipated, they were indeed varied. Some people were impressed that anyone could tell President Muhammadu Buhari what most people would never dare. Others felt I could talk because I don’t work with the President and therefore do not feel the pressure of those that do.
A few more simply dismissed my contribution as they usually do without any good reason. It could be true that more often than not, aides usually misread their bosses and idols and so feel under pressure not to irritate, annoy or even antagonise their Boss. I have had the privilege of working and interacting with bigwigs at home and abroad and noticed that many of their employees treat them with awe, fear and trepidation but not necessarily with respect.

On my part, I have tried to remain truthful, respectful and loyal to my bosses without being fawning or uncritical. Sometimes, they would love and appreciate these attributes. On other occasions, they’ve chosen to live in denial and bury their heads in the sand like ostriches do. Even when they have discovered the truth, ego has sometimes denied them the chance of accepting the fact that you were right and they were wrong.

So I wasn’t surprised that some Abuja guys were not impressed about my recent article titled HOW THEY MISLEAD OUR LEADERS. I won’t be surprised if our President did not read that important article because it was kept away from him. The easiest way to fail as a leader is to be shielded from reality by cronies who tell you all is well when all is far from being well. The other way to invite failure is when a leader allows sycophants to invite and amass enemies for such leader. I witnessed both of these first hand during the seeming deification of President Goodluck Jonathan by those who felt he was beyond reproach. But after his government collapsed, most of those who fought imaginary enemies on behalf of President Jonathan simply vamoosed and left the former President to his personal ordeal. Ironically, it was those of us considered his enemies that came out boldly to defend him and to protect his rights under the rule of law given the statesmanship that he had demonstrated in the twilight of his administration.

What I find baffling is the fact that man never learns any didactic lessons from history. Less than two years ago, many of those who have somehow found themselves in power today hailed the critics of Jonathan’s administration. They found our pens more powerful than machine-guns. They called to thank us for our patriotism and gallant battle to restore hope to a dangerously bleeding nation. I remember one particular gentleman, who is currently a Minister; he used to phone me to commend my maturity in attacking issues rather than personalities. Today he has stopped calling and I’m sure he is no longer comfortable with the same level of patriotism and maturity that he praised.

Let me reiterate that I love President Muhammadu Buhari but mine is not a fake or blind love. I was taught by my very traditional mum that “a mother chastises a child she loves” and I have translated that to mean that conversely, a child must offer true words of advice to parents he treasures. This is why I talk about our President with such respect and decorum but at the same time I boldly analyse his policies and actions and candidly offer advice as I see fit. I believe we can help in supporting him by telling him the true state of affairs and painting the real picture of things. Nigeria is much more complex and complicated than some of those in power today wish to admit. I suspect they have also assumed that they know the mind-set of the President who they perceive as stubborn and unyielding and would rather play along in order not to invite his wrath. The impression out there is that Baba is mean and vengeful and can trample on and injure anyone in his line of fire. When I tell people I met a soft, gentle, humble and caring man once in 2011 and twice in 2015, they tell me that was all a façade and I couldn’t judge him on those accounts. It may be necessary for the President to free his people from this self-manacled bondage they have chosen for themselves, as I once advised. The unfounded fear of Buhari may stultify the progress of this government. And only the President can help his men and women overcome this dangerous paranoia. The world has moved beyond the type of maximum rulership which this suggests and the President is not such a person in any event.

I have have been seeing posts on social media indicating that some aides have been telling Baba that majority of Nigerians are satisfied with his government and that only the disgruntled elements, otherwise nicknamed “wailing wailers”, are complaining. But this is not true. Nigerians are complaining about many things and Baba needs to know. Of course, not everyone is lamenting like the Biblical Jeremiah. There are always new beneficiaries in every new government. And those who have crossed the bridge, or ladder, of pain into comfort don’t usually see the misery they left behind. That was the anecdotal case of the French Empress who asked why people could not eat cake when there was scarcity of bread. Little did she realise that bread and cake belong to the same family of flour and that the issue was one of poverty not merely famine or supply.

Nigerians are complaining about the slow pace of work. They want Baba to jazz things up. Not that they expect him to do it all but they are hoping he can rejig this government and bring in proven and tested Nigerians from any part of the world and whatever political or religious background. It is the prerogative of every government to hone its engine of governance regularly by discarding worn-out batteries, plugs and pumps. You may need to flush dirty engine oil and replace with premium lubricant. It should be obvious that what we have at the moment is far short of the speed and stamina required to take Nigeria to the next level.

Nigerians are complaining about the seeming Nothernisation of the key sectors of the Nigerian economy and polity. I am personally not very worried about ethnic sentiments as a completely detribalised Nigeria but there are those who feel very strongly about this and the President may need to allay their reasonable fears of being extinguished and exterminated from the national politics of Nigeria. My honest suggestion is that Baba should come out to tell Nigerians the criteria he uses in arriving at his choices. He should confront his critics with superior logic and the mathematics of appointment distribution. He should not just dismiss this as a non-issue. That is the burden placed on him by Constitutional democracy. Every controversial action and decision must be explained tirelessly and endlessly. As I have said several times nothing beats merit, not even primordial ethnic sentiments.

Nigerians are complaining about the high cost of governance especially in this era of dwindling national fortunes. Many are telling us that we persuaded them to vote APC because we flaunted the credentials of Buhari as a frugal and simple man not susceptible to frivolous spending or profligacy. They are taunting us that they have seen no evidence of the reduction in the extravagant spending on presidential jets and the upkeep of government personnel and their families. Again it may be necessary to update and educate the Nigerian people on how government has concretely worked on cutting costs in these austere times. It is always good to talk to people who may not know the facts and those who feign ignorance deliberately. The government communicators should, please, not be so dismissive lest they are accused of being standoffish. No effort should be spared at carrying everyone along including known and unknown troublemakers.

Nigerians are complaining about the religious sensitivity of this government. They believe that Northern Christians are being studiously marginalised and this should be urgently addressed. In a country where the President was blackmailed in the past about his religious antecedents by being described as an Islamic fundamentalist it is only appropriate for the President to sensitise people and propagate his commitment to secularism.  A good example of this is the fact that whilst he may have felt the need to pick Christians as his running mate in the past two elections he was not forced to pick Pastors as his running-mates.  It is clear that he did this out of choice and to show that he was willing to work side by side with Christian fundamentalists in the task of nation building. Baba should not jettison the principle of religious tolerance he has imbibed and displayed. It would be politically rewarding if he gives every Nigerian that same sense of belonging. Nothing is more volatile than religious conflagration and it is always a handy weapon in the hands of enemies of State.

Nigerians are wondering what direction the economy is headed with the incessant free-fall of the naira despite all efforts at arresting the kamikaze plunge. Added to this is the deregulation of the price of petrol and the pains being felt by these twin policies can only be described as untold hardship.
While Nigerians are highly impressed that Baba is fighting looters to standstill they want to know what is happening to all the humongous cash already recovered. Many states are still in financial mess, unable to pay their workers. Like someone joked on Twitter yesterday, the hope is that Baba would not keep the money in savings for the next government that will come and redistribute to the looters again. That should be food for thought.

It would be fantastic if we can do what President John Dramani Mahama is doing in Ghana, by investing heavily in legacy projects that will definitely outlive his government and launch Ghana into the big league of modern nations. Nigeria should borrow a leaf from Ghana by revamping and upgrading our schools, hospitals, roads, airports, railways, oil facilities, seaports, and so on. It would be sweet victory for Nigerians and President Buhari if they can enjoy the fruits of some of the recovered loot in the very near future.

Nigerians are also talking about the spate of agitations for the breakup of the Nigerian State, especially the renewed call by the pro-Biafra groups of South East Nigeria to carve out an Igbo nation. While we may not understand the exact mission of the Niger Delta Avengers, one of the most lethal militant groups in Nigeria today, it is not likely to be too far from that of the Biafrans ultimately. The groups must be delicately handled. Their leaders may have personal and selfish ulterior motives but what is clear is that they are echoing the sentiments and yearnings of their people for self-determination borne out of frustration in being marginalised in the Nigerian power game. At the end of the day, there is nothing violence can achieve that dialogue cannot handle better and faster. It is time to tone down the drums of war and set Nigeria on the path of restoration, peace and progress.

There are simply too many distractions and Nigerians are suffering as a result. I have no doubt about President Buhari’s patriotism and zeal and his desire to improve the lot of Nigerians. It is about time that he demanded the same of his lieutenants and require them to put national interest over and above personal or party interests.

63 comments:

Very thought provoking piece.
I refuse to accept that the CHANGE we voted for has been hijacked by some people. The president can't afford to make the same mistakes of the last adminisyration, that surrounded itself with sycophants who shielded him from the true reality.

Dele Momodu Sinachi, meanwhile do you need a permanent hair removal solution? Have you heard about thanaka powder and kusumba oil? Google and read more about it and send an email to kinibd@yahoo.com if interested in purchasing.

Nice piece, I quite agree with him in most angle,Mr Dele is one of the very few sensible people we have Nigeria, who air their views in a decent and mature way, more reason I respect him.

#Trueword#

It's easier to tell the driver how to drive when you're not the one driving

Will read later mbok. Feeling lazy de Saturday morning

Chidimma said...

The issue here is that our president doesn't have an iota of what Nigerians are going through. Honestly, is either he starts a peace talk now or risk dividing this nation. Is never too late

Too long na

Hmm

True talk,God bless u more

Wow, I'm really impressed, we have loads of sycophants who timidly and callously failed to recognize the evils and untold hardship in this present dispensation, the likes of Aboki de Warri and his cohorts, we sing praises of their slave master ! We hope things work out positively, but not taking into cognizance the evil happenings around us, and possibly speak out against them!

Nice 1 Dele..you pointed out all the major problem Nigerians are facing now.
May God Bless you

Momodu, just like me I'm no blind supporter of President Buhari. I thought he's learnt from the mistake of his predecessor when he was blinded to the truth by those around him. I feel the same cabal are hovering this president as well, making sure they give him Apollo in order not to see things the way they are.
Wat I find irksome is his seeming silence on Fulani herdsmen killings and the butchering of Christians in the north.He really has to wake up

Good one!Tell the president!

KC said...

Well done Dele spoken well
(Linda d Kim K's fan)

Good one uncle dele momodu, we hope the presidency will choose the best paths.

obiora said...

The problem is not the President, it's the sycophants around him. Nice piece Dele!

Wow, I'm really impressed. We have loads of sycophants who timidly and callously failed to recognize the evils and untold hardship in this present dispensation, the likes of Aboki de Warri and his cohorts, who sing praises of their slave master! We hope things work out positively, but not taking into cognizance the evil happenings around us, and possibly speak out against them!

Bonario pls shut up, its quiet obvious u know the truth but bent on saving whatever scrap is left of ur dignity and pride as a man,call a spade a spade like u were so happy to do in the last administration and stop acting like a child

edDREAMZ said...

Help us tell am....

Mine is that if u have a friend that does not tell you when you are right or wrong,my that person is not wort to be called a friend, All those fools that are close to our president are there for revenge e.g Bola tinube and lie lie mod.

God bless you sir for this article, this govt seem blinded by power struggle and is even getting worse by the day. If this country is destroyed who will u rule?
If he dies now will he take all the money to the grave? Is just said that wisdom is lacking in this govt.
All I see is hate, greed, lies, selfishness and power struggle. No visible progress , hardship , no innovation. The people of this country not carried along. Religious crisis on the increase and this govt felt is ok.
Nothing good has come out of war, it took nigeria a long time to develop up to this stage. Make this country a better place to attract investors and tourist, create a good image for your country because is ur home. You can't be destroying your home and expect peace to reign. You can be educated with the highest degree and still lack wisdom and leadership qualities .
A word is enough for the wise.A country divided among its self cannot stand ( Things Fall Apart And The Centre Cannot Hold). God bless Nigeria

OBI LoVe said...

Story story STORY... u re giving him a clue on what to tell us!!! If he can fight and re cover stolen money!!! Let fish out hijackers.... see this one after four years u will tell y u made promises

Okk

September 27 said...

A finely written piece,highly constructive criticism. Definitely 're echoing what most true Nigerians think of every night before sleeping. God bless u Dele. I just wish the president will one day read this. God bless Nigeria.
*I am in Abuja with a 2,1 degree from a reputable university. .I don't have a job!

You brought out every problem the nigeria economy is facing

eingraite said...

You're just a blind bat. Continue refusing to believe. When the poor masses are singing hardship you're refusing to believe. Until hardship hits you and your family before you believe

Very interesting stuff by Dele Momodu Sinachi...but my regret is the softnes and subtlenes of this article as if begging buhari to live up to expectations. May be afraid to be arrested and heap pseudo alligations on him. Do you beg him.? He contested from way back 2003..so one expected him to garner all ills and mistakes of his predecessors and how to profer solutions. It is a pity we found ourselves in this message of a person who doesn't care. If he does..he would have told himself..hey..this nation is not only for the northerners or Muslims. On a lighter note...my APC neighbour has just started using charcoal stove...what a CHANGE

AS A SURE BOSS.

paul imaji said...

@Bob Dee many of the things you said are correct but it is the context. I think people like you as opinion moulders must also tell the people that this is the time to endure. Anyone who thinks that things can magically turn around in one year in the face of dwindling oil revenues must have been dreaming when they voted change. We should have cried when shale oil was making in roads and we were not saving huge revenues from oil or diversifying our economy. Anyone who thinks that with 6 trillion naira of free and slush funds removed through the TSA and anti- corruption drive and things are going to remain the same needs to take a second look. When we intellectualise and call for merit over quota most of us do not know that in practice merit is more subjective than quota. When merit is the case then the appointing authority holds all the aces. When appointments are from our side of the divide they are merited but if they do not favour us we cry out. I think critics should also advise government on specific interventions when they criticise for instance lets hear you tell government specifics like privatise the airports, railways, nipost or break up NNPC and list on the stock exchange. On Biafra I think that no responsible government will give heed to any group who wants to dismember the country through lies, half-truths, misinformation, fiction and faction. I urge you to listen to Radio Biafra for a day and tell us if it is a group that should get a positive response. On the NDA they are just a bunch of jokers. Government opened a window of dialogue which they gave refused to access and now they have the long rope with which they will be hung. I remember one John Togo during President Jonathan who breached the Amnesty resolution and was tracked down and annihilated. Nobody cried restructuring. For a country where the oil windfall was not saved, Pengassan tells government not to privatise dead refineries or capture workers onto the automated payroll platform and loses 5.7 billion monthly to FG ghost workers we should be grateful it is not worse than this. All these past years we have been living a lie and in self-denial that we are a rich nation but today the ghosts from the past and the ghouls of the present have become our reality. To Nigerians, I say endure, to President Buhari I say be steadfast.

Truth must be told,Nigerians are going through hard times. This govt,is turning blind eyes to the hard reality on ground. Nigeria is more dived than before both ethic and religious wise. The earlier this Apc led administration realises this,the better.

Emy said...

@Dele, are these also your submissions or just 'Nigerians'?

Excepts:
1. The world has moved beyond the type of maximum rulership which this suggests and the President is not such a person in any event.(Talking from both sides of the mouth)

2. Ironically, it was those of us considered his enemies that came out boldly to defend him and to protect his rights under the rule of law given the statesmanship that he had demonstrated in the twilight of his administration.(Hahaha!!!)

Good one Dele,Buhari is surrounded by evil people.

chris said...

Nice one there frm mr Dele.I alwaysa enjoy reading ur articles.u've made some vital points...very constructive criticism.it's now left 4 those that have ears to hear and do the right thing

He said it as it is. Linda take note!

Too long.

It seems more & more like the Presidency is deliberately leading the country into a Jihad in which they feel they might have a military advantage... At this rate, Nigerians should prepare themselves, worse is to come. 2019 is still far away. May God protect His children. Amen

Lmao! Clown like u

hmm na so

Nice,o pray they read this

Oga Dele, pls, stop all this nonsense!

Is the president a baby? Does he not have a mind of his own?

So he cannot distinguish between right and wrong?

Your submission on this matter is crap.

The president is evil and you cannot blame anyone else for his misdeeds.

For example, you want to blame sychophants for the President's refusal to address the ceaseless mindless killings by his brothers, this Fulani Cattle Owners?

Abeg, Dele, go and sit down!

chosengospel said...

Thank God Bonario, aboki the warri boy and their likes are beginning to see beyond their ignorance.

Onyx your head dey dia!

So long a letter but am surprised you are now adressing buhari with some respect because of fear of going to prison. If it were GEJ, you will insult him and his wife without respect. Incase you don't know, dig more about Mrs buhari. She is more corrupt and Mr saint of a president is yet to probe her. Aisha buhari is now incharge of dollar sales in cbn. She sells raw dollar cash in dubai. That was why buhari announced that bdcs owners are thieves and his wife is now selling without licenece. That is more reason why naira has devalued so much and buhari the corruption fighter is yet to probe her. Useless people

Very nice write up I hope the president reads it. The Sycophant won't let him see it Coz of what they are getting, they won't allow him to read the truth and learn.

And your not having a job is the President's doing, like he prevented your father from securing a job when he graduated in the eighties with a first-class degree?

With this twisted mind of yours, you seem to get everything wrong. All your views are off point.

javar10 said...

What baffled me most is the way some elite 4rm de south fell to trap of believing that dis old man can offer anything in the first place, ppl like dele, wole soyinka that did it out of tribalism n hatred for GEJ s pathetic. But thank God they waking up now.

Uncle Dele, maybe they will tell Baba you have joined the wailing wailers. Truth just has to be said, no matter whose ox is gored. Regards bro

I think Mr president is not the listening type and you can't give what you don't have, as petriotic as he may seem he lacks what it takes to bring about the change he promised and still have some "I don't care" attitude. There is nothing really reveling in this master piece article, nothing new! A lot has been said by well meaning Nigerians in the past but Mr Buhari choose not to Listen. It's either he lacks the capacity to move this nation forward or he is showing us who he actually is. I don't believe the system is hijacked by anybody; it's pure cluelessness from the leadership.....

Like Dele Momodu pointed out..he might not see this nice piece...#onMYway...

ene said...

Pls Linda, reach out to uncle Dele. I believe the president has never read any of his articles. I seriously wish he can. Uncle Dele should make a conscious effort for it to be read by the president

Juliet are you sure you read this?

Dele na my boi in davidos voice

FRESH said...

T.I George, where do.maggots like you crawl out from? Ever so hateful.

FRESH said...

T.I George, where do maggots like you crawl out from? Ever so hateful.

Buy iphone, macbooks, ipad and other products at rebate prices. Become a reseller and make huge money. Hit me up tonymontana0104@yahoo.com if you interested

The problem of Nigeria and Nigerians are Amechi, Ngige, Tinubu and oga lai mohammed. Anyday they choose to stand for the truth Buhari will automatically receive sense.

Stacy said...

Instructive piece

Get yourself a job. Invest in Learning

Well said.the president needs to wake up. Corruption isn't d only pressing need in Nigeria. Other sectors are crying for attention

Most people feel they don't belong...a divided nation can hardly make progress!

Oluwabukola said...

And u also wrote as anonymous for fear of prison?

#Linda'spal

Oluwabukola said...

Dele,,,,, I just love you.

#Linda'spal