FGM has been banned in Egypt since 2007, but the brutal practice is still being practiced illegally in the country and especially in rural areas. In February, the United Nations Children Fund (Unicef) said in its annual report on FGM that Egypt witnessed a significant decline of FGM prevalence but still 48% of girls underwent FGM in 2014 compared with 78% in 2008.
The death of Mayar was the first reported in three years and authorities immediately ordered the closure of the private hospital. Egypt’s governmental National Council for Women condemned the unlawful surgery and said in a statement that “performers of such criminal operations must face strict penalties.”
Abdul Abdelaty, a human rights lawyer during an interview with the Middle East Eye website said that even though the operation is illegal, it is really cheap. “Doctors ask between $1 and $15 to do it (FGM) because there is a high demand and a constant flow of cash. The economic aspect – it is really important, and it can be stopped only by enforcing the law,” the lawyer said.
According to Gulf News website, friends of the 17-year-old victim blamed her mother for subjecting her own daughter to FGM.
The teenager's classmate, Rawan Al Jamal said in a Facebook post:
“Mayar died due to ignorance and backwardness of her mother, who regarded her daughter as guilty only because she was created a female,”
26 comments:
Gbese
Meenah_wakil on Instagram
Gbese
Meenah_wakil on Instagram
Eyeah RIP
“How I Had Sex In The Bush And Narrowly Escaped Ritualists Who Wanted My Sperm”
Exclusive Video: 19 Years Old Girl Quit School After Boyfriend Leaked This Their Sextape And We Got It!!
female, circumcision?
Oh dear!
This is serious ooo
Heya. What a loss. May her soul rest in peace. #lindaobserve!!!
OMG..SEE WHAT NIKI MINAJ IS DOING IN A SWIMMING POOL
Does girls also pass through that.
says,Genevieve.
Eyahhhhh sad
Hmmmmm, terrible
Kai! Ndi ogwu igbo. Get your today's amazing soccer prediction tips.. visit www.fortunatusblog.com
Thought they've banned female circumcision
Sad!! Good that it came out in the news, it should alert authorities that such acts are still practiced even in nigeria
Tragic indeed.
Nawao do they still do that?
The hopeless woman has succeeded in killing her own daughter... Rip to her soul. The doctor that carried out the illegal act should also be banned from practicing again...
What a world
Hmm nawa oh . Rip to her
Just negodu! Mcheeeeeeeew! Linda take note!
U can imagine d nonsense
See how they wasted her life
Omg can you imagine this what a mother
Hmmmmmmmm
I guess she is happy now
It happens in Nigeria, especially the type 1 & 2.
Dnt knw why som pple stil practice it. Is d mother happy NW rubbish.