India's 'gold man' beaten to death at a birthday party | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 July 2016

India's 'gold man' beaten to death at a birthday party

An Indian businessman, Datta Phuge  who made headlines in 2013 for buying one of the world's most expensive shirts, a customised gold shirt worth 12.7 million rupees, around $240,000 dollars at the time, which was made entirely of gold has been beaten to death in western India, according to a report Friday.

It was made up of 14,000 pieces of 22-carat gold, weighed 3.32 kilogrammes (7.3 pounds) and was put together by 15 craftsmen over 16 days.

Phuge was a money lender from Pune in Maharashtra state and was nicknamed, "gold man", a title he cherished.

Police said Phuge,was attacked and killed by 12 assailants brandishing stones and sharp weapons on Thursday night after one of the suspects invited him and his son to a birthday party, according to the Press Trust of India (PTI) news agency.
According to local police inspector Navnath Ghogare:
"As per preliminary information, Phuge and his son were invited by one of the suspects, who know each other, to celebrate a birthday. However, we are investigating how Phuge reached the open ground where he was murdered."
Phuge's 22-year-old son witnessed his father being murdered and had been spared by the alleged killers, he added, saying that police suspected the motive could have been a dispute over a money transaction.

Four suspects have since been detained.

Phuge loved gold and the fame that came with his shirt.
"Everybody knows me as the 'gold man' in the whole region. Other rich people spend one crore (10 million rupees) to buy Audis or Mercedes, to buy what they like. What crime have I done? I just love gold," he told AFP in 2013. "Gold has always been my passion since a young age. I've always worn gold as jewellery in the form of bracelets, rings, chains," he added.

Source: Press Trust of India

41 comments:

Sad,may his soul rest in peace

Evil doers everywhere,May his soul rest in peace.

For wat offence?

I hope he made heaven

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Too bad,God knows best.

So sad, may his soul rest in peace.

How cruel... RIP Gold man. India and their cruelty, I'm sure they surprise even the devil.

What a life? So His gold couldn't buy him an extra life afterwards. RIP Gold Man.

May his soul rest in peace.

Too bad! Linda take note!

Mama P said...

This same gold ppl die for is used for construction of roads in Heaven, gold is a good thing though

May his soul rest in the bosom of the Lord

Oh oh!!

la choice said...

Miriam4job@yahoo.com

NAWA O, THAT'S NOT FAIR! RIP BRO.

The world is getting filled up with wickedness y will anyone want to kill a gold man infront of his son? Y. That his son's life will never be d same. May his soul rest in peace.

baba said...

Godtakeover

Abuja BoredGirl said...

So sad.
Memoirsofanabujaboredgirl.blogspot.com

wasted.

*********************Indians sef........ may he rip

Issorai said...

How is this funny???? Mtchewwww

He died & left the gold shirt, how sad

May his soul rest in peace

Gbest said...

May His soul Rest in Peace

me said...

y did they spare d son knowin dat he witnesd d murder n he saw their faces n wil expose dem...ar they just fearless or d son knws sumthing?R.I.P

Osas the Son of Idahosa said...

They should investigate well..

They must be the frustrated Nigerian Muslims living there... Buhari is the course...

#I Can't Fit Talk

Gold man, loves gold, gold has always been his passion and there was no mention of God he's the same as the rich fool in the Bible

Choi!! The gold shirt go go auction soon choi!! RIP man

so sad, rip to him. meanwhile do you need a permanent hair removal solution? Have you heard about thanaka powder and kusumba oil? Google and read more about it and send an email to kinibd@yahoo.com if interested in purchasing.

sholetoga said...

India can waste life. They just waste the life of someone that brought fame to their country. May his soul RIP

I suspect his son, he should be arrested!

Exactly.. That must have been a very painful death.. So he had no bodyguards with all his money? Rip

The son should be interrogated.

Gosh, dis Indians are so brutal. Rip to him

Nadreb said...

Me too, why do I get the feelings that is son is involved.

Lizzy Joseph said...

Buhari is the course indeed, hope it's not Gold 101?